Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

54 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

54 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 49 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
Great home theatre system
6/29/2011

Customer review by ali9178

4.0 stars 6/29/2011 by ali9178
by ali9178

I just ordered this product on Thursday of last week and received it on Tuesday, using standard shipping. We immediately opened the box and was eager to get our new system connected. ok speaker set up easy.. trying to get the surround sound to work with my cable.. not so easy. After 3 hours of google searching, reading manuals, unplugging and replugging everything back in my tv seemed broke! It would come on (I knew this because the power light was green) but nothing was on the screen. We called it a night. Turned the television on the next morning it was still black, i decided to turn back on the BD box and there it was - my cable! With surround sound.. however I still heard the tv's sound so I turned it down all the was and now it works. I am sure there is something still not hooked up right but for now I am very satisfied with the sound and the quality of the product.. I would do it all over again to pay this price for such a high quality product!

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ali9178
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Wi-FI
6/3/2011

Customer review by FLHEAVEN

3.0 stars 6/3/2011 by FLHEAVEN
by FLHEAVEN

Sound from this is great but if you are buying it for the wi-fi netflix you need model #HTS3306. This model is not wi-fi capable & can only use the netflix with an ethernet cable contrary to what Walmart says in this listing. I contacted Phillips & they said this model can never be wi-fi & the model I listed above is the only model Walmart carries that is. The sound quality is great but with blu-ray disk only the front speakers play while with tv (which you need to buy the red & white audio cables to hook up) & regular dvds the full surround was available. 5.1 sound was not even an option when a blu ray disk was playing for some reason. If you just want some speakers its good for the price. Taking this back tomorrow & paying the extra $78 for the Wi-fi one.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLHEAVEN
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Impressed
7/11/2016

Customer review by IzIz23

4.0 stars 7/11/2016 by IzIz23
by IzIz23

I was very doubtful when i bought this system, but when i tried it i was very impressed it has lasted since it first came out all the way to this day (July 10, 2016). Its simply awesome.

IzIz23
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Terrific for the money
6/2/2011

Customer review by Golfgirl8350

4.0 stars 6/2/2011 by Golfgirl8350
by Golfgirl8350

How much to buy a new hi def blu-ray player? $200? How much for a 5.1 surround sound system? Several hundred at least for a boxed system. And how much for a new FM receiver with enough watts to make you happy? A few hundred more? Okay, now how picky are you? If you are a video freak or audiophile, this probably isn't the system for you. But if you want FAR better sound then what comes out of your TV speakers (with some nice movie theater bass) , a blu-ray player that also plays regular DVDs as well as music and photo CDs, an FM tuner, and a way to watch Netflix on your TV instead of on your PC monitor, this is the best $200 you'll ever spend. Three things to note: 1) you'll need at least two HDMI cables: one to connect the blu-ray player to the TV and one from the cable box to the blu-ray player; 2) there is no bluetooth (wireless) connection so in order to connect the system to the internet for Netflix you have to use an ethernet cord that attaches to your cable broadband modem (so if your modem and PC are in a different room than your TV you have to think about what to do); 3) set up isn't very straightforward and the instruction booklet isn't terribly clear. Plus, once you have it all set up, getting it to use the whole 5.1 system instead of just the front speakers takes several steps, so be sure to read up or go to the Phillips website for help. Overall, I'm pleased with the sound, the cost and the extra's (like the FM tuner...what a plus!).

Was this review helpful? (77) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Golfgirl8350
Portland, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
great product
5/9/2011

Customer review by dragonsnlizards

4.0 stars 5/9/2011 by dragonsnlizards
by dragonsnlizards

We ordered this online free site-to-store and picked it up within the week. When we hooked it up, there was a problem internally with the blu-ray player, so we ordered a new one and it was here within the week again, and it works perfectly. we returned the other with no problem. We've only had the product for about a week now, but it puts out great sound and the picture has amazing clarity!

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dragonsnlizards
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Somewhat disappointed..
10/6/2011

Customer review by Cheaps

2.0 stars 10/6/2011 by Cheaps
by Cheaps

I bought the HTS3565D system (which is basically the same as this one except the 3565D does not have a Blu-Ray player) about 3 years ago and am STILL amazed by the sound. Based on that, I assumed I would get the same quality system for my cave/theater room by upgrading to the HTS3251B Blu-Ray system...but I didn't. With the DVD system, I have never NEEDED to turn the volume past 12 or 13 on the 40 max scale. (I actually had it at level 15 playing a song earlier this year and it set off one of the shatter sensors on my windows.) With the Blu-Ray system, however, I can barely even hear anything out of the speakers, except for the center speaker, until the volume is near 30 on a 60 max scale. I will say, though, that voices do come out very crisp and clear from the center speaker. This could be a pretty decent system, I guess, depending on your needs and given $198 price tag it is being sold for now, but I am probably going to return mine and upgrade to something better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheaps
New Castle, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/7/2011

Customer review by AlongTheGulfCoast

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by AlongTheGulfCoast
by AlongTheGulfCoast

I haven't had it long enough -- about 3 weeks -- to give it an accurate review. So far, though, it meets our needs & expectations. This is DH's newest toy. 1. It was intuitive to set up -- they saw me coming, thank goodness -- LOL! 2. DH loves the volume range & the modes/settings & has played with all of them. I'm sure our neighbors appreciate that he has not taken the volume beyond 25. I think some sound-proofing is on the do-it-soon list! 3. I have not fooled with it too much. Except for the volume -- generally too loud for me -- I usually leave settings as they are. The packaging was well-done; price was right; everything that was supposed to be in the box was in the box; speakers are generously supplied with speaker wire -- for us, anyway -- system is set up in a 14' x 14' room. Easy on-line product registration. In 5 or 6 months, I may not be so happy with this product after it has gone thru the winter & suffered thru the humidity -- extremely high around here.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlongTheGulfCoast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lock the doors
4/23/2011

Customer review by 4EyedRabbitEared

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by 4EyedRabbitEared
by 4EyedRabbitEared

You'll think someone 's coming in the back door . Sound is Great and dvd picture is awesome .

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
4EyedRabbitEared
Gainesville , Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
a good product,worth the price
5/17/2011

Customer review by Lickity

5.0 stars 5/17/2011 by Lickity
by Lickity

this system has great sound and very easy hook up,well worth the sale price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lickity
Tampa,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/17/2011

Customer review by mattsco

5.0 stars 7/17/2011 by mattsco
by mattsco

First off the sound is great for the size of a living room,the blue ray player looks better that regular dvd's,on my hdtv,and having the ability to watch netflix and listen to net radio is a plus . This is a well rounded system.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mattsco
pemberville oh.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BluRay player, FM radio, 5.1 amp for under $200
9/30/2011

Customer review by BossBill

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by BossBill
by BossBill

I was originally looking for a way to boost the sound in my thin HDTV. The sound was lousy on the tv and I had it installed in RV (the tv raises and lowers into a custom box) which directed the sound into the box. I looked at remote speakers, sound bars and then came upon this unit. It had 5.1 sound, a BluRay, FM and an input connection for digital sound (it looks like an RCA plug, but carries sound digitially from the tv to the Home Theater System or HTS). This digital input was required as that's the only sound output on the tv when it runs off antnena. All this for only $50 more than a sound bar. Shipping was very cheap, arrived in a few days and fit into the RV pretty well. Fitting anything into an RV is always tough. The square speaker plugs were awkward to route through the RV walls so I marked them and then removed them from the plugs (they have pins that capture them in the plug) to be replaced after I routed the wires. The bass is a bit weak but overall, for the money, this is a best buy. Just a few months ago standalone BluRays sold for this amount!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BossBill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the Job
8/16/2011

Customer review by zephyr14

5.0 stars 8/16/2011 by zephyr14
by zephyr14

I purchased a TV with so-so sound and this sytem kicked it up a few notches (alot of notches). The system is great for the price. Love it!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zephyr14
VV, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
5/19/2011

Customer review by lrj0919

5.0 stars 5/19/2011 by lrj0919
by lrj0919

so far I love this product ! I am hearing impaired I use the stereo part of this daily & Its great crisp clear sound really happy with my purchase

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lrj0919
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice but not what I wanted
9/6/2011

Customer review by Wunderdawg

3.0 stars 9/6/2011 by Wunderdawg
by Wunderdawg

Had many features I liked and price was nearly amazing, but I returned this to the store. Things I liked: > vtuner. This is cool. Found every radio station I have ever loved from everywhere I have ever lived and brought them to my current home. But take time to set up the web account and set up favorite folders there BEFORE you start adding favorites over the unit - I coldn't figure out how to reorganize folders once favorites were assigned. > Netflix. This was what got me focused on this unit. Was intended for a weekend house that doesn't have antenna signals nor cable subscr. This worked well except it lacked ability to browse / add favs to instant queue without logging in to account on PC. (a feature we love with our LG at primary residence) My issues were: 1) System didn't remember and restart with my last settings. I wanted to listen to radio or vtuner, and had to turn on TV and navigate back to my favorite station each time I started the unit. 2) Sound. The quality was 'ok' but the default settings went from 'too-loud-to-fall-asleep-to' to 'off' I probably could have adjusted the individual speaker settings to fix this - but at this point I had already made my decision to return based on item 1.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wunderdawg
Catonsville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/3/2011

Customer review by rhi88nos

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by rhi88nos
by rhi88nos

Just wanted to say that i searched online and found this product. Was very happy with the price, let alone setting it all up. Was very easy to set up!!! The sound... all i can say is whoaaaaa!!!! Awesome surround effects. Also having the feature to listen to FM radio, let alone see pics from your CD. Very happy with this product. I will tell my friends.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rhi88nos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not what I wanted, I took it back.
7/5/2011

Customer review by moogaroo

1.0 stars 7/5/2011 by moogaroo
by moogaroo

1st of all. could not hook it up to my sattelite box, then I discovered there was no way to dissconect the rear spezker wires from the big plug that plugs into the receiver, in order to attach them to my exsisting wires that are ran under my floor. Thank goodness there was no problem returning it to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moogaroo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Very Good Value!
7/7/2011

Customer review by lvjr

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by lvjr
by lvjr

I didn't expect a unit that cost under $200 to be this good!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lvjr
Hertford, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
not happy
7/10/2011

Customer review by thrifTshpr44

2.0 stars 7/10/2011 by thrifTshpr44
by thrifTshpr44

I bought this product because I had also purchased a Phillips 40" flat screen LCD. the sound quality it not that great and for some reason the remote won't operate both TV and home theater. the reason I bought both together was so that I wouldnt have compatablity issues between the 2.. To be fair it could be an issue with the set up, but i paid to have it installed professionaly so I cant be 100% since I know nothing of these things.

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thrifTshpr44
Gardena
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good sound qualiy
10/13/2011

Customer review by johnycash125

4.0 stars 10/13/2011 by johnycash125
by johnycash125

Got this at walmart online after reading the reviews it got. I have to admit this phillips Blu-ray system is not bad at all, for the price almost $160 off you cant beat that price. It most defenately does the job other systems do, to tell you the truth many people buy products because of the name brand like samsung, sony, LG and forget about other top products like phillips. Has loud good sound, great theatre type sound. deep bass, plus internet radio, netflix built in HD, although it's not wireless like it says, you can connect ethernet through wireless router or modem, which many people agree is better connection than wireless. This item deserves 4**** stars for its rich sound and easy connection- yes recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnycash125
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great little system
11/1/2011

Customer review by jr00d0

5.0 stars 11/1/2011 by jr00d0
by jr00d0

Bought this system for my bedroom, and it certainly fills the bill. Big sound from a compact unit. Greatly enhances movies and sports. Only two small annoyances with this unit. 1. There is a considerable lag time when switching functions. You must hesitate a couple of seconds before you move from one function to another, if you want to change. 2. The difference in volume in the fm radio and everything else. If you have the volume set (for instance) at 25 on TV then change over to fm radio, you will get blasted out of the room. I have to reduce volume to about 5 or 6 before changing to radio to have a tolerable listening level once on radio. Otherwise, I LOVE this unit. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jr00d0
Houston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews