Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 94 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

94 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
6
1-20 of 84 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews
Best TV out there!
4/26/2011

Customer review by BK510

5.0 stars 4/26/2011 by BK510
by BK510

Out of the box this TV is great! Comparable TVs with similar features will run 1800.00 and up. The 240Hz mean that sports and action movies will show great without the blur seen on some of the other TVs. It comes with most of the popular widgets, and what it doesn't come with you can easily download. The only feature missing on this TV is the 3D, if that's not an issue, this TV is the one to buy. The speakers on the TV are OK, but when Sports or movies are shown, I use my stereo for the sound.

Was this review helpful? (216) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BK510
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Only the best TV I've ever watched.
6/1/2011

Customer review by Daleshouse

5.0 stars 6/1/2011 by Daleshouse
by Daleshouse

After the first night I owned this television my friends asked about the picture. I was unable to answer, I wasn't ready to accept what I was seeing. The next night I watched several HD programs on this TV. I finally got it. It's simply the best picture I've ever seen on a TV. It was like watching actors through a piece of glass. Seriously, I'm actually watching all of my old favorite movies again on this television because It's as though I've never watched them before. The story is the same, but the visuals are so incredibly different than my previous viewings I have to watch to see what the movie makers meant for me to see. If you think this is because I've never owned an HDTV before, Know that I've always sworn by Sony and owned a Sony HDTV before buying this. There's no comparison. This stands alone. My friend comparing the two said that it appeared that the Sony was broken compared to the Vizio. Now you know what I think, get one yourself and make your own decision.

Was this review helpful? (140) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daleshouse
Spokane, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awsome tv Picture and Features...
4/25/2011

Customer review by miamiexpert

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by miamiexpert
by miamiexpert

This tv is wonderful you would be amazed about the picture quality of this tv. really really true vivid color and super thin led design only 1 inch thick. first i bought the element 55 but i returned after a week for this one believed me expend a little more and get this tv or another one of better quality than the element. Vizio internet apps is awesome, you would have netflix, pandora, Facebook everything. tv speaker are great but i bought the vizio sound bar and believe me is a huge difference, remote control is really cool you have in the front regular tv bottoms and in the back a full QWERTY keyboard. I recommend this tv to everyone that care about picture quality. hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (114) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
miamiexpert
MIAMI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Highly disappointed
8/28/2011

Customer review by usuallyanoptimist

2.0 stars 8/28/2011 by usuallyanoptimist
by usuallyanoptimist

I bought my M550SV back in April. While the TV has great features and excellent picture, I cannot get passed the fact that my TV turns itself off. I have contacted Vizio several time about it, and their response is that the TV was designed to do this and it is not a fault. I find it unacceptable that the TV needs to turn itself off nearly ten times per day. Vizio also said that the problem is related to the audio settings of the devices connected to the TV. The devices connected to the TV must have PCM audio output settings, otherwise the TV gets upset and turns itself off randomly. One way to possibly reduce the occurences of the TV shutting off (not a guaranteed solution) is to give up the quality of resolution that you paid for when you bought the set and replace your HDMI connections with component connections. To resolve this issue, Vizio has informed its consumers that an update will be downloaded to correct the firmware. However, there is no set timeframe for this to happen even though the problem that Vizio says "is not a problem" has been known for several months. One of the other reviewers reports getting a brand new TV after contacting Vizio. No such offer was made to me. All in all, I'm disappointed. I'm disappointed with the customer service. And I'm disappointed that I have to unplug and plug back in the TV in order to turn it back on after it shuts itself off. Where is the accountability, Vizio?

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
usuallyanoptimist
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BEST TV EVER !
4/25/2011

Customer review by CoachTT

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by CoachTT
by CoachTT

VIZIO Got this TV LAST CHRISTMAS at PRICE LISTED HERE- whICH I HAVE NOT SEEN SINCE USUALLY MUCH HIGHER ! BEST PICTURE I HAVE EVER SEEN IN HD ! BETTER THAN MY SONY OR MY LG !! ALMOST LIKE WATCHING 3D without the Silly Glasses. WARNING - DO NOT GET VIZIO SOUND BAR SYSTEM TO GO WITH IT - Visual Electonics went bad 2nd Day - found out from others it happens all the time !

Was this review helpful? (145) (39)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoachTT
B'ham,Ala
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY! BUYER BEWARE! BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE
7/30/2011

Customer review by GorgeousMe

1.0 stars 7/30/2011 by GorgeousMe
by GorgeousMe

I bought this television 13 months ago and it was wonderful the full 13 months. It had great picture, sound was nice, had vizio aps, 240 hz, 1080P..we really liked it. Then one day out of the blue it shows up with lines on it..no one hit it and no cracks..in great condition. The warranty for this product is 12 months (did not get extended warranty) called customer service and they said it is called a line defect and the only thing to do is replace the TV. But our warranty was up and they did not help us at all. Plus you never talk to a true person, it all via email. I spent over two thousand dollars on this and it did not even last. I looked up reviews from others and it turns out this is a common problem and it does this around the 12 month period. They said it is common. They did offer us a factor reconditioned one for a high price, like I would buy another with known flaws. So why do they sell a TV with known flaws? I do not know. I do not recommend this TV at all and if you do decide to get it then get the warranty on it. :(

Was this review helpful? (85) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GorgeousMe
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's a decent HDTV for the price.
6/7/2011

Customer review by Spirit1on1

4.0 stars 6/7/2011 by Spirit1on1
by Spirit1on1

I've shopped around for a long time before purchasing this HDTV. All of the HDTV's look great in the store, but it's when you bring it home that you find out what the TV's really about. The reason I'm not rating this TV with a higher rating, is in part due to problems between the TV and my cable company (Comcast). If you want a High Definition cable signal, you need to upgrade your current cable box to a High Definition box, which I expected would be needed. But, since most of the cable channels are not in High Definition, what Comcast does is "stretch" the picture. So in essense, you wind up with a distorted image. And when you try to correct it using the setting from Vizio, it doesn't get much better. From what I gather, the cable companies are using a smaller (32"to 46")HDTV screen as standard to messure everything by, and not the bigger 55" HDTV's. My friend has DISH as his cable, and has no problems with it being displayed on his 55" HDTV. When using a Blu-ray player, the picture is breath-taking, and with the small about of Comcast channels available in High Definition, the picture is great. Definitely worth the money on those two counts. It's just the everyday cable that is the problem. Also, the sound is not that great. There is practically no bass in the sound whatsoever, so it sounds cheap. But, if you connect it to your home stereo or home theater, then you don't have to worry about that problem. All in all it's a great TV, but it does come with some problems.

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Spirit1on1
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buyer Beware
5/18/2011

Customer review by SeB2000

1.0 stars 5/18/2011 by SeB2000
by SeB2000

This was our second try with Led Vizio with apps. First one was sent for service through extended warranty (I highly recommend), just after a year, as it was turning off at random. Because parts for Vizio are hard to come by, it was brought back after a month, still broken, so I demanded reimbursement, which we received. We went with a Vizio again, against better judgement, because although we had trouble with the first one, we were happy overall with tv. Got 2nd one, tried to hook to PC via HDMI, as we use blue ray player from PC, and it would not support use as 2nd monitor. We used this set-up with last one with no trouble. Called Vizio, they said they were stumped, and to return tv. In addition, we have not returned it yet, because of constant rain here in NY, and the tv started to turn itself off constantly. We had our power checked, and its definately the tv. These tvs are being manufactured too quickly to stay on top of features installed in them....avoid them!!

Was this review helpful? (58) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SeB2000
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Features but a Defect
11/19/2011

Customer review by Decibel

4.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Decibel
by Decibel

The high expectations that I had for this edge-lit LED-LCD TV have been met with one notable & fatal exception. Ordering this TV through Walmart.com was problem-free and shipping to the local store was very convenient. Setup was easy and the TV found the wireless signal without a hitch. The operator's manual could be a little more detailed. The picture quality (sharpness, brightness) is very good and the internet apps work well. Sound quality is fair, about what you would expect for a thin design. The functionality of the remote is very good. I particularly like the keyboard and the size of the keys, which has been a complaint from some other reviewers, has not been a problem. The defect with this set is backlight bleed in the lower right corner. I am "testing" Vizio technical service at the moment. All reps have been courteous and knowledgeable. (Customer service is American-based, would you believe?) I have forwarded pictures of this condition to Vizio and a decision is pending whether or not they will replace the set. I have decided not to keep this TV. If Vizio declines to replace, I will be returning it (sorry Walmart) and move onto another model or brand.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Decibel
SW Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
REALLY, REALLY BAD
5/5/2011

Customer review by tommyman1

2.0 stars 5/5/2011 by tommyman1
by tommyman1

PURCHASED THIS SET (M550SV), TOOK IT HOME PLUGGED IT IN AND NOTHING. NOTHING AT ALL. CALLED VIZIO SERVICE AND WAS TOLD TO DO ANY NUMBER OF THINGS TO TRY AND GET IT WORKING. NOTHING WORKED. TOOK SET BACK TO WALMART AND EXCHANGED FOR A NEW (SAME) SET. TOOK IT HOME PLUGGED IT IN AND VIOLA, IT WORKED FOR 15 MINUTES - AT WHICH TIME IT SHUT ITSELF OFF. HAD TO UNPLUG TV, THEN PLUG IN AGAIN, TURN IT ON AND IT WORKED - FOR ABOUT 20 MINUTES - THEN SHUT ITSELF OFF AGAIN. VERY FRUSTRATING - TO HAVE TV TURN ITSELF OFF AT ANY MOMENT. WALMART HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THIS SET (M550SV) IN THEIR STORE. THIS SET AND ALL RELATED ITEMS (VIZIO BLU-RAY PLAYER, VIZIO HOME THEATER AND CABLES) ARE GOING BACK TO WALMART. THIS IS A VERY POOR QUALITY SET, OVERALL. AND, I WOULD NOT - REPEAT NOT RECOMMEND THIS SET TO A FRIEND (OR ENEMY, FOR THAT MATTER). YES, IT REALLY IS THAT BAD. HOWEVER, THE PICTURE QUALITY IS GREAT. THE SOUND QUALITY IS POOR - EVEN WITH THE VIZIO HOME THEATER. AGAIN, DON'T BUY THIS TV - M550SV.

Was this review helpful? (47) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tommyman1
NW ARKANSAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best out there!!
6/13/2011

Customer review by MNBLUESMAN

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by MNBLUESMAN
by MNBLUESMAN

Try to find a 240htz, LED, 1080p, wifi, with internet apps for anywhere near this price...picture quality is supurb, and with a 3 year extended warranty for just over $100 giving me four years total why would I buy anything else. You will not find a tv with these features at this low price. Very impressed. Tv speakers leave something to be desired but I have surround anyway so I can live with it. Best deal around.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MNBLUESMAN
Duluth, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Value in an HD TV!
5/16/2011

Customer review by AlanD96

5.0 stars 5/16/2011 by AlanD96
by AlanD96

I picked up this TV at my Walmart yesterday and am just THRILLED with it. The picture and clarity are amazing (you'll be blown away if you watch a blu-ray disk on it.) It's priced at least 200 dollars less than other more known brand equivalent TVs. Set up was easy (they even INCLUDE a phillips head screwdriver in case you don't have one). I'm still having fun playing with all the Internet Apps on the toolbar. The remote control is cool, with a standard setup on one side, and a QWERTY keyboard on the other. I see that a reviewer had a problem with his TV, but I have two friends who own Vizios and who actually recommended this brand to me, and they've had no problems. Overall am VERY pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlanD96
Arlington Heights, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME HDTV!!
6/3/2011

Customer review by Jhon70

5.0 stars 6/3/2011 by Jhon70
by Jhon70

This is my very first HDTV I'm very glad it is a Vizio LED-LCD HDTV.Vizio to me has it all,price,features and value.I have had this HDTV since 5-7-2011 so to me it's time to review it,all I can say is"WOW!!,everything works as expected or better.I have not found any cons to this product. So if you purchase this product you should be impressed,I have been and am every morning I turn it on,we have Dish Network and an outside over the air antenna, the HD picture is outstanding.Plus no one can beat WalMart prices.So if you purchase one enjoy I know I will for years to come.This Vizio is rated at 82.1 watts,Internet Apps are cool.I just can't get over how great the picture is.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jhon70
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio motherboard problems
6/26/2012

Customer review by BudH

1.0 stars 6/26/2012 by BudH
by BudH

We bought the Vizio because it seemed to have the best picture of all the TVs we looked at. However the motherboard went out in 18 months and every company selling the part is back ordered out the ears. Some of the techs I spoke to said the motherboards went out much sooner than ours in many cases. None of the parts suppliers can give me any idea of how long it will take to get a new one. It appears that Vizio is going through motherboards like water through a fork. Even if you buy an extended warranty the TV can't be fixed without the part. I highly recommend you purchase another brand such as LG or Samsung before buying a TV that takes months to get repaired. Oh yes.......Vizio will not any be of any help with this problem.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BudH
Granbury, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If you like turning you tv on every 10 minutes....
6/12/2011

Customer review by Barnhooligan

1.0 stars 6/12/2011 by Barnhooligan
by Barnhooligan

...then this is the set for you. While the picture may be awesome, and the setup may be easy, the fact that this HDTV can't stay on for more than 10 minutes makes it a really cool-looking paperweight. I have tried all on the online "remedies" and also saw an alarming trend: this issue is happening with literally all HDTV's out there. I searched for my particular TV, and got the same issues for many other brands. Taking it back in the morning.

Was this review helpful? (23) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barnhooligan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice LED-LCD THDV
5/27/2011

Customer review by WBWGNC

4.0 stars 5/27/2011 by WBWGNC
by WBWGNC

I'm new to the world of HDTV. I purchased this one after first buying the 42" model. I like it overall, but the sound quality is not up to par. Great picture and we love PIP, we can play Wii ans watch tv at the same time. The unit at one point would turn off and on by itself, which was a mystery to me. It stopped and appears to be fine. We like the wi-fi features also. Nice overall HDTV.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WBWGNC
Gastonia, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GReat Tv
5/2/2011

Customer review by DanLovesthetv

4.0 stars 5/2/2011 by DanLovesthetv
by DanLovesthetv

I previously had the 55 inch m550nv vizio that i had purchased in february. ON one of my trips at walkmart i swung by the T.v sections and noticed that the price had dropped on the one i had and that this new one was out. It is double the refresh rate and double the contrast ratio and a little thinner and also for the same price i had purchased the other one for. I decided to exchange them. It has a great picture sound is not as good as the other t.v. Also they left out the bluettooth on this television and a little feature that the remote had where you could rogram it to control yor cable box so that it is the vizio remote that you use and not the klunky cable company remote. The only other issue i have is that when wwaatching hokey i noticed that the puck gets digital looking (squares) when it is hit hard aross the ice. DOnt know if that is for all of them or just mine. Other then that good t.v

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DanLovesthetv
hampstead, nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Started to purchase a Samsung!
6/2/2011

Customer review by Rojaqueen

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by Rojaqueen
by Rojaqueen

This television offers everything we wanted with a much lower price than the Samsung we had considered. Very happy with all the features and the knowledge of the Walmart associate that helped us with our purchase. Great store, great price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rojaqueen
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this TV!!!!!!
10/10/2011

Customer review by Lopylori

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by Lopylori
by Lopylori

I am in love with this TV. This was my first HDTV large screen purchase. I was not disappointed. The picture on this TV is so awesome and clear. I love all the apps too. I've not had any of the bad issues that some of the others had in the previous reviews. The sound is not something to write home about, but it's not bad either. We did purchase the Vizio Sound Bar at the time we purchased the TV, which I highly recommend if you are not wanting to go full surround sound with all the wires, etc. Watching sports on it is outstanding! Because it is 240 Hz, you don't get the blur, and the grass/turf does not look like it's alive (like it's moving). We opted for this TV also because the screen is not glassy and shiny. It does not reflect the lighting in the room from windows or light fixtures. There is NO glare. I would highly recommend this TV. It rivals other TV's out there that are much higher priced. LOVE IT!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lopylori
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV so far...
6/11/2011

Customer review by simpleman704

4.0 stars 6/11/2011 by simpleman704
by simpleman704

After researching many makes and models....i decided to buy this one. Great decision. had it for a few weeks now....fantastic picture sound is ok. i would buy another one

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
simpleman704
Sweet Home Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 84 total reviews
1-20 of 84 reviews