Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 130 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

130 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

130 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 126 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
My first experience with 3D

Customer review by ScottC88

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by ScottC88
by ScottC88

Though I did not buy my TV from Walmart, I did get this same model, and felt they needed a review here. I have had this TV for about 5 days now. It came well packaged with 2 remotes (one being the Wii-like remote), instructions, stand, wifi usb adapter, and batteries for both remotes. Getting it set up: certainly try and get someone to help you. I managed it by myself, but it's just too risky on something this expensive. Not that it's extremely heavy (no more than my older 42"), but more that it's big and awkward to handle. Connecting: I had to do some swapping of connections for this TV, as they've done away with S-Video. Take the time to see what you have as far as cables and connections, and check what this TV has. Plan on how you want to connect so you can be sure everything will work. I had to pick up a Optical Digital Audio cable for my surround sound receiver. Aside from that, everything went really well. All the HDMI conections are on the left, flat against the TV so they don't stick out perpindicular to the the back of the TV if you were to mount it on the wall. Turning it on: The settings right out of the box were good, but not the best. Some basic settings like Cinema and Game change it a bit, but it has Expert1and Expert2 where you can tweek just about everything to do with the picture. I found some settings online in a forum that really improved picture quality. If you go this route, be prepared to spend some time setting it up. The TruMotion effect on the TV gives it a weird "soap opera" look to it. I tried a less intrusive setting, but the wife still didn't like it so I finally turned it off. The picture itself is wonderful. Lighting is even, colors are bright, and with my custom settings, blacks are wonderful. I have standard definition satellite and it looks great at 12' on the couch. 3D: I haven't had much experience with this yet, other than to play with the 2D-3D conversion of some TV and PS3 game. It certainly ads an appearance of depth to the image, but if the true 3D isn't any better (which I hear it is), then I might have passed on a set with this feature. But I got a good deal on it, and the passive 3D glasses are cheap (and it comes with 4). Be back at least about 8 feet, or the picture shows lines from the altered image. Also, some people report that the 3D might not be as good if you aren't looking at the TV straight on. That it could be worse if the TV is mounted up high like above a fireplace. I have read some people on forums reporting lag from their gaming systems. I have a PS3 connected with a new 3D rated HDMI cable and I do not notice any input lag. I've mostly played Black Ops online the past few days and haven't noticed any. The 2D-3D in this game is pretty neat, I have to admit. Gives it depth. Be prepared to adjust the settings for other inputs, as the originals for TV do not carry over to other input sources. Sound: I wasn't expecting much from such a thin TV. For good sound, you need space for the speakers which you don't have in a thin TV. But I have to admit, these sound great for normal TV viewing. And if I want to go loud, I turn on the surround sound. In all I'm very pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (98) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Better than I expected!

Customer review by Kaaskop

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by Kaaskop
by Kaaskop

I have had my new LG TV for about three weeks. I had no problems setting it up over the course of several days. I also upgraded my Dish subscrition and had to learn how to use it The number of inputs made the job simple as I have Blu-ray, DVD for music, VCR, Laser disc player, and computer input. Input selection was easy as it is on screen and you can rename the inputs from HDMI to VCR., Sattelite, Blu-ray or what ever. I have also used my flash drive to show pictures. Connected easily to my wireless computer network and worked like a charm The sound is acceptable, however, I used a large receiver for surround sound. I like the feature that you can completely shut off the TV sound and still use the TV output through my receiver. That way I don't have to switch input on my reciever. The picture is great I have made no special adjustments. The 3D conversion works really well and brings a special feeling to some of my older DVD's and football. Surfing the web works well and I can get and read my email on the TV and search the web. The Smart remote is very handy as my wife is not a techie and she can handle the TV the way she wants. Dd I all ready say the picture is grrrreat. I like LG products as they seem to offer many extra little features that others do not have. The printed manual is OK for starters and the manual on the CD explains everything in detail. There is very little reflection in a well lit room due to the matte screen. To sum up...Good price, good delivery, great picture, great features.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Best tv

Customer review by Joseipa

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by Joseipa
by Joseipa

This is the best tv that you can buy. I had a Sony that almost cost $3000.00 and this is much better and cost almost the half of the Sony.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
San German,PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day

Customer review by PPLH

4.0 stars 8/29/2011 by PPLH

Needs more speakers, more glasses and autoshutoff.

