Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.4out of 5 stars
3.4 out of 5 | 48 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
12
Sort by: 
1-20 of 46 reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
2/29/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Although I did not find this product to last 4 days, I was not dissapointed because I did not expect 4 days of use from one application. I use a strong oil eye makeup remover, which may have taken it off as well. I bought this to wear during sports and swimming because I wanted something beyond waterproof. THIS DID THE TRICK!!! The whole time swimming, and no smears, with beautifull lashes! volleyball practice, and I had the same result! Now I can play my sports while looking my best. I was impressed! The one thing, though, was the acual mascara wand, which I thought was a little cheap (and small). But.. considering this is not my everyday mascara, it was more than enough. I cant say weather or not this lasts 4 days, but It lasts through swimming and sports, and for me, thats more than enough! And at a great price.. thanks Hard Candy!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cruelty free, good product w/learning curve
7/11/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
There is a real learning curve when using this mascara. I think the people that don’t like it really expect perfection and are un-realistic. I mean come on, we are talking about a product that claims to last 4 days, and of course it’s not going to be perfect. All in all I really like this mascara, sure it doesn’t pump up my lashes to nearly their full potential, but I went into using this mascara with the attitude that I was looking for something that would last at the beach and give me some sort of definition. This does in fact last around 3 to 4 days so be ready to commit to somewhat skimpy lashes (compared to traditional mascara). Also, know that your lashes will be about half the size they are with regular mascara and that you won’t have success adding fresh mascara to the top of the ink. My biggest tip to anyone using this mascara is something that I thought of on my own: use a different brush! The brush that comes with this mascara is half the problem why it does not work well, the bristles are way to far apart and it’s hard to get any sort of definition from it. I took an old mascara brush that’s nice and fluffy, washed it and stuck it in the ink and it improved the end result dramatically. I was actually able to get some definition and a bit more volume. All and all a great product and of course, LOVE that they are animal friendly !
Was this review helpful?
Yes (71)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice product, really works
5/30/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i learned of this product from a magazine I receive monthly. I rarely wear mascara because no matter how hard I try, or what type of eye make-up remover I use when I wear mascara I wake up the next day like a raccoon. The decription that this lasts four days and no black circles under your eyes, well, I simply could not pass that up. Before I purchased this item I did read the only review that was posted. It was very negative, but Walmart has a great return policy so I figured what the heck, I will give it a go. First, I was very impresssed with my package. It arrived quickly and there was no shipping fees. In my packaging was several beauty supply samples included and even a sample Hard Candy eye liner. It is great! The mascara itself comes in an interesting tube. The brush applicator is small, but more than adequate. The color is a rich black. The mascara went on easily with no clumping. It is thick, so I did not attempt to put on more than one layer. If you like to gob on the mascara then this is not the mascara for you. I think it would clump if you were to try that. That night before bed I washed my face as usual and went to bed. The next morning no racoon eyes. The mascara was still visible and I was good to go. My husband and I had fun seeing how long it would last. It did not make it the full four days, but I think that was more me and my washing my face morning and night. I really like this product and I have already recommend it to my friends.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (111)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic smudge-resistant, darkening mascara
4/23/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Hard Candy Lash Ink is great for darkening and defining your eyelashes. Another reviewer stated that there's a learning curve and I agree. Practice until you find a technique that works for you. Lash Ink is ideal for those who dislike the severe, caked-on look of most mascaras. With one or two coasts, lashes look slightly longer and thicker. I create a more dramatic look by adding multiple coats, allowing each coat to slightly dry in between coats. I also use a metal-toothed lash comb to separate my lashes in between coats. Make sure not to wait until lashes are completely dry to comb them because they'll be very hard to separate. I'm Asian and my lashes are stick straight and long, but sparse. I use a regular eyelash curler before mascara, then a heated eyelash curler to get a strong, lifted curl. Although it takes time to do these steps, I really like the result: long, natural, defined, slightly glossy black lashes that stay curled. The slight shine is a subtle, but important. I dislike the matte look of some mascaras. It looks like mud! Also, there are no tiny clumps or flaking, something I find in most mascaras. The best feature is that is rarely smudges! Mascaras always smudge on me, even waterproof versions. Lash Ink stays put for most of the day. I prefer to take it off at the end of the day. The times I left it on overnight, I'd wake up with my eyelashes all stuck to each other. One last tip, when newly opened, there may be too much mascara on the brush. I use a clean piece of paper (Post-It sized) to blot the brush. You'll have the perfect amount of mascara left on the brush. Don't use a tissue or the tissue fibers will get all over the brush. Overall, this mascara is great for beautiful, natural looking eyelashes that don't smudge!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for blondes!!!!!
1/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For those who have not used a temporary lash tint, PLEASE REMEMBER- THIS IS NOT MASCARA!!!! This is a lash TINT - it helps tint your lashes so that you don't have to do mascara every day to avoid the "Death Warmed Over Look", one that blondes and red heads experience frequently. This is not a product you "swipe and go". Take a good 5-10 minutes to work with it, along with basic "prep work". What "prep work", you ask? 1 - Ensure all eye make up is off- shadow, liner, excess mascara, etc 2 - Wash your face & eyes, be sure to use an oil free moisturizer If you have no other choice than to use oil-based facial care products, be sure that your face and eye areas are dry. Pat lightly with tissue or oil-absorbing sheet if needed. Oils *WILL* affect the end-result of this product. Oil based make up removers can also aid in removing Hard Candy's Lash Tint, so take care of your prep work to have your final result look smooth and as the product intends. Do not think that the Lash Tint is going to boost your lashes and make them longer and give a full on mascara effect. You need mascara to do this - use your favorite mascara of choice, and apply after all make up is done (applying mascara before all other make up is done can lighten the affect from powder sticking to the product itself). While using the Lash Tint, go slow, cover each lash, going from bottom-top, and even coating the top parts of your lashes, creating a "sandwich effect" and covering them 360-degrees. If it starts becoming "clumpy", use the comb side of a lash brush and separate and use the brush side to separate and define. Don't be afraid to do a coat or two, as long as you work moderately and patiently. If you do, you will find that clumps do not easily occur, and the product lives up to it's promises. Remember, if a product isn't living up to claim-to-fame expectations, you may be using it wrong. And when it comes to make up, "wrong" can be simply a matter of the order you used the product in, or how quickly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/22/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This stuff is bananas!!! They really aren’t joking when they say its waterproof, sweat proof, smudge proof, etc. I applied the mascara yesterday morning at 7 am, went to work, went to the gym, washed my face, went to sleep and got up to do it all over again and this stuff STILL hasn’t budged!!! I am super impressed. The color is good, it’s a true black. There aren’t a lot of volumizing properties but it applied evenly and grabbed every lash. Couldn’t be happier with the product!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
lash tint
5/22/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
They discontinued a lash tint that I used before so I decided to give this one a try. Went on easily and a little clumpy. I was more curious if it was truly going to stay on for at least 3 days. By day 2 I noticed that I did not have much lash tint on and could of used mascara. By day 3 I had raccoon eyes from the black wearing off. I wasn't that impressed with this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Messy Glop that flakes off
4/29/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The mascara goes on lashes in big globs and flakes. It made my lashes so straight, I had to use an eyelash curler for the first time in years. After combing out the globs and curling the lashes - it looked pretty good. I thought I could live with this if I only had to do it every 3 - 4 days. WRONG!! The next two mornings, I woke up with raccoon eyes! Threw the whole tube away!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (44)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Needs improvement.
6/27/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was really excited to try a lash stain as I have fairly blonde eyelashes. This mascara worked great the first couple of times and did not clump and looks awesome. After a few uses however, for some reason it began to clump and just did not look as nice. I am unsure if it is user error or a flaw in the brush design. Regarding length of time it lasts, I would say 2-3 days. I would say this is extreme waterproof mascara rather than a lash stain though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
hard candy lash 4 day stain
7/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 100 contributer
I really like this product. My skimpy lashes were visible once I put this stain on them, and I did not end up with raccoon eyes afterwards. In fact, there was absolutely no stain or smudges under my eyes over the next few days.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect Summer Makeup!
6/23/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is part of my perfect summer makeup regimen. This dyes y our lashes black and it lasts about three days. It doesn't melt off in the heat and doesn't run down your face in the pool or at the beach! Lashes can be dyed at a salon for around $25. But why, when you can't do it your self all summer long for $7 total????!!!!!!! Love it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Breathtaking
5/23/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This mascara is one of the best I have ever used. It goes on gorgeously and does not flake or smudge. This has lasted 2 full days for me before I decided to take it off just for hygiene reasons. If you know how to apply it correctly it will look amazing and last. I combine this with Lancome's Hypnose Drama and my lashes look amazing. I have recommended this to alot of people who have said they loved it. Great mascara.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/2/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The stain is just that. It should not be used with expectations of a regular mascara. I have very dark hair being of Mexican decent and I can see the stain make a difference. I wore it to the beach to have definition with out the feel of make up. The stain was perfect for that. I imagine if one with lighter hair were to use this as a stain they would love it!!! I am impressed with the product will purchase again and would recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1st Lash Stain I've used-better than mascara!!!
7/15/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Having oily skin & also SENSITIVE, it's hard 2 find mascara I can use. I'm a licensed Cosmetologist & enjoy making & experimenting with cosmetics:) Mascara is a challenge though! 1 day is all I can get from ANY mascara, & my baby fine lashes NEED help... It doesn't help that I'm Amer-Asian & my lashes always rub when I blink. Although I can't say if it is a true ink/stain as some reviewers disagree about because my dark lashes are dark, it does seem 2 stain the skin around my eyes?... Whatever class it falls in, I LUV it:D FINALLY lashes that don't smudge if I go 2 sleep w/out removing my make-up!!! 4 girls like me, I recommend using a good waterproof mascara as a base... THEN apply the lash ink... The mascara gives my fine lashes the fullness & length, while the ink has staying power! Also, I rub the brush @ the base of my lashes (gently) & can skip eyeliner... It doesn't last as long on my skin, but it works better than a pencil... Hope this review helps others... I agree with another reviewer that often the way something is applied, is the cause of a bad result. Don't be afraid 2 experiment, as long as u are using clean applicators & common sense. (^.^)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hints for better application!
8/15/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I found the best way to apply this product is to wipe some product from the wand onto a eyebrow comb then slowly wiggle the comb thru your lashes starting at the root to the tips. Always wipe the product off the tool when finished.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love, love, love it!
1/31/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Although I like to wear makeup I hate taking the time to put it on so I really like that this lasts up to 4 days. Usually by the third day I can see it starting to diminish, but it stays on and looks great. I bought one for myself and one for my 20-year-old daughter and we both really like it. I think it's a very innovative product and I would definitely buy it again. The only downside: Remember that it's liquid! I accidentally turned it over and some spilled out.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
EYELASH DYE
7/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Goes on easily. It covers the lashes and makes them look darker and a little longer. After waking up in the morning, it was still on the eye lashes. No panda eyes!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/26/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Overall, good product. Stayed on as promised. A bit clumpy at application, but did a good job. Would buy again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I love it for my fair lashes
7/24/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A lifesaver for blondes who always need to use mascara so we are not so pale faced. You need to take time to apply, not for on the go, apply when you have some time that's why I rated it a 4 on ease of use, any mistakes which is most likely being its more of a thin liquid, remove with eye makeup remover, this is a lash ink dye, I still use some mascara over it when I'm stepping out!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not what I expected, but OK anyhow.
7/26/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was surprised that this is essentially mascara instead of a liquid tint like I have used in the past. But I really wanted to try it, as I hate putting on makeup, and finally was able to find it in my local store. The first review for this product made it sound awful, so when I first applied it I made an effort to put on a very light single coat (to avoid the clumping described by that reviewer). I have had a little smudging under my eyes (I forgot I had it on last night and rubbed my eye!), but nothing major, and this wipes off easily with a Q-tip or tissue. I'm on my second day and my lashes still look darker and longer. So far, so good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640685, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-