Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

26 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

26 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 26 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Best investment ever!
10/22/2011

Customer review by lilmominmoof4

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by lilmominmoof4
by lilmominmoof4

I have horrible skin, it's oily and have huge pores and break out often, so I bought this product hoping it would do what it says and it does!!! I will never put on my makeup with out it again! It's oily so at first I worried it would just break me out more but it didn't, since it is oily a very little goes a long way but it filled in my pores and made my foundation go on better, more even, and look more natural instead of caked on like it used to when trying to cover up blemishes. My foundation even caused more break outs too but since using this product I've noticed my skin clearing up! I think it's because it keeps my foundation from getting in my pores. It looks cute, it goes along way, it's not expensive at all, and I think for 8 dollars it works extremely good!

Was this review helpful? (69) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilmominmoof4
Wichita, Ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
hard candy primer
5/22/2011

Customer review by beautiholic56

3.0 stars 5/22/2011 by beautiholic56
by beautiholic56

This product was so soft feeling and you only needed a little to cover your face. The only problem is i have sensitive skin and it made me breakout. But I have this problem with all drugstore face makeup. If you don't have sensitive skin it's a great product.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beautiholic56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Won't go another day without wearing it!
12/27/2011

Customer review by 21pink21

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by 21pink21
by 21pink21

I bought this product a few months ago. I always wear foundation. The first time I purchased it, I wore it and then applied my liquid foundation on. It goes on very smoothly. Since it is a little oily, you only need a little bit. I bought my mother a bottle and she was never one to wear primer under her liquid foundation until now, she loves it too. Soo worth the $8. One tube lasts over a month & I use it every day in the morning time. Deffinitely reccomend it to anyone who wears liquid foundation.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
21pink21
Milford, Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love HC's Sheer Envy Perfecting Primer.
3/25/2013

Customer review by LadyHawke1973

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by LadyHawke1973
by LadyHawke1973

I'm a minimalist and not a fan of being overly done in my make-up, nor do I have the patience for it. But I like my skin to look great, as long as there's not too much fuss going into it. My complexion is mixed enough that I definitely don't feel comfortable walking out of the house without SOMEthing on my face...yet still won't commit to full-on make-up. ;-) Yeah...a dichotomy, I know!! I tried HC's Sheer Envy Skin Perfecting Primer on a whim one day and have been hooked ever since. It's soft and airy feeling, and leaves my skin soft, touchable, and smooth. I use it by itself with my favorite loose powder, and still look 'done' when I leave the office in the afternoon. The bonus is that I get compliments often on how natural I look, please what make-up do you use, etc....and people are always startled when I usually just answer with HC's primer & my powder.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyHawke1973
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent skin primer
7/27/2012

Customer review by lovesconces3

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by lovesconces3
by lovesconces3

I love Hard Candy skin primer. I use just a small dot in my hand and the coverage is fantastic. It makes applying makeup easier and long lasting. The tube lasts forever. The even nicer thing about it is that it is inexpensive yet feels very expensive, I definately would recommend this to any one of my friends.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovesconces3
Ct.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than Botox and NO Side-Effects!!!
3/15/2014

Customer review by TexasMermaid

5.0 stars 3/15/2014 by TexasMermaid
by TexasMermaid

This product smooth's your face to feel soft and less wrinkled and dry-lined...especially the lines around your mouth and eyes. Makeup glides on and stays put all day. I bought 2 and I'm glad I did...I use it every day.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasMermaid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The worst drugstore primer I have ever used.
2/24/2013

Customer review by BeautySpecialist

1.0 stars 2/24/2013 by BeautySpecialist
by BeautySpecialist

I have very oily skin, so therefore, have to use a primer otherwise my foundation and concealer will not stay on. I bought this product because I had run out of my Rimmel primer in the white tube and I wanted to start using brands that do not test on animals. This primer worked very well for the first three weeks I was using it. It kept my foundation on and really gave my skin a more healthy appearance. But after that initial three weeks, it was like I was going through puberty all over again. I had breakouts galore on my face. And the worst part of that is the acne it caused was the kind that are really deep in the pores and hurt. I stopped using it to see if this primer was the culprit and it was. All in all, this product is garbage.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeautySpecialist
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Good Primer... but what's with the smell?
6/27/2013

Customer review by SophiaBella

3.0 stars 6/27/2013 by SophiaBella
by SophiaBella

I like this product, but I'm not crazy. I've own several Hard Candy products, and love a majority of them, but this is one of the ones that I like the least. But it is a decent drugstore primer for it's price. It's slightly more liquid-y compared to the original formula. There's this slight vinegar-y smell to it. Unlike the original prime formula from Hard Candy, it does indeed have a distinct smell to it. It barely faded away when applied and had that lingering smell of it throughout the day. (even my boyfriend smelled it!) When applied, it's really obnoxious. Unfortunately, due to this smell, I would not recommend this product, instead, I would recommend Hard Candy's Sheer Envy Primer (original one). It doesn't have a smell at all and has almost exact same smooth feel to it but it's thicker and more pasty.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SophiaBella
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/9/2011

