Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

49 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

49 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-20 of 48 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
Moisture bars ineffective on very sensitive skin

Customer review by AllieNJX24

2.0 stars 9/16/2012 by AllieNJX24
by AllieNJX24

I have very sensitive skin with very coarse, dark hair so I'm very careful when I shave (e.g. I clean and disinfect blades between shaves, use a hydrocortisone cream right afterward, take care to exfoliate, etc.). I couldn't use this razor without having to resort to shaving cream. The blade was just average the first time I used it (some cuts, not a smooth shave) and the moisture bars degraded quickly. I used it for the second time today and the blades felt very rough on my skin. I have very soft skin but the blade just kept nicking! I was left with many cuts and bits of skin would be taken off. Very hard to maneuver on my legs and did not provide anything close to a smooth shave. Worked better on my forearms and underarms. One good thing is that the first time I used this, I did not have problems with ingrown hairs. Will have to see what happens this time, since my skin is significantly more irritated.

Princeton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not Venus's Best Razor

Customer review by sweetsurrender

2.0 stars 4/15/2011 by sweetsurrender
by sweetsurrender

I love most of Gillette's Venus razors, so I figured I would try the latest addition. Unfortunately, it wasn't nearly as good as the other razors. I think the razor's head is too small, and the shave gel bars that come with it make it an awkward shave. I realized that because of the shape that it wasn't good for the bikini area, so I decided to see if this was good for my legs. Although it worked better for my legs, I noticed that it missed certain spots of hair (which I barely have any hair at all). In the shower, I wound up going back to my old faithful Embrace to finish off what this razor couldn't handle. Because I have so little hair, I'm surprised that this razor missed the mark for me. I also do not think that the bars are very moisturizing-as they are promised. While I am disappointed with the Pro-Skin, I will go back to my Embrace without hesitation!

Effort, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
An unfortunate waste of money.

Customer review by Abby

1.0 stars 6/13/2011 by Abby
by Abby

I've used razors in the past that have had moisture "stuff" (for lack of a better word) without much success and was skeptically at trying this one and now I wish I would have followed my initial instincts. I'll admit, the first use was wonderful, my skin wasn't dry and it gave a very close shave BUT, every use there after was a hassle... The "stuff" stayed gooey and did what it was supposed to but the razor wouldn't shave the hair! I tried multiple times and even attempted applying more pressure at one point to no effect! I hated wasting all the money so I ended up using it as an applicator of sorts for the gooey "stuff" and shaved with another razor. After talking to a friend I discovered she was having the same issue! The Venus Embrace is far better and the Venus Pro Skin is worthless. 2 thumbs DOWN!

Danville, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Misleading Packaging

Customer review by susiez

3.0 stars 1/9/2013 by susiez
by susiez

I like this product ... I've used it before and and I have no real complaints with the product. However, I find the packaging very misleading. I'm on a tight budget and watch what I spend closely. I do compare when I shop. The outside of the package states there are three blades...not the case. Below to the right it restates (in lighter print) specifically what is included .... one razor (without a blade) and two cartridges - in my mind this equals two blades. I based my purchase decision on the "three blades" as I compared it to other brands. I was a little annoyed when I opened the package. I'm sure most people wouldn't take the time to right this up....but it just really irritated me.

Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for travel

Customer review by terricat2

3.0 stars 9/16/2011 by terricat2
by terricat2

This razor is great for travel, no need to bring along shave gel. Make sure the area you are shaving is wet and that the razor is good and wet or not enough of the lotion gets onto your skin. Dont let too much water spray onto the area you are shaving or not enough lotion will stay on your skin. This razor cuts and nicks you very easily, so take your time and don't go fast! Some areas are hard to get a close shave with this razor, its seems to do best on legs. I usually always ended up with a nick or cut somewhere after each use though, not very comfortable. Its messy too, don't leave it in the shower, place it somewhere that it can dry out.

Would recommend to a friend? No

Customer review by Miranda

2.0 stars 2/19/2012 by Miranda
by Miranda

I seen the commercial on this product and was actually excited to give it a try. The first time I used the ProSkin razor it worked excellent. I loved how smooth & close the shave was. The second time I used the razor, both of the moisture bars fell off. I overlooked it & just replaced it with a refill. The same thing happened after the first shave. I most likely will not recommend this razor. Only because of the fact that I had to constantly replace the refill after each use. If somehow that problem could be fixed, I would definitely give it another try. But judging on how much the refills cost, it wasn't worth the hassle or money.

Would recommend to a friend? No
doesnt really last

Customer review by aGonz

1.0 stars 9/3/2011 by aGonz
by aGonz

I usually use the venus Breeze, but i decided to try something new and buy this one, I didnt like it one bit. After one use the bar dried out or the bars would fall off, actually irritated my skin.. They didnt even last long! When i buy the breeze 6pack, that lasts me almost 5 months! these (4pack) didnt even last me 2 months because they would rust so fast or both bars fell off leeaving me with an awkward feel of shaving OR the bars dried so badly they botherd/felt weird against my skin while shaving! Plus the shave didnt last long, i was always having to shave my legs almost everyday, never buying these again. Waste of money. :/

Would recommend to a friend? No
Worst razor EVER!

Customer review by kkane

1.0 stars 10/3/2011 by kkane
by kkane

I have been shaving my legs for over 20 years and I have never used a worse razor. I bought it thinking I'd try something new in the Venus razor family because I love everyone I've tried so far. I have used it twice now and I have never had so many cuts on my legs. Like I said, I've been doing this over 20 yrs, so I know what I'm doing, and this thing was taking slices off my legs. I look like I've been though a barbed wire fence. My legs look awful now. I don't know what is making me cut myself so much, the position of the razors??, or what but I won't even give it another try. AWFUL!

Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful Razor!

Customer review by Sewanee2012

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by Sewanee2012
by Sewanee2012

I am in college and my dorm bathroom has a stand-up shower (as opposed to a tub/shower combo). It's hard to use shaving cream because the shower is tiny with nothing for me to prop my leg up on, so the water immediately washes it all off. Without shaving cream, I was left with patches of hair all over my legs. I bought this razor in the hopes that it would solve my problem, and it did! I get a much closer shave that takes half the time. I will continue to buy these. Thank you Venus!

Sewanee, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Bikini Shave

Customer review by jcokerLVT

4.0 stars 4/27/2011 by jcokerLVT
by jcokerLVT

I bought this razor to try out for my bikini area due to having issues with gels or any skin moisturizers remaining during the shave and of course resulting bumps and ingrown hairs. After one shave I was amazed at the difference. I never felt hair snagging due to lack of moisture and no ingrown hairs due to improper cutting of hairs. I also highly recommend this razor for under arms! As far as shaving my legs, it wasn't much different from my Embrace razor.

Buford, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can you say irritation

Customer review by Bogogo

1.0 stars 10/4/2011 by Bogogo
by Bogogo

Ok so I'm used to a little irritation after I shave. Mostly when I visit the beach and expose myself to the ocean after shaving but not usually after every time I shave. I usually buy the Venus Embrace but I was in a pinch and they didn't have it at the store so I saved some $ and went with the proskin. I have only used 1 in the 4 pack and don't have the box otherwise I would be returning. Stick with the Embrace or you will be burning...

Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Razor Ever

Customer review by Lily

5.0 stars 6/8/2011 by Lily
by Lily

I bought this because it said it was MoistureRich. The shave was so easy and smooth, I couldn't believe it. The gel bars were nice, but it is true you have to make sure they aren't wet when you aren't using it. The handle is easy to grip. I would recommend this to anyone with sensitive or dry skin or if you just want a carefree shave were you don't have to waste extra time with shave gel. Thank you Venus for this wonderful razor!(:

Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Finally - - a close shave!

Customer review by LadyDi

5.0 stars 4/5/2011 by LadyDi
by LadyDi

I have tried for years to find a razor I could use that would give me a close shave without making me bleed in a dozen spots! This one does it! The Venus ProSkin is by far the best I've ever used. A few years ago I bought new razors for my 2 daughters and 1 daughter-in-law to put in their stockings at Christmas. They're all getting new Venus ProSkins for Easter, and they can throw those other razors away! Thanks!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not What I Thought

Customer review by kicken86

2.0 stars 6/12/2011 by kicken86
by kicken86

I purchased the ProSkin Razor because I hate to use shaving cream and this one has built in shave gel bars... but they fall off after like 3 uses. Then it just becomes an akward shave. And this is not a cheap disposable razor either. Both cartridges I used that came with the razor did the same thing where the bars fell off. I would not use this particular Venus razor again because of that.

Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
A True goddess for Women

Customer review by Patriot

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by Patriot
by Patriot

Venus is just like its name implies the Roman goddess of love and beauty. I have tried Venus, Embrace, and Breeze. I love them all. Try them, I promise you won’t be disappointed. My husband and I are very happy with the way these razors truly get close without any irritation. Ladies you will love the closeness also. So go surprise your man ladies, he will notice the difference, as well.

Osceola, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Refill cartridges do not fit other Venus razors

Customer review by good2bejess

1.0 stars 5/9/2013 by good2bejess
by good2bejess

I've used Venus refillable razors for years, and when I saw this brand at my local grocery store, I decided to try it, only to find out that they do not fit the Venus razor I have. An ad on Facebook touts that all of the Venus refills fit all razors. That is not true. I hate returning items, so now I'll have to go buy a new razor that the refill blades will fit on. So disappointed.

Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Would recommend

Customer review by Brittany89

4.0 stars 3/31/2013 by Brittany89
by Brittany89

Just bought this razor and have used it only once so far, but I loved it. It gave me a closer shave than my old Venus razor, and though the soap was slimy when I started using it, that didn't bother me. My legs felt smooth and soft afterwards. I did nick myself once at my knee, but I was in a hurry so that's my fault. It didn't work so well on my underarms, though.

Indianapolis, IN, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Many Cuts/Nicks

Customer review by KimWofAV

1.0 stars 2/13/2013 by KimWofAV
by KimWofAV

First time using this product. I have had many nicks and cuts. I loved the Venus Olay so I thought I would give the Pro Skin a shot. Not happy. Never a close shave, still have stubble and I nick myself every time I have used it (everyday). Especially not good around the bikini area. I am going back to Olay (I just wish it were more affordable). Do not recommend.

Aliso Viejo, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
wont purchase again

Customer review by Jules

1.0 stars 5/27/2011 by Jules
by Jules

This razor was dull and the gel bars were almost gone completely after using it two times. I was very dissapointed in this product as Ive used other Gillette products for years. If I could have returned this item, I would have as it was a waste of money. It did not give a close shave and I will need to buy another box of cartridges way before I planned to.

Would recommend to a friend? No
New Travel Pal

Customer review by sssupnorth

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by sssupnorth
by sssupnorth

Bought this product in preparation for a trip to Florida. Spent plenty of beach time in the heat and found this to be the most convenient travel pal ever! Made shaving legs fast and easy. Zip-zip-zip and done, freshly shaved legs every day with almost no effort. I'm a convert, no more bottles of shave gel littering up the shower for me! I love it!

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews