Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 464 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

464 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
288
4 stars
115
3 stars
18
2 stars
13
1 stars
30
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 437 total reviews
What a great cruiser for a big guy!
6/2/2011

Customer review by hexhed

5.0 stars by hexhed

I am so pleased w/my purchase of the Genesis Onyx 29" Cruiser that I have to share. I was looking for a bike that could handle my 6'9", 400lb frame and this bike has done that perfectly. The only thing that I think I am going to have to do is purchase some beefier innertubes for the tires, but other than that, the bike has held up extremely well. Two thumbs up!

Was this review helpful? (425) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
hexhed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good ride
4/29/2011

Customer review by lyrch

5.0 stars by lyrch

I bought this so I could ride with my kids. I'm 6'3" this bike fits great. It was everything i expected.

Was this review helpful? (175) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lyrch
west monroe la
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just Awesome
4/14/2011

Customer review by sclowe

5.0 stars by sclowe

Since there were no reviews, I had to see this thing in person before I bought it. I drove out to a store that said it was in stock, but none were on display. The dude who puts the bikes together said they sell as fast as he can assemble them, and he had one left in the back. He slapped it together in about 30 minutes, and when he brought it out I went a little weak in the knees. It's a big beautiful beast. I drove home with it, grabbed the dog, and took off around the block. It's an absolute dream ride. The tires are huge, and they just glide. The seat is comfortable, not as nice as a premium after-market seat, but nice enough for me. My only gripe, and it's really not all THAT bad, is that the stickers on the frame (rim stickers come off fine) are actually UNDER the sealant. I'm not a huge fan of logos, but these are bearable. Overall, 5/5. Would totally recommend.

Was this review helpful? (326) (60)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sclowe
HB, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/31/2011

Customer review by sun457

5.0 stars by sun457

I bought one of these big 29" bikes today and brought it home. I just cannot believe how easy it pedals. It almost goes by it's self. Those big 29" tires make all the difference and they roll super easy. And, I enjoy sitting upright while biking. The only thing i did not like is the kick stand, too small for a bike this big. Super easy big bike and even fits me at 5 ft - 6" tall.

Was this review helpful? (188) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sun457
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome for the Price
7/8/2011

Customer review by FATDADDY29

5.0 stars by FATDADDY29

I bought this bike Three days ago , I am 6'8" tall and 335lbs . The bike holds me like a crib holds a baby. I would recomend this bike to anyone with a low budget, and massive size like my self. There is a few things you need to do like add grease and tighten screws but that goes with most all low budget bikes.

Was this review helpful? (93) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
FATDADDY29
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks good, no warranty support
5/28/2011

Customer review by GoBigK

3.0 stars by GoBigK

I had to order the bike because the store didn't have it in stock. When I received the bike I found several things were either bent or broken (a bent wheel and some plastic pieces were broken). I contacted the manufacturer (Kent Int'l) because I figured if they sent me the parts I could fix it myself rather than order another bike and have to wait (plus who knows what shape that bike would be in). The reply I got from Kent was that they don't stock repair parts. Huh? So when I asked them what happens if something fails after Walmart's 90 day return policy, they wouldn't say. What good is a 1 year warranty if the company who claims it doesn't stock parts and won't stand behind their product?

Was this review helpful? (102) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GoBigK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mammoth Monster for a minuscule price.
5/29/2011

Customer review by Jaggedd1

5.0 stars by Jaggedd1

I have research this bike for the last couple of days and purchased it today, May 29, 2011. I am 5'11 and weigh about 265 pounds and when I mounted this bike, it automatically felt good. I took this baby for a nice ride around my neighborhood and it felt like I wanted to keep on going. I can't believe a bike of this size can accommodate a person of my size with such a comfortable fit and ride. I have been shopping for a cruiser to ride with my daughters and the other bikes I had just did not fit the comfort level and or price range as the Onyx. The hugh 29 inch wheels and tires make the large aluminum frame cruise and feel like the suspension on a cadillac. I have to say, I am VERY impressed with the bike and I am off to take it for another spin.

Was this review helpful? (75) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jaggedd1
Bowie, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
nice big bike
4/29/2011

Customer review by lovesanythingwithwheels

5.0 stars by lovesanythingwithwheels

I LOVE IT!!! This thing looks cool,and feels great!Im' 5ft 10 200# and this thing is easy to ride.I drove 48 miles one way in a thunderstorm to see it ,I had to have it .And like the other review the decals are under the clear coat,the thing still looks awesome and dont mind the decals so much.I rode it in the parking lot when i got out of the store then put it in the truck.You need a truck to haul this thing it wont fit in a honda!my only gipe is a few scratches from assembly or folks checking it out in the store. the seat and handle bars are comphortable it feels natural.I will be putting a sissy bar ,banana seat and ape hangers on this thing!

Was this review helpful? (82) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lovesanythingwithwheels
central Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice Frame And tires
6/30/2011

Customer review by dukeoffluke62

3.0 stars by dukeoffluke62

The is a good bike for tall males . The frame is beefy but lite . It is geared high so it moves along quickly with little effort on level terrain . The pedals bent at the shaft during the first ride . Cheap plastic pedals . After just 30 miles the crank started grinding . Upon inspection of the crank bearings I found metal shavings inside the housing and no lubrication at all. Housing was cleaned out and bearing were packed with bearing grease . Front bearings and steering column started squealing during the next ride . The were disassembled and both found to be dry . They were packed with bearing grease . So bottom line is good bike ,but poor factory assembly procedures . All of this items were preassembled by the factory ,not walmart . I assembled the bike out the box .

Was this review helpful? (68) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dukeoffluke62
villas nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/23/2012

Customer review by tito786

5.0 stars by tito786

i bought the bike after reading all the reviews online. i had the bike deliver it to my home.it arrived double packed very secure.once i opened the package i did not notice any missing parts .bike is very simple to assemble and requires very minimal technical knowledge.it took me about one hour to assemble cause i was not in a rush and to took another 15 minutes to fine tune the bike relating to align the fenders,seat height,oiling and so on.well any way i absoutly love the bike ,it give a very retro look ,i will be buying a fender front light and a retro speedometer to complete the bike to my taste.i took the bike for a ride ,its runs smooth but the pedals are little touchy ,by that what i mean is very slight pressure rearward and the bike starts to slow down...i think i need to fix that too.I am only 5'8" and 205lbs and the bike just fits right for me.the only thing negative i can think off is this bike is not for short people...LOL.i have seen lot of beach crusiers on the beach 24 or 26 inchers not 29 incher so if you buy this ,you got something unique.

Was this review helpful? (52) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tito786
westminster,california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Big, Black, Beautiful but......
7/5/2011

Customer review by OFD311

3.0 stars by OFD311

The good.....Bike looks great, it's big and light, the frame is thick and meaty, the handle bars are sturdy and have a classic bend to them, the gooseneck seams sturdy and is adjustable, the grips and seat are comfortable and are well made. The not-so-good........the pedals bent after a few rides, the paint is easily scratched, the front sprocket is slightly bent (not from shipping), and I can feel a vibration from the rear sprocket area when I stop pedaling and coast. And finally, for me, I think the front sprocket is too small. It is easy to start off but difficult to keep any speed over 15 mph. Hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (55) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OFD311
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/4/2011

Customer review by Jimmydgr8

3.0 stars by Jimmydgr8

I bought this bike straight from the website unseen really. They don't carry this model in any of the Walmart's around here. I was really impressed by the look, and still am! The reviews were great and for good reason. This is a cool bike, especially for a big guy.(I'm 6'4"/280 lbs) My gripes are more around the shipment and quality. When I pulled the bike out of the box, it had some minor nicks and one major gouge on one rim. and a bent spoke. After putting it together, the front tire would not hold air. I took it in, and turned out to have a hole in the tube at the air valve. These tubes are unique to this bike because of the shape of the rims. Also the paint is Very soft!(at least on mine) you can basically scratch it with anything. Overall, I'd say that this bike is cool looking. It is ideal for the bigger guy. It's reasonably priced. BUT...you might want to order extra inner tubes, and if possible, buy it from the store where you can inspect it first.

Was this review helpful? (45) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jimmydgr8
Central Coast, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
7/22/2011

Customer review by Solst1ce

4.0 stars by Solst1ce

This is the perfect bike for the big guys. I'm 6'2 325lbs and this bike handled my size with no problems. This cruiser is so nice it will turn heads. The tires hold 40-PSI very durable wth brass valve stems. Love the big handle bars and the comfortable seat. I ordered the bike and had it delivered to my home. I was able to put it together in one afternoo. I DO NOT like the new seat connections very difficuilt to adjust so I switched with an old oder style. If your a big guy in weight or size and want to start riding a bike again. (Start with this bike)

Was this review helpful? (36) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Solst1ce
Detroit area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
29" Big cruiser bike ONEX 29er
4/18/2012

Customer review by Craigrrr

4.0 stars by Craigrrr

The bad... Paint is not sealed or cured properly as it sheds way to easy, this is my first day with this bike and the paint has mars and scratches and nicks, but not bad enough to take it back as it is a bike it will get wear marks I just thought it would take awhile to get them.. The Good... Handles well, feels great, easy to pedal at least on flat ground anyway. Great price for an aluminum frame that is very sturdy, I am 6'1 and 310 pounds so far so good, but I am sure it will do fine as the other reviewers are heavy too. Great bike for a big guy or gal even. I did take the white decals off as I like the generic look best, but still does not look generic as the wheels / tires are 29 inches!!!! it is a beast! I love it so far . I would sugest it to anyone that wants a bigger framed bike that is a cruiser style

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Craigrrr
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Really comfortable bike!
6/2/2011

Customer review by MaGuar

5.0 stars by MaGuar

after owning a pair of 26" mountain bikes for the past 4 years, i wanted to buy a pair of bikes that my girlfriend and i could ride comfortably and didn't require hunching over too much. we decided to to buy a pair of cruisers. she got the 24" huffy cranbrook for her petite 5'1 size, but i wanted something big and manly looking to match my 6', 165 lb. body. when i came across the Genesis Onyx online, i fell in love. I ordered it on saturday and by thursday it was ready to pick up at the store. Putting it together and adjusting it to my preference was simple and the bike looks great in person, The glossy jet black paint job and chrome accents look awesome and i really love the V shape look of the wheels. Riding it feels GREAT!! The bike just glides over the payment and doesn't require much leg power to move. I do however have a few cons with the bike, the stickers on the wheels looked horrible, i quickly removed them with goo gun also i had to touch up the paint on the handle bars because of scratches caused by poor packaging. All in all, the bike its great, we have already put it to good use at our local forest preserve. i definitely recommend this bike.

Was this review helpful? (34) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MaGuar
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
WOW....WOW...WOW
8/8/2012

Customer review by EURO73

5.0 stars by EURO73

today I have delivery of my NEW BIKE genesis Onyx 29" ! BIG BOX ....and I was kind of skeptical about product and price range....TO THE MOMENT WHEN I OPEN BOX...!!!! O MY....O MY......great package(double box) frame covered with paper .....with full excitement its take me 25-30min to set up everything correct ..I pay attention what I did and I put some grees on bolts etc. When I set up everything together I must say this bike look awesome!!! Its BIG just for me..(Im 39y old, 6'01-207lb) and is just perfect..!!! I HAVE BLACK HELMET totally mach to bike....For this price , for my first day I believe I did good choice....!!! I CALL MY BIKE "BEAST"......!!!! all my friends agree....!!! "BEAST" Thank you Walmart and Genesis...!

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
EURO73
CHICAGO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/20/2011

Customer review by OCnative

5.0 stars by OCnative

Great bike for the price. $149- $20 E gift card. I took the e gift card and ordered a $20 gift card so I could use it in their store. I own a 26 mountain bike that is way more work to ride. The Larger tires and frame make it easier for a guy of my size, 6-0 250lbs. Easy to assemble, you need to put on the seat, handle bars and front tire + fenders. Looks good and look forward to many rides with my kids. No dents or scratches. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
OCnative
Fullerton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Big ol bike
9/4/2011

Customer review by fahqwho

5.0 stars by fahqwho

Great bike for the price. it was packed well and shipped quick. when putting together i greased the axles and crank because the factory didn't do a good job but besides that i have no complaints. i added a few aftermarket parts to bring the grand totel to around $250. just a cool bike for them short cruises

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fahqwho
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
What a great Bike...
9/2/2012

Customer review by Fleet58

5.0 stars by Fleet58

My first ever review, bare with me please. Have had the bike for 5 weeks now. Well everyone in the biking world, this bike is assume for sure. A lot of the guys at work have been riding there bikes to work and cruise around at lunch time. Yeah I got the bug too, so I started looking on line and didn't see much that interested me so I checked out Walmart.com. I liked some of the trail bikes, but I didn't want to deal with shifting gears and adjusting brakes all the time, just wanted a bike I could get on and ride, not in a hurry to get anywhere. I came across the Genesis ONEX 29"er, looks really cool all in black. Not real sure of Walmart products like this so I read a few of the reviews, 197 pages of them. I'd say a good 90% of them were really good, so I ordered one and had it shipped to the store. I Figured there would be no or less damage from shipping, and I was right. I had them assemble the bike for me and picked it up the next day. Road it in the parking lot and no problems. It's been at least 25 years for me so this was a new venture. My main reason for getting this bike is the price of gas now days, I can't afford to fill up my 3/4Ton Silverado with 10 MPG every two weeks. My first real ride was to see how long it would take me to get to work. My legs were Burning before I got to the end of the block. I pressed on and made it in 20 minutes, sore and out of breath. I did check all the nuts and bolts before I started, only found 2 that were loose, checked tires, OK. I road to work for the next 2 weeks slowly building myself back up. Man what a workout every morning, the trip home not so bad. The one thing I did not check was the tire pressure, I just felt the tires and they seemed good. Before my 3rd week I checked the tire pressure, NO READING! They felt ok before I thought. Put 40PSI in both and took a ride. MAN what difference, OK I'm feeling pretty DUMB right about now and I know your all laughing at me, I deserve it. Now it's a pleasure to ride and I get to work in 10 minutes now. Oh compliments, I've had soo many I lost count. Two of the guys at work sold there bikes on Craiglist and bought ONEX's, that should say something about the bike. The quality of this bike for me is spot on, I like everything about. I Haven't taken the decals of yet until I know it's a keeper, an so far so good. Not a single problem that some of the reviews complained about. No noises, grinding, Very smooth and quite riding. Seat comfort is good, but today I'm picking up a gel foam set and a light set as It's getting dark now at 6:15 in the morning. To close for now I have totally enjoyed my ONEX to date. Oh one other thing that some might consider, I'm going to change out the rear sprocket to a 22 tooth just to make it a little easier starting off from a stop. I'll keep you updated. The Genesis ONEX is a fantastic bike for the $, I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a CRUISER. Sorry for being longwinded...

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Fleet58
Santa Rosa, Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Big Guy Cruiser For The $$$
7/30/2011

Customer review by rubbersindenimpockets

4.0 stars by rubbersindenimpockets

Bought this about a month ago. Removed every single decal, and fenders/chainguard (cheap and rattle) So now I got a nice clean look 29er cruiser. The gear is a bit tall for riding around, Could use a smaller cog in rear, but overall it's great. I'm 6'5 300lbs and its a bit small for me.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rubbersindenimpockets
MPLS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 437 total reviews