Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

69 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 stars
8
1-20 of 59 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews
foils fall out, expensive, no product support
11/26/2014

Customer review by Shaver1

1.0 stars 11/26/2014 by Shaver1
by Shaver1

same as everyone else, works great if you can keep the foils in, they fall out constantly, no fun to dig out of the toilet, they wear out in few months, you cant find them except online, cannot find in any store, thought I would give them the benefit of doubt and buy a different model groomer, the one that has three complete heads that swap out, but you cannot find a replacement foil for the body groom head anywhere, I think their plan is for you to have to buy a complete new unit every few months or they would have replacement foils readily available, and the price on the older model foils are ridiculous anyway, I guess I will have to try another brand, Phillips really leaves you no choice, frustrating

Shaver1
Birmingham, al
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Great performance, until the foil fails
8/14/2013

Customer review by Maplenut

3.0 stars 8/14/2013 by Maplenut
by Maplenut

I have to agree with the several other reviewers who like this shaver at first, but are disappointed by the apparent design flaw that allows the shaver head foil to pop out. It happened to two of them that I've owned. I thought that maybe I had done some damage to my first one, and so gave it the benefit of the doubt, and purchased another one. I was careful with the second unit, but again, the foil became dislodged, and I can't (with my considerable mechanical aptitude) get it to mount back into the shaver head. Yes, it's really a design flaw, not rough use. Maybe the "PRO" version has this worked out?

Maplenut
Paramus, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good Product
2/8/2011

Customer review by Pete

4.0 stars 2/8/2011 by Pete
by Pete

This shaver is an excellent product for those of us who trim regularly; however, it is difficult to obtain the replacements which wear out rather quickly. All retailers who sell the product do not carry the replacement. This results in having to purchase a brand new shaver from the retailer or order the replacements online and pay shipping. Phillips should provide the replacements to the retailers who sell the shaver resulting in availability to the consumer and ultimately reducing the cost of replacements.

Pete
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Norelco Body Groomer
11/7/2009

Customer review by Russell

5.0 stars 11/7/2009 by Russell
by Russell

I have read other reviews of this product, so I must put down my experience. This is a wonderful and durable product! I am very careful not to dent the foil head, and keep it safely stored....but I use it every day! It is about nine months old, and still trims very well, no dragging, no nicks, no cuts....I use is everywhere with no problems. I will buy the replacement head if and when I need it....I think some care must be involved, but the little thing does really well. Thanks to Norelco.

Russell
Houston, TX
It's not worth the price
5/14/2014

Customer review by pmcevoy82

2.0 stars 5/14/2014 by pmcevoy82
by pmcevoy82

I own a BG2040 I have used it for about a month now. The face shaving foil end is constantly popping out. The foil has worn out extremely fast, much faster than 12 months. I still use it to buzz my head and trim stubble. I just wish the foil end would remain in the unit while using the product. As well as the foils not wearing out so fast. It recharges quickly and is an all around good product. There is a flaw though and it seems like I am not the only customer to experience it.

pmcevoy82
West Islip
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
I don't know what everyone is complaining about.
7/23/2013

Customer review by ThatOneGuyFromFlorida

4.0 stars 7/23/2013 by ThatOneGuyFromFlorida
by ThatOneGuyFromFlorida

I don't know what everyone is complaining about. I have OCD, and I feel the need to bleach my razors in-between uses. This razor head lasted me THREE whole years before the constant soaking in bleach oxidized it. Occasionally, if my pit hair was long enough it might get caught and pop out... but that's not really a big deal. I happened maybe once in a while. I consider myself a harry guy, and if these people say the razor head is popping out all the time then they’re not holding it correctly, or they’re feverishly trying to trim their chest, pits, and back in less than 30 seconds. Quit dogging on a good product.

ThatOneGuyFromFlorida
Florida, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
great product
10/7/2010

Customer review by agile1

4.0 stars 10/7/2010 by agile1
by agile1

The foil heads are easy to clean, handle and replace on the unit. I am very pleased with the results oh the shave and would recomend this product for anyone who needs a close shave. The only problem I see is that the foil tends to seperate from its holder after about 10 shaves, not all of it , but enough that you should get two instead if one when ordering.

agile1
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
work well when it works
6/22/2010

Customer review by bpharv

3.0 stars 6/22/2010 by bpharv
by bpharv

I had a similar experience as the others. The screen broke a few weeks after I purchased it. When not broken, it works really well. The replacement head plus shipping was half the price I paid for it. I've had an electric razor for 10+ years and never had something like that happen. If the new head does not last for awhile, it will be the last relacement.

bpharv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wears out in about three to four months
11/3/2012

Customer review by Lordmaster

2.0 stars 11/3/2012 by Lordmaster
by Lordmaster

The cutters/foils seem to last me only three to four months. I hate to throw out the shaver so I'm stuck ordering replacement heads every few months. I can not find them for sale anywhere locally. I have checked dozens and dozens of stores for the replacement foils. The shavers are on sale everywhere but the replacement foils are no where to be found.

Lordmaster
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
works & lasts along time
6/15/2010

Customer review by Blako

4.0 stars 6/15/2010 by Blako
by Blako

I have used this product for 1.5+ yr. Except for a few nicks (be careful, strech skin) it has functioned better than any other like product. I once popped the foil off by mistake. I reassembled it, no problem. After reading thoose negative reviews. I had to write. I changed head after 13 mo. & noticed improvement. Would recomend change @ 1 yr

Blako
Asheville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The good + Bad
6/10/2014

Customer review by Superman52

4.0 stars 6/10/2014 by Superman52
by Superman52

Everyone is right on the foil part how the blades dull on trimming and shaving. As for popping part they didn't reinstall the foil right. It seems the the designer is making and developing. New blades. I bought mine around half year...can't find blades for mine. I like mine...just waiting on restock online can't find in stores.

Superman52
Georgetown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
BG 2020
10/23/2009

Customer review by Oiram

1.0 stars 10/23/2009 by Oiram
by Oiram

I agree with the other reviews. I used my BG 2020 two times and the screen was damaged. I have tried numerous times going to local stores and cannot find a replacement. Online search was NO help! My trimmer is going into the trash.

Oiram
broke after 2nd use
10/14/2009

Customer review by sierra172

1.0 stars 10/14/2009 by sierra172
by sierra172

I agree with the first reviewer, purchased this trimmer and used it twice. The second time I used it I noticed the screen on top was damaged. I'll replace it once, if it happens again after 2 uses, it's going in the trash.

sierra172
USA
Great Razor
10/7/2010

Customer review by ngk3653

5.0 stars 10/7/2010 by ngk3653
by ngk3653

Love my Philips razor. Just have to replace the shaving foil head every so often because I use it a lot. I order the foil head on line because I can not find it in any stores in my area. Overall it is great!

ngk3653
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Would you buy a new car if . . . .
3/9/2011

Customer review by cometrat

2.0 stars 3/9/2011 by cometrat
by cometrat

Would you buy a new car -- no matter how good it is -- if cannot buy maintenance items? It seems impossible to get a replacement shaving foil, which Phillips recommends replacing periodically.

cometrat
Would recommend to a friend? No
What were they thinking?
7/23/2013

Customer review by Palafox

1.0 stars 7/23/2013 by Palafox
by Palafox

Norelco has a great rep and the shaver works acceptably well out of the box. It's a good entry price for what it does. But I honestly can't recommend it after using it for a couple of months. The heads need replacement frequently for optimum shave pushing the cost up considerably over time. And weirdly, twice now the the heads have popped right off during use and taken a swan dive down the sink hole--dubious design = fatal flaw. Hate to toss the shaver but there are far better designed products on the market.

Palafox
Boston, MA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
nice shaver, poor foils
4/8/2015

Customer review by nickedchin

2.0 stars 4/8/2015 by nickedchin
by nickedchin

BG2038 is all around nice, comfortable to grip, reaches well with its extender... The foils, however are poor. I'm averaging 3 maybe 4 months at most before they wear out. Characteristically you can tell yours is getting ready to start shredding its self by how fast & hot the foil heats up when shaving. The hotter & more quickly it heats up, the sooner it's going to give out. Or you'll notice it feels like your face is getting scratched up even before it develops a rip in the foil.

nickedchin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Grooming Tool For Men
10/7/2010

Customer review by TheRandy

5.0 stars 10/7/2010 by TheRandy
by TheRandy

I love my Body Groom, it is really great way to stay hairless and feel well groomed in the personal areas, I tell all my friends they need to get one. I love it !

TheRandy
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No Spare parts
11/21/2010

Customer review by Emad

1.0 stars 11/21/2010 by Emad
by Emad

The product is great. But the you will never find a replacement head not even on Phlips shops online!!! I wonder how a company like Philps allow such thing!

Emad
Jordan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Close cut and easy to use
6/20/2013

Customer review by Nic33

5.0 stars 6/20/2013 by Nic33
by Nic33

This razor is great for men and women. Close cut in even the most sensitive areas. Easy to use and holds a charge for a long time.

Nic33
Ridgecrest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1-20 of 59 reviews