Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 666 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

666 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

666 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

98%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
502
4 stars
138
3 stars
16
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
1-20 of 665 total reviews
98%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 665 total reviews
1-20 of 665 reviews
Worked Well
1/14/2016

Customer review by MilkyMomma

4.0 stars 1/14/2016 by MilkyMomma
by MilkyMomma

I received a free sample of the Free and Clear version of this detergent. I wasn't expecting much, to be honest, but I hate to waste anything. I am a bit embarrassed at how short-sighted I was. This detergent cleaned as well as, if not better than, my usual detergent. I pretreat and wash in cool water and I didn't notice any stains left after the wash. A bonus was there was no smell at all! Some detergents I have used had a weird chemical smell even though they claimed to be 100% natural. Also, my entire family has some form of skin sensitivity. I have noticed with some detergents, my kids especially, will get flare-ups. They didn't have any problems after I used this detergent on 2 loads, which is usually how many loads it takes to show me if they have a problem with a detergent. I may try the scented version next to see if my clothes can smell good too. I know I'm asking for it all, good smelling clothes and no flare-ups, but I think if any company can give it all to me it'll be SG.

MilkyMomma
TEXAS BABY!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tough on stains but gentle on skin
1/15/2016

Customer review by Hendrika

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by Hendrika
by Hendrika

The Seventh Generation Free and Clear is really a great laundry detergent. This laundry detergent really cleans my laundry very well. Colors stay bright and whites stay white. It really works great on dirt and stains but is very gentle for the skin. It does not have any dyes, optical brighteners or synthetic fragrances. I love that it is a natural detergent which is safe to use for people and especially little children with sensitive skin. The laundry really feels soft when coming out of the laundry machine. This detergent really cleans my laundry whether I use it for whites, dark clothes or on gentle fabrics. I like that you can use it even in cold water and that it is hypoallergenic. When you use this detergent you just know that your laundry will be clean no matter how dirty the laundry will be and that it is safe to use. I highly recommend the Seventh Generation Clean & Clear detergent. I received a free product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100 % my own.

Hendrika
Hilliard, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
1/17/2016

Customer review by Islandlove007

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Islandlove007
by Islandlove007

I was selected to try Seventh Generation's Free & Clear laundry detergent made for sensitive skin, for FREE! Opinions are 100% my own. I was so looking forward to giving this product a try. I was very well pleased. My 5 year old daughter has sensitive skin. So it is good to know that there is a product out there where first it is Natural. I don't have to worry about what is in it. Second its by a company my family and I trust. Just because it is Natural does not mean that it is not as good as the other products out there. In my opinion it is better. Because it cleans and does what the other products do. However, without the harmful chemicals like the others. To me that is a big plus. My daughter can wear her clothes with ease. Which she has with no itching. And me as her parent I don't have to worry about a reaction. It does just what they say. Cleans, fights stains while being gentle. Good job. I have already purchased a bottle and have started using it already.

Islandlove007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Brightens whites naturally
1/28/2016

Customer review by Ericello

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Ericello
by Ericello

I received the Seventh Generation Free & Clear laundry samples and wanted to try them out immediately! My family is sensitive to chemicals and fragrance, often tracking out into rashes or migraines. Not too long ago I broke out into gives and could not figure out what was going on. We thought bed bugs, fleas, bad soap, everything imaginable until I realized it was the Tide detergent I had purchased. I rewashed all the sheets and clothes in the house and the cleared up the problem. Overtime though I noticed that the natural detergent I was making or buying made my whites dull. So when Seventh Generation offered this sample I was excited to try it on my whites. It rocked!! They came out bright and soft. Best of all I didn't break out into a rash or get a migraine from any harsh scents. My husband even liked how soft his shirts were too! Note: I received free samples to review. Opinions are 100% my own.

Ericello
Chandler, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent product!!!
1/11/2016

Customer review by PRSB

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by PRSB
by PRSB

I got a free sample of this product to try and provide my honest opinion. I already like 7th Generation products because they work better than any other green brand I have tried and I have tried quite a few. However, in terms of laundry detergent, I had tried only the 7th Gen laundry packs and the powder detergent. I already love how both of those work. When I tried this liquid detergent, I noticed that the clothes came out even cleaner than with the other 7th Gen laundry products, and that was without pre-treating the stains. There is no scent whatsoever but the clothes smell clean. I used it on both whites and colors and it worked great. More importantly, I have allergies and my children have sensitive skin and none of us were bothered by the detergent. Once again, 7th Generation has made another great product that is safe and works well. I received a free product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own.

PRSB
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Detergent for Very Sensitive Skin!
1/16/2016

Customer review by CulinarianTH

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by CulinarianTH
by CulinarianTH

My husband and son both have extremely sensitive skin. They often have sudden flair ups due to food, fragrances and weather changes. As a result I have to be very careful what products I use to clean their clothes with. Some other natural detergents I have tried don't do as good a job actually getting clothes clean while others that claim to be natural are put out by brands that have other products laden with chemicals and I am hesitant to trust that their products are actually as natural as they claim. I love that with Seventh Generation Free and Clear I can use one product for the whole family's laundry. I am a loyal Seventh Generation consumer and would recommend their products to anyone with seriously sensitive skin. I am always willing to try new products that they come out with because I trust their brand so much. I received a free product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own!

CulinarianTH
Portland, ME, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cloth Diaper problem solved
1/28/2016

Customer review by Tera0830

4.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Tera0830
by Tera0830

I had the opportunity to try a sample of Seventh Generation detergent. I read a lot about it and found out it was safe to use on cloth diapers. I had recently been having a lot of issues with my wash routine so I was excited to give it a try. Wow, I am so thankful I did. My cloth diapers came out so fresh and clean. No left over odors and I can tell the residue build was gone. When my son peed in his diaper again, the strong ammonia smell that is usually there, was gone. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is it has not removed all the stains from the soiled diapers. Not a big deal, I just sun dry them and the stains are gone. After my samples were gone, I bought a whole bottle and have been using this detergent ever since. Secondly I have also been using the detergent for our clothes. I have been very happy with the results. 3/5 of the people in our house have eczema and allergies. It's a good feeling knowing the clothes are getting clean but there are no harsh chemicals or fragrances to irritate their sensitive skin. *I received these samples for free for review purposes. All opinions are 100% my own*

Tera0830
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Actually Cleans My Clothes
1/27/2016

Customer review by Deannamg1984

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Deannamg1984
by Deannamg1984

I received a free sample of Seventh Generation's Free and Clear Laundry detergent so that I could compare it to my current laundry detergent and I think it is fantastic. Whenever I did laundry with my old detergent I never actually felt as though it was cleaning my clothes because my husband's shirts still smelled like his deodorant. That was not the case with SG's Free and Clear detergent. Obviously they did not have a detergent scent but they also didn't smell like deodorant. They simply smelled clean. I have highly sensitive skin and scented detergents cause me to break out in rashes so I was nervous to try something new when I'd found something that worked but after doing a couple loads of laundry and then wearing my clothes for a few days my skin has not had a reaction. Overall I'm very happy with this detergent and will definitely be making the switch!

Deannamg1984
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but not my favorite
1/7/2016

Customer review by cbshane13

3.0 stars 1/7/2016 by cbshane13
by cbshane13

* I received this product for free as a sample to review. Opinions are 100% my own * So I received a few samples from the Seventh Generation Generation Good community to try out. I have actually tried out this product before that as well (sample sizes). I got the free and clear version, so no scent, dyes, etc. This product does an okay job of cleaning out dirt/diaper stains from clothing but I feel like my regularly used brand does better. I also think that the clothes end up smelling kind of stinky and I can only correlate that to using this detergent as I did not change any other part of my laundry routine when using these samples. I am not sure if this is due to the "free and clear" version or not. It may smell better if I used a scented 7th Gen detergent. I would much rather use this product compared to conventional chemically laden detergents. However, I would pick my Molly's Suds powder over this if I had the choice. I just feel like that does a better job and it is also truly unscented. If someone is unable to get my #1 choice, I would recommend them to this product.

cbshane13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Free & Clear Detergent!
1/18/2016

Customer review by amm1216

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by amm1216
by amm1216

My son has severe eczema, so I'm always leery trying out any other detergents than the one we usually use. I was given several samples of this product to test and I went ahead and tried it out knowing that we might see a reaction on my son. The detergent has no smell and it's the normal consistency of any other detergent. You can tell right away that it's a free & clear detergent. I washed a load with this and I've got to say I was very pleased, the clothes smelled fresh and clean. But again, the real question was whether or not it was going to aggravate my son's skin. The answer is no! I am so happy with this product! It's all natural and good for the environment and it doesn't aggravate my son's eczema. I don't think I could ask much more out of a detergent. Great product! Note: I received this product for free to test out and review. The opinions are my own.

amm1216
Washington, MO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Product!
1/26/2016

Customer review by Ariel

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Ariel
by Ariel

Some time ago, I used to use my mom's laundry detergent. It was your typical name brand detergent. My skin started itching, so I switched to Seventh Generation Free and Clear Natural Laundry Detergent. My skin stopped itching using this product. Since that time I've tried using other laundry detergents that were also free and clear, but I kept coming back to Seventh Generation. I am sticking with Seventh Generation Free and Clear Natural Laundry Detergent because it out shines the others. It really cleans my clothes without using harsh chemicals and it leaves them very fresh and clean. I highly recommend this product. It is not just for people with sensitive skin and chemical sensitivity, but it does a really good job cleaning clothes. I received a sample of this product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own.

Ariel
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not bad!
1/25/2016

Customer review by Jessi

4.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Jessi
by Jessi

I received a free sample of this for review purposes, all of the opinions are my own. My first impression was that this detergent seemed slightly more "watery" than my usual detergent. It bubbled up nicely once my machine started filling, though. I noted that it didn't have that slightly blue, optical brightener laden hue that Purex Free Clear has. I washed using cold water, my preference for energy saving. One load was baby blankets and random clothing, the other was my husbands dirty work clothes - he does sandblasting, so they get filthy! Everything came out pretty clean, I was impressed seeing that from a free clear. I usually use a double load of All F&C to get the same job done. I admit I would have preferred a touch of scent, so I am likely going to buy the Eucalyptus lavender and see if it still prevents skin irritation.

Jessi
ND, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gentle on skin yet tough on dirt
1/26/2016

Customer review by Mama to the Kraken

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Mama to the Kraken
by Mama to the Kraken

This past summer, my husband burned his arm pretty badly and as a result of the medicines he was taking, his skin became very sensitive and he couldn't tolerate our usual laundry detergent. Ever since, I've been on a quest to find a detergent that would be gentle enough for his skin yet tough on dirt, because he is also a sloppy eater and lines to share his food with his clothes. We were using our baby daughter's detergent because it is tolerable to his skin. However, he feels silly using a baby detergent. Seventh Generation detergent is the perfect solution to our problem. I was able to try this for free, and I'm happy that I did because not only is it agreeable with his sensitive skin, but it also works well on those annoying food stains. I would definitely buy this detergent because of it's many benefits to our family.

Mama to the Kraken
Howell, NJ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for use for the whole family
1/25/2016

Customer review by Blessedbethee

5.0 stars 1/25/2016 by Blessedbethee
by Blessedbethee

I was given the opportunity to try and review this product for the Generation Good Community. The samples arrived and I decided to give it a test on my toughest laundry, towel, pet bedding, and my cloth diapers. My towels and pet bedding came out fresh and clean with no lingering odor. Even my dog's stinky blanket didn't even have a hint of ode de wet dog. My cloth diapers had me a little nervous however. It is so easy to get messy build up on diapers that can take all day to deal with. My diapers came out of the wash clean and with no signs of soap build up. The detergent was gentle enough not to upset my then 7 month old's skin, but strong enough to get his diapers squeaky clean. Overall I would recommend this product to a friend. Please note: I received this product for free in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.

Blessedbethee
Scranton, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
We Love This Product!!!
1/14/2016

Customer review by RNMom

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by RNMom
by RNMom

"I received a free product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own." Before receiving the samples of Seventh Generation and trying them in my home I thought there was no way this is going to be any better than any other brand on the market.... I was totally wrong! My daughter was having major reactions to several products on the shelves and it was so frustrating trying to find a detergent that smelled nice and didn't cause her to break out in a rash. I. Did two loads of her laundry and noticed a HUGE improvement in her skin. I bought a bottle of it and now wash the entire family clothes with. Her rash has cleared up and we have not seen any reoccurrences for two weeks! Thank you so much for making a product for her sensitive skin! It means the world to me that there is a company out there who is paying attention to what goes into their products!

RNMom
Baltimore, MD, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works hard!
1/12/2016

Customer review by Bkast14

4.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Bkast14
by Bkast14

I received a free sample of the 2x detergent for participating in the "generation good" forum. The day I received it in the mail we had lasagna for dinner. I typically change my almost 3 year old out of his good clothes and let him eat anything with red sauce with a bib and pj pants on. That nights bib was yellow, perfect for showing stains. Sure enough, red sauce splattered his bib, face, wall ect. I decided to let the clothes sit overnight and launder the next day with the sample I recieved. Not only did the red sauce come out, I felt like the detergent actually brightened up the dingy used bib. We have been using detergent for our sensitive skin since before my son was born. I put the bib on him the next night to see if any irritation occurred. No rash, no redness. I am satisfied, and will be looking at my local retailed for the detergent next time I shop!

Bkast14
Central, Minnesota, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No different than other Free and Clear Detergent
1/20/2016

Customer review by mamaof2

3.0 stars 1/20/2016 by mamaof2
by mamaof2

I received this product free for my review and was excited about trying a different free and clear product. With 2 kids with sensitive skin and a husband with bad allergies anything with fragrance or dyes will usually make 1 of the kids break out or my husband to have a sneezing fit that wont stop. I had thought about this product but never bought it because of the higher price and now I'm glad I didn't. It was not any better at getting the stains out than the free and clear product that I current use and its half the price. I was also hoping that I would be able to use this on my cloth diapers but it still had enzymes that can cause leaking, so I will be sticking to my current detergent. If I had a coupon and the Seventh Generation was on sale I would probably buy it but for now I'm going to stick to my current detergent.

mamaof2
Illinois, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fixed skin problems
1/11/2016

Customer review by Britnmarie

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Britnmarie
by Britnmarie

I received 100% FREE laundry detergent samples by mail to test out this wonderful product from seventh generation. First off I have tried numerous brands of detergent to help with my family's sensitive skin issues. Both my daughter and husband break out in red splotches all over their back and arms. Nothing has ever worked the way seventh generation detergent has, & in only one load. I received 3 packets of detergent and after using the first I noticed a significant reduction in the outbreak in my daughter. I continued with the 2nd packet to continue waking my daughter's clothes (we wash hers separate from ours) her red splotches are almost completely gone now. Since it worked so well I have my 3rd packet to my friend who also has a son with very sensitive skin. I also went and bought a jug of the detergent to try for my husband. After using it for about a week we have also seen a huge difference in the breakouts my husband has. I would 100% recommend this product to everyone, but especially people with skin issues. I received 100% free laundry detergent packets to test and write an honest review on my families experience.

Britnmarie
Portland, OR, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not effective!
1/21/2016

Customer review by Ruthy21

2.0 stars 1/21/2016 by Ruthy21
by Ruthy21

I've receive three free samples of the free and clear detergent for my honest review. These opinions are 100% my own. It was my first time trying out this product and I was pretty excited to try but it failed to meet my expectations. I did like the fact that the product was unscented but this was pretty much the only thing that pleased me about this product. In my opinion the recommended amount of detergent for one load should be increase. I ended up using 2 sample packs (each sample pack is for 1 medium or large load) and it still wasn't enough.There was barely any foam in the machine so I had to add more of the laundry detergent that I usually use. Moreover some of the ingredients of this "natural" laundry detergent were questionable. Overall, I was left unsatisfied with this product after my first trial.

Ruthy21
Brooklyn, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gentle, Natural
1/18/2016

Customer review by alirhae

5.0 stars 1/18/2016 by alirhae
by alirhae

I received a free product for the purpose of my review. Opinions are 100% my own. I was very pleased by the quality of this detergent. Sometimes natural products don't hold up in the spotlight as far as how well they compare to their chemical-filled alternatives. Seventh Generation, however, did not disappoint me! My fiance works in a factory and often comes home with his clothes nearly ruined from chemicals and residues. There have been times in the past where I've had to wash his clothes more than once just to get them fully clean. I only had to run these through once though! I was also pleased with how gentle it was. I have somewhat sensitive skin, so I have to be a bit more cautious with detergents, but I have been wearing clothes from that load for a few days now, and I still haven't broken out at all!

alirhae
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 665 total reviews
1-20 of 665 reviews