Customer review by MissTei

3.0 stars 7/9/2011 by MissTei
by MissTei

I bought this a few weeks ago because it was cheaper than the primer I usually use. I didn't notice much of a difference in my skin after I applied it. It does help my foundation stay on alot longer. It is oily, but once you rub it in, it goes away. It's okay, but, next time I'm going to buy the more expensive brand :)

Was this review helpful? (9) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissTei
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy!!! Rating is 0 stars Read me.
5/29/2015

Customer review by Nikem

1.0 stars 5/29/2015 by Nikem
by Nikem

This is the worst primer I have ever used and I have used many including drugstore brands and high end. Below is a list of what is expected from this primer and the results... 1. illuminating primer-There is nothing illuminating about this primer...it literally has glitter in it...not shimmer GLITTER. This does not illuminate your face as you can imagine. 2.-soft on skin-This primer is a white gel and feels exactly as that! It is greasy and feels horrible on your skin. once I started applying it I washed my face and started over...horrible. 3. Fills in fine lines and pres---NOPE, this primer doesnt do either one..I would venture to say it makes your skin look worse. 4. Price point matches quality-NOOO, this is a $1-$3 primer if that and honestly I would not pay $1 for this. I would rather go without primer. so that sums it up. I would not give this even one star. hope his helps

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nikem
Would recommend to a friend? No
5/29/2013

Customer review by JC86

1.0 stars 5/29/2013 by JC86
by JC86

Personally, I didn't like this at all. I am new to using primer and this was my first try with using one. First and foremost--it's GREASY. IT's bad enough that us ladies have to deal with lots of trial and error finding a good foundation/cover up and putting this underneath it just makes things 10X worse ! I feel as if it makes my cover up feel a hundred pounds heavier on my face. To summarize this, it feels like I am putting petroleum jelly with glitter mixed in it on my face. Would I recommend this? Absolutely not.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JC86
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Will toss this.
3/23/2014

Customer review by zorbry

1.0 stars 3/23/2014 by zorbry
by zorbry

This product dried my skin out so much that I looked 20 years older within an hour of putting it on. I cannot recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zorbry
Exeland, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quite good.
3/18/2012

Customer review by bd7777

2.0 stars 3/18/2012 by bd7777
by bd7777

Smooth and easy to apply. Not as good as a high end primer but well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bd7777
Brentwood, California.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Nothing special
6/6/2012

Customer review by Ernzie01

3.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Ernzie01
by Ernzie01

Makes my skin feel greasy and isn't quite "tinted" enough to be worn alone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ernzie01
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/29/2011

Customer review by loverofallthingsbeauty

2.0 stars 6/29/2011 by loverofallthingsbeauty
by loverofallthingsbeauty

I bought this expecting the product to look something like the urban decay primer potions, but this was clear. I had high hopes for this because of the hype a friend gave me about it, but once it was on my face, it didn't like how it felt.. feels and is very oily. I used oil blotting sheets once it was on and rubbed in, and went through 5 sheets before there was not much oil left... GROSS! so it it is made in an oil free basis, I would think it would be better.

Was this review helpful? (5) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loverofallthingsbeauty
Fargo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Love the feel of it
4/15/2013

Customer review by esteegal

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by esteegal
by esteegal

Glide's on wonderful, smooth as silk, its not a thick cream, I use it everyday

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
esteegal
Northeast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome primer at awesome price!
8/11/2013

Customer review by hsparker13

5.0 stars 8/11/2013 by hsparker13
by hsparker13

I don't usually wear foundation (just SPF for me!) but somehow I managed to purchase this primer, and even sans foundation, it's AWESOME. It's really slick and kind of oily right out of the tube, so I was a little wary my first few applications thinking my face would turn into a slicky mess. But it sinks into your pores and fills, smooths and evens everything out beautifully, offering that softened appearance that's so very flattering. I use it daily and highly recommend it to comparable designer brands like Smashbox and UD.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hsparker13
Rocklin, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sheer and Smooth
3/1/2014

Customer review by trm58

5.0 stars 3/1/2014 by trm58
by trm58

Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer goes on so smoothly. It doesn't have a color to it but it makes your foundation glide on better, and stay on better. I love the way it makes my skin feel even after I take of my makeup. This is a WONDERFUL primer.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trm58
Marion AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this!
6/7/2015

Customer review by TOOMANYMARYS

5.0 stars 6/7/2015 by TOOMANYMARYS
by TOOMANYMARYS

Goes on soooo smoothly! Very happy. Won't use anything else

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TOOMANYMARYS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
In love!
5/28/2013

Customer review by BargainHunterInMN

5.0 stars 5/28/2013 by BargainHunterInMN
by BargainHunterInMN

Ok, I am in love with this product. I have never worn primers until I bought this. I read about the Hard Candy concealer, and then I saw this primer in the store too and thought I'd give it a try. It's so perfect. It goes on so smoothly and also helps my foundation to go on better, too. I've been using it for about a week and it doesn't make me break out or look oily at all, and I work 10 hour days in a restaurant kitchen, so that says a lot! Even my boyfriend notices how soft my face is when he touches my cheek! Highly recommend! And it's a perfect price for the quality!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BargainHunterInMN
Minneapolis, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews