Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
9
1-20 of 33 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Steam floor cleaner
5/21/2011

Customer review by tonisma

4.0 stars 5/21/2011 by tonisma
by tonisma

This is my second steam cleaner. The first didn't have washable pads so they were always dirty. The swivel head on this cleaner is wonderful for getting under furniture or in tight spaces. The steam begins in a matter of seconds. I recommend this because it is such a time saver.

Was this review helpful? (156) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tonisma
Modesto, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Well this may be an unfair review...
6/27/2011

Customer review by Jengroomer

3.0 stars 6/27/2011 by Jengroomer
by Jengroomer

Going to return the product tomorrow. The tank is leaking. I used it once, and it just leaked. It DID clean better than my current steam mop. And the fact it stands alone is wonderful. Everything would be great if it didn't leak. So I'm undecided if I will exchange or just return. Interested if anyone else has had the same problem.

Was this review helpful? (51) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jengroomer
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Great mop for tile
6/27/2011

Customer review by arnolds8

5.0 stars 6/27/2011 by arnolds8
by arnolds8

I love this steam mop. I finally feel like my ceramic tile is clean and I don't have to use cleaner.

Was this review helpful? (45) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arnolds8
New Palestine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not what I expected
7/3/2011

Customer review by 122Grand

3.0 stars 7/3/2011 by 122Grand
by 122Grand

Is small and light which I like. Holds about as much water as my Shark. Not as much steam as I anticipated and since the pads simply stick to bottom of head they move around because the floor does not get very wet. Does not trap as much dirt as I had hoped.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
122Grand
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OK, but returning
8/1/2011

Customer review by OpinionatedS

2.0 stars 8/1/2011 by OpinionatedS
by OpinionatedS

Purchased this Black & Decker Steam Mop based upon customer reviews and the video available on the Black and Decker website. PROS: The unit looks nice, has a swivel head, is lightweight, easy to use, and I like the red to blue light feature showing that the unit is ready to use. CON: The results are disappointing, however. The steam only comes from 1 hole in the bottom of the unit. (Other favorably reviewed competitor's products have multiple steam outlets.) I have used the mop 3 times on my tile floors and each result is the same. The dirt from the floor gathers mainly on the top and bottom edges of the pad. It appears that the pad is simply saturated to where no more dirt can be picked up at these points. I tested this by walking on the freshly mopped floors with clean white socks. They showed signs of dirt on the socks right after I had steam mopped the floors. I bought this unit to clean and sanitize my floors. Unfortunately, after seeing my socks, I am not convinced the unit cleans my floors.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OpinionatedS
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Value! Very Convenient!
7/13/2011

Customer review by AmeBoats

5.0 stars 7/13/2011 by AmeBoats
by AmeBoats

After comparing this item with a similarly-priced Shark, I decided to purchase the Black & Decker at a Walmart store in Destin, FL. Each time I use this steam mop, I pat myself on the back for a great decision! The dial feature allows me to manually change the steam setting, depending on the type of surface I am trying to clean. I also love the fact that the unit is ready to go in only about 15 seconds after turning it on. The self-standup feature is also great because I don't have to lean it up against nice cabinets when not in use. All-in-all, a great item. I would highly recommend steam cleaning and the Black & Decker Steam Mop.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmeBoats
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Returned it! 2 thumbs down! :(
7/6/2011

Customer review by MelissaVD

1.0 stars 7/6/2011 by MelissaVD
by MelissaVD

Here's the deal I have owned 3 steam mops and this one didn't clean at all!! The pad was totally white expect for the edge.... Tryed a different steam pad that fit and did the same thing! No good! The design was the only good thing and it is very sturdy but what good is a mop that doesnt clean? None.... I returned it....

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MelissaVD
DAVIE, FLORIDA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for
8/19/2011

Customer review by MrsLewis804

2.0 stars 8/19/2011 by MrsLewis804
by MrsLewis804

The is one product that you get what you pay for. The price was very reasonable compared to other steam mops. It is very light weight and easy to manuver with. Unfortunately, the reservoir that the water is held in is horrible. When I tilt the mop and push it back and fourth water wastes on the floor so I am mopping as I would be with a bucket and mop. When I received the mop from Walmart it was packed as if it were new but the reservoir had water in it as if it had been used.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsLewis804
Richmond
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good product but has some short comings.
9/2/2011

Customer review by Suunnyy

4.0 stars 9/2/2011 by Suunnyy
by Suunnyy

For the most part I like this product. I feel it's safe to use in my home that has dogs and cats in it. I only experience two set backs. One is that you can't put pressure on the handle for it snaps where the plastic part fits into the metal area and you have to order a replacement. Second is when you get to about a little more than 1/4 of water left in the reserve, it doesn't do a good job on the floor. I have to master to look at the water level and fill it. Besides these two issues, I like how it works and how easy it is to use...

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Suunnyy
Marina, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
Epic Fail
8/5/2011

Customer review by dcJONES

1.0 stars 8/5/2011 by dcJONES
by dcJONES

I was so excited to get this steam mop. I looked at all the choices that are out there. And, I picked this one. Like others have said the pads only clean from the edges. This does not get my floor clean. It sure looks nice and has shooting steam and readiness lights, very fancy. But it is of no use if it does not actually clean. After being so disappointed with all other mops out there, I am left with one choice. I will throw this away. (I wouldn't sell it) And buy a quality professional mop and bucket from a restaurant supply store.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dcJONES
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VERY CONVENIENT
8/12/2011

Customer review by FLEALINES2

5.0 stars 8/12/2011 by FLEALINES2
by FLEALINES2

I have been using my Black & Decker steam mop now for nearly 2 weeks. It's so convenient - heats up very quickly, no larger than a Swiffer wet mop, light weight, easy to store. I keep it handy to steam the high traffic areas of my home daily. I love the options for hard surfaces since we have hardwood and ceramic tile flooring. My floors always feel and look cleaner now, compared to damp mopping with floor cleaner. Since we have pets, I was always worried about keeping them off the floors after I'd mopped with chemicals. It's simple to assemble and use, great having the convenient storage pad to park it on and having 2 micro fiber pads. I just washed the first one in my washer and let it air dry. So far, I highly recommend this product. Since it's brand new I can't comment on the durability, but I hope with the proper care it will last a long time. In fact, I love this mop so much, I also ordered one for my daughter. My only problem would be the LONG wait for Walmart's ship-to-store time at nearly 2 weeks. I had originally seen this mop on display at our local store - I had actually gone to look at a different mop. When I went back the next day, this mop was sold out. We also checked another WalMart near us and it wasn't in stock.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLEALINES2
Gaithersburg, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good buy!
8/15/2011

Customer review by lonerngr88

4.0 stars 8/15/2011 by lonerngr88
by lonerngr88

Clean floors in a flash. Takes very little water to do a good job. Handle comes off for compact storage. Comes with extra washable mop pad. Yes it's the typical basic plasitic construction but for my needs it's an excellent steam mop.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lonerngr88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great features but needs other serious improvement
9/5/2011

Customer review by Mamanettez

3.0 stars 9/5/2011 by Mamanettez
by Mamanettez

This is a mixed review because although it has great features, it is in serious need of improvements. Love that it is ready in 15 seconds and has a color change light that indicates when ready, the floor type selector knob is also awesome, it puts out a good amount of steam and gets the floor super clean without chemicals and dries in seconds, but the head is too floppy and gets stuck in the upright position when pulling it out from under furniture such as the kitchen table. A better cord would be 50 feet instead of 23 and the handle is too flimsy, we want lightweight but sturdy also, once all these improvements are made the price for value will be a great deal!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mamanettez
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good, steam cleaner
7/15/2011

Customer review by eawormond

5.0 stars 7/15/2011 by eawormond
by eawormond

Have used a shark, Better cleaning and has on off switch, only negative is the fill cap needs too be carefully put on. Will not produce steam if not locked in position. Very happy with cleaning of tile floor.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eawormond
Daytona Beach Shores, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Steam Mop!
2/27/2012

