Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.6out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 | 247 reviews
5 stars
181
4 stars
45
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
8
Sort by: 
1-20 of 228 reviews
1-20 of 228 reviews
Effective water filter
8/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This kind of filter came with the PUR pitcher that I bought. The instructions said to change the filter every 2 months. When it was time to change the filter I changed this one out with a cheaper Great Value water filter. The Great Value filter, which seems to be modeled more closely to a Brita filter, allowed the water to filter through much more quickly but with a notably higher amount of chlorine taste passing through. Upon closer inspection of the PUR filter I noticed that there is a spongy cellulose media above and below the charcoal part and I think this makes the big difference. If you want water that is absolutely filtered as much as possible, without having to deal with residual charcoal pieces in the first 2 filtrations then this is ideal. Just do not mistake your filter for a "dud" if it takes a long time for the water to filter through.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (59)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for everyday use.
5/19/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've had my PUR large pitcher for several years and have really liked it. The filters help so you don't have to buy as much bottled water for everyday use (when making coffee, drinking water, tea, mixing into foods...). However, in my last package, I got 2 'dud' filters. The 1st one did not allow the water to drip into the pitcher and no matter how many times I emptied, removed, and reinserted the filter, it did not work. I tossed into the trash (goodbye $$) and opened the 2nd one. That one worked like a charm. Then it came time for the 3rd...lo and behold, it was exactly like the first one (goodbye to more $$)...talk about a rip-off! The filters are not that inexpensive and to have to toss 2 of them really irked me. If this had never happened, I'd be thrilled and the rating would have been different but, 2 duds out of 3 chances? Nope, not a good thing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good fliter if it works
7/21/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
I switched a few years ago from Brita to this type and have enjoyed it. The water is clear and enjoyable. I really prefer to strain city water. I know, I know... its safe, etc. But, it is processed water that comes from undesirable sources ( just think about it ), and, issues with pipes, etc.. so rather than buying and carrying home gallons this is a good alternative. Less cost and less to carry. I would have given it more stars except I got a faulty filter a little over a year ago. I called customer service, and they were quite blunt and they have so many restrictions to replace the filter.. it was truly disappointing. Until I can get in a place where I can have room for a large spring water dispenser or actual well water this will have to do.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best tasting water
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been using PUR water pitcher and filters for a few years. Save so much money preparing your own filtered water instead of buying bottled water. Not only save money on water but also no bottle deposit that need to be taken to recycle. Just set up the PUR pitcher with filter and fill the top part and you will have fresh filtered water in a minute or two. I keep the PUR pitcher on my counter and have it handy all day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
PUR filters
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The PUR filter is a very good product. It cleans tap water and destroys the chemical taste and smell of tap water. I use refillable water pitcher.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this pitcher filter
8/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Reasonable, Filtration rate is high great tasting water too
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Total waste of money
9/3/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We are using this from 2 years and we really liked the filter.We used to replace the pitcher every 2 - 3 months.But from past few months we are required to replace the pitcher every 2 weeks and sometimes every week, which is total waste of money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Makes water taste good
9/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I drink tons of water and want it to taste pure and good. This filter is a bit of a pain to prepare - you have to soak it first; however, it's worth the time. The water is filtered and does not have a chemical taste. I highly recommend it. Compare prices because these can range in price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best filter for the money
12/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Tested this on and a couple competitive filters as well, and this one lasted the longest and did the best job.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Puritans water filters
8/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was given the pitcher and filters almost two years ago to review and I have been purchasing them for myself since then.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Value
5/19/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
PUR has two filters that fit the pitchers and dispensers: Basic and Reduced Lead. This filter is the Basic and it has been shown to remove 97% of lead but it hasn't been certified by an independant lab. The Reduced Lead filter is certified to remove 99% of lead but it costs more. Walmart has the best price on the basic filter.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Water is blocked after using 10 days
8/14/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This filter is blocked after using 10 days. Terrible.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Water Filter
3/7/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I've been using Pur for years and prefer it over other filters. It was nice to find these on sale, so I stocked up.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Make for great tasting water
2/21/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We have terrible tasting water in our town and I won't spend the money on bottled water...at this price I can have great tasting water that is fresh everyday. The filters do last quite a long time. This is the cheapest I have seen them in a long time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can't live without my Pur water pitcher
4/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I absolutely love my Pur water pitcher and this is the most economical way to buy replacement filters.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pur Pitcher Replacement Filters
6/4/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
They work okay. They don't seem to last very long though. But, that's true for all the manufacturing companies of this product. It's like you have to drink all the water in the pitcher right away after it gets filtered, in order to make these filters last any length of time. Or you have to transfer the filtered water into another container if you want to put it in the refrigerator to keep cold. I would like to see any of the water filtration pitcher manufacturers create a pitcher & filter that would allow their customers to keep a full pitcher of their filtered water in the refrigerator for up to a week without the filter continuously working, so as to last longer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
makes our water drinkable
3/1/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We first bought this filter because we didn't like the taste of our water. This low cost filtering system works great for the two of us. We've gone through 3 filters in 6 months. If our family grows we might look into a system filter - but for now this has worked great for us.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
best price
9/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I needed replacement filters, so price was the only variable. Walmart.com had the lowest price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the 3 pack
10/19/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love that I can buy a 3 pack at Walmart. I feel it does a good job at filtering my water. I have very hard water and something in it that will stain a container if left standing for any amount of time. By using my pur filters, the section that I pour the water into is stained but where its filtered thru, its very clean and pure to the eye.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Made a water purifying salesman bow!
3/3/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had a salesman come to my house to sell me a water purifying system. His biggest selling tool was to test my drinking water for impurities. Well, little did he know that my drinking water comes from a PUR filter water pitcher. When I brought out the pitcher of water, he lowered his head and conceded that PUR filters remove more than 98% of impurities from tap water. He performed the test, which confirmed that my drinking water is very pure. Needless to say, he didn't sell me a purifying sytem!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643922, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-