Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 212 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

212 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

212 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
45
3 stars
30
2 stars
32
1 stars
39
1-20 of 183 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews
If you can find it on SALE worth the buy
1/27/2012

Customer review by GBatchelor

3.0 stars 1/27/2012 by GBatchelor
by GBatchelor

Got this on clearance for my daughters 4th birthday. It is really cute, Toilet makes bubble noises and doorbell rings and when you make a princess dance it plays a little music. But I got it half price, and that is more then enough to pay for this house. I would be very disappointed if I would have paid full price. It is plastic so a little flimsy, not sure how long the stairs will hold up, but the magic carpet elevator is the worst. I can see that breaking in no time. The pieces that come with it though are very cute, like the Beauty and Beast tea set, and Tiana's kitchen and dishes. Ariel's bath tub is flimsy too and the shower hose does not stay put. I ended up taking crazy glue to all the furniture pieces and the towel bar to make them stay together. It is darling though, everything a little girl could want, just wish it was a little more sturdy, and the second level had a bit more room, bed shown does not fit, unless it is on one of the steps.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GBatchelor
Hot Springs, Ar.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Money pit of a Castle!
1/15/2012

Customer review by CraigMommyof2

1.0 stars 1/15/2012 by CraigMommyof2
by CraigMommyof2

My Husband I were greatly anticipating the arrivial of the DPC because like most people, our Daughter loves the Disneys Princesses and, this Castle would have let her role play with her Princess Dolls. Putting together all the small peices was fairly easy and my husband was a little worried about the integraty of the the DPC playset but surly it was build to be durable. So after just shy of three weeks of having both stands broke- the holder on them simply snapped off with no effort, the castle tops keep falling off , the door won't stay on, the stairs keep coming apart and all the those small peices- well even for a pair of parents is really hard to keep track of. We give an overall rating of 1 because for the price they could have made the Disney Princess Castle and all its peices much more durable and larger. As far as expections a 1 as well because as long as we waited for it both in arrival at the stores and for the Holiday try to explain to a little avid Princess fan that it can't be fix and peices can't be found.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CraigMommyof2
Craig, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
overpriced for brand lable design
11/3/2011

Customer review by GringaMamasita

3.0 stars 11/3/2011 by GringaMamasita
by GringaMamasita

we bought this for our 4 year old's birthday, at her insistence. There were many other castle/dollhouses we were considering that looked sturdier for the price. Overall, the actual castle is pretty durable, but the furniture it comes with is not good quality. Right out of the box, I had to super-glue the tea table, the tea cart, the shower hose attachment and the towel holder. It was a joke how cheap these parts are. Also, the back picture lining on the inside of the castle pops off if you aren't careful putting it together. For $145, I was expecting better quality, especially since it's Disney. Go with your instincts and get the similarly priced dollhouses out there that are made of wood.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GringaMamasita
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Daughter likes it, does not stay together well
10/12/2011

Customer review by MotherOfTwo999

3.0 stars 10/12/2011 by MotherOfTwo999
by MotherOfTwo999

My daughter loves princesses and was so excited to get this for her birthday. The problem with this castle is that the pieces do not fit together well and come apart way too easily. It is constantly coming apart and many of the pieces just are not very good quality. My niece has the barbie house and that is much better quality.

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MotherOfTwo999
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/10/2011

Customer review by JKMomma15

3.0 stars 7/10/2011 by JKMomma15
by JKMomma15

My daughter loves this castle. She plays with it all of the time. Some of the parts and furniture come apart very easily which surprised me given the price. Wish it was more sturdy, but overall, a nice toy. Not sure it was worth the price though!

Was this review helpful? (89) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JKMomma15
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DO NOT BUY THIS
11/10/2012

Customer review by 3yroldsmom1234

1.0 stars 11/10/2012 by 3yroldsmom1234
by 3yroldsmom1234

We purchased this for my poor daughter for her recent 3rd birthday. I would return it but she is too little to understand why and we also got rid of the box! Took 2 hours to assemble. Now I have to watch her get frustrated when as the other reviewers have stated the horribly made "furniture" pops apart constantly. I am most upset by my little girl feeling incompetent while she is playing with this castle. Sleeping Beauty's bed does not fit on the second floor, the legs hang off so it falls non-stop. Cinderella's staircase is a joke and along with Jasmine's magic carpet can't be operated smoothly even by a 38 year old mom. It does not fold up as it leads you to believe as it has hinges. A child cannot play with Tiana's kitchen without bumping her head on the second floor of the castle. Stickered walls looked like they would pop off while I was assembling it. The flooring of each room is patterned so that the flimsy furniture topples over as it doesn't have a smooth surface to stand on. In short I think this product should be discontinued immediately. I can honestly say that this is the most disappointing purchase I have ever made. DO NOT TO BUY THIS PRODUCT. Loving Family Dollhouse which she also has is a great purchase, very sturdy, folds up. Purchased it at Walmart for $38, she is very happy with it but when she saw the princess one she had to have it. Spare your child and yourself this grief. I had to give it a star to submit the review, I hadn't planned on that.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3yroldsmom1234
Granville, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Flimsy - Very Low Quality!
1/25/2012

Customer review by EllieM

1.0 stars 1/25/2012 by EllieM
by EllieM

For the price I guess this Castle is OK. But my four-year-old finds it VERY frustrating to play with due to the overall quality and flimsy manufacturing. The furniture falls apart if you attempt to play with it, the refrigerator falls (along with the food inside) if you attempt to open or close its door, the bed doesn't fit where its supposed to go, the front door doesn't open/close correctly, the Cinderella doll holder at the top of the steps falls off when you try to attach the doll and a four year old has a difficult time trying to put it back on, etc. My daughter was so excited when she first saw it Christmas morning and now she doesn't even play with it because it falls apart in her hands when she tries. Its pretty to look at . . . just don't try to play with it. Overall I'm thoroughly disappointed! Mattel - you should have had it manufactured in the USA. I would have paid more for it to at least function as a toy and not an expensive bedroom decoration!

EllieM
Newark, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
My little princess loves this!
7/22/2011

Customer review by disneymom77

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by disneymom77
by disneymom77

I bought this castle for my daughters birthday - she loves princess. Worth the price because she plays with it all the time! Its a great place for her to play with all her princess dolls. The castle was easy to put together and looks so pretty in her room. Her favorite part is the glass slipper on the staircase. I would definitely recommend this to any other little princesses!

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
disneymom77
Urbana. Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very pretty, but not sturdy
12/23/2011

Customer review by PrincessMommy

3.0 stars 12/23/2011 by PrincessMommy
by PrincessMommy

My daughters age 3 and 5 both wished for this toy for Christmas-which we celebrated early. I awoke to the sounds of my daughters excited shrieks of "It came! Santa brought the castle!" It is an impressive site displayed under the tree. But within 10 minutes of play, the staircase popped apart- which also frustrated Santa to no end last night! It just doesn't seem to hold together well at all. The columns will pop out of place at the slightest attempt at moving the castle, the bed is almost too long to fit in the room, the stove just sits against the wall, the towel rack keeps falling apart... But the worst is the staircase- that is the focal point for many pretend plays and it just doesn't hold up at all. The instructions were almost nonexistent. And the only sounds we've been able to locate are the doorbell, the tub bubbling, and the dance music. Overall- this is worth about half of what I paid for it. But the girls have been playing with it for most of the day. I just hope it will last at least another 12 months,

PrincessMommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Poor Quality
2/14/2012