Customer review by ckc53

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by ckc53
by ckc53

I chose the Black & Decker model because it's lightweight, easy to assemble, has automatic steam (instead of pushbutton), an adjustable knob for each type floor you have and two reusable mop pads. It also has a freestanding head and a mat to place it on to permit cooling after use. It also gets in tight areas well due to it's pivoting head. I tried a neighbor's steam mop out and immediately knew I had to have one. The one she owns, however, has the vaccuum feature on it but it was so heavy, my back hurt so bad the next day. due to arthritis. After reviewing all the ones available, I found the Black & Decker model to be the best suited for my needs. I use a Swivel Sweeper over the linoleum floors before steam mopping and my back isn't killing me the next day. It didn't leak or leave the floor wet. I'm a clean fanatic and I can assure you this is an excellent product. It's a simple steam mop, but it does an awesome job, and is mid-price range and outranked some more popular but cheaper models available.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ckc53
So. Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Cleans well...no disappointments.
12/30/2011

Customer review by 123annmaree

4.0 stars 12/30/2011 by 123annmaree
by 123annmaree

I wanted an economical steam cleaner for my small kitchen and equally small bathroom. I have been using a disposable pad cleaning system for the past few years, and had begun to feel that it really wasn't doing a great job. The Black and Decker model assembled quickly and performed beautifully...was shocked at the amount of dirt that had built up on my floor over time...it looked reasonably clean, but definitely wasn't!! Others have complained about the unit cleaning only around the perimeter of the pad...this was not my experience. Dirt was evenly distributed across the entire surface. When the pad became dirty, I removed it, rinsed it and squeezed it dry, and kept on cleaning. A good value for the money...be patient with tough, stuck-on substances. I found that if I held the steamer over these tough areas, they were picked up within a couple of passes of the mop. If you are looking for an efficient, chemical-free means of cleaning your floors, this product may be the one for you. I will say that I purchased this product at WalMart primarily due to the great price and their generous return policy; I don't think that it will be going back though!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123annmaree
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Good for light cleaning
5/16/2012

Customer review by ramba

2.0 stars 5/16/2012 by ramba
by ramba

Pro: assuming that the steam is hot enough to kill the germs, that is all the mop is good for. Probable: might be good for linoleum and wood floor Cons: 1) not good for cleaning tile. The bottom of the pad it flat, therefore it can't clean the grout. 2) I see steam, but when I touch the tile, it's cold. Not sure how it can kill the germs. 3) The pad is velcro to the bottom. The velcro holding part goes around the bottom. Thus only the section of the pad that touch the holder touches the ground. The middle of the pad stayed clean. This is 75% of the pad. So only 25% of the pad actually touches the floor.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ramba
Orlando FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Does not last!
10/16/2011

Customer review by AnotherDud

1.0 stars 10/16/2011 by AnotherDud
by AnotherDud

I have only used this product a few times and the handle has snapped off and it no longer generates steam. It just makes the floor wet and streaky.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnotherDud
Johnson City, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Do not buy this product
5/19/2012

Customer review by Alivia40

1.0 stars 5/19/2012 by Alivia40
by Alivia40

I bought this product 3 months ago and used it only 2-3 a month for my hardwood floors. So you would think that the handle would not snap like a toothpick after under 10 uses. The other thing that I noticed that it leaves streaks of where the mop was passed through...so you do not get a clean finish as you would expect. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alivia40
Longview WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product - wish I bought sooner!!
11/16/2011

Customer review by steamnickname

5.0 stars 11/16/2011 by steamnickname
by steamnickname

We just moved into a new house. We have 2 girls under 4 and a yellow lab, so I am always cleaning up after someone! We are not germaphobes by any means, but with the kids, I want to keep the house not just clean but also to kill germs/bacertia - daycare sniffles, etc. I have always used Swiffers, vacuums , etc but have seen steam cleaning a lot lately. I saw the assortment at Walmart. The Black and Decker version seemed to be a good value @ $80 and I liked the dial for floor types because we have tile in the bathrooms. I also know the Black and Decker brand. The item is easy to use and even has a light to tell you when it is hot. Floors look clean and kids are healthy! Very happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
steamnickname
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews