Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 239 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

239 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

239 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
196
4 stars
29
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 228 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 228 total reviews
1-20 of 228 reviews
Yes, it does have buttons
4/30/2011

Customer review by busnphus

5.0 stars 4/30/2011 by busnphus
by busnphus

I don't write many product reviews, but I just had to respond to the previous (and only other) reviewer. His comment about the reflective glass on the screen is absolutely valid. This set is not a great choice for a room with lots of windows. However, sets with matte screens are getting harder and harder to find. In a dark room, this TV is hard to beat. However, his comment about it not having power and volume buttons on the set is incorrect. It does have them, they are just very well camouflaged. They are on the bottom right of the set, and they don't protrude out, they just respond to the touch of your finger.

Was this review helpful? (145) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
busnphus
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the price :)
7/1/2011

Customer review by ilikemovies559

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by ilikemovies559
by ilikemovies559

Are there better TV's out there? Yes, you better believe it. But for $500 (my local store price), you cannot beat what you get from this TV. First, the picture is great. Plasma does better blacks and motion than do LCD's. I watched the NBA finals on this and loved it. LCD's still tend to have a little motion blur. It's not as bad as it used to be, but parked next to each other, you can see the difference. You can fix this on LCD's by getting a 120hz or 240 hz TV, but the prices on those are MORE than the price of this TV - so once again, you can get better, but you have to pay for it. Next up is the 720p thing. Most people don't know that a majority of HD stations are actually set up to be 720p. The ONLY 1080p source out there right now is BluRay - so if you don't have bluray, you won't be missing anything. I do have a Bluray player, and it still looks great. Would the Bluray picture be better on a 1080p set? Sure, but for this price, I'll take the plasma and its rich colors and smooth motion over a 1080p 60hz LCD. We watch sports and movies in my house, and plasma is better for those. Now onto the reflective issue. Yes, the display is a little reflective, but once the TV is on its not an issue. It's a non-issue in our house - yours may be different depending on location and window status. Complaints: I wish it had one more HDMI, but other than that, I'm very happy with this TV. The over the air tuner is pretty decent, the speakers are ok for a flat screen, and the menus are easy to use. It is not internet connectable, but our bluray does that for us. Summary: if you're looking for a very good $500 TV, this is it. If you want better, you can get it; just be willing to shell out $800-900 for a very good LED.

Was this review helpful? (126) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ilikemovies559
fresno, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best option in the price range
12/7/2011

Customer review by technikal

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by technikal
by technikal

I'm not an videophile, but I am a geek. I research everything way too much, obsess over minute details, and just generally put too much effort into purchase decision. I'm also cheap, and a bit proud that we only have 1 TV in our family of 4, and no cable. So when our 6 year old LCD bit the dust, I started obsessing over a new TV. ~40" was the largest size that would fit in our entertainment center, and I didn't want to spend more than around $500. I have an HTPC, so I didn't need a 'smart TV'. I also find 3D annoying at the movies, so I didn't want that either. I started researching and settled on LCD. I decided I needed 1080p, 120ghz, LED lighting and all the other buzz words out there. I ended up buying 3 different ones, and taking each one back within a few days. While each was nice, there was always something that was a bit off. My price limit kept increasing, hoping I'd find the TV that looked good, had great picture quality, speakers good enough that I wouldn't have to run the stereo all the time, and would fit into my entertainment center. After not finding what I was looking for, I went to Amazon, clicked on 'plasma tv' on a whim and sorted on 'average customer review' - the Samsung PN43D450 was at the top the list. The price was right. Size was good too - and it offered a bigger viewable screen than anything else in the price range. The TV looked good with the narrow bezel. I was a bit put off by the lower resolution - after all 1080p is 'critical', and didn't know much about plasma - but the reviews were great, and I'd been disappointed in everything else so far, so I decided to give it a shot. I'm glad I did. Picture quality is superb. Yes - the 1080p LCDs are sharper, and brighter - but that's only part of the story when it comes to overall quality. The colors on the plasma are superb. The contrast is amazing. Blacks are really black. There's no weird motion stuff going on like I saw on some of the 120hz LCDs I brought home. The speakers on the TV are excellent as well - miles ahead of anything else I tried and no need to use my stereo unless I really want a lot of bass. Our living room is set up in a way that we rarely are sitting directly in front of the TV - and the view angles on plasma really are better. Netflix and Amazon Instant video through the HTPC, in both SD and HD look great. Broadcast TV through my HTPC also looks superb. Blu-ray is beautiful, too. From a pure, visual, 'does this look great' standpoint, this TV rocks. And it's the largest screen that will fit in my entertainment center, so it gets extra man-points for that, too. I did obsess for a while over 720p vs 1080p. I considered raising my price limit again in order to get a 1080p Plasma, but in the end, I decided to just stick with the PN43D450. It's great as is, and once I stop obsessing over the minute technical details, I won't be able to tell any difference between it and a more expensive unit anyway. So, in short - if you're looking for a TV with superb picture quality, great sound, in a great looking package at a very reasonable price - then put aside concerns over 1080p vs 720p, Plasma vs. LCD, etc - and just get this. It's ranked high by real users for a reason. It does a phenomenal job at being a TV, and that's what really matters. I'm very happy with my purchase. The purchase process with Walmart was great, too. I ordered online for local pickup, and it was ready in about 30 minutes. When I got to the store, the told me they'd reduced the price as part of a 'Price Adjustment' due to a sale price somewhere locally, without me asking or even being aware of it. I was out the door with the TV in about 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful? (53) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
technikal
atx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent T.V for the price
5/21/2011

Customer review by tval5150

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by tval5150
by tval5150

Bought this tv in my local walmart. it was the last one they had in stock.If your not a fan of plazma tv's this one will change your mind.Fantastic picture quality and good sound.Great family room/basement TV. You will NOT be disapointed.You will need to adjust the picture to you, it may take a few minutes but trust me it's a little bit of time well spent.I did my research and this tv comes out way on top.Move over Sony.....

Was this review helpful? (51) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tval5150
East Fishkill N.Y
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Internet connected confused
5/10/2011

Customer review by Homemomma79

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by Homemomma79
by Homemomma79

The title for this TV says Internet connected.. Thats a bit misleading as I thought that I would be able to access the internet through this TV and aps like Netflix.. Well you cant.. what this TV has is connect share capabilities. My purchase for this TV was to be able to watch Netflix and I cant.. My hubby however was really pleased with the TV that we decided to keep it and well now I have to purchase another device to be able to watch Netflix on this TV.. Aside from the Internet connected issue for me Im really pleased with my purchase..

Was this review helpful? (51) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Homemomma79
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
7/29/2011

Customer review by sluggab

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by sluggab
by sluggab

This plasma television is exceptional in value and picture quality. I think a lot of people have low expectations with plasmas due to the problems when they first came out. Put those worries behind you with this tv. I put this television in my bedroom but I also have a 55 inch LED Samsung in my living room. The picture quality of this plasma is equal if not better.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sluggab
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great picture, great price!
6/30/2011

Customer review by Radoric

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by Radoric
by Radoric

We chose this plasma over similarly priced LCD's because we watch a lot of sports and fast-action movies and shows, and were concerned about the 'ghosting' effect a 60Hz LCD might have. This one has none of that, with a great picture and super crisp colors. This was extremely easy to install and set up, and has been everything we wanted when looking for a new TV. We toned the colors and brightness down a bit from the factory settings, because we have a smaller living room, and my wife complained that it was too big and bright! Plasma has some concerns about glare, but it's certainly no more than the old CRT we replaced. It doesn't have some of the features a higher end TV might, and the built-in sound isn't anything special, but neither of those were a major selling point for me anyway. Overall, for the price, we got what we were hoping for, and more. An excellent product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Radoric
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buy IT!
5/3/2011

Customer review by MLB9

5.0 stars 5/3/2011 by MLB9
by MLB9

I bought this TV to replace the 27" Crt in my bedroom. The picture quality blew all the other TV's under $900 away. I own a 2009 model Samsung Plasma and this 720p has nearly the same pic quality as my 50" 1080p that I paid 3x as much for. The controls ARE on the TV (bottom left) just like all Samsung TV's they're integrated into the bezel so losing the remote is of no concern. HDMI is a must to enjoy the amazing sound quality. I paid $522 out the door so buy this TV now before the price goes up.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MLB9
Woodbridge, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great TV for the Price!
7/5/2011

Customer review by nvmusicmatt

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by nvmusicmatt
by nvmusicmatt

We purchased this TV from our local Wal-Mart on July 3rd to replace our Panasonic plasma that died after 2 years. Could not believe we got a Samsung for $499! The slimline of the frame is good and it runs much cooler than other plasma TV's I've seen. After a few minutes of tweaking the settings, we got a beautiful picture with vibrant colors and deep blacks. You will not be disappointed with this TV. Don't forget the extended warranty. It"s always worth it on expensive electronics.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nvmusicmatt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
8/27/2011

Customer review by HelpHolly

4.0 stars 8/27/2011 by HelpHolly
by HelpHolly

I already own a LCD flat screen and wondered if a Plasma would be better. I ordered this at walmart.com and got a great deal, under $500. It is a wonderful tv very clear picture with my cable and Wii, having some issues setting up my dvd player on it but that may be user error or the dvd player may be too cheap to work on this tv, not sure yet. The specifications stated it doesn't come with a remote so I bought a universal remote but that wasn't necessary. After opening the box there was actually a remote that comes with the tv. You may want to ensure your dvd player has HDMI cable capabilities in order to get the best pic possible based on what I have read. My dvd player doesn't have a HDMI output so I am unable to take advantage of this feature. Still can't figure out how to get color and a good pic out of my dvd player when hooked to this tv but I doubt it's the tv's fault. All in all it's a great Plasma for the price!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HelpHolly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Happy
7/4/2011

Customer review by sigprn

5.0 stars 7/4/2011 by sigprn
by sigprn

First it does have buttons. There located lower left. Get flashlight to find. There flat. I couldn't be happier. Just bought it at 10pm. No problem setting up. Just install base. Twist cable on back. Turn on. It has plug and play. It will ask for language then cable then it does the channels automatic. I think its a bad boy for the money. CHECK IT OUT.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sigprn
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice tv for the price
9/15/2011

Customer review by wiigler2984

4.0 stars 9/15/2011 by wiigler2984
by wiigler2984

Picked it up for a great price. 43 inch for right at 500 dollars, what a great deal. The picture quality is great. I wasn't sure what to expect with the 600Hz. I don't see a noticeable difference in picture quality, although I don't think I have seen it play at 600Hz. I only have basic cable with a few digital channels. Watched one blue ray, look pretty good. Overall, it was what I expected for the price. It works great for what I use it for, mainly watching Netflix and playing PS3. I use it in a dorm room, usually keep the lights out because it is a pretty reflective screen. I would recommend this to someone on a budget, looking for a introductory plasma tv. I'm happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wiigler2984
Columbia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Plasma
7/6/2011

Customer review by TelecommuteMom

4.0 stars 7/6/2011 by TelecommuteMom
by TelecommuteMom

We were looking for a pretty decent flat screen and this fit the bill. I was going to order on line for $538, but went in the store and it was priced for $498. A great picture and sound quality compared to others at the same price. I have not noticed any delay or problems. Would definitely suggest purchasing HDMI cables if you do not already have. Overall I a overly satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TelecommuteMom
College Park, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Huge value for the money
7/5/2011

Customer review by newform

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by newform
by newform

I couldn't be more pleased with this TV. The picture quality is outstanding. As is recommended with Plasma TVs, I have followed the steps to prevent "burn in" for the first 100 hours of use, and have had zero issues. The picture is sharp, with no blur and the sound is very adequate for a built-in speaker system.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newform
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wow! What an Amazing Picture!
11/9/2011

Customer review by HappyCustomerindeed

5.0 stars 11/9/2011 by HappyCustomerindeed
by HappyCustomerindeed

I've waited three months before reviewing this purchase -- and boy was it a wise one! Picture quality on this plasma is amazing: We can see the slightest speck of lint on a newscaster's jacket (its become a running joke with our viewing). Arrived sooner than expected; Easy to assemble within minutes (a one-person job, too); Easy to operate; doesn't get too hot; No empty pixels; No weird picture; Sound (volume) and size are just right for the living room of our average size home -- just wonderful overall. Wish I could dispel every negative myth one might harbor about plasma TVs, but I can't; you'll simply have to see for yourself -- and if you do, you're undoubtedly in for a treat! Great price (we shopped around for several months, believe me), and again, you simply cannot beat plasma for picture quality! I repeat: You simply cannot beat plasma for picture quality! (We got the warranty, too!) Five stars all around! Get one before they're gone!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyCustomerindeed
los angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/8/2011

Customer review by Roccoyaya

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by Roccoyaya
by Roccoyaya

Got this T.V. for around 500 dollars and is a great purchase for the price. The picture is wonderful for a 43 inch screen. Its great to watch sports and play video games on in HD. Just flat enough so it looks great on the wall too. Only negative thing I can say about the T.V. is it only has 2 HDMI inputs so all I have enough for is the cable box and ol PS3 but other then that I have no complaints. Blue Ray from the PS3 looks great on the T.V. A must buy if you are looking not to spend that much money but get a great looking T.V. from Samsung.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roccoyaya
Willimantic Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Happy with this TV ! Yes, you can get internet.
11/26/2011

Customer review by mom2EnR

4.0 stars 11/26/2011 by mom2EnR
by mom2EnR

Got this on sale for 399.00. Plasma was recommended over LED and I've never owned an LED so I can't compare the two. You can get internet on this TV if you have the correct port(s# on your computer. We used an HDMI cable attached to laptop and it works great. Netflix, youtube, whatever. You WILL have to have an audio cable to run between the laptop and TV #or a good set of external speakers# if you want to hear sound from your laptop. You can also use other streaming internet devices to attach to the TV #besides a laptop). Set up was pretty easy, took a while to get used to the menu but that is to be expected. We actually get quite a few more channels than we did with basic cable due to the tuner that is built into this TV. We did the auto set up where it searched for channels and it was able to find a bunch more than what we had before!! The buttons on the front of the TV are touch sensitive like a touch screen, they don't protrude. Lastly, the sound is great. I have read a bunch of negative reviews about the sound and I don't understand. Sure, you won't get window rattling bass like you would in a theater but this thing sounds better than our old tv. It has different sound settings and an EQ so I think it sounds amazing and volume is not an issue. We do plan to add surround sound but it's fine without it for your standard tv viewing. So far so good !

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mom2EnR
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EXCELLENT PICTURE!
12/5/2011

Customer review by Tater13

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by Tater13
by Tater13

I have owned a DLP and an LCD TV, and I can say without a doubt that the picture on this plasma is far better. Yes, in a bright room the glass will reflect, but the TV is in my bedroom and is usually only viewed at night. I was tempted to purchase a soundbar, but I am glad I did not because I was quite impressed with the sound quality of the TV. I cannot compare the picture to an LED TV, but I am extremely satisfied with my purchase, especially since it was on sale for $398!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tater13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT
1/15/2012

Customer review by Dreu1911

5.0 stars 1/15/2012 by Dreu1911
by Dreu1911

SO my boyfriend thought we should have got the biggest one now he says i glad we didn't. IT DOES HAVE IN A/V outputs (which is the only bad thing thus far) After months of looking this tv is better then all my sister LCD and or LED she just got her a new Samsung 51"plasma because of me. Be smart when shopping i found this tv in store at 478 bucks and then when when i was paying for it it cam out to 460 bucks total after 2 years of ins. (yes that mean it was like 398. I saved over 100 buck on my tv and stand btw it really doesnt matter the type of HDMI cable you have. LOVE MY SAMSUNG PRODUCTS>>>>PHONE TV AND SO MUCH MORE

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dreu1911
Hinesville,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Plasma HDTV Ever at those with a Budget!
12/5/2011

Customer review by TopGunDan

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by TopGunDan
by TopGunDan

I normally don’t write reviews on products, but I was compelled to tell others about this awesome HDTV. Great low price got it during black Friday sales. Having two LED 1080P HDTV I was worried if this 720P HDTV could match the high contrast ratio and awesome picture quality. I was so impressed this PDP TV surpassed the high intensity contrast and picture quality. Samsung provides great looking picture quality right out the of the BOX, but it also provides plenty of advanced features to tweak the picture to your custom settings. You get very fast response rate from the plasma (600Hz), which produces the best crisp edges, and no motion blurs. You have full control to adjust colors and flesh tones. Some other features that you don’t see on other low cost HDTV are the following: 1) HDMI Black Level (Adjust Screen Depth); 2) Film Mode (Automatically process film signals and adjust picture for optimum quality); 3) Screen Burn Protection (Reduces the possibility of screen burning by pixel shifting); 4) Audio settings provides Equalizer for custom settings or 5 standard modes; 5) V-Chip (Parental Controls); 6) Game Mode (Optimize PS3/Xbox settings). You will not be disappointed with this HDTV. Samsung PDP TV rocks… Just buy it and you will be just as impressed as I was...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TopGunDan
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 228 total reviews
1-20 of 228 reviews