Customer review by mommyclark

1.0 stars 2/14/2012 by mommyclark
by mommyclark

I am very disappointed in the quality of this Castle, all the pieces and the dolls. My two younger daughters loved this toy in the beginning but quickly lost interest when everything started to break. My girls are not rough on toys. We have a Dora Castle that is like 6 years old and we have a Playschool Doll House that is 16 years old and both are in perfect condition after being played with by our 5 daughters. We have several Barbies and none of their legs break off. Mattel, why did you decide against making the Princesses the same way as Barbie. Two of our Princesses have lost their legs due to the low quality. Several parts of the Castle have broken off and all the furniture has fallen apart. Mattel, perhaps you should have had this toy manufactured in the USA. I read poor reviews like 3 days before Christmas but decided not to return this product at that time. I really wish I would have believed the reviews. I highly recommend not purchasing this product. Mattel, you had a great idea but the quality is sadly not there.

mommyclark
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the cost
1/4/2012

Customer review by cvarga

2.0 stars 1/4/2012 by cvarga
by cvarga

The pros about this castle are that it is very easy to put together. It is beautiful as far as the details go. My almost 4 year old daughter loves it. The cons are that I have to re-assemble the thing about 5 times a day. The structure is not stable, the peices come apart very easily. I finally gave up with trying to keep the railings on the stairs. The sleeping beauty bed is too long for her room. The columns that hold it together/up are constantly coming out and the whole thing collapses. I have 4 kids ages 6 and under, so my recommendation would be that this might be suitable for an 8 or 9 year old maybe. I was dissapointed that it was so dinky for a Disney product. Usually their products are better than this. It is not worth $145. Glad that I didn't pay for it! I might pay $30 for the thing. I think we will just permanantly glue the parts together. Again, my almost 4 year old daughter (and the boy-6, boy-4 and girl-1) enjoy playing with it and have played with it everyday since Christmas, I am just tired of fixing it over and over again. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cvarga
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
We've had this for a little under a year..
11/16/2012

Customer review by MommyHasClaws

1.0 stars 11/16/2012 by MommyHasClaws
by MommyHasClaws

And it is HORRIBLE!!! The furniture breaks and falls apart, the staircase is completely off because it doesn't "fit" back in place, the elevator is junk. It was overpriced and honestly after seeing this first hand, I would not have even bought it at a dollar store. Yes, you may think that my daughter is too rough on her toys, blah, blah, blah. She is not rough on it at all considering it is sitting on top of a dresser since she never plays with it because of the 'barely touch and it falls apart' letdowns. No, I do not recommend this at all. Save your money and the sad faces on your kids!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommyHasClaws
Denver Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Good Gift for Grandkids
7/22/2011

Customer review by gotwins51

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by gotwins51
by gotwins51

Bought this for my granddaughters. They about lost their minds when they saw it for the first time. They love it. Pretty easy to put together with the instructions.

Was this review helpful? (27) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gotwins51
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Daughter loves it
12/27/2011

Customer review by chakkry

4.0 stars 12/27/2011 by chakkry
by chakkry

Ok, so this is a 2 part review- one from parent side and one from child side. Parent- There are A LOT of pieces. It wasn't hard to put together, but really, it is just the walls and platforms that are put together- everything else you do. Stickers are done already thank goodness- but plan for an hour to put all pieces together. It seems a few parts are hard to keep together- like the railing to the stairs- the bottom part come off pretty easily and can't seem to figure a way to lock it in better. There is also a closet in sleeping beauty's room that doesn't attach to anything but there is a rounded out area for it it kind of fits in- just seems weird and hard for my daughter to open without it falling out. Also, the front door doesn't seem to match up all the way so it doesn't close completely. Kid- LOVES it!! She has played with it non-stop since she woke up to it Christmas morning. So really, that has to trump all my petty little nitpicks on the other stuff. If she gets the use out of it and loves it, than it was all worth it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chakkry
Loveland, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/22/2012

Customer review by sadbooo

1.0 stars 11/22/2012 by sadbooo
by sadbooo

This product was a huge disappointment and regret the purchase. It is poorly made and breaks easy. Doesn't stay together. The gift was a christmas present for our daughter. We have had to glue the peices together and replace parts. I would not recomend this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sadbooo
arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Poor quality
1/20/2012

Customer review by redorchid65

2.0 stars 1/20/2012 by redorchid65
by redorchid65

Very dissapointed with the quality of this toy, especially given the price of over $100. Many pieces of the furniture come apart every time you move or touch them. The bracket to hold doll on staircase snapped off the first time we tried to use it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redorchid65
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worse Christmas present EVER!
11/17/2012

Customer review by ssmith73

1.0 stars 11/17/2012 by ssmith73
by ssmith73

We got this last year for our two youngest daughters (5 and 6). We put it together in front of the Christmas tree on Christmas Eve, only to have the railing on the stair case popping off every 5 seconds. The idea of this castle is so cute all the details are great. They just really made a faulty produce that doesn't stay together. By the end of Christmas day it was on the floor in pieces. My daughters have had other doll houses and this had never been an issue for us before. I know it "looks" cute but save your money and heartache and find something else. I'm honestly shocked they are still selling this castle, yes its THAT bad!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssmith73
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Poorly made dollhouse
12/26/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 12/26/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this for my 3 year old for Christmas. It is the day after Christmas and it is already broken. I think this is a very poorly made product I was expecting a lot better quality for 150.00 dollars.It is very disappointing I was expecting a nice dollhouse.Not worth the money I paid for it. The pieces of the house do not fit together well. The doll is supposed to be able to slide down the staircase but the staircase doesnt fit together properly so the doll gets stuck halfway down. The towel rack broke while i was putting it together. The middle part of the kitchen table started seperating when I was putting the bottom part in the table. The bed you have to put diagonly and even then it barely fits in the house.The spinning fairy godmother and dance floor have stopped working and the magic carpet ride keeps getting stuck.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Mount Pleasant, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed in Disney
12/26/2011

Customer review by kerry11

1.0 stars 12/26/2011 by kerry11
by kerry11

I have 2 and 5 year old girls. They really wanted a princess dollhouse for christmas. I can't believe that i spent the kind of money i did on this and got what i got. I expected a lot more from a disney toy. it was a pain to put together and lots of the pieces fall apart. we have had it for 1 day and the stars have fallen off 4 times. the 1st time my daughter tried to spin her princess doll on the roof the piece that holds the doll up broke, the table and chair for the kitchen will not stay together and neither will the bath rack for the bathroom. we didn't even put the piece on so she could slide down the stairs. elevator carpet comes out every time it is used, and the bed is too big for the room it is supposed to go in (it hangs off the house). If the girls did love this product because of the princess theme and it didn't take almost 2hrs to put everything together I would take it apart and bring it back. can't believe i spent that much money on this piece of junk. don't bother. If your kids want a doll house go with fisher price. my 2yr old got the little people castle and absolutely loves it. it is much much nicer then the princess one and both of my kids play with it more because it doesn't fall apart

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kerry11
candia, nh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not high quality, but lots of fun
3/15/2013

Customer review by TSHOSH

3.0 stars 3/15/2013 by TSHOSH
by TSHOSH

We were disappointed with the quality of the castle even while assembling it. Afterward when things began breaking and the flimsy structure popped apart, we were even less impressed. However, my daughter LOVES this castle and has so much fun playing with it. The details in each room are well thought out and I only wish more attention had been spent in creating a quality product. That said, when I contacted Mattel about my concerns they were incredibly helpful, friendly and willing to offer a full refund. When I explained my daughter would be very upset if the castle went away, they were able to find replacement parts for the items that were broken or falling apart and I had the parts the very next day. I am beyond impressed with their customer service. They made this a very positive experience. While I am disappointed with the castle, I am a big fan of Mattel and would happily buy their products in the future.

TSHOSH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 183 total reviews
1-20 of 183 reviews