Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

22 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-20 of 20 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Avoid 2 yr contracts
6/27/2011

Customer review by JaneDone

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by JaneDone
by JaneDone

I purchased this for my iPad when I leave home. I didn't believe the extra 200 dollars for the wifi iPad + a 2 yr contract was worth the money. I considered several options: purchasing a USB stick and a mobile broadband router, such as from Cradlepoint, however, both would cost more than just the wifi unit alone and the USB stick runs the risk of being damaged because it would potrude from the router during transport. Then I researched pre paid mobile MIFI hotspots and the most popular one was from Virgin mobile, however, it received bad reviews no matter what website I went on. People complained about the poor reception and the non existent customer service. This t-mobile mobile MIFI is fairly new on the market, having come out this past April/May. There were not many reviews on it, but most stated people were exceptionally pleased with it as well as the great reception. Many said they're using it for their home internet service exclusively, and I can see why. The unit is very small (about the length of a normal sized pointer finger, and really slim). Set up was easy and will automatically take you to t-mobile's website where you can purchase your plan online or by phone. With use, the uit does heat up a bit, but this won't be an issue because I plan to keep it in my purse and not on my person. It comes with and charges with a micro USB charger and seems to hold the charge for a couple of hours, at least 4 hrs. The speed is phenomenal. Now that t-mobile has merged with Sprint, the reception in all major cities will be excellent, and t-mobile has three levels of reception in other areas, from good to very good (see their website for coverage). The unit was slightly more at the T-mobile store, so I decided to purchase on Walmart's site and opted for site to store for free shipping. I recently upgraded my Belkin broadband unit for my home; the service on T-mobile's 4G/3G NEtwork was, indeed, faster than my new Belkin unit. The great thing about the unit is that you are not locked into a contract and can choose to refill month to month, or for only 7 days, or you can skip months and not have to worry about the added expsense of contracts: taxes, FCC fees, network fees, etc. Very happy with this device especially because 5 devices can share the connection via WIFI, and you won't have to worry about finding free WIFI when you leave home.

Was this review helpful? (387) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JaneDone
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WOW!! This thing is great.
9/10/2011

Customer review by TheGeek2

5.0 stars 9/10/2011 by TheGeek2
by TheGeek2

I own a computer store. I purchased this for a customer who is planning a long term trip and no internet is available enroute or at the destination. He did not want to be involved in a contract that would have no use or value to him upon return. The pay only for usage aspect was what he desired. This MiFi device loaded into his computer and was activted in a simple step by step fashion. The whole process took about three minutes. The speed and performance is equal to the wireless N I have in my shop. I was expecting a bit better speed than 3G, which is nothing to brag about, but this 4G is amazingly fast. This is one of those rare computer gizmos that does exactly what it is supposed to do in a simple, straightforward manner. The price is right for the hotspot device and the T-mobile usage options are reasonable in price as well. If I could I would give this thing 10 stars.

Was this review helpful? (113) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheGeek2
Englewood, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Finally Found Hotspot That Works
8/15/2011

Customer review by Geekasaurus

4.0 stars 8/15/2011 by Geekasaurus
by Geekasaurus

I first ordered one of these devices from the T-Mobile website and it didn't work properly (wouldn't connect to the cell network). I went to Walmart to get a Virgin Mobile device. I was able to get on to activate it and put money on it, but it wouldn't connect to the internet. I had now spend at least 8 hours of frustration with these two devices. I noticed that Walmart had the Tmobile ones at the store and decided to try it again. I FINALLY got one that worked. I spent a day driving about 300 miles throughout the state. I was using the hotspot with my Android Tablet for the GPS. Through all the driving there was only a couple of minutes where there wasn't a signal. The battery life seemed to be very good. I put it on a car charger after about 4 hours of use although it could have gone longer. I tried this with my laptop also and it connects quickly and the speed seems to be very good for casual use. It does not get burning hot like the Virgin Mobile MiFi does. My only complaint is that the front screen turns off very quickly so you can't even tell if it is on or what the status is. You can read the screen by pressing the power switch quickly but it is annoying to have to do that. Maybe it is just bad luck on my part, but 2 out of 3 devices being defective out of the box is pretty bad. I guess if your setup doesn't seem to be working you could very well have a bad one.

Was this review helpful? (83) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geekasaurus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works well, but
7/19/2011

Customer review by StinkysDad

3.0 stars 7/19/2011 by StinkysDad
by StinkysDad

This product works well, and is a viable option to a 2 year contract with Tmobile, however it is frustrating that the pay-as-you-go plans expire within 30 days of when they are activated, regardless of use. In particular, the $10. card for 100 MB expires in a week. If they would even change that to a month, I would highly recommend the product. Joe

Was this review helpful? (86) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StinkysDad
Monument, Colo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Excluded from best GB/$ deals.
12/7/2011

Customer review by TKechnomage

2.0 stars 12/7/2011 by TKechnomage
by TKechnomage

So far I've used this tmobile-4g hotspot with a 7 day/100MB and a 30 day/1GB pass. First thing I would note, T-mobile's website short changes you on the time these passes are active for by almost a whole day.. (1 week pass was cut short by over 16.5 hours). Their is no way to actually confirm how much data usage the device has transferred. (no user data stat's pages to confirm data flows). And it does seam to have some major accounting issues (t-mobile web based data usage counter appears to be incrementing wayy too fast for my liking). The only way to confirm this problem is with a controlled test, so I'll pass for now. I had to call up and remove their Web guard filtering which also blocks all non-standard port number access. This Hotspot also has a local text messaging HTML page, which will allow you to receive messages from t-mobile, but can't send or receive messages to/from anybody but t-mobile. (another advertised feature that really doesn't work). I would have liked to use this device to replace my failing home DSL connection, but the deals offered are just too expensive. I would love to take advantage of the Walmart's 30$ 5GB/4G+2G(over5GB), 100 minute voice(NA), unlimited messaging plan, but sadly, Hotspots have been excluded from that deal. Lastly, No way would I sign up for any of T-mobiles contract deals, they're just to risky, IMHO. T-Mobile/AT&T could cripple the hotspot functionality/throughput and you're stuck in their two year expensive to break contract, No thanks.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TKechnomage
Broward county, fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Idea, BUT...
2/4/2012

Customer review by ParalegalJill

3.0 stars 2/4/2012 by ParalegalJill
by ParalegalJill

This is a great idea. I bought this from TMobile directly, because I didn't want to wait for shipping and they didn't have it in stock at the store. It sounded like a great idea at the time and it is if you ONLY use it to periodically check your e:mail or shop online or something like that. We got the 30 day pass for $50.00 when we purchased it at TMobile. What they FAILED to tell me is that the 30 day pass is only good for 3GB of data transfer. My daughter watched ONE Netflix movie and it used up the ENTIRE data allotment. So, for $50.00, I got about 2 hours worth of internet access before it shut down and would only access the TMobile.com website so I could purchase more airtime. Contrary to what other reviewers are saying, this is NOT an adequate substitute for DSL or other high speed internet you might have at home. This would be fine if you used it while you traveled to periodically check your e:mail for a few minutes, but if you are a heavy internet user (I go to school online, work from home and I am a Netflix junkie) this is NOT good option. There are a LOT of Starbucks and McDonalds' out there with free Wi-Fi, so if I need it on the road I can find it. I would NOT recommend this unless you are a very minimal internet user.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ParalegalJill
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great mobile hotspot
12/5/2011

Customer review by Watchman2011

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by Watchman2011
by Watchman2011

This T-Mobile ZTE mobile hotspot performs better than I expected. Wanted pay-as-you-go device for holiday trips, vacations, etc. Bought $30 broadband pass which is more than enough data for occasional use (I'm talking daily use throughout the thirty day period). I like that you can monitor data usage on T-Mobile account page. Used with ASUS Transformer while traveling, at shopping malls, at work, etc. This past weekend I had constant connection for GPS function on tablet while driving from south central PA to southern MD. I love this thing and highly recommend it. While I've read that these devices get warm I personally have not experienced that. Incidentally, this works great with one of my co-worker's Kindle Fire. Thanks T-Mobile & Walmart!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Watchman2011
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
tis good
3/1/2012

Customer review by lbudget

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by lbudget
by lbudget

If you occasionally require internet when away from home or office then this is the way to go. T Mobile's hsdpa is fast enough basic usage. (light browsing, email & remote support) Average speed is roughly 6mbps down, 3mbps up. That's assumming you are on the hsdpa network "4G" and have decent signal strength. T Mobile 4G is well covered in the areas I travel so it works great.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lbudget
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good item for Walmart's return policy!
5/13/2012

Customer review by reshawaii

1.0 stars 5/13/2012 by reshawaii
by reshawaii

I was extremely disappointed although I did a lot of research before purchasing this product. Even though I am computer savy, it was very time consuming to set up. It was supposed to work well in my area but it was very slow. I could only get a download speed of .46 Mbps when I checked it on Speedtest. To make matters worse the T-mobile website was unclear about their services. The site leads you to believe that once you have used you data allotment your speeds could slow down to 2G but you would still be able to access the internet only at slower speeds. In actuality that only applies if you sign up for a two year contract. With the no contract plans once you reach your data limit your service stops. I did not get the opportunity to test the device at any other locations. This product makes me glad that Walmart has such a good return policy!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reshawaii
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
I do not recommend buying works too slow.
12/29/2011

Customer review by ElgatoTRV

2.0 stars 12/29/2011 by ElgatoTRV
by ElgatoTRV

I bought this with the intention for my college daughter to use while at home so that she can keep up with her friends and school computer work while at home. The Hot Stop works too slow. It works at the same speed as dial up. I have tried to correct any connection problem with T-Mobil’s service center, but they were not helpful. I do live in an area where 3G is available not 4G, but it only works at 1G speed.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ElgatoTRV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
EXCELLENT PRODUCT/DOES AS DESCRIBED
4/26/2012

Customer review by DEXTER107

5.0 stars 4/26/2012 by DEXTER107
by DEXTER107

Have only had/used this item for about a month, but so far so good. Reception is excellent in my area and speed is quite adequate. Only minor issue is a "web guard" is automatically enabled which restricts some websites, you have to call customer service to have this lifted (if you want it lifted). It only took a 5 minute phone call but I wanted to mention this so you didn't fiddle around in the settings to try to take the web guard off yourself. A few of my co-workers watched me use this device and were impressed. Apparently they tried other mobile broadbands and had worse results. I have the lowest plan and as I only use it for email and surfing (no downloading) I stay under my limit. Naturally, if you are a download junkie, you will definately need a bigger or unlimited plan. So, if you are looking for a portable (mobile) broadband device, seriously consider this one. It works great and being a no contract item, you can stop and restart service anytime without additional fees. I have also used it with several devices connected to it simultaneously without any problem or loss in speed. Hope this review helps in your decision.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DEXTER107
ALEXANDRIA, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for periodic use
5/6/2012

Customer review by MCRJSK

4.0 stars 5/6/2012 by MCRJSK
by MCRJSK

I bought this so as to not be tied into a monthly fee. We use it on long trips for the kids ipods. They love it - and in turn my wife and I love it since it keeps everyone occupied. Be warned though, you willchew up logs of data if the kids watch streaming videos on their ipods. Otherwise, it is perfectly fine for normal web browsing, email, etc.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCRJSK
Marlton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
good product
1/14/2012

Customer review by dano11

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by dano11
by dano11

works great travel a lot and alway's has coverage. $30.00 month so much better than contract and $50/month I like it. Dan

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dano11
Portland Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful idea, but....
12/26/2011

Customer review by YuccaAZconsumer

2.0 stars 12/26/2011 by YuccaAZconsumer
by YuccaAZconsumer

I bought this 4G Hotspot on the recommedation of a friend. Does it work? Beautifully, if you are in a spot with great reception. I was extremely impressed on the overall until I had to buy data to run it.. If you are a T-Mobile customer with an acct, you can purchase a monthly 5Gb plan that works fine and only 'possibly' slows down after you have exceeded your data... (There is also 10Gb plan for $79.99 called 'High use or unlimited') BUT... And this is a huge BUT. If you are not a T-Mobile customer the best you can do is to buy far more expensive loads for your 4G Hotspot.. Which puts you in the position of having to become a contract T-Mobile user in order to get a plan for your 4G Hotspot that is actually feasible! Otherwise you are going to pay a lot of $$ to use it. I could switch services, and get a 'free' T-Mobile phone, w/contract for 24 months, but they pretty much only offer 'smart' phones at this point, and now by the time you pay for your services and add a workable plan for your Hotspot, you are looking at $130+!!!!! If you are already a T-Mobile customer and you get great service where you live, and you want this 4G Hotspot to work the way it should, period, then I would say, 'If you can afford it, go for it!' Otherwise don't waste your your money on this until T-Mobile comes up with a better way to use the 4G Hotspot..

Was this review helpful? (6) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YuccaAZconsumer
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
DONT WASTE UR Time
5/14/2012

Customer review by ChristopherP

1.0 stars 5/14/2012 by ChristopherP
by ChristopherP

Ok, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! T Mobile told me that because I am not a tmobile customer I am not allowed to use this product unless I activate it as a phone! Meaning a $70 a month fee. I can get a contract device for free and pay less!

Was this review helpful? (4) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChristopherP
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Nice but expensive
6/7/2012

Customer review by Technohawk

4.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Technohawk
by Technohawk

This hotspot is very nice but I with I could use pay by the day with T Mobile. Right now it is costing me around 60$ a month. Far more than the monthly 4g plan. If I were buying this for a friend I would get the plan to save some cash. Overall this product is very nice though. I get around 35Mbps inside my basement. My home Internet is only 25Mbps. Check me out on YouTube. I do reviews on these types of products. My channel is, MrTechnoHawk. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Technohawk
Hope, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/11/2012

Customer review by cubbycat

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by cubbycat
by cubbycat

Works great, highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cubbycat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awsomes Product
3/15/2012

Customer review by jiffypop789

5.0 stars 3/15/2012 by jiffypop789
by jiffypop789

VERY USER FRIENDLY ...Ive Installed many of these cards for different carriers this was the easiest .For a prepaid hotspot your not going to find a better Deal

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jiffypop789
Simpsonville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
2/23/2012

Customer review by Lhunt01

4.0 stars 2/23/2012 by Lhunt01
by Lhunt01

I'm enjoying the portable wifi using a couple times a week connecting to laptop . Also using for Ipad no issues. Ive had for a few weeks no issues so far

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lhunt01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Okay for traveling or light useag.
6/24/2012

Customer review by BigBoss47

3.0 stars 6/24/2012 by BigBoss47
by BigBoss47

Works good and has good speed but will eat up data in a hurry if streaming any Vedio or large downloads. bought 1.5 gb to start and used it all watching 2 - 30 minutes episodes off Netflex.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigBoss47
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month