Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 159 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

159 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

159 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
81
4 stars
50
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 stars
10
1-20 of 112 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews
7/2/2011

Customer review by TDB2008

4.0 stars 7/2/2011 by TDB2008
by TDB2008

This seems to be a good computer for the price. It was the cheapest one I could find for what it offered and, since it was a replacement for a 15-year-old who dropped her last one, I wasn't about to put out a lot of money. The only thing I don't like about it is that there is a glitch involving when the machine powers itself down. It happened the very first time she had it on. The battery wasn't fully charged when she first turned it on and she didn't notice when it got low. It shut itself down and when she plugged it in and turned it back on the speakers didn't work. Headphones would work but no sound would come out of the speakers. I tried everything. Restarting, reinstalling the driver, Windows system restore. Nothing worked. I did some research and discovered that this is a problem with not only this model but some of the other Toshibas as well. Once I learned what the problem was and followed the directions given by those who had the problem before me it was a super-easy fix. All you do is turn off the computer, unplug it, remove the battery for 10 minutes, put it all back together and turn it on. When it turns back on it will have reset itself and the speakers will work properly. I don't understand why this happens but now that I know how to fix it (and how to avoid it) I would still recommend this computer. It is a good computer in all other regards.

Was this review helpful? (182) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TDB2008
Santa Rosa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/4/2011

Customer review by 14mobil1

5.0 stars 5/4/2011 by 14mobil1
by 14mobil1

Very pleased with Toshiba laptop, does everything I need a home computer to do and was very affordable, would highly recommend to anyone looking for a good,dependable,affordable laptop.

Was this review helpful? (121) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
14mobil1
Canton,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Laptop works great
5/24/2011

Customer review by rjf111

5.0 stars 5/24/2011 by rjf111
by rjf111

This is our third Toshiba laptop and I bought it to use only on Skype and it works great. It has the built in camera and the card reader is an extra added bonus. The price is great and using it is easy.

Was this review helpful? (80) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rjf111
Sikeston MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Satellite C655
5/1/2011

Customer review by dck7754

3.0 stars 5/1/2011 by dck7754
by dck7754

I was looking for a low cost notebook that I could use for my personal (non-work related) use. I do not need something high end for that purpose that has processing power for graphics etc. My uses are around email, browsing, Word Procesing and Spreadsheet manipulating. With occasional DVD burning. For these purposes this computer meets my needs quite nicely. The purchase also included Windows 7 Premium Home version, which I have gotten used to quickly and find the move to it from XP refreshing. For the price, which WalMart had the best I could find, this notebook fits me perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (110) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dck7754
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/29/2011

Customer review by Crescent21

4.0 stars 6/29/2011 by Crescent21
by Crescent21

I have had this laptop for about 3 weeks now. It was sold on walmart's site for $310 back then and I saw a week later its price went up to 358. I feel that I got a good deal. Before I purchased, I had the impression that it's a burden to run Windows 7 with the laptop's processor type. My husband was skeptical about Celeron processors. But we did a check of processor performance rating on a cpu benchmark website and found that this particular processor is actually rated better than the AMD C series with no dual core. Because of the good price and my simple daily needs, I went ahead and ordered on this site. It arrived the store for pickup a few days after I placed the order. I was surprised to see that Windows starts so quickly. The whole start-up from turning the power button on was about 30-45 seconds. Although I have not installed and run any demanding software in this machine (like photoshop or illustrator). It's got 2 USB ports. Phone jack and mic jack (which was also called line-in jack in the manual). No line-out jack though. The battery lasts for about 3.5 hours on full charge. I tried installing Windows XP at one point to see if this machine will perform better. It does not - most drivers of the machine (where you can download from Toshiba) are NOT made for windows xp. So stick with Windows 7. I have also run 2 tests on bad sectors of the hard driver. So far the reports found NO bad sectors. This machine also works good with the Linux system. I have a dual system on my machine running windows 7 and Ubuntu 10.4. Ubuntu recognised most drivers without the need for me to look for drivers for linux online. My husband said he had to admit that this little machine is a very good deal.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crescent21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
awesomeness
4/7/2011

Customer review by KrashTestGenius

5.0 stars 4/7/2011 by KrashTestGenius
by KrashTestGenius

I couldn't be happier with this laptop! very sleek and fast, plenty of options and overall just a great starter!

Was this review helpful? (46) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KrashTestGenius
wheeling,il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Useful.
4/29/2011

Customer review by rbarone49

4.0 stars 4/29/2011 by rbarone49
by rbarone49

This is a perfect laptop for Me & My Wife,I also bought a router for wifi and now We can surf or ck mail whenever, wherever We want,also great for My Grandson who can play games or do other School activities right in our living room. Very user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rbarone49
Oceanside,Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great value
4/20/2011

Customer review by pappapal

5.0 stars 4/20/2011 by pappapal
by pappapal

Has everything an old man needs +. Good speed, calc pad, soft touch keypad, lots of easy use features. Has more for the buck than anything I looked at, even at $200. more.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pappapal
St Helens, Or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good computer for the price; no problems
4/19/2011

Customer review by Yardman1169

5.0 stars 4/19/2011 by Yardman1169
by Yardman1169

I was a little skeptical about the price on this computer when I bought it, but I thought what the heck, if I don't like it I can take it back. My previous Dell had died due to age and use more than anything. I have found this computer to be very fast, very dependable and I am quite happy with the computer. The mouse took a little getting used to, however all in all I think I made a good purchase. I've had it for a month now and have had no problems whatsoever. The battery lasts a long time 4 hours or more and so far its done everything I needed it to.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yardman1169
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great computer
7/10/2011

Customer review by lovewalmartfan

4.0 stars 7/10/2011 by lovewalmartfan
by lovewalmartfan

I was going to buy the Compaq refurbished but was afraid because of the warranty, this one has a years warranty. I bought an Acer a year ago had nothing but problems and I paid over $500 plus all the money to send it back 3 times a little over hundred i spent to ship it, it's sitting in my closest used it maybe 30 times. I paid $310 for this one and it is so much better. I love Compaq but this computer is awesome. I am so pleased with this laptop, this laptop takes all my old software with no problems, which I was worried about that, for the price and being Intel dvd burner cd burner and players can not beat it!! I would give it 5 stars but i don't know about their customer service, and hope i do not have to :)

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovewalmartfan
cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bundle Laptop Purchase
5/8/2011

Customer review by GrowingPrincesses

5.0 stars 5/8/2011 by GrowingPrincesses
by GrowingPrincesses

I received this laptop for Mother's Day along with a printer an usb and a carry case and I'm very satisfied. Great value for the money. Meets my needs of email, web surf and little bit of puzzle games.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrowingPrincesses
Miami,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Deal!!!!
6/15/2011

Customer review by Curlygirl59

5.0 stars 6/15/2011 by Curlygirl59
by Curlygirl59

This laptop is a great deal!!!! It processes files very fast. Easy to operate and the price can't be beat. Walmart delivered it super fast. My daughter loves it!!!! Thanks-Walmart!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Curlygirl59
Howell,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 100 contributor
Great Computer for small business and college work
6/7/2011

Customer review by Rusti6

4.0 stars 6/7/2011 by Rusti6
by Rusti6

This laptop is great for small business and college work usage. I'm employed full time but also have a part time small business which I use my laptop for both. I'm also a senior in college who needed a simple laptop to write papers and do other class work on. This Toshiba works just fine for all that I need. The only problem I've had is that I'm having issues with my Wireless adapter. I use a Cricket internet stick most times but when I want to use the laptop wireless adapter it doesn't work. It actually disappears out of my system device list. I'll be calling Toshiba tech support today regarding this matter. Otherwise, I find it to be a pretty decent laptop. I've recommended it to several others who has also purchased one.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rusti6
Missouri City, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice Laptop
5/16/2011

Customer review by getarpicker

4.0 stars 5/16/2011 by getarpicker
by getarpicker

I got this computer for my son. He is a senior in high school and is taking some online college classes. This laptop is a good deal for one used mainly for classes and home entertainment. I put Office 07 on it with a wireless mouse and it's a pretty sweet machine.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
getarpicker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A bittersweet disappointment
4/20/2011

Customer review by taylo95

3.0 stars 4/20/2011 by taylo95
by taylo95

The computer is good for people who need a basic computer, no special gadgets really, the only thing I would warn potential buyers for is the webcam is TERRIBLE. the quality is low and fuzzy. But besides that it's a good comptuer if you want to keep it simple.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
taylo95
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great laptop for the price....
7/3/2011

Customer review by canuck77

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by canuck77
by canuck77

I am very pleased with this laptop....it was on sale on this website at the time and for the price I have no complaints. It's a bit above a basic laptop and has everything I need. If I had wanted more, I would have paid more....but this is perfect for my needs. .....very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
canuck77
IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love my new laptop...
7/6/2011

Customer review by jsmshops

5.0 stars 7/6/2011 by jsmshops
by jsmshops

Great laptop. Priced just right.. Able to do everything intended to do for home purposes.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jsmshops
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It doesn't deserve one star ...
4/21/2011

Customer review by GoldenBreeder

1.0 stars 4/21/2011 by GoldenBreeder
by GoldenBreeder

I purchased this and received it quickly - and that's where the service ended. It is advertised as pre-loaded with Microsoft Starter 2010, and the enclosed information verified this. It was not. I spoke with two techs at Toshiba who tried several ways to "find" the Starter to no avail. The second tech suggested taking it back to the factory default - a two hours process. It did not work. I placed one more call and an extremely rude man told me that I had to purchase a product key and then, talking over me, started explaining Microsoft Office. (I OWN this on my old computer and know what it is!) He said they would do nothing to make this right. I'm returning this tomorrow and will never purchase another Toshiba.

Was this review helpful? (26) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoldenBreeder
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product!!
6/12/2011

Customer review by 1happybuyer1

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by 1happybuyer1
by 1happybuyer1

We bought this as a gift for my mother. She loves it. She mostly uses it for Internet use and says it is perfect for what she needs. I found it online at Walmart.com for about $70 cheaper than what I had just bought it for and Walmart refunded the difference immediately. Love dealing with Walmart!!! Great product!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1happybuyer1
Lisbon, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Toshiba Lap Top
6/30/2011

Customer review by thebradleysofclevelandtn

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by thebradleysofclevelandtn
by thebradleysofclevelandtn

I was pleasantly surprised at this laptop especially for the very low price that I paid for it. It is sleek, light weight, and battery does really last as long as they stated.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebradleysofclevelandtn
Cleveland, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews