Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.8out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 | 29 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 29 reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Best investment ever!
10/22/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have horrible skin, it's oily and have huge pores and break out often, so I bought this product hoping it would do what it says and it does!!! I will never put on my makeup with out it again! It's oily so at first I worried it would just break me out more but it didn't, since it is oily a very little goes a long way but it filled in my pores and made my foundation go on better, more even, and look more natural instead of caked on like it used to when trying to cover up blemishes. My foundation even caused more break outs too but since using this product I've noticed my skin clearing up! I think it's because it keeps my foundation from getting in my pores. It looks cute, it goes along way, it's not expensive at all, and I think for 8 dollars it works extremely good!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (92)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love HC's Sheer Envy Perfecting Primer.
3/25/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm a minimalist and not a fan of being overly done in my make-up, nor do I have the patience for it. But I like my skin to look great, as long as there's not too much fuss going into it. My complexion is mixed enough that I definitely don't feel comfortable walking out of the house without SOMEthing on my face...yet still won't commit to full-on make-up. ;-) Yeah...a dichotomy, I know!! I tried HC's Sheer Envy Skin Perfecting Primer on a whim one day and have been hooked ever since. It's soft and airy feeling, and leaves my skin soft, touchable, and smooth. I use it by itself with my favorite loose powder, and still look 'done' when I leave the office in the afternoon. The bonus is that I get compliments often on how natural I look, please what make-up do you use, etc....and people are always startled when I usually just answer with HC's primer & my powder.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent skin primer
7/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love Hard Candy skin primer. I use just a small dot in my hand and the coverage is fantastic. It makes applying makeup easier and long lasting. The tube lasts forever. The even nicer thing about it is that it is inexpensive yet feels very expensive, I definately would recommend this to any one of my friends.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Won't go another day without wearing it!
12/27/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this product a few months ago. I always wear foundation. The first time I purchased it, I wore it and then applied my liquid foundation on. It goes on very smoothly. Since it is a little oily, you only need a little bit. I bought my mother a bottle and she was never one to wear primer under her liquid foundation until now, she loves it too. Soo worth the $8. One tube lasts over a month & I use it every day in the morning time. Deffinitely reccomend it to anyone who wears liquid foundation.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than Botox and NO Side-Effects!!!
3/15/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This product smooth's your face to feel soft and less wrinkled and dry-lined...especially the lines around your mouth and eyes. Makeup glides on and stays put all day. I bought 2 and I'm glad I did...I use it every day.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The worst drugstore primer I have ever used.
2/24/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have very oily skin, so therefore, have to use a primer otherwise my foundation and concealer will not stay on. I bought this product because I had run out of my Rimmel primer in the white tube and I wanted to start using brands that do not test on animals. This primer worked very well for the first three weeks I was using it. It kept my foundation on and really gave my skin a more healthy appearance. But after that initial three weeks, it was like I was going through puberty all over again. I had breakouts galore on my face. And the worst part of that is the acne it caused was the kind that are really deep in the pores and hurt. I stopped using it to see if this primer was the culprit and it was. All in all, this product is garbage.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
hard candy primer
5/22/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product was so soft feeling and you only needed a little to cover your face. The only problem is i have sensitive skin and it made me breakout. But I have this problem with all drugstore face makeup. If you don't have sensitive skin it's a great product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than high end primers
6/22/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am always searching for a great face primer and I happen to come across the reviews for this particular primer. I have also always used high end primer's thinking "cheaper" primers cant possibly work as well as "expensive". Boy, was I WRONG. I absolutely love this primer. It is (in my opinion) an exact dupe for Smashbox primer. How can you go wrong with the price as well?! Even if you hate it, you didn't really lose much compared to other $30 primers. The consistency is that of a petroleum jelly but leaves your face so nice and soft, NOT greasy at all. It also allows your concealer to blend well and helps it stay in place for 12+ hours. I will probably never purchase a different primer. Give it a try, You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome primer at awesome price!
8/11/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I don't usually wear foundation (just SPF for me!) but somehow I managed to purchase this primer, and even sans foundation, it's AWESOME. It's really slick and kind of oily right out of the tube, so I was a little wary my first few applications thinking my face would turn into a slicky mess. But it sinks into your pores and fills, smooths and evens everything out beautifully, offering that softened appearance that's so very flattering. I use it daily and highly recommend it to comparable designer brands like Smashbox and UD.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Hard sweet candy
2/5/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This product was great I have purchased other products for double the cost it worked the same as Hard Candy
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sheer and Smooth
3/1/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Hard Candy Sheer Envy Illuminating Primer goes on so smoothly. It doesn't have a color to it but it makes your foundation glide on better, and stay on better. I love the way it makes my skin feel even after I take of my makeup. This is a WONDERFUL primer.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do not buy!!! Rating is 0 stars Read me.
5/29/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the worst primer I have ever used and I have used many including drugstore brands and high end. Below is a list of what is expected from this primer and the results... 1. illuminating primer-There is nothing illuminating about this primer...it literally has glitter in it...not shimmer GLITTER. This does not illuminate your face as you can imagine. 2.-soft on skin-This primer is a white gel and feels exactly as that! It is greasy and feels horrible on your skin. once I started applying it I washed my face and started over...horrible. 3. Fills in fine lines and pres---NOPE, this primer doesnt do either one..I would venture to say it makes your skin look worse. 4. Price point matches quality-NOOO, this is a $1-$3 primer if that and honestly I would not pay $1 for this. I would rather go without primer. so that sums it up. I would not give this even one star. hope his helps
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Primer... but what's with the smell?
6/27/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like this product, but I'm not crazy. I've own several Hard Candy products, and love a majority of them, but this is one of the ones that I like the least. But it is a decent drugstore primer for it's price. It's slightly more liquid-y compared to the original formula. There's this slight vinegar-y smell to it. Unlike the original prime formula from Hard Candy, it does indeed have a distinct smell to it. It barely faded away when applied and had that lingering smell of it throughout the day. (even my boyfriend smelled it!) When applied, it's really obnoxious. Unfortunately, due to this smell, I would not recommend this product, instead, I would recommend Hard Candy's Sheer Envy Primer (original one). It doesn't have a smell at all and has almost exact same smooth feel to it but it's thicker and more pasty.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/29/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Personally, I didn't like this at all. I am new to using primer and this was my first try with using one. First and foremost--it's GREASY. IT's bad enough that us ladies have to deal with lots of trial and error finding a good foundation/cover up and putting this underneath it just makes things 10X worse ! I feel as if it makes my cover up feel a hundred pounds heavier on my face. To summarize this, it feels like I am putting petroleum jelly with glitter mixed in it on my face. Would I recommend this? Absolutely not.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
9/23/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Use it every day. Make up just glides on! Fine lines disappear.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
In love!
5/28/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ok, I am in love with this product. I have never worn primers until I bought this. I read about the Hard Candy concealer, and then I saw this primer in the store too and thought I'd give it a try. It's so perfect. It goes on so smoothly and also helps my foundation to go on better, too. I've been using it for about a week and it doesn't make me break out or look oily at all, and I work 10 hour days in a restaurant kitchen, so that says a lot! Even my boyfriend notices how soft my face is when he touches my cheek! Highly recommend! And it's a perfect price for the quality!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/9/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this a few weeks ago because it was cheaper than the primer I usually use. I didn't notice much of a difference in my skin after I applied it. It does help my foundation stay on alot longer. It is oily, but once you rub it in, it goes away. It's okay, but, next time I'm going to buy the more expensive brand :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/29/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this expecting the product to look something like the urban decay primer potions, but this was clear. I had high hopes for this because of the hype a friend gave me about it, but once it was on my face, it didn't like how it felt.. feels and is very oily. I used oil blotting sheets once it was on and rubbed in, and went through 5 sheets before there was not much oil left... GROSS! so it it is made in an oil free basis, I would think it would be better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice
9/25/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Feels nice on the skin
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nothing special
6/6/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Makes my skin feel greasy and isn't quite "tinted" enough to be worn alone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640679, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-