Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

34 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

34 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 31 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews
helps to take chill out!!!
4/8/2008

Customer review by familycamper

4.0 stars 4/8/2008 by familycamper
by familycamper

The Catalytic heater proved to be a pretty good investment as we tested it in 30 degree weather during night time chill up in the Utah parks. It helped to take the edge off in our 12 x 15 tent. It did not heat up the tent but allowed for a comfortable sleep and it came in handy for my family of 6. The fule canister lasts about 6 hours so we kept an extra one ready to use. The electronic ignition was easy to use and the fan helped to circulate the heat. We used one set of batteries which lasted us about 6 days. Only draw back I see is once the fule is gone the fan continues working so you run the risk of running out of battery not to mention it circulates the air which has now cooled. But if your are willing to set your alarm to the approx. time the fule should run out, you can either turn off the fan or just replace the fule canister. Hey, camping does not mean 100% comfort. But this heater helped us to enjoy our week long vacation.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
familycamper
Corona,California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A great buy!
9/18/2007

Customer review by Fishingman28

5.0 stars 9/18/2007 by Fishingman28
by Fishingman28

I bought this heater a about 7 years ago. We camp in a large dome tent. This heater does the job. It won't make the tent too hot, but it sure keeps the bite of the 35-40 degree nightime temperature out of the tent. We love it! The fan on the heater definately helps move the heat around. I recommend it!! Drawbacks are: The box says it'll run 8 hrs on a full tank... Actually only about 6 hrs is what it runs. And, it's a larger sized unit. But worth taking with you.

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fishingman28
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A Major Disappointment
12/10/2007

Customer review by ggonzales

2.0 stars 12/10/2007 by ggonzales
by ggonzales

The heater takes batteries but does not specify what kind in the description (this was bought on the walmart website for someone else to pick up) so he didn't know which to get until he actually opened up the box. Second, it was very dinged up. My cousin got the impression that it was a recycled heater, that perhaps someone returned it to the manufacturer, they fixed it, repackaged it and sold it out again -- and he got it this time around. Third, there was a considerable amount of rust on the joints and connections. Way too much for a 'new' product. Fourth, it's advertised as providing 6 - 8 hours of heat with a 16oz cylinder. It actually provides about 4 hours. And there are no adjustment dials so you're stuck what whatever it kicks out. Long story short, it's the most inexpensive propane heater advertised. There is a reason for it. With this little item, you get what you pay for, in that you don't pay alot so you get even less. Save your money. Get a different heater.

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ggonzales
Battle Creek, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Heat a Chilly Shed
2/22/2009

Customer review by HandsomeLou

5.0 stars 2/22/2009 by HandsomeLou
by HandsomeLou

I purchased this heater to warm a 9 x 13 x 6' high wooden shed that houses my motorcycle. It does a good job in heating the area. It has a little battery fan that circulates the heat around effectively. In a 15 degree atmosphere, it took about 2 hours to warm it enough that I only needed a sweatshirt to be comfortable. In the four hour period that I used it, it burned approx. a half a tank of propane. I would definitely recommend this heater to take the chill out of an outdoor shed.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HandsomeLou
Meadowlands, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Worked Great
9/23/2007

Customer review by Love2Camp

5.0 stars 9/23/2007 by Love2Camp
by Love2Camp

Worked just as the material said that it would. It helped keep us warm in a cold tent at Yellowstone National Park. Give it a try.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Love2Camp
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome Product, Coleman!
3/22/2009

Customer review by hightrekker

5.0 stars 3/22/2009 by hightrekker
by hightrekker

We have owned this product for four years now and it has proven its value to us during this time. It's quite a remarkable design to be safe to use within a tent. It lights easily and puts out a steady heat for about 5-6 hours, in often below freezing temps--we camp at 9000' plus in the CO mountains. The battery operated fan helps circulate the warm air. This product does work more efficiently in smaller areas/tents. If using a larger sized tent with "rooms", we recommend using the interior partitions to concentrate the heat, increasing its effectiveness. This Coleman product is a must have for those who seek warmth, while camping in colder environments. It can even be used in truck shells and garages. We rely on our Pro Cat and are extremely happy with it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hightrekker
Rocky Mountains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
9/4/2009

Customer review by Saltysailor

5.0 stars 9/4/2009 by Saltysailor
by Saltysailor

We bought the Coleman Procat Heater five years ago. We've used in while camping in our tent, and now we use in to heat the cabin of our 20' sailboat, but not while sleeping! Sailboat has good ventilation, so using heater inside is safe! We store propane outside cabin. The heater has a large "footprint" meaning it will not tip over very eaisly. Best small boat heater on the market! It works great! Well worth the cost! Would buy one again!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Saltysailor
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
What I Expected
12/3/2008

Customer review by ToxicPop

5.0 stars 12/3/2008 by ToxicPop
by ToxicPop

I researched small propane heaters. Everything I read about this one suggested it was appropriate for my needs. No complaints. I read the directions, screwed in a propane bottle, turned it on and had heat just as I expected.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToxicPop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very useful for outdoors
12/27/2007

Customer review by Wantsthebest

5.0 stars 12/27/2007 by Wantsthebest
by Wantsthebest

This heater was perfect for outdoor use as well as inside.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wantsthebest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Warms the van up cheap
3/21/2009

Customer review by OBKS

4.0 stars 3/21/2009 by OBKS
by OBKS

Easy to use and works well. The fan blows the heat around and this speeds up the process of getting your space warm. I fire this bad boy up during the winter to get our van warm before we take off. This way when i start the van i don't have to let it idle for so long, it's already warm inside and we don't waste all that gas getting the heater up to temp. This would do a great job in a fourman tent to take the chill out of the air... keep an extra tank of fuel handy though.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OBKS
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
LOVE IT
3/24/2010

Customer review by LoveToCamp4Fun

5.0 stars 3/24/2010 by LoveToCamp4Fun
by LoveToCamp4Fun

I loved this product. It was perfect for turning on an warming the tent up a little prior to changing, both in the morning and in the afternoon. Also used it in the morning to play on the floor with my nephew while others were sleeping. It keep the area warm enough to sit there and be able to enjoy it, even though it was only about 40 degrees out. I wish I would have purchased this product years ago! LOVE IT! No tent camper should be without one. We didn't use it at night, though if it would have gotten any colder I was prepared to turn it on during the night. Make sure to keep a few feet away when igniting as it does put out a small flame when igniting, then it goes away.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveToCamp4Fun
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
10/29/2008

Customer review by MOBETTA1

4.0 stars 10/29/2008 by MOBETTA1
by MOBETTA1

Just went camping in Northeastern PA. Cold(upper thirties), rainy and windy all weekend. Nobody wanted to leave the bonfire even in the rain. I put on the Pro Cat in my tent and was extremely comfortable until the next morning. Everyone at the site was jealous of this heater. The blower eats up the batteries, however, but it was sufficient even without the blower. I would be careful not to get anything near the heater, especially in a small tent. The funny thing after the camping trip was that my power went out in my house for 24 hrs. and it worked just as nice in the bedroom!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MOBETTA1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ProCat
12/5/2007

Customer review by ColoCamper

4.0 stars 12/5/2007 by ColoCamper
by ColoCamper

ProCat is a little bigger than expected (I always have trouble picturing even when dimensions are included). But, its functionality is very good for smaller spaces. I used this extensively in my camper for multi-day winter camping trips to save battery power used to run my built-in furnace. I found the small propane bottles to last about 7 hrs and the fan might even go longer than the reported 8 hours. Where this unit excells - high altitude. Most catalytics have an automatic shut off for low O2 level, so they don't work over 6000'ish. I had this running well above 12000'.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ColoCamper
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeds Expectations
12/9/2007

Customer review by hiddenwilderness

5.0 stars 12/9/2007 by hiddenwilderness
by hiddenwilderness

I ordered this for use in a medium-sized shed which houses a clothing bank. The shed has just enough power to run a couple lights, but not enough to run a space-heater. During the winter months, it's cold! Our volunteers say this makes a world of difference. We have also used another brand, which puts out more btus, but it doesn't have a fan to move the air, and it uses at least twice as much propane. This is not a small unit, either. It's a good-sized unit with a stable base. The fact that the fan runs on D batteries which are readily available is a plus, too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hiddenwilderness
NW WA State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Life giving heat
11/7/2008

Customer review by CrazyManvsWild

4.0 stars 11/7/2008 by CrazyManvsWild
by CrazyManvsWild

Used it in Yosemite on halloween during the rain. It warmed up my four person tent within five minutes. We didn't use it while sleeping due to the warning on the heater, plus there was a propane smell. Probably from the initial startup of the heater. For any reason I need more heat, I turn the knob towards the "light"(used for starting), which allows more propane to flow, and it gets hotter. The coolest thing about it is, it will keep you warm while you're trying to light the camp fire.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CrazyManvsWild
SF Bay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great product
11/13/2007

Customer review by timistyj

4.0 stars 11/13/2007 by timistyj
by timistyj

This thing works great! It really takes the edge off on those cold nights camping. We camped with several other people and we were the only ones warm during the night. It only lasts 6 hours though, not 8 hours like the box says. It was difficult to light the first time because you do not see a flame. (It also smelled a little the first time we used it.) But once we got the hang of it, it was quite easy to light. My only regret was not buying one sooner.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
timistyj
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Works Great!
11/16/2007

Customer review by Gr8Outdoorsman

5.0 stars 11/16/2007 by Gr8Outdoorsman
by Gr8Outdoorsman

I bought this unit to use in my small deer camper. It works great! I usually turn it on a little before I go to bed to warm up the bed and then shut it off. Then in the morning, I reach over and turn it on for a few minutes before I get out of the sleeping bag. It warms the camper up very quickly. The fan seems to be a great addition to the unit as it does circulate the heat very well. I would recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gr8Outdoorsman
Friendswood, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Life Saver
12/6/2007

Customer review by soccerparents

5.0 stars 12/6/2007 by soccerparents
by soccerparents

This is the 2nd time I purchase this product. After lossing everything to a house fire, replacing this particular product was a must for my family. We spend 2 or 3 nights a week during soccer season sitting in cold stadiums watching 4 of our 5 teens play ball. I am completly satisfied and do recomend it to everyone!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soccerparents
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
3/2/2010

Customer review by LoverofTruth

4.0 stars 3/2/2010 by LoverofTruth
by LoverofTruth

I bought this fan/heater for my sister in New York, in the event she experienced power outages in the winter.............she hasnt had to use it yet, but she is very happy that she has it and looks forward to using it when necessary In my opinion, this is a product needful for emergencies

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoverofTruth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Love This Heater!!
6/13/2010

Customer review by ImHerzz

5.0 stars 6/13/2010 by ImHerzz
by ImHerzz

I was amazed how good this heater worked! Totally took the chill out of the tent in low 40' weather. It heated up quickly and lasted they 7 hours promised. I was additionally impressed that 1 set of batteries kept the fan working for 4, 7 hr nights.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ImHerzz
Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1-20 of 31 reviews