Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

62 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

62 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 54 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
First Week - TV Kept Turning Off & Rude Support
6/4/2011

Customer review by LJCO

1.0 stars 6/4/2011 by LJCO
by LJCO

I did a lot of research before I purchased this TV and I still believe it is worth the price for the way it performs. I purchased it less than a week ago but then it began to turn off on its own... There seems to be some sort of glitch with Vizio's software updates that causes so many of their TVs to turn off on their own that a support supervisor for the company called the problem "normal." Now I understand that things go wrong and need to be updated, but even though this seemed to be a pervasive problem with their product line they could give me no timeline for when it will be remedied, and seemed to think I was demanding for wanting one. When I stated to the support person I was talking with that the whole situation seemed strange and very not "normal," I was told "Sorry" and then disconnected. So basically... Maybe the TV is worth the price, but with the way their support staff treated my issue I'm not even sure what they told me is wrong with my TV is legitimate. When you're paying a thousand-plus dollars for something you want to know there's help waiting if anything goes wrong with it...unfortunately, that's not what you get with Vizio. If you don't mind putting up with lousy support, this TV definitely has a pretty picture!

Was this review helpful? (274) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LJCO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Phenomenal TV!
4/26/2011

Customer review by TvHawg

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by TvHawg
by TvHawg

So far this TV has performed exceptionally well! This is my first HDTV and i am extremely pleased with this purchase. The internet conectivity is impressive, It found an open wireless network and connected in a snap! I am able to use fb, E-bay, and Netflix with ease right on my screen while still being able to view whatever program i am watching. We have this TV in a room that gets alot of late day sunlight and glare has not been a problem. Fot the price they are selling this you cannot go wrong. I think its a steal for under $1K.

Was this review helpful? (154) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TvHawg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awful TV
6/23/2011

Customer review by Lorel1

1.0 stars 6/23/2011 by Lorel1
by Lorel1

We bought this tv online and waited 10 days for site to store pick up. We waited patiently and were excited to finally get to use it. The very first day, the tv kept turning off. It wouldn't stay on no longer than a couple seconds then just turned off on it's own. DO NOT BUY THIS TV! I don't even understand why Vizio still tries to sell this model. In my opinion, it should be taken off the market for good!

Was this review helpful? (148) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lorel1
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good tv
6/15/2011

Customer review by Bwad23

3.0 stars 6/15/2011 by Bwad23
by Bwad23

So far the tv is good. The tv has turned it's self off twice. I am looking into seeing if was due to settings on the tv.

Was this review helpful? (95) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bwad23
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good picture quality when the TV works.
7/23/2011

Customer review by LocksUp

1.0 stars 7/23/2011 by LocksUp
by LocksUp

The picture quality is very good along with the Internet ready features. Many reviews rated this TV high and normally I would agree, However, there is a software or hardware design problem with this TV. The TV will lock up when the program transitions to or from a commercial or to from the credits of a movie. This usually occurs when switching from HD to non-HD signals. The only way to restore operations this is to remove power and depress the on/off button for 30 seconds. This may be an isolated problem, but several other reviews indicate that this is a much larger proble, Aside from the TV locking up several times a day it is not a bad unit.

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LocksUp
Sykesville, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent TV with one caveat
10/30/2011

Customer review by fhaynes

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by fhaynes
by fhaynes

This is an excellent TV, especially for the low price at Walmart. As others have mentioned here, there is one caveat. The TV powers off by itself, seemingly when switching between different programs. The latest firmware update doesn't solve the problem. Hopefully Vizio has a reasonable solution for this problem.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fhaynes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love, Love, Love my new Vizio Television
8/2/2011

Customer review by Happyhomne

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by Happyhomne
by Happyhomne

I originally bought the 42 inch identical t.v. and within a week took it back to buy the 47 inch one. I love it. Sound is great. Picture is absolutely beautiful. Once it was out of the box and on t.v. entertainment w/swivel I had it up and running in about 20 minutes. Had all cables plugged and hooked up. My dvd hooked up with Vizio remote. Internet Apps are awesome. Love the free apps. Easy to pick and choose. I picked Pandora and another radio app. Sounds awesome with the t.v. speakers. Wished it had youtube app. Perhaps later if enough people complain. I believe the only way for the t.v. to be fully like a computer is for you to plug your computer into your tv. I haven't done this yet. I have a lap top and a router so this will be very easy for me to do. Remote is awesome and easy to use. Only wished buttons were a little bigger/spaced further apart. But love the remote for the 47 inch tv much better then the 42 inch one. The 42 inch tv remote has buttons that are way to small and close together. What sold me on this tv was all the high specks. In the long run you will have a much better television. I haven't played with everything yet on my new 47 inch tv but so far what I'm seeing and using I am loving. I only wished I bought the 55 inch Vizio now. Don't know if I should take this one back now and exchange for the bigger one. The 42 inch was small. This 47 inch is great. The 55 inch would be massive.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Happyhomne
Fallbrook, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice TV but Netflix App wouldn't work
8/17/2011

Customer review by JAG12688

2.0 stars 8/17/2011 by JAG12688
by JAG12688

I bought this TV with Wifi capability and internet apps mainly for the Netflix app. Got everything set up and Netflix wouldn't work though everything else did. I spent many hours over 2 days talking to Vizio and Netflix support trying to get my problem fixed but they just kept blaming one another so I finally got frustrated and returned it. Otherwise, nice TV and features for the price. Remote with full keyboard is handy.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAG12688
Corvallis, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
VIZIO 47" Class LED-LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV (M470SV)
12/12/2011

Customer review by tjmesa1

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by tjmesa1
by tjmesa1

I purchased this largely due to the fact, that my entire family has purchased this brand & hasn't had any problems whatsoever to speak of as this posting! However, I see some folks, have not been so lucky? I've had mine for probably 2-3 months now & I haven't had any issues at all. I guess only time will tell? As with any HDTV, if you want killer sound, get a sound system. If you don't care so much & aren't too picky, you can get nice sound from the same brand soundbar they sell. The LED-LCD combo lighting provides a great-picture & the 240-Hz, is great for the action & sci-fi movies. If you can afford it, get yourself the HDMI-Cables for all of your components, that you plan to hook up to your HDMI TV & you won't be disappointed! I went all in & purchased this TV, a Vizio Soundbar & Vizio BluRay Player too, so far no issues at all to speak of, with any of their products! Knock on Wood! Lastly, as with anything electronic, get yourself an extended warranty if you can, on all of these components! It will at least give you the peace of mind, if something does go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tjmesa1
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Decent TV for the price
5/27/2011

Customer review by Begauz

4.0 stars 5/27/2011 by Begauz
by Begauz

Nice picture, lots of extra features. Sound, both quality and loudness, are less than I expected after having purchased a similar 55" Vizio TV previously.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Begauz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful TV picture
9/10/2011

Customer review by ks57

5.0 stars 9/10/2011 by ks57
by ks57

We just purchased this TV this summer. After the first month we love it. The picture is beautiful and the clearest we have ever seen even thou we only have antenna for a connection. Walmart price could not be beat anywhere and I bought the two year service plan. We have NOT encountered the problem of the TV turning off and on as some have suggested. We were told that comes from a low internet signal. We would strongly recommend this TV.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ks57
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
.....Fantastic, Awesome, STELLAR! :-D
9/30/2011

Customer review by JumpingJimminy

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by JumpingJimminy
by JumpingJimminy

.......The picture quality is so good, it is just unbelievable! It has decent sound, was quick and intuitive to set up with Direct TV and has given us zero problems. -Have not used any internet apps and we mostly watch HD sports. The realism of the picture is just crazy good. -Highly recommended to anyone who wants a big TV with the best picture at a fair price. I also like the TV remote that cloned all the satellite remote functions in a snap. -Too cool!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JumpingJimminy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/2/2012

Customer review by NorthernMiGirl

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by NorthernMiGirl
by NorthernMiGirl

We have been very impressed with the picture and sound of this TV. Picture feels almost life like and we don't even have the HD yet. Haven't had the problem with shut-off like some have mentioned but we did have a little trouble with set up only due to our ineptness. But we figured it out on our own. No negatives so far.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NorthernMiGirl
Northern Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Vizio 47 inch television
12/12/2011

Customer review by jpf67

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by jpf67
by jpf67

I bought my Vizio 47 inch television, because my father and brother both had bought the 55-inch Vizio and had great experiences with them and I found their picture quality to be outstanding. My 47-inch Vizio has been nothing but a dream. It worked immediately. Was easy to set up. You have Netflicks, Amazon, and the Internet as soon as you hook it up to your wireless. I connected it with an ethernet cable but you can set it up with wireless also. The picture quality is top of the line with this television. It is so crisp and sharp that it takes getting used to. The HD picture is incredible. The remote is one of the better remotes I've had and works great. The sound is very good and we've had no problems what-so-ever. I could not recommend a television more than this one. We ordered it site-to-store online and saved an addtional $50.00 from the sale price, so be sure to check the online price verses the store, especially when it goes on sale. It might save you some more money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jpf67
Providence, Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So Far So Good
10/22/2011

Customer review by pombch

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by pombch
by pombch

The only issue I had was when I was setting up the network. Started with a older model router then replaced with a Vizio unit. In between the switching the set would turn off by itself. Called Vizio customer service (which is useless) and was about ready to return when I gave it one more day. Two months later have not had an issue. Going from 60 to 240 took some getting use to but the set is amazing. I'm using an Onkyo receiver with Klipsch speakers so I cant comment on sound quality from TV.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pombch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Picture---Sporadic Sound
10/26/2011

Customer review by ViewbyJo

3.0 stars 10/26/2011 by ViewbyJo
by ViewbyJo

If it wasn't for the sound on this TV, we would have given 5 stars. Had this TV for 2 weeks..the sound kept shutting off. We had to change channels and then the sound came back on. The TV has a beautiful picture. Very easy set-up. We took it back to our local WM this morning. Customer service and the girl in electronics were wonderful and helpful. After looking at TV's for about an hour, we bought a 55" Vizio. We loved the one we took back except for the sound. Hope it was just a lemon and this one will be fine.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ViewbyJo
Cosby, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY VIZIO T.V. WITH INTERNET APPS
2/2/2012

Customer review by Lonoker

1.0 stars 2/2/2012 by Lonoker
by Lonoker

I bought a vizio t.v. just over a year ago and had problems connecting to internet last night through my apps. After contacting my dsl service provider, I figured out they were not the problem. So, I contacted Vizio and they figured out it was the television that needed to be repaired. Since I have had the tv just over a year, it would not be covered under warranty. Vizio said the work would cost 301.00 to repair the t.v. I paid almost 1600.00 when I bought my tv brand new. Save yourself the money and trouble, and buy a tv from respected brand that has been around for a while. You may read other reviews where people say they love their vizio. Unfortunately, they probably have just purchased their televisions and have not had them the time I have.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lonoker
Cabot, AR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
8/11/2011

Customer review by callmevic

4.0 stars 8/11/2011 by callmevic
by callmevic

Great TV.Had to let eyes adjust when we first turned on because there was such a difference in quality.Very excellent!!! Love the fact that Netflix put right on the TV. We don't have cable and to access it right from remote is awesome..The remote does seem to lag but I think it might be the batteries.Not a big deal. I will only buy internet capable TVs from now on...

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
callmevic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
1/10/2012

Customer review by IrakAndy

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by IrakAndy
by IrakAndy

my wife and I LOVE this TV, we made a lot of research and even with the bad comments at internet we decided to take the risk, we don't even think about a VIZIO, but when we saw it at the store and we fall in love with it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IrakAndy
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great first flat screen,
12/27/2011

Customer review by howlingmoon

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by howlingmoon
by howlingmoon

I was excited but scared at the same time when I brought this t.v. home. it was my first flat screen bringing me up to date with some of the technology out there. I only had to call support once and they were excellent. in 15/20 minutes they had my problem resolved. I could understand support as well when they spoke.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
howlingmoon
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews