Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 506 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

506 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

506 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
314
4 stars
123
3 stars
20
2 stars
15
1 stars
34
1-20 of 479 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 479 total reviews
1-20 of 479 reviews
3/23/2012

Customer review by tito786

5.0 stars 3/23/2012 by tito786
by tito786

i bought the bike after reading all the reviews online. i had the bike deliver it to my home.it arrived double packed very secure.once i opened the package i did not notice any missing parts .bike is very simple to assemble and requires very minimal technical knowledge.it took me about one hour to assemble cause i was not in a rush and to took another 15 minutes to fine tune the bike relating to align the fenders,seat height,oiling and so on.well any way i absoutly love the bike ,it give a very retro look ,i will be buying a fender front light and a retro speedometer to complete the bike to my taste.i took the bike for a ride ,its runs smooth but the pedals are little touchy ,by that what i mean is very slight pressure rearward and the bike starts to slow down...i think i need to fix that too.I am only 5'8" and 205lbs and the bike just fits right for me.the only thing negative i can think off is this bike is not for short people...LOL.i have seen lot of beach crusiers on the beach 24 or 26 inchers not 29 incher so if you buy this ,you got something unique.

Was this review helpful? (91) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tito786
westminster,california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
29" Big cruiser bike ONEX 29er
4/18/2012

Customer review by Craigrrr

4.0 stars 4/18/2012 by Craigrrr
by Craigrrr

The bad... Paint is not sealed or cured properly as it sheds way to easy, this is my first day with this bike and the paint has mars and scratches and nicks, but not bad enough to take it back as it is a bike it will get wear marks I just thought it would take awhile to get them.. The Good... Handles well, feels great, easy to pedal at least on flat ground anyway. Great price for an aluminum frame that is very sturdy, I am 6'1 and 310 pounds so far so good, but I am sure it will do fine as the other reviewers are heavy too. Great bike for a big guy or gal even. I did take the white decals off as I like the generic look best, but still does not look generic as the wheels / tires are 29 inches!!!! it is a beast! I love it so far . I would sugest it to anyone that wants a bigger framed bike that is a cruiser style

Was this review helpful? (65) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Craigrrr
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
WOW....WOW...WOW
8/8/2012

Customer review by EURO73

5.0 stars 8/8/2012 by EURO73
by EURO73

today I have delivery of my NEW BIKE genesis Onyx 29" ! BIG BOX ....and I was kind of skeptical about product and price range....TO THE MOMENT WHEN I OPEN BOX...!!!! O MY....O MY......great package(double box) frame covered with paper .....with full excitement its take me 25-30min to set up everything correct ..I pay attention what I did and I put some grees on bolts etc. When I set up everything together I must say this bike look awesome!!! Its BIG just for me..(Im 39y old, 6'01-207lb) and is just perfect..!!! I HAVE BLACK HELMET totally mach to bike....For this price , for my first day I believe I did good choice....!!! I CALL MY BIKE "BEAST"......!!!! all my friends agree....!!! "BEAST" Thank you Walmart and Genesis...!

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EURO73
CHICAGO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome for the Price
7/8/2011

Customer review by FATDADDY29

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by FATDADDY29
by FATDADDY29

I bought this bike Three days ago , I am 6'8" tall and 335lbs . The bike holds me like a crib holds a baby. I would recomend this bike to anyone with a low budget, and massive size like my self. There is a few things you need to do like add grease and tighten screws but that goes with most all low budget bikes.

Was this review helpful? (150) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FATDADDY29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Big Guy Cruiser For The $$$
7/30/2011

Customer review by rubbersindenimpockets

4.0 stars 7/30/2011 by rubbersindenimpockets
by rubbersindenimpockets

Bought this about a month ago. Removed every single decal, and fenders/chainguard (cheap and rattle) So now I got a nice clean look 29er cruiser. The gear is a bit tall for riding around, Could use a smaller cog in rear, but overall it's great. I'm 6'5 300lbs and its a bit small for me.

Was this review helpful? (44) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rubbersindenimpockets
MPLS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Big ol bike
9/4/2011

Customer review by fahqwho

5.0 stars 9/4/2011 by fahqwho
by fahqwho

Great bike for the price. it was packed well and shipped quick. when putting together i greased the axles and crank because the factory didn't do a good job but besides that i have no complaints. i added a few aftermarket parts to bring the grand totel to around $250. just a cool bike for them short cruises

Was this review helpful? (32) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fahqwho
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Totally worth $149!
6/1/2011

Customer review by Gavdre

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by Gavdre
by Gavdre

Likes: big wheels big bike, fits me well, Im 6'3"! Good price! Dislike: two spokes were bent during shipping, had to bend them out and tighten them.

Was this review helpful? (27) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gavdre
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great bike.
10/15/2011

Customer review by bobbyl1000

4.0 stars 10/15/2011 by bobbyl1000
by bobbyl1000

great bike,the only thing i have a problum with is some of the bolts are alin keys and they strip.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobbyl1000
orlando fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent affordable 29er cruiser cool design
10/5/2012

Customer review by grogue

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by grogue
by grogue

Great deal for a 29er beach cruiser with style and impact as it is a big bike. Wheels are 29" which makes a definite impact on how it looks in person that you can't tell from pictures. Pluses- very cool design, rides great, and has curb appeal, lightweight aluminum frame and wheels, 29" wheels. Cons - non standard parts like tires, tubes with long stem schrader valves. Inexpensive parts but for the price they are decent components I think. Notes.. Seat position needs to be further back. buy schrader valve extenders at auto parts store and use standard 29 x 2.125 schrader valve tubes. take all the stickers off.. looks really great blacked out. could use a more comfortable seat. Tools needed for assembly 4,5,6mm allen wrenches small cresent wrench philips screw driver Bearings seem rough at first but once they are run-in they smooth out and loosen up which makes me think it would be a good idea to let the bearing run-in a bit, take them apart, clean and regrease just to make sure they are greased and adjusted correctly after run-in.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grogue
San jose, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome inexpensive project bike!
4/1/2014

Customer review by Baarzarul

4.0 stars 4/1/2014 by Baarzarul
by Baarzarul

A beast hides in the persona of this simple looking cruiser. I knew it when I saw it. I would've given it 5 stars, but there were a few simple things that I had to change on the bike. First I removed the fenders and the chain guard. Those things are so ridiculous. Then I changed the cranks and sprocket. Nearly all department store adult bikes come with 170 mm crank arms and a treacherous gear ratio that make pedaling extremely difficult. If you know what you're doing or you are willing to pay a bike shop to do it, it's a simple fix. I found some longer crank arms online and a smaller sprocket at my local bike shop. Buying new crank bearings wasn't necessary. After installing them, the Onex pedaled almost effortlessly, and make sure you keep the tires aired up tight. I also changed the handlebars and the seat. A little for looks, but more for comfort. Also, the Onex has mounting holes for a trunk rack, which makes it a killer commuter.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Baarzarul
Baton Rouge, La
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bargain of the Century!
2/19/2012

Customer review by Lumberjack1942

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by Lumberjack1942
by Lumberjack1942

I ordered this bike and had it delivered to my home. It arrived within a few days and I assembled it that evening. Be sure to air up the tires and tighten all the nuts. I weigh 285 and the seat feels good to me. During my first "power ride" around the neighborhood, I felt the same exhileration I used to feel as a kid, pedaling my bike all over Omaha, Nebraska. The healthy exercise I'm getting from riding this big black beauty, is perfect for my 70 year old body! The paint is really good, I like the decals (the one on the horizontal frame says, "ONEX" instead of "ONYX"...very strange but kinda funny, what the heck) and the gigantic wheels and tires are very impressive. My Harley Davidson is a bit jealous but it will just have to get over it. Finally, the price is fantastic...over a hundred dollars cheaper than other outlets have this bike advertised for. I recommend this bike, enthusiastically!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lumberjack1942
zephyrhills, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Killer for the money
7/26/2012

Customer review by Megahertz38

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by Megahertz38
by Megahertz38

My past two bikes were electric. The first one cost $800 but was junk & everything fell apart in just a couple months. My second electric bike ($450) was of better quality but was stolen only a few months after purchase. Now on to this bike...for $160 (after tax) you can't beat it! It is huge! I'm 6'2" and 240 lbs. I think I may have looked a little silly on my previous rides!? Everything was packed well & didn't have scratches, etc. The seat stem is long and I have adjusted it so that my toes touch at a stand still. It feels weird to be so high up on a bicycle! Everyone that has seen my bike has a comment...it is pretty cool looking / old school. Personally it reminds me of the early motorcycles - 1910. I've ordered a 49cc chinese engine that I'm going to slap on this beast. I got the idea from the picture attached. The motor was only $170 shipped, so far less than the cheapest electric & looks WAY cooler #135 mpg#. As far as the bike goes, everything I have read in forums & reviews here, I think I will liberally grease up the bearings. BTW- All the white stickers are now easily removable.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Megahertz38
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
What a great Bike...
9/2/2012

Customer review by Fleet58

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Fleet58
by Fleet58

My first ever review, bare with me please. Have had the bike for 5 weeks now. Well everyone in the biking world, this bike is assume for sure. A lot of the guys at work have been riding there bikes to work and cruise around at lunch time. Yeah I got the bug too, so I started looking on line and didn't see much that interested me so I checked out Walmart.com. I liked some of the trail bikes, but I didn't want to deal with shifting gears and adjusting brakes all the time, just wanted a bike I could get on and ride, not in a hurry to get anywhere. I came across the Genesis ONEX 29"er, looks really cool all in black. Not real sure of Walmart products like this so I read a few of the reviews, 197 pages of them. I'd say a good 90% of them were really good, so I ordered one and had it shipped to the store. I Figured there would be no or less damage from shipping, and I was right. I had them assemble the bike for me and picked it up the next day. Road it in the parking lot and no problems. It's been at least 25 years for me so this was a new venture. My main reason for getting this bike is the price of gas now days, I can't afford to fill up my 3/4Ton Silverado with 10 MPG every two weeks. My first real ride was to see how long it would take me to get to work. My legs were Burning before I got to the end of the block. I pressed on and made it in 20 minutes, sore and out of breath. I did check all the nuts and bolts before I started, only found 2 that were loose, checked tires, OK. I road to work for the next 2 weeks slowly building myself back up. Man what a workout every morning, the trip home not so bad. The one thing I did not check was the tire pressure, I just felt the tires and they seemed good. Before my 3rd week I checked the tire pressure, NO READING! They felt ok before I thought. Put 40PSI in both and took a ride. MAN what difference, OK I'm feeling pretty DUMB right about now and I know your all laughing at me, I deserve it. Now it's a pleasure to ride and I get to work in 10 minutes now. Oh compliments, I've had soo many I lost count. Two of the guys at work sold there bikes on Craiglist and bought ONEX's, that should say something about the bike. The quality of this bike for me is spot on, I like everything about. I Haven't taken the decals of yet until I know it's a keeper, an so far so good. Not a single problem that some of the reviews complained about. No noises, grinding, Very smooth and quite riding. Seat comfort is good, but today I'm picking up a gel foam set and a light set as It's getting dark now at 6:15 in the morning. To close for now I have totally enjoyed my ONEX to date. Oh one other thing that some might consider, I'm going to change out the rear sprocket to a 22 tooth just to make it a little easier starting off from a stop. I'll keep you updated. The Genesis ONEX is a fantastic bike for the $, I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a CRUISER. Sorry for being longwinded...

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fleet58
Santa Rosa, Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I am a big guy and I love this bike!
4/13/2013

Customer review by IndyBruce

5.0 stars 4/13/2013 by IndyBruce
by IndyBruce

I am about 6'3" and 240 lbs and 26" cruisers just don't fit guys my size. This bike is AWESOME. I bought a small gas powered engine that mounts on the back wheel of a bike and powers it via a friction drive. I was looking for a bike big and beefy enough to hold both me and the engine, and I have to say this thing is fantastic for that. The big sturdy wheels have way more than average spokes to support heavier weights, and the frame is large and sturdy as well #but not heavy, as it's all aluminum#. Everywhere I ride this bike, I get people wanting to look at it and they all want to know where I got the engine and where I got the bike. They always seem surprised when I tell them it came from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IndyBruce
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A great buy.
2/12/2012

Customer review by VegasMarky

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by VegasMarky
by VegasMarky

This bike has to be the steal of the century. Arrived in great shape, needed all bearings, wheels, bottom bracket, and headset adjusted and packed full of grease. But that is expected, getting a bike out of a cardboard box. Paint is excellent, not like past reviews. Lightweight for a cruiser, thanks to the aluminum frame. Honestly, I don't see how they can sell this much bike for a $149. I added a Wald Giant front black basket to the bike, to make it more or less a Dockporter style bike from Mackinac Island, Michigan. Have had it for almost a week now, get compliments and people asking where I got it from, daily. Couldn't be more pleased. One thing though, for it to be reliable, you have to grease and adjust the various bearings before riding. If you can't your self, it will cost you in a bike shop.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VegasMarky
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bike at a bargain price
2/4/2012

Customer review by Mastec

5.0 stars 2/4/2012 by Mastec
by Mastec

I started out with the NEXT La Jolla which I bought on the 5th of January. It was a nice bike but it didn't seem to fit the bill for what I was looking for. I originally wanted the Genesis Onyx 29" but no store in a 50 mile radius could keep them in stock. I took the La Jolla back and rushed back home to order the Onyx from Walmart.com. The bike was finally delivered via Fed Ex 3 days after ordering it, nice fast shipping. I took my time assembling it taking care to make sure all bolts and nuts were tightened to spec because I didn't want anything falling off miles from home. Every thing was self explanatory and real simple to put together. Without tweaking or adjusting I took it for a quick spin in front of the house. I knew instantly that it was going to be a joy to ride and very easy to pedal for a bike this size, much easier than the La Jolla. I am a big guy, 6'-1", 350 pounds and this bike is very comfortable. I've read people complaining about and replacing the seat that comes with the bike, I find it very comfortable. I would rank it up there with most top of the line aftermarket seats. I woke up this morning and tweaked the handlebars and the seat height to fit me and went for a spin. Before I knew it I had put about 7 miles on it before noon without even trying. This bike gets a ton of compliments from people around the neighborhood. Even had some people honking and complimenting from their cars as I rode. One thing I had to do without hesitation was remove those tacky wheel stickers. They are fine for a 5 to 10 year old kid but not for an adult, no way. If you are a big guy 6 foot or taller with or without some weight and want a cruiser, seriously look at this bike. This bike will be great for an easy workout and in no time the weight should be melting off. I give it an 11 rating on a scale of 1 to 10. I plan to make some changes in the near future... Going to remove the handlebars and replace with shoulder level ape hangers with chrome grips. Going to add retro style chrome head light and bullet style tail light. Remove the rest of the decals and add my own graphics. This bike is going to look awesome.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mastec
Pinellas Park, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
7/29/2013

Customer review by Supertzar

5.0 stars 7/29/2013 by Supertzar
by Supertzar

Bike is built well and perfect for taller riders. I've motorized mine and have been riding it regularly for nearly a year with no problems. Highly recommend this bike!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Supertzar
Bayonne, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Smoooooth...
6/18/2011

Customer review by rhinolegs

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by rhinolegs
by rhinolegs

I had this bike shipped to my house for free and assembled it myself. Large and light weight. Fully adjustable for a perfect fit. Smooth ride. If you put your quads in it you can really grind some hills. 29 inches is the only way, it's the law.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rhinolegs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike
6/16/2016

Customer review by Mick

4.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Mick
by Mick
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bike is awesome, removed stickers and added different handlebars. Just right for my 6'2" frame. Would have given it a five star, but the packaging. However, packaging was ok. Have scratches on bike from tie straps moving around on paint. You would think that they would put some type of sleeve or protective materials around tie straps.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/3/2012

Customer review by cvesper

5.0 stars 5/3/2012 by cvesper
by cvesper

Snobby friends of mine urged me to not get a walmart bike, and to get a real bike (several hundreds of dollars more), but after reading the reviews and not wanting to spend much, I went ahead and ordered this one. I chose to ship it site-to-store after confirming that they will assemble the bike if I did so. It took a week to arrive, and when they went to assemble it, the wheel had broken spokes, so they refunded me and sent it back. I was determined to try again, so I re-ordered, and once again it came in a week later. This time, nothing was broken, and they assembled it (but didn't let me know when it was done). I picked it up the next day, and the tires were flat. They just needed air luckily, and they filled me up in the auto department when I asked. I rode this bike all day after taking it home. It's awesome and really attracts attention. I'm 5'9 with a 30" inseam. I threw down the seat to the lowest position with the quick adjustment lever (cool feature), and I'm a bit on my toes when reaching to the ground while sitting. If you were shorter, it might be an issue, but it's perfect for me. It really is a big bike, it looks massive in my apartment. It's a really comfortable ride, and as others have mentioned, the seat is nice and didn't leave me aching afterwards. It does go up hills, but it's a 1-speed bike... you have to put in the work. I enjoyed the exercise and do not see it as a flat-level only bike. The stickers were above the clearcoat and easily removed with my fingers. It really looks nice when you take them all off. No one would have guessed that it was a walmart bike. A couple of my friends would like to get one now too. I can't say much for the quality of the bike parts or how long it will last, but I rode it hard all day and night, and I haven't experienced any of the problems yet that others have mentioned like bent pedals. Hopefully that doesn't change.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cvesper
Gillette, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 479 total reviews
1-20 of 479 reviews