Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 53 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

53 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 48 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Terrific for the money
6/2/2011

Customer review by Golfgirl8350

4.0 stars 6/2/2011 by Golfgirl8350
by Golfgirl8350

How much to buy a new hi def blu-ray player? $200? How much for a 5.1 surround sound system? Several hundred at least for a boxed system. And how much for a new FM receiver with enough watts to make you happy? A few hundred more? Okay, now how picky are you? If you are a video freak or audiophile, this probably isn't the system for you. But if you want FAR better sound then what comes out of your TV speakers (with some nice movie theater bass) , a blu-ray player that also plays regular DVDs as well as music and photo CDs, an FM tuner, and a way to watch Netflix on your TV instead of on your PC monitor, this is the best $200 you'll ever spend. Three things to note: 1) you'll need at least two HDMI cables: one to connect the blu-ray player to the TV and one from the cable box to the blu-ray player; 2) there is no bluetooth (wireless) connection so in order to connect the system to the internet for Netflix you have to use an ethernet cord that attaches to your cable broadband modem (so if your modem and PC are in a different room than your TV you have to think about what to do); 3) set up isn't very straightforward and the instruction booklet isn't terribly clear. Plus, once you have it all set up, getting it to use the whole 5.1 system instead of just the front speakers takes several steps, so be sure to read up or go to the Phillips website for help. Overall, I'm pleased with the sound, the cost and the extra's (like the FM tuner...what a plus!).

Was this review helpful? (77) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Golfgirl8350
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Not Wi-FI
6/3/2011

Customer review by FLHEAVEN

3.0 stars 6/3/2011 by FLHEAVEN
by FLHEAVEN

Sound from this is great but if you are buying it for the wi-fi netflix you need model #HTS3306. This model is not wi-fi capable & can only use the netflix with an ethernet cable contrary to what Walmart says in this listing. I contacted Phillips & they said this model can never be wi-fi & the model I listed above is the only model Walmart carries that is. The sound quality is great but with blu-ray disk only the front speakers play while with tv (which you need to buy the red & white audio cables to hook up) & regular dvds the full surround was available. 5.1 sound was not even an option when a blu ray disk was playing for some reason. If you just want some speakers its good for the price. Taking this back tomorrow & paying the extra $78 for the Wi-fi one.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLHEAVEN
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great product
5/9/2011

Customer review by dragonsnlizards

4.0 stars 5/9/2011 by dragonsnlizards
by dragonsnlizards

We ordered this online free site-to-store and picked it up within the week. When we hooked it up, there was a problem internally with the blu-ray player, so we ordered a new one and it was here within the week again, and it works perfectly. we returned the other with no problem. We've only had the product for about a week now, but it puts out great sound and the picture has amazing clarity!

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dragonsnlizards
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lock the doors
4/23/2011

Customer review by 4EyedRabbitEared

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by 4EyedRabbitEared
by 4EyedRabbitEared

You'll think someone 's coming in the back door . Sound is Great and dvd picture is awesome .

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4EyedRabbitEared
Gainesville , Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a good product,worth the price
5/17/2011

Customer review by Lickity

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by Lickity
by Lickity

this system has great sound and very easy hook up,well worth the sale price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lickity
Tampa,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great home theatre system
6/29/2011

Customer review by ali9178

4.0 stars 6/29/2011 by ali9178
by ali9178

I just ordered this product on Thursday of last week and received it on Tuesday, using standard shipping. We immediately opened the box and was eager to get our new system connected. ok speaker set up easy.. trying to get the surround sound to work with my cable.. not so easy. After 3 hours of google searching, reading manuals, unplugging and replugging everything back in my tv seemed broke! It would come on (I knew this because the power light was green) but nothing was on the screen. We called it a night. Turned the television on the next morning it was still black, i decided to turn back on the BD box and there it was - my cable! With surround sound.. however I still heard the tv's sound so I turned it down all the was and now it works. I am sure there is something still not hooked up right but for now I am very satisfied with the sound and the quality of the product.. I would do it all over again to pay this price for such a high quality product!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ali9178
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/19/2011

Customer review by lrj0919

5.0 stars 5/19/2011 by lrj0919
by lrj0919

so far I love this product ! I am hearing impaired I use the stereo part of this daily & Its great crisp clear sound really happy with my purchase

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lrj0919
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/17/2011

Customer review by mattsco

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by mattsco
by mattsco

First off the sound is great for the size of a living room,the blue ray player looks better that regular dvd's,on my hdtv,and having the ability to watch netflix and listen to net radio is a plus . This is a well rounded system.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mattsco
pemberville oh.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does the Job
8/16/2011

Customer review by zephyr14

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by zephyr14
by zephyr14

I purchased a TV with so-so sound and this sytem kicked it up a few notches (alot of notches). The system is great for the price. Love it!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zephyr14
VV, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
7/3/2011

Customer review by rhi88nos

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by rhi88nos
by rhi88nos

Just wanted to say that i searched online and found this product. Was very happy with the price, let alone setting it all up. Was very easy to set up!!! The sound... all i can say is whoaaaaa!!!! Awesome surround effects. Also having the feature to listen to FM radio, let alone see pics from your CD. Very happy with this product. I will tell my friends.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rhi88nos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what I wanted, I took it back.
7/5/2011

Customer review by moogaroo

1.0 stars 7/5/2011 by moogaroo
by moogaroo

1st of all. could not hook it up to my sattelite box, then I discovered there was no way to dissconect the rear spezker wires from the big plug that plugs into the receiver, in order to attach them to my exsisting wires that are ran under my floor. Thank goodness there was no problem returning it to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moogaroo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Very Good Value!
7/7/2011

Customer review by lvjr

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by lvjr
by lvjr

I didn't expect a unit that cost under $200 to be this good!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lvjr
Hertford, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice but not what I wanted
9/6/2011

Customer review by Wunderdawg

3.0 stars 9/6/2011 by Wunderdawg
by Wunderdawg

Had many features I liked and price was nearly amazing, but I returned this to the store. Things I liked: > vtuner. This is cool. Found every radio station I have ever loved from everywhere I have ever lived and brought them to my current home. But take time to set up the web account and set up favorite folders there BEFORE you start adding favorites over the unit - I coldn't figure out how to reorganize folders once favorites were assigned. > Netflix. This was what got me focused on this unit. Was intended for a weekend house that doesn't have antenna signals nor cable subscr. This worked well except it lacked ability to browse / add favs to instant queue without logging in to account on PC. (a feature we love with our LG at primary residence) My issues were: 1) System didn't remember and restart with my last settings. I wanted to listen to radio or vtuner, and had to turn on TV and navigate back to my favorite station each time I started the unit. 2) Sound. The quality was 'ok' but the default settings went from 'too-loud-to-fall-asleep-to' to 'off' I probably could have adjusted the individual speaker settings to fix this - but at this point I had already made my decision to return based on item 1.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wunderdawg
Catonsville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not happy
7/10/2011

Customer review by thrifTshpr44

2.0 stars 7/10/2011 by thrifTshpr44
by thrifTshpr44

I bought this product because I had also purchased a Phillips 40" flat screen LCD. the sound quality it not that great and for some reason the remote won't operate both TV and home theater. the reason I bought both together was so that I wouldnt have compatablity issues between the 2.. To be fair it could be an issue with the set up, but i paid to have it installed professionaly so I cant be 100% since I know nothing of these things.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thrifTshpr44
Gardena
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/2/2011

Customer review by BasicBarney

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by BasicBarney
by BasicBarney

Works Great! Sounds Greater! Unbeatable for the cost!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BasicBarney
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/9/2011

Customer review by dcree

4.0 stars 6/9/2011 by dcree
by dcree

The Blu Ray pic is awesome! But it takes a long time for the Blu Ray to start up. The set up was fairly easy. It did take me a while to figure out how to get the sound to come through when I am watching regular television. So far, no big complaints. I have not tried Netflix or anything like that yet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dcree
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome value.
10/27/2011

Customer review by Pupmaster

1.0 stars 10/27/2011 by Pupmaster
by Pupmaster

Far beyond my expectations. I was very surprised with all the extras with this system. Best value I have purchased in a long time. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pupmaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/5/2011

Customer review by excels187

1.0 stars 10/5/2011 by excels187
by excels187

The unit did not work. Had a terrible time getting a replacement from Phillips. Terrible company, would NOT give me a refund. Will never buy from this company again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
excels187
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System EXCELLENT!
6/9/2011

Customer review by daradioman

5.0 stars 6/9/2011 by daradioman
by daradioman

The Philips Blu-ray Home Theater System, HTS3251B/F7 is an EXCELLENT choice for a home theater system as it is INTERNET ready for Netflix, USB ready for videos as well as photos, SD card ready for your multimedia files and a whole lot more than just a "DVD" player. For the price, features and sound quality it is EXCELLENT and WORTH IT!

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daradioman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sound for the price.
7/10/2011

Customer review by saingle

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by saingle
by saingle

It was an easy set up and had pleny of wire to run all of the speakers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saingle
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews