Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 92 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

92 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

92 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 73 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
12/16/2011

Customer review by Mbklein

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by Mbklein
by Mbklein

Before making this purchase we did a ton of searching to be sure this was the perfect TV for our needs. We wanted: *Good sound quality *Good image clarity *Low energy usage *37" to 42" *under $700 However there were some reviews that concerned me someone had mentioned that the TV was blurry, dull and the image was shaky. Despite the very few negative reviews that concerned me we purchased this TV since they had a ton of amazing reviews. When we brought the TV home set it up my fears were actually addressed the image quality was Horrid blurry, dull and shaky we tired adjusting the setting but it still was bad. I was so devastated. We called up Wal-mart that we purchased from and asked if we could exchange because the TV seemed damaged. Thank goodness we did this when we set the second TV up the image quality was 100,000 times better the image was amazing, sound is great, and I am satisfied! I love where the speakers are located it helps a lot since I have hearing the problems I don't have to blast the volume to hear. My favorite feature is the fact that it is an LED so it doesn't emit a ton of heat now I don't feel like I am sitting in a sauna after an hour of watching TV. Even though the we had received a defective unit initially we are still extremely satisfied with this unit. Great TV for the money!!!!

Was this review helpful? (130) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mbklein
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great tv with a good price.
9/13/2011

Customer review by 1980fishyguy

5.0 stars 9/13/2011 by 1980fishyguy
by 1980fishyguy

We bought a 42 Sony smart tv at 60hz but the people are fuzzy. Then we bought a westinghouse with 120hz. The picture was great but the sound was bad. My option this tv was the best buy. The sound is good the picture is good (120hz) and the price was $70.00 cheaper online then in the store and the store will not match the online prices. If you want the best picture you will need to buy the HD channels. Most of the stores run a disc so you can't compair what the picture is really like until you get it home. However, this tv does not hookup to the internet. I didn't buy a tv to be on the internet.

Was this review helpful? (118) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1980fishyguy
Elk river, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best TV At This Price
8/24/2011

Customer review by DaffyD

4.0 stars 8/24/2011 by DaffyD
by DaffyD

I love this TV. The curved edges of the set make it look totally unique. Right out of the box the picture was exceptional: bright, colorful, and sharp. The picture is customizable; in the menu you can choose from Presets or you can re-set everything from brightness, screen size to individual colors to your own tastes. I have a custom setup for movies that resembles a Preset but is more to my liking. The picture quality is fair with 480p Standard Definition, which is how I receive my satellite tv programs, but it shines with 1080p High Definition movies. I don't have a Blue-Ray player so haven't tested the picture with that. Don't believe the SRS TruSurroundHD feature. The sound is tinny and doesn't even sound like stereo. The SRS TruVolume may work, I can't tell. But again, the sound is customizable. I personally bought a Sony 5.1 Surround Sound audio system and I listen to my TV through that to get REAL surround sound for TV and DVDs. The truth is, the tvs are so thin these days and equipped speakers are so thin you're not going to get decent sound from any of them--especially at this price point. The one design feature I don't understand is that there's a lighted Vizio logo just below the tv screen. It's amber when the tv's off and bright white when it's on. I thought it would be distracting but the screen picture is so big and gorgeous when watching shows or DVD movies I never notice it. This set is a bargain. I've compared the picture to LG, Panasonic and Samsung. It's very close to Samsung, which I consider the best picture on the market. However, it's very close and about $300-400 cheaper. This set had among the brightest pictures on display. It's exactly what I wanted. It also has a learning remote so that the remote can be used with other electronic components. By the same token, the tv can be controlled by other learning remote brands. Highly recommended. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars overall is the sound quality.

Was this review helpful? (64) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaffyD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
GREAT TV
9/6/2011

Customer review by Thom0222

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by Thom0222
by Thom0222

Good Value I purchased this for my husband who had seen it in my daughters home in Orange County. The color is the best ever and the depth of the color at a distance is out of this world it is in a large family room. I have no reservations on the rating it is fire star. I do have very high ceilings and made need to put in a sound system for the people in the farthest back couch. Room is 30 feet in length. He has no complaints! Price is way below comps.

Was this review helpful? (45) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thom0222
Falmouth Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awsome Tv!!!
9/22/2011

Customer review by Georgeanne

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by Georgeanne
by Georgeanne

I love this tv!! after my 6 yr old Sony tv died I contacted two tv repair men in my area and they both advise me to go to Walmart and check out the tv's there and not to spend alot of money fixing mine so that just what I did!! I did alot of research read reviews on several tv's and for the money this was an excellent choice !!! Color is great sound is great price was great!!! I hope it will give me several years of enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Georgeanne
Mt. Home Ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
11/19/2011

Customer review by 10m1234

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by 10m1234
by 10m1234

Great TV, easy to set up, great to watch. Commands program into Comcast remote easily. Very user friendly. Superb picture.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
10m1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Vizio 42" Class 1080p LED-LCD HDTV 120HZ, M421NV
9/6/2011

Customer review by GAGreyFox

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by GAGreyFox
by GAGreyFox

Vizio has a magnificent clear picture with amazing detail. Brilliant colors and superior picture quality is a hallmark of this brand.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GAGreyFox
Sandy Springs, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/19/2011

Customer review by Gunna14

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by Gunna14
by Gunna14

I have many friends who have HDTV'S of various makes and models. This was my first HDTV purchase. This 42" has great all around quality...color...size and most important, excellent sound do the Sarround Sound. The overall quality of the Vizio TV is excellent. It was easy to set up and easy to prograam the remote control. Additionally, my wife enjoys the TV as well. I had a friend who was looking to buy a HDTV for Christmas. I liked mine so much that I recommended this HDTV to him and he purchased the identical TV a week after I purchased mine. For those looking to buy a HDTV, this paticular model has above average qualities for a great price. For anyone buying a HDTV, I would strongly recommend you purchase a TV that has Sarround Sound for volume clarity & control, otherwise you maybe disappointed. You will not be dissapointed with this 42" Vizio HDTV !!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gunna14
Plymouth, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This stacks up against the higher priced TVs!
12/13/2011

Customer review by Tesicat

5.0 stars 12/13/2011 by Tesicat
by Tesicat

We did a lot of research, both online and in many stores over about 6 months before deciding to purchase this TV. We are extremely pleased with it, and contrary to various reviews we read that said the sound quality was poor, we feel its at least as good as our previous 'old school' TV. We will do a lot of research and eventually buy a home theatre sound system, but for now, we are enjoying the sound without any problems. The picture is sharp, the blacks are jet black, no blurring when my husband watches sports and the HD channels LOOK 3D even though this tv doesn't have that feature, as there is so much depth to the picture! We decided too, that a smart-tv wasn't the way to go (a feature that's just too expensive in our opinion) when you can get the SAME feature by adding a much less expensive Blue Ray DVD player with wi-fi. Again, we'll wait a while on that, as its a feature we just don't think we'll use. We have an extensive movie collection already, so netflix isn't of interest, and with only 2 of us in the house, and 2 PC towers, 2 notebooks and an IPad2 at our constant disposal, we really don't need to access the internet on our TV! For the price, this is an excellent buy and I would recommend this TV to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tesicat
Valley Hi, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/14/2011

Customer review by Grandpa42

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by Grandpa42
by Grandpa42

This Television is excellent! The color is fantastic. I'm amazed at how it can upscale Analog broadcasts and the DVD replays have rich color and detail. LED back lights work beautifully. There are many features and I'm still learning how to use them. The price is a little steep but Wal-mart was $50 lower than I could find this model listed. The price match clause makes me feel better about spending that much.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grandpa42
Rolla, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good TV For The Price
8/21/2011

Customer review by BLOP

4.0 stars 8/21/2011 by BLOP
by BLOP

I have had this TV for a couple of weeks in our living room and it is a good value and has a good picture and great sound. The Picture is not as good as the Sony or Samsung but the Vizio still has good picture and I am happy with the TV. I bought an extended warranty from square trade just in case something happen a year from now.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BLOP
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Its a shame
8/19/2011

Customer review by badpewterz

3.0 stars 8/19/2011 by badpewterz
by badpewterz

I had this tv for 3 days and the color was way off. nice looking set and great remote. maybe i got a bad one but the tv was not uniformly backlit and very noticeable. even with the ambient light sensor off the backlight brightness still was adjusting and got anoying at times. i played with every adjustment and still couldnt get it to look good colorwise unless the brightness was way down and then the picture was really dim. returned it and got an LG LCD. LG 42LK520 was cheaper and perfect outta the box! hope i got a bad Vizio as it could have been a real nice set

Was this review helpful? (28) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
badpewterz
RI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value, but not perfect
1/13/2012

Customer review by ITCowboy

3.0 stars 1/13/2012 by ITCowboy
by ITCowboy

Short version... The bottom line on this TV is that it is an excellent value for the money, but it is far from perfect. I purchased this for my sons play room in the basement, and it performs that function very well. I personally would not use this TV for my primary TV, but that is because I have a TV that costs twice as much and I can see the difference. Now for the extended version.... The Good: -Super thin TV, with decent styling. -Very light weight and easy to wall mount. -Cheapest LED-LCD you are going to find anywhere unless you buy a refurb. -Picture quality is not excellent, but certainly above average for a less expensive TV. -Screen seems to be resilient to ambient light sources and viewing angles are very good. Mine sits in a basement corner near a fluorescent light. The light does not affect the picture that badly and the viewing angle even from 15 feet away is not bad at all. -Even with strong ambient light and/or florescent light in my basement, the picture is not badly washed out. -Plenty of connections for whatever you might need. The Bad: -Sound is just flat out terrible. most LCD televisions have small speakers that sound bad, and this TV is no exception. The speakers are on the sides of the unit and produce no bass whatsoever. I hooked up an old stereo with a simple left and right and it was instantly better. If you are buying this TV, go ahead and buy a cheap surround system as well because you are going to need it. -the "VIZIO" name on the bottom of the bezel lights up white when the set is powered on and glows amber when the set is off. This cannot be disabled. Not sure how much power this wastes when the set is off. It is not terribly distracting when watching TV with the lights on, but with a movie on and the lights down, it gets annoying. -Picture uniformity. there is a noticeable "Flashlight" effect when in a dark room and the screen goes completely black. You can see bright light emitting from all four corners of the screen and the center of the screen is darker than the rest. From what I can gather, bad screen uniformity is a common problem in most edge lit LED-LCD televisions. In a normally lit room watching normal TV, it is not as noticeable to me and I can live with it. My Standard LCD has much better screen uniformity, but it also costs twice as much. -Remote control has glossy finish just like the TV, and shows find prints like mad.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ITCowboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/24/2011

Customer review by iprocrastinate2

4.0 stars 8/24/2011 by iprocrastinate2
by iprocrastinate2

Great price, great value, but the right hand side of the screen looks faded. Not sure if this is a setup issue??

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iprocrastinate2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value for the Money
12/15/2011

Customer review by whst

5.0 stars 12/15/2011 by whst
by whst

Great TV, picture is great, people who see it are very impressed with the sound,picture features etc. They comment that their own TV cost $'s more not, being equal to this Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whst
Luck Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Heavy Motion Blurr
2/17/2012

Customer review by BudmanPSU

3.0 stars 2/17/2012 by BudmanPSU
by BudmanPSU

I bought this TV a couple days ago and hooked it up right away. It was easy to do, even the box had instructions on how to open it. The TV itself looked good and had a lot of different settings you can tool around with to set it up how you like. But I could really notice a lot of motion blurr. I had it hooked up to none HD cable and a PS3 through HDMI. When I would watch cable, people's faces and hair would be blurred when the would turn there heads. And when watching darker areas move across the screen quickly it was hard to follow and see detail. So I thought it was just the none HD cable. So I tried my PS3 through the HDMI. When playing a game, the same thing happened in HD. When dark areas, like the inside of a dim lit building, would move across the screen it just seemed way to much motion blurr to me. Same thing happened when watching a Blu-Ray movie. So I did more research and found a spec for TV's called pixel response. This Vizio has a 6.something milisecond response time. Fast right? Than I found that the LG LK520, also at walmart and also with 1080p and 120Hz at 42", had a response time of 2.something miliseconds. Almost 3 times as fast. So I returned the Vizio yesterday, and picked up the LG which is 50 bucks cheaper. Hooked it up and its a world of difference. The LG is LCD so its not as bright and you can notice a little grainyness, but it is much easier and better to watch and play games that are fast moving on this TV. I'd rather have smooth motion over brightness any day. You can always adjust brightness, and usually are watching TV in the evening when brightness doesn't really matter. So when researching for your next TV, check out pixel response time. Might make a difference.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BudmanPSU
State College. PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
1/28/2012

Customer review by goofy1962

4.0 stars 1/28/2012 by goofy1962
by goofy1962

great television, poor sound quality, had to purchase a sound bar to actually enjoy the tv but I knew that I would have to do so before I purchased the tv I was a little irritated with Wal-mart.com because I researched this tv before I ordered it for pick up, and when I went to pick it up, it was actually part #M420NV instead of the M421NV that is advertized in store and online. it is still a great product, but the advertizing is misleading so I feel I wasted time researching and finding the product that I wanted ( the M420NV has fewer HDMI connections than the M421NV )

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goofy1962
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy
12/22/2011

Customer review by Iceman104

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Iceman104
by Iceman104

I purchased this Vizio as an upgrade from my 37" Polaroid HDTV during Black Friday 2011. I was going to get another LCD TV but wanted a better brand. Decided to get something more current, so I bought the Vizio because the price point was great. I had buyer's remorse while waiting, but when it finally arrived via FedEx and I hooked it up - WOW! I was blown away by this TV. The picture quality is so real, it's as if I'm right there. I thought I knew what HD was until I bought this TV. The depth and quality is bar none. I no longer have any buyers remorse. This TV makes me want to watch TV more (not sure if that's good or bad). I even went back to play some of my old Xbox video games just to see the picture difference. Even shows that you know weren't originally filmed in HD are enhanced and look awesome. It has 4 HDMI inputs, so enough inputs for my devices. Vizio has another model like this but with WiFi, which I'm not missing. There's PIP which does a full split screen on 2 video sources at a time. So I can have my video game on one half of the screen and the TV source on the other half watching a game at the same time. It has a dedicated HDMI input select button to switch between HDMI sources quickly. I haven't used any of the picture viewing features yet, but there is a dedicated button for Media so you can access your pictures, media, and videos from an external drive. Again I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Iceman104
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing TV
12/1/2011

Customer review by ChubbyLumpkinz

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by ChubbyLumpkinz
by ChubbyLumpkinz

I bought this TV after a few weeks of deliberating and i must say i am very happy with it. the picture is amazing and as far as sound goes its the best iv heard out of flat screen design. love the way it is shaped its a very modern look. I mainly game on the tv and love the optional game pictured mode. very many diffrent options to chose from. i highly recomend this tv!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChubbyLumpkinz
Barberton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best TV I have seen
2/3/2012

Customer review by Donegal1234

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by Donegal1234
by Donegal1234

I feel like a lot of these reviewer's are reviewing the wrong TV. This television is amazing and the best quality I could ever hope for, especially for the price. When you watch it, it is as if you are in the room with the characters. Its almost as if it is 3D without the glasses. A family friend of ours told us to spend the extra money on the LED over the LCD and WOW was he right. I couldn't be happier and I would recommend this TV to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Donegal1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews