Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

53 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

53 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 stars
10
1-20 of 40 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
TomTom Disaster
7/19/2011

Customer review by oldtimeseller

1.0 stars 7/19/2011 by oldtimeseller
by oldtimeseller

The TomTom update site for the VIA series is called "My TomTom". As of July 2011, the site does not work and there have been hundreds of complaints sent to TomTom to no avail. Mine came with supposedly "lifetime maps" however the site is not functional so I can't activate the promotional code. You can't update "mapshare" or "points of interest" or download the most current map - as TomTom advertises. Check out their own forum for this item on tomtom.com and you'll see the number of people who are upset with their purchase. The last email I received said "We have received many inputs from our valuable customers like you and our product development team is working on them. They may introduce it any time soon. However, we do not have the information on the exact or estimated time frame." They have the worst customer service in the business, and I can assure you that I will never purchase one of their products again. From now on, it's Garmin for me.

Was this review helpful? (61) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldtimeseller
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lacks Accuracy
6/6/2011

Customer review by Medic7710

2.0 stars 6/6/2011 by Medic7710
by Medic7710

The TomTom Via 1500 was a disappointment. The most important feature of any GPS unit is good maps and accuracy of which the Via 1500 fails. I tested it over a two day period and that was all that was needed to render my fail verdict. Two POI's that have been in their current location for years were missed. The GPS put me a mile passed the one POI and about a half mile before the other one. Not acceptable when your in unfamiliar territory and need to be brought in front of your destination. With my old Garmin unit I NEVER encountered accuracy issues. And also not to mention my home street came up twice. Once with the correct name and the other with one wrong letter. Needless to say for some reason the GPS wanted to go towards the incorrect street name and wanted to take me a long way to home. So how many other errors are there like this??? The 5" display was nice but is no where near as nice as the lower priced Garmin 1300LM. The Via 1500 display was kinda drab and the map colors didn't seem to have any reasoning behind them. For example, a waterway was indicated by a black/white line whereas on a Garmin unit water is always blue! pretty logical right?? well not on the TomTom. The interface is not very intuitive either. There are way too many screens one must click through to find the function you need. All in all I do not recommend this GPS unit based on the lack of mapping accuracy and the maps being drab and dull. The 1500 uses Teleatlas maps whereas the Garmin units use Navteq and there is a huge difference. I have owned a Garmin nuvi GPS unit for about five years and have always given it high marks. With several trips to NYC, Virginia, Baltimore, New Jersey, and a few other places which were all several hours away the Garmin always held a high degree for accuracy and instilled high level of confidence in me as well. No so with the TomTom Via 1500. No GPS is perfect and all some some map errors but the Via 1500 was way above the threshold for accuracy. I would recommend steering clear of the TomTom Via 1500 and look at a Garmin. PROS: - Nice form factor. - Voice and sounds are loud and really clear. Voice sounds natural. - Lane assist feature is nice. CONS: - Lacks accuracy - Display screen is drab and dull... feels clunky and menus are slow to change. - Costs more than other more capable units.

Was this review helpful? (118) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Medic7710
Waynesboro, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good graphics and voice system
7/8/2011

Customer review by Okoedo

4.0 stars 7/8/2011 by Okoedo
by Okoedo

The GPS unit has a great graphics and voice system with a variety of options to choose from. It also has an excellent lane guidance system. Overall, I am satisfied with the product and will certainly recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Okoedo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I loved it so much I bought a second one.
4/21/2012

Customer review by backlitkeyboard

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by backlitkeyboard
by backlitkeyboard

Honestly I bought and "tried" about 10 new gps systems with lifetime traffic and lifetime maps, varying brands but mostly Garmin's and Tom Tom's. Far and away this particular Tom Tom VIA 1500 TM won my vote. Why? -reasonable amount of clicks to click around where you want to go or settings you want to change. -LOVE that you can set audible alerts to notify you when speeding, near red light cameras, near schools, etc. -LOVE that you can tell your GPS where new cameras are installed and it instantly remembers when you return back to that intersection. -love the choices of colors at night. The dark blue at night with twinkling stars is perfect for my eyes. There are many day and night colors to choose from. I wish the day color choices were a little brighter/deeper to see better during sunlight. -Some gps units were not loud enough. This one is loud for sure but wish it was a little louder. Honestly it has taken me to 1 place that ended up being 1/4 mile down the road on the other side. But hundreds of times it has taken me exactly where I need to go. -It allows you to save locations based on gps current location so you can save exactly where you want to get back to. -The traffic feature has saved me many a time in NJ traffic. It asked me if I wanted to be re routed to avoid the delay. -it starts when you start your car most times. Other gps units did not. -I love that it locates shopping, restaurants etc and puts up the appropriate icon. I wish you could click on that icon and be driven to that location. -when you have a route progammed you can be notified along the way of tourist locations, colleges, doctors, etc. It is not perfect because none are but for the most part I love this one and am buying a second one today.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
backlitkeyboard
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A pretty bad miss from TomTom
8/13/2011

Customer review by chocolatebourbon

2.0 stars 8/13/2011 by chocolatebourbon
by chocolatebourbon

Well, let's say first off that I like the GPS itself pretty well. The interface is laggy sometimes and the touchscreen is not as responsive as I'd like but the interface is straightforward and the lane guidance is a nice feature. The "traffic light camera" feature surprised me when it first sounded but though I don't run reds, it was nice to have. The traffic delays and calculations are an excellent feature and I'm sure they would have saved me 30 minutes if I'd had the GPS several weeks ago. The problem comes with the support TomTom provides for this device. I don't mean calling them up for help, I mean providing the features listed in big print on the front of the box. This device is supposed to come with lifetime maps but the TomTom website will not accept the code that is provided in the box. This is a well known issue and has been for well over a year. There are many postings on the web complaining about the issue and reports of TomTom closing many trouble tickets without having resolved the problem. I'd like to suggest to Walmart that they apply some of their muscle to get TomTom to fix the issue as it is leading to dissatisfied customers. Next issue is that I bought this GPS partially in anticipation of a trip to the UK and I planned to purchase maps on-line. TomTom does not support purchasing additional maps for this unit. This unit was supposed to be an upgrade from a base level Garmin unit but it looks like I'll be dusting that off for this trip. I'll be keeping this unit because it serves my purpose but I'm definitely not happy.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chocolatebourbon
All over, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy a Garmin instead.
10/3/2011

Customer review by Dogzebra

2.0 stars 10/3/2011 by Dogzebra
by Dogzebra

The Tom Tom lacks the features of my three year old Garmin NUVI. My wife thought she was getting a better deal and came home with this VIA instead of another Garmin. VIA lacks accuracy and tells you there's gas stations where they've never existed. Garmin has tripmeter/speedometer/compass functions, where Tom Tom doesn't and it doesn't name rural streets nearly as well as the Garmin. It also forgets how to get back to a poi placed into memory. I don't think it's very user friendly either, since my wife absconded with my ol' Garmin and left me with the Via. They could've made a better product, 'cuz for sure, this Via is nothing to brag about. I was generous when I gave it two stars.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dogzebra
Lomax, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Map update instructions don't work, it's going bac
8/4/2011

Customer review by Wholesaleforless

1.0 stars 8/4/2011 by Wholesaleforless
by Wholesaleforless

VERY disappointing. Have just spent over an hour trying to see if there are map updates, without success. The included instructions don't match up with what's on the web site. Even the directions on the website, for this specific model, don't match up with the menus/options on the unit itself. No wonder Garmin units are generally considered MUCH better. This one's going back ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wholesaleforless
Prescott Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Top 500 contributor
Scared away
8/2/2011

Customer review by bigmac47

1.0 stars 8/2/2011 by bigmac47
by bigmac47

I was online to order this unit and after reading the reviews I am shopping for another brand of GPS. Tom Tom needs to heed these types of reviews.

Was this review helpful? (47) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigmac47
Would recommend to a friend? No
did I get a lemon?
1/7/2012

Customer review by amanduhmarie

1.0 stars 1/7/2012 by amanduhmarie
by amanduhmarie

Used a friend's TomTom recently and loved it, so I decided to purchase a TomTom. Don't know if I got a lemon, but this model is terrible. It turns off randomly, takes forever to restart, and now it won't even turn on at all. Definitely going back. Hopefully I can find the same model my friend had, because that one was great!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amanduhmarie
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I like it
11/14/2012

Customer review by LifetimeMapsFan

5.0 stars 11/14/2012 by LifetimeMapsFan
by LifetimeMapsFan

I have three GPS's at this point. One Mio, and two older TomToms. I bought this because it had lifetime traffic and maps. I was worried about the price being rather low. It is working flawlessly. Gets satellites fast and the map updates worked without a hitch. Yes, the transfer of the maps is slow but they are accurate. The traffic updates are fun--sometimes I know the detour they suggest and pass on it (but it beats XM radio on identifying where the gridlock is, neat!). I am very happy with it and am buying a second one to give as a gift. Walmart has had the best price on this unit for a while now. Thanks to Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LifetimeMapsFan
Central Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A Good Solid GPS
10/19/2012

Customer review by Teekay421

4.0 stars 10/19/2012 by Teekay421
by Teekay421

I took a gamble on this device despite the bland reviews and i'm glad I did. This is a solid gps. I had no issues downloading map updates ect... I also like some of the features this unit has that was not offered on my old Garmin. I'm happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Teekay421
Cleveland OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Updates are tricky!
11/24/2011

Customer review by jxin

4.0 stars 11/24/2011 by jxin
by jxin

This is my second Tomtom. I am happy with the operation of the GPS. My only complaint is the mytomtom update. I spent 2 hours trying to update my map. I finally found that using google chrome would let me update and use map code with no problem. This problem really needs to be resolved. I would prefer to use tomtom home instead.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jxin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/14/2012

Customer review by Sodiva

2.0 stars 1/14/2012 by Sodiva
by Sodiva

This is the second GPS which is going back!! It doesn't recognace my way back home with street build 2 years ago??? And gave my a hard time dowloud maps with my MAC - top of the line!!! Not happy!!!?

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sodiva
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love My TomTom
12/26/2011

Customer review by MLetort

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by MLetort
by MLetort

I'm not sure about some of these reviews saying that the directions given are inaccurate, blah, blah, blah! I LOVE my TomTom! It has ALWAYS given me great directions! One time is did say that the location I was looking for was on the right and it was on the left, but that was only once and not a big deal! This comes with lifetime updates and it is IMPORTANT to update your unit! TomTom will send you an email telling you that there is an update. You hook it up to the computer, it takes a few minutes, and Voila you're up to date!! This was a birthday present, and one of my favorites so far!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MLetort
Biloxi, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best GPS and I use it daily!
9/26/2011

Customer review by garnanathome

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by garnanathome
by garnanathome

Great directions...clear maps with large screen...clear voice with street names not garbled. Slow to initially load for 1st trip of the day, but could be because I live in the woods. I am a hospice nurse and I travel an average of 200 miles per day. Best GPS unit that I have ever had, and I have owned 3 others. Am now a loyal Tom-Tom customer!! Great product + worth the cost. No complaints!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
garnanathome
MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/27/2011

Customer review by lariecma

1.0 stars 12/27/2011 by lariecma
by lariecma

This device is not a good one. Never can locate a gps signal. Won't connect to the internet. Can't add voices. Never got a chance to see if it works well. i could never get a signal!!! TomTom home says device is not connected when it is. I thought it was just the system so i replaced it with the same kind. SAME PROBLEMS! STEER AWAY!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lariecma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product, but lousy directions.
3/27/2012

Customer review by retiredtvbuff

5.0 stars 3/27/2012 by retiredtvbuff
by retiredtvbuff

The GPS has a built in mount that is not even mentioned in the directions.Mine was extremely stiff, to the point that I didn;t realize it was on a pivot. I spent days trying to find some type of mounting addaptor that the unit could mount to at an angle making it easy to see and read from the drivers seat. After a few days of carrying it on my lap and trying to figure out ways to mountr,(also buying and returning universal mounts to try to use) I got the cup stuck tightly to the dash and had to use lots of pressure to release it. To my amazement, the pivot point opened up and I realized how it worked!! It would have saved me a lot of stress, anger and time if tomtom had thought about describing the use of the mount in the directions. (both with the unit and online ops manual.)

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
retiredtvbuff
Palm Bay, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
4/1/2012

Customer review by Girgie

1.0 stars 4/1/2012 by Girgie
by Girgie

Don't waste your time on this!!!! Purchased one in the store and after waiting for more than ten hours all I get is "waiting for a valid GPS signal". Taking it back to the store now.....

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Girgie
madison heights va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
12/31/2011

Customer review by goldcart

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by goldcart
by goldcart

I purchased items for Christmas gifts for family members. I was pleases that these items arrived on the date as promised and in pristine condition, a Tom Tom and a 32 inch Visio TV. I would use this service again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goldcart
Salem, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Not quite what the web site says it is
1/13/2012

Customer review by PerroGrande

3.0 stars 1/13/2012 by PerroGrande
by PerroGrande

Web site says that this unit has bluetooth and it does not... BIG disappointment...

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PerroGrande
Hamburg PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews