Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

100 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

100 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 91 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews
LG I LOVE YOU
5/5/2011

Customer review by deb1120

5.0 stars 5/5/2011 by deb1120
by deb1120

This picture is unsurpassed to anything I have seen. I own a RCA and a Sony HD TV. This LG TV certainly looks as close to 3D as I have ever seen without being an actual 3D picture. I am not only pleased but in awe of the TV and it's technology. Thank You LG. You certainly created a loyal fan and cheerleader in me.

Was this review helpful? (82) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deb1120
south jersy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent product
5/9/2011

Customer review by techyone

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by techyone
by techyone

best picture ever. father has a vizio and the LG blows it away

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
techyone
Ottawa,IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/16/2011

Customer review by Ryan430

4.0 stars 10/16/2011 by Ryan430
by Ryan430

I bought this television on September 2011. I read terrible reviews on walmart shipping so i decided to pick up at a local walmart store. Walmart had my item ready the next day by 10am as promised. I brought it home and tested all features, nothing was wrong with my brand new tv. The picture quality is amazing but i must say it tends to blur more then i expected a 120hz tv to. The sound quality is good but when i do watch a movie i would like the volume to be a bit higher. The only thing about this television that is completely horrible is the base, it wobbles at the slightest tounch. Would recommend to hang it up immediately.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ryan430
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This tv is excellent
8/4/2011

Customer review by laguy32

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by laguy32
by laguy32

i bought this a few months ago, i bought it for 620. it has been excellent. i tried out sonys and samsungs but i loved LG! I loved it so much i bought a washing machine a month ago, they make good products. hopefully they dont cheap out and let theire egos get in the way of the success of their products, i would be buying more lg products

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laguy32
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
12/27/2011

Customer review by KevintheCaveman

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by KevintheCaveman
by KevintheCaveman

We bought this tv to upgrade from a 42 inch LG that we got a few years ago, it was only a 720p and now that we have so many HD channels and a BluRay player, we figured it was time to upgrade. Originally bought a similar LG from Best Buy online and they couldn't fullfil the order and deliver it to our local store (don't ask) and couldn't deliver it to home for 3 weeks, uhhh no thanks. Got our refund and went to walmart .com. I am convinved now after several purchases, this is the only way to make large item purchases or anything you already know exactly what you want and don't want or need to have to deal with an associate with. Not that its walmart fault but here's the usual scenario: Go into the store look around at some tv's (or other electronic devices) do some price comparing and then want to ask an associate a couple questions, wait for them to finally show up to help you and then their not sure let me ask someone else, decide to purchase, ok well let me go get one from the back and then go to the register to wait in line while they try to talk you into the extended warranty coverage. Wow, thats ok. Here's the new way to do it: go to walmart .com, compare products, read reviews, google other products and reviews, go back to walmart.com, make purchase and choose store pick up, 2 hours or so later they send you a text on your phone, go to back of store and pick product up and leave and go home. Me likey!!! What can i say, the tv, as most our now a days was super easy to set up, plug in the right cables to the right locations and your done. It takes longer to get it out of the box and get all the plastic removed thatn it does to actually set the tv up. Definately go for the 1080 and definately go with the 120hz refresh rate, makes a huge difference especially in action scenes. Mediocre sound but buy the vizio sound bar for a hundred bucks and its much better. I hope this helps, and please be kind. I read reviews now before I make any major kind of purchases because I value what the average user has to say not just the experts, if you do to, please start taking the time to write reviews on the products you purchase, it helps us all.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KevintheCaveman
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LG Excellent Picture !!!!
10/13/2011

Customer review by lolololois

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by lolololois
by lolololois

Excellent Picture Quality. Picture looks like 3D. I had to recheck twice to see if they sold me a 3D TV buy a mistake. Words does not do this TV justice. See pictures I've took of TV screen pictures. I am extremely pleased with LG TV's. This is my second TV from LG.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lolololois
Saint Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great quality TV for the price
10/23/2011

Customer review by davestoo

5.0 stars 10/23/2011 by davestoo
by davestoo

This LG TV has a great picture, and some settings that can be made to suit your viewing preferences. I found that the energy settings have a lot to do with picture quality. The higher settings result in a darker picture . The lowest setting or auto worked best for me. The sound quality is good, but would be better if the speakers faced out the front, instead of out the bottom of the cabinet. I am considering adding a sound bar to face out into the room, giving much better sound quality. All things considered, this is a great TV for the price, and have heard the LG TV's use higher grade components than some competitors.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davestoo
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
GREAT TV - nice price
8/27/2011

Customer review by razzdazz

5.0 stars 8/27/2011 by razzdazz
by razzdazz

We are very pleased with our 42" LG LCD HGTV. The picture quality is great - vivid colors, crisp and sharp. Finding it on sale with free shipping directly to our door was definitely an added bonus. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to purchase a 42" flat screen TV.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
razzdazz
Danville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tv
10/10/2011

Customer review by dahighlander

4.0 stars 10/10/2011 by dahighlander
by dahighlander

Great tv overall! As long as you buy hdmi cable and select hdmi input in menu of your tv and watch hd programming. Sounds like a no brainer but the tv in standard def w/out hdmi connection is just so so. Surprised but a lot of people I have talked to did not know they needed hdmi cables. And do not waste money on name brand cables in store, for just 3ft of cable in store wanted $20. I purchased through online site for 2 6ft and a 10ft w/shipping for $18 and change. Also, may get through cable or satellite provider for free. Used site to store for tv and received in a week about 1 1/2 weeks was not available in the store closest to me but found in another store after I ordered otherwise great experience. Excellent return policy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dahighlander
ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/9/2011

Customer review by Worldb

5.0 stars 11/9/2011 by Worldb
by Worldb

Excellent size for smaller space. 150,000 to 1 contrast ratio is perfect. Great sound quality.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Worldb
Lexington KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/29/2011

Customer review by trate

4.0 stars 9/29/2011 by trate
by trate

Purchased a sound bar for this television. Was not impressed with the TV speakers. Overall I am satisified with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trate
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very impressed
10/28/2011

Customer review by MrIntelligent

4.0 stars 10/28/2011 by MrIntelligent
by MrIntelligent

LG 42" Class LCD 1080p 120Hz HDTV, 42LK520 is a very good lcd tv. Before I had a Samsung 4069.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrIntelligent
brooklyn, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV for the Price
8/22/2011

Customer review by thisisapermanentnickname

4.0 stars 8/22/2011 by thisisapermanentnickname
by thisisapermanentnickname

The Pros: TV has lots of inputs: 3 HDMI, 2 Component, 2 Composite, 1 RBG (computer), 1 USB, and 1 RF (coax) connector. Very easy and useful picture and sound controls. As good or better view angles as my old "tube" TV. Finally, there is very little glare from lights and windows. The Cons: The remote needs to be aimed at the right lower corner (I'm guessing that's the remote receiver location) fairly precisely and even then pushing a button on the remote may not get a response on the first try. Also the base that comes with the TV (some assembly required) seems a bit flimsy but it does come with a hole in the base and a wood screw that can be attached to the top of your entertainment center (I highly recommend).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thisisapermanentnickname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/19/2011

Customer review by sb9045

1.0 stars 8/19/2011 by sb9045
by sb9045

We purchased this tv yesterday and hooked it up today. We were very pleased for about 3 hrs. then the picture went to the darkest setting and stayed that way. We went into "settings" and none of the brightness settings would change the brightness of the picture. After about 30 min. the picture got brighter again. It just does it of it own accord. This tv will be returned tomorrow and I will look at a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (18) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sb9045
Selmer, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice TV
8/30/2011

Customer review by Adam41306

4.0 stars 8/30/2011 by Adam41306
by Adam41306

I went with LG because it is a reputable brand that gets high reviews. However, I can't see a whole lot different with this TV than other ones. I have a Vizio and the picture quality is about the same. I will say that the sound (contrary to what others may say) is very good on this LG and is far superior to my Vizio. Picture is nice, but sports still get a tad blury when there is fast motion. Video games look nice, as well as DVDs. TV in High Def looks so good. I gave features a "3" because I don't use any of them, so I don't know if they're good or not. Something else to note is that I have this TV in my bedroom, which is very small, and the tempeture of my room has gone up significantly. This TV gives off so much heat. Overall, this is a nice TV and I'm happy with it, but I bought mine for $539 (tax-free!) from East Coast TVs. I'm not sure this is a good value buy.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adam41306
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this TV!
12/6/2011

Customer review by Lauriescatzrule

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Lauriescatzrule
by Lauriescatzrule

Purchased this TV about a month ago. All I can say is that the picture is great and I don't even have it hooked to an HD box. That will be coming soon. Plan on purchasing another one for my Mother-in-law for Christmas. Think she'll love it, too!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lauriescatzrule
Ventress, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Mid Range TV
1/2/2012

Customer review by NY1711

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by NY1711
by NY1711

First, let me say if you can afford the 47" LG I would definitely go with that - I think 46 or 47" is pretty much the perfect TV size. But I could only afford the 42". I bought this at Best Buy for $569 during a New Years sale. I owned a 32" 720 LG and was very happy except for the size and desire for 1080p. Having owned an LG i was already familiar with most of the settings and features. This TV is not packed with goodies but it has an outstanding picture, contrast ratio for the price and you can't beat 120hz at this price. The shocking thing was how good the sound is. I knew from my 32" that the sound would be ok. As you know, you can't compare HDTVs sound capabilities with an old Sony XBR, as an example. But this 42LK520 has really terrific sound - very loud and clear. The 120hz and TruMotion really makes a difference in terms of how the picture "pops" and that after all was the whole promise of HDTV. When I first got it home and set it up (takes 5 minutes) I thought the picture was very good. Then two days later I realized I still had my FIOS cable box set to 720. Once I changed that to 1080 - wow!! I wish I could have afforded the 47" but you can't go wrong with the 42" if you can get a good price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NY1711
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better Than Expected
12/18/2011

Customer review by ComMitTed

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by ComMitTed
by ComMitTed

This TV is so crisp and clear, you'd think it might have 3D. I haven't experienced all the features that are important to me like attaching my smartphone to watch videos and movies or playing my DVD player, but I'm certain I won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComMitTed
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great value
11/23/2011

Customer review by dstealt

4.0 stars 11/23/2011 by dstealt
by dstealt

I have only used this LG TV for 3 months in a bedroom(wall mount). I found the stand that comes with it is very flimsy compared to Sony or Samsung TV's that I own. The picture quality is ok in SD, but I expect a much better picture when I switch to HD. The setup was a breeze & all you have to do is follow the manuel. The biggest drawback to this TV is the sound system, which I found to be at best ok....would suggest using a sound bar or buying a 5.1 or 7.1 sound sytem to hook-up to this TV.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dstealt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Overall a very nice TV
2/15/2012

Customer review by someonewhoboughtatv

4.0 stars 2/15/2012 by someonewhoboughtatv
by someonewhoboughtatv

This TV has great sound, and a very good picture, especially, of course, when watching high definition broadcasts. My one complaint is that the TV has some sort of sensor that makes the brightness of the picture correspond to the brightness of the room. I feel that this sensor works backwards. No matter what setting I choose for the picture quality and brightness, when we watch TV at night with just some dim lights on, the picture becomes darker. I feel the picture should remain the same or even get a bit brighter. To have a really good quality picture, we have to watch TV at night with a bright light on in the room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
someonewhoboughtatv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 91 total reviews
1-20 of 91 reviews