Was this review helpful? (3) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Best Investment Ever

Customer review by AJ

5.0 stars 5/29/2011 by AJ
by AJ

We absolutely love out new LG 55" 3D LED TV. We paid full price for it but it was well worth it. We got the LG surround sound with it and a 3D Blu-Ray player. We love the way it takes 2D programs and can convert them into 3D. I like this feature best for watching hockey games in HD. It is as good as having box seats. It is full of features and takes a while to get use to it, but the remote wand makes it very easy to navigate. I also like the way that it not only came with 4 pairs of 3D glasses, but that we can also use regular polaroid sun glasses or the souvenir pairs from IMAX or regular 3D movie theaters and that we don't need to purchase expensive pairs that use batteries. The fact that it is an LED TV is a bonus too, in that it uses a lot less energy and is therefore a greener choice. I can't say enough good things about our new LG 3D TV.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV

Customer review by edwmo

5.0 stars 6/11/2011 by edwmo
by edwmo

The 2D and 3D experience with this tv is amazing, great picture in both formats. The passive glasses are a big step up from the "active" (expensive) glasses. One app that I wish the tv had was hulu, or a silmilar app. Overall a great tv

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wonderful product

Customer review by Mim

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by Mim
by Mim

This is probably the best TV I have ever owned. The picture is very clear and the color very true. It was fairly easy to set up and it works perfectly. I have owned this set for a little over a month now and have had no problems. I have it on a stand but had condsidered wall mounting it but this was easier. Have installed a blu-ray player and it also works great. Have not yet tried the 3D feature but from what I saw on the demo it lookd great. All in all this is one teriffic TV!

SF California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So Satisfied

Customer review by Tassman

5.0 stars 7/22/2011 by Tassman
by Tassman

I am so pleased with this purchase. I think it has great picture quality in both 2D and 3D. I never thought I would buy a 3D TV, just because of the cost for additional glasses. It is hard to imagine making an investment in a TV and then have to spend several hundred more in glasses so the whole family could in enjoy it. The technology of the LG is great and they have made it very affordable. When looking into this TV and the salesmen told me that none of the #D TV's come with glasses and LG and one other, I thought that was insane!!

Rock Hill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by mike

5.0 stars 9/16/2011 by mike
by mike

I love this TV. I especially enjoy the ability to have 3-D when I need it without having to have expensive glasses. I love to search the web with it also. The quality is very good and I am very glad I bought it.

Boise Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by Jefe

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by Jefe
by Jefe

Great TV... picture is amazing and loaded with features. Set-up is a breeze, including wireless, homie network, internet, remote, etc. The kids love the 3D, and the 2D to 3D feature is incredible.

San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
fantastic 3d

Customer review by dadant

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by dadant
by dadant

Was a little hesitent about getting a 3d tv as both my wife and son have some pretty thick prescription lenses, but after seeing this on display with the use of the passive glasses i knew i had a chance at convincing them.. all it took was a ride to the store to have my son try the glasses on and just like that the balance of power shifted to a 2 to 1 vote...once home and set up the tv itself is fantastic great size, sound, and top notch picture quality, and the best part everyone enjoys the 3d would highly recommend

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV

Customer review by KC4776

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by KC4776
by KC4776

Great TV! The picture is crisp, performance is great, the sound isn't the best (but its still good), and its just a great purchase. It's easy to use, it even comes with a mouse. I sometimes have issues when purchasing 3D movies through the cable box (The TV is delayed in recognizing that it's a 3D movie); but thats Time Warners problem.

Akron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent 2D/3D picture and Smart TV

Customer review by MarioXT

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by MarioXT
by MarioXT

I am very pleased with this TV. The 2D picture is outstanding and the 3D picture is awesome. I love the passive 3D glasses and extra built-in features and applications. The magic remote wand is very cool and handy. It is a high performance TV, but easy to use. The only thing that would make it better would be a full keyboard remote for entering data into the web and Smart TV apps.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by mw

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by mw
by mw

The best TV I have ever owned. Super clear picture. 3D is amazing. The inexpencive glasses makes it easy to share with friends. The price was great.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV

Customer review by jtbvaca

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by jtbvaca
by jtbvaca

For the price this is the best TV I found. I was looking at other more expensive TVs but am very happy with my choice. The best part is the easy 3d glasses no need to charge or buy expensive glasses like other brands!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent TV

Customer review by TheEMan

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by TheEMan
by TheEMan

What can be said. This TV is great. The best feature of this TV besides the quality is the Cinema 3d and the apps - espescially, Netflix. The 3d is amazing and the glasses are cheap. My only regret is I should have bought the 65" :).

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow - 3d + PS3 = Amazing

Customer review by brianz

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by brianz
by brianz

What an incredible TV. PS3 games are incredible, and the 2d-3d conversion works well with any HD channel. I could not recommend this more highly. Love the design as well. Try Killzone 3 and the Motorstorm games and you'll be sold!

Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by reklawztis

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by reklawztis
by reklawztis

the product performs as advertised; it is easy to set-up and navigate. picture quality is great.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV 2D and 3D

Customer review by casper

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by casper
by casper

Over all this is a great buy. does everything well for the price point. Sports fans don't worry, this TV does not blur at all. I came from a plasma so it took a little getting use to bright picture but after some adjustments the picture was sweet! 3d is just icing on the cake!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by SAVAGE

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by SAVAGE


Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews