Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 141 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

141 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

141 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
78
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
14
1-20 of 130 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
Smart Features with 3D
11/27/2016

Customer review by Thomi

5.0 stars 11/27/2016 by Thomi
by Thomi

I bought this DVD player in 2012 to go with my Smart TV only to find out that I did not purchase a Smart TV. I liked it anyway because I was able to play HD dvd's on it and CD's. I have not used the 3D feature because the LG42LV4400 is not a 3D TV. I just recently upgraded to a OLED 55" Smart LG TV with 3D capability so will have to update my review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Thomi
Hayward, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good features... when they work
2/22/2012

Customer review by TakiDCat

2.0 stars 2/22/2012 by TakiDCat
by TakiDCat

Echoing what DougN has already said, the latest firmware update pretty much ruined the ability to stream Netflix more than 10 minutes at a time without having to pause and/or back up the video to refresh the stream. The player also doesn't retain connectivity to a wireless router for more than 2-3 days at a time; not sure if this is related to a DHCP lease timing issue, but it also doesn't offer the ability to set a static IP address so there's no good way to test connectivity issues or maintain a consistent IP address across power cycles. On the plus side, YouTube and Pandora have been great, and Netflix *was* up until the January firmware update (Ver:BD.8.62.382.E/Date:2012.01.02). If LG has a firmware update forthcoming that will fix these issues, it would be greatly appreciated. Otherwise, this will end up in our next garage sale with a "Buyer Beware" sign as we enjoy a player from a different manufacturer.

TakiDCat
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pretty Good, but Some Problems
11/28/2012

Customer review by JoshO

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by JoshO
by JoshO

I wanted this because it was time to upgrade to Blu-ray, and I like the network video playing capability. Initially we had a lot of problems with it wanting to update, but failing in doing the update over the network. The problem is, it didn't want to do anything else until it got the update done. I was able to download the update and put it on a USB drive, and it was able to update. It seems to have been able to do the next couple updates fine after that. It plays videos over the network Pretty well, even on WiFi (very close to wifi router). It works even better from the USB port on a flash drive of course. I've used the Netflix streaming a couple times and that works well too. One incomprehensible oversight though is the image viewing feature. I wanted to show some vacation photos over the network to my Family. Navigated to the computer they were stored on, and mysteriously, most of the images couldn't load, but a handful did. Turns out that it can't view photos that are over 4MB in size. Well, pretty much any camera makes images a little larger than that (My DSLR camera averages 6MB per pic) so this is kind of unacceptable. It can play a 1.5 GB video, but can't load a 4MB jpg? Kinda dumb. I hope they fix it in a subsequent update.

JoshO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My first Blue Ray player
2/6/2012

Customer review by MichaelReally

2.0 stars 2/6/2012 by MichaelReally
by MichaelReally

The reports found on the web about the high-pitched noise from this unit are accurate. Don't know exactly what it is but I'm sure it's a motor of some sort, maybe a fan. Don't know. The "Apps" they crow about are horrible, most of them are repackaged movies of highly questionable value. The other thing is the "Apps" that aren't movies seem to be geared to children or niche markets, and trying to dig through the pile of this to find anything interesting is just too much work to be worth it. Wait until you have to enter a username/password on the screen using the cursor buttons on the remote! That'll drive you bonkers inside the first five minutes. (The "Auto Login" function doesn't seem to work reliably either.)

MichaelReally
Would recommend to a friend? No
Would Stop Working
6/4/2016

Customer review by jbaker544

2.0 stars 6/4/2016 by jbaker544
by jbaker544

I had to keep resetting the DVD Player by unplugging and plugging it back in. Very poor product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

jbaker544
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
BD-670
5/1/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 5/1/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a good Blu-Ray player, but I returned mine due to a design change from previous models. I chose LG based on previous ownership of a BD-590 -- I appreciated that it never distorted a disk's aspect ratio by stretching, but allowed the viewer to zoom in to fill the screen or zoom out to avoid cropping. The new BD-670 faithfully preserves the image's correct aspect ratio (unlike many brands), but the zoom feature has changed from prior years and doesn't allow 4:3 content to fill in the black side masks when zooming in, like my older LG did. Since that feature was the main reason I selected LG, I returned the BD-670 and am still shopping for a replacement.

An anonymous customer
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
WiFi doesn't work
8/25/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 8/25/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Have had this product for approx. 6 months. Have had nothing but problems connecting to wifi. When finally can, many buffering problems and unit will shut itself down, for no reason. Have updated driver many times, but only seems to get worse, each time. 2 nights ago, updated, and now can't connect at all. WiFi is the reason I bought this product. Want to get rid of my cable movie channels and use NetFlix and such for moving watching, so far not happening. DVD and HD playing works well, so can't complain about that. My guess is that the reason this product is discontinued is because of the WiFi issue. Especially after reading some of the other reviews.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
GOOD BUT !!!!!!!!!!!!
6/8/2012

Customer review by kdeserio

4.0 stars 6/8/2012 by kdeserio
by kdeserio

Ok let me start with this , It is a great blue ray player ! The only thing I found wrong is the conect to internet maybe its my home or the player but its hard to conect to internet . My thought is they should able you to use your own adapter to get a better or stronger signal , But over all works great, picture is ..WOW . The easy use makes my wife like it .THAT IS IMPORTANT THANK YOU LG . One more thing would be good not just on this but on all players if you shut down in mid movie when you start up youshould start at that piont , Im not sayin , Im just sayin . OK so I SAY BUY IT YOU WILL BE HAPPY . You make the popcorn I will be there.

kdeserio
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Blu Ray, LOUSY internet connectivity
4/21/2014

Customer review by Justice

2.0 stars 4/21/2014 by Justice
by Justice

We bought this machine along with an LG television a few years ago. At first it worked great, but then it started turning itself off while we would be watching a program (both DVD/Blu Ray and Netflix) For the past few months it has been sporadically allowing us to watch Netflix. Now it will not connect to Netflix AT ALL! A screen comes up telling us to check our internet and Netflix connections. We checked both and they are fine. (I was able to immediately connect to Netflix on my laptop and continue watching the show I was attempting to watch with no problem). If you intend to watch Netflix, this is NOT the player for you!

Justice
Bremerton, WA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Blue Ray LG670
6/7/2012

Customer review by Airic

4.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Airic
by Airic

This product is amazing, the picture quality and sound improves all my regular DVDs and really drives home the BlueRay Movies. I have it hooked up to a older model projection tv with no HDMI and my stereo has no HDMI and this player make both the quality so much better on them. I can wait to get a new stereo and tv Im sure i will be amazed. I really like that this unit has wireless built in and its N and can handle 5gig hz because my router is duel band this way i can dedicate it. The only cons I have the slow response time between the unit and the remote control, minor issue.

Airic
Columbia SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Player and media bridge
10/4/2011

Customer review by Layman

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by Layman
by Layman

Just tried some self-produced DVD's from 6 years to the present to see the quality, since they were created with WXP and W7 computers. Absolutely brilliant reproductions displayed on my LG 47 LED 3D screen. The WiFi connects easily with my access point to deliver/stream movies/programs via my Amazon Instant Video account. This is a clean, no nonsense player that integrates well with the LG 47LW6500 3D TV. Since I'm using the High-Speed HDMI cable connection to TV, I haven't used the WiFi linkage with laptop or complete linkage to its advantage/capability.

Layman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for the livingroom
10/25/2011

Customer review by Quinto

5.0 stars 10/25/2011 by Quinto
by Quinto

I was looking for a Blu-ray player that had all the features I wanted: Netflix, Amazon Instant Video, Wireless/wired network, and of course, to play Blu-ray movies. This player provides that and more. The layout did take a little getting used to. I wasn't sure exactly where I was to look for Netflix and Amazon, but found those items quickly. The main reason I even started liking LG was because of my first phone. The phone was durable and reliable, and from the looks and reviews of their other products, I have become to favor LG over other brands.

Quinto
Celina, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Another LG winner!
9/29/2011

Customer review by ETCHIP

5.0 stars 9/29/2011 by ETCHIP
by ETCHIP

I just set-up my new LG BD670 with my LG 47LW5700. From unpacking to viewing a DVD took a whole 5 minutes. What can I say that hasn't already been said? There is a reason this 3D Blu-ray player is rated #1 - it is #1! In order here is a list of : PROS 1) Ease of set-up 2) Ease of updating software 3) Ease of setting up NETFLIX, et al 4) Upscaling of standard DVD's is amazing (better than the Sony DVD player/recorder I have) 5) Blu-ray is outstanding 6) 3D Blu-ray is mind blowing CONS (If I ever think of one, I will revisit this review)

ETCHIP
Yucaipa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent buy
10/25/2011

Customer review by FridayNightLights

5.0 stars 10/25/2011 by FridayNightLights
by FridayNightLights

This blu-ray player displays excellent quality, and the extra wifi features are great. I didnt know I'd be able to watch youtube videos andbe able to plug in a hard drive to my blu ray player and bring up home videos and pictures . This player is around the same price as most others, but has about twice the ammount of features. Oh, and I can link it with my LG tv so I only have to use one remote for the both. The best part about that is, it programs itself. No crazy codes here.

FridayNightLights
Oceanside, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BD670 works great!
9/15/2012

Customer review by raphaelmaz

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by raphaelmaz
by raphaelmaz

I read seven hundred Amazon reviews before deciding to buy this product. Despite all of the negativism, I decded to buy because there seemed to be a 'hysteria' in the later months of the reviews. I do not regret in the least my purchase. This player has worked perfectly according to its specs. When you buy an instrument of this complexity, you have to think about what your doing and you must follow instructions. This has been a boon to our video entertainment activities.

raphaelmaz
Tolland, Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Player
9/16/2011

Customer review by Rusty

5.0 stars 9/16/2011 by Rusty
by Rusty

We had owned a Sony blu ray player and enjoyed the picture quality, but the time to initialize drove me crazy. So when we purchased an LG 3D flat screen tv we also purchased this player. As we are not great movie goers we had not seen a 3D movie and couldn't understand the hype. When we watched the first 3D disc we wer amazed at the effects. We also loved the glassesthat did not need recharging or batteries. This has been a great addition to our flat screen

Rusty
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Has nice list of features, lacking on popular apps
5/6/2012

Customer review by Terrip25

4.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Terrip25
by Terrip25

Plays Blu-Rays, Blu-Ray 3D, and DVDs just fine. When playing Netflix, at least once per episode (usually more than once), it loses quality and I have to back up a few frames to hear and see what I missed. I have a fast internet connection and don't have problems on my laptop, so it must be the player's wifi. It has a nice amount of Smart TV apps, but you would think it has facebook or at least availability to download that app, but that is incorrect.

Terrip25
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value, awesome features
1/6/2013

Customer review by flaboye

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by flaboye
by flaboye

Plays every file I have thrown at it. Is capable of CIFS login to windows shares (dlna server software not necessary), just share a folder on your network and the player sees it. Something they took OUT of the new models, for whatever reason. The new models require dlna server software to be running. Great 3D. Calibration disks show no adjustments needed, which is good because there aren't any, lol. Overall a great player, you won't be disappointed!

flaboye
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good if you don't use Netflix
4/21/2013

Customer review by Sean

2.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Sean
by Sean

I bought this when it initially came out, played everything great... and then the updates started happening. I'm an avid Netflix user, and since some updates in the middle of 2012 Netflix continually skips, gets out of sync, etc. This is a known issue with this line, and for someone that uses it constantly it's not acceptable. If you're looking for a good Blu-ray player this is nice, but if you're going to use Netflix, STAY AWAY!

Sean
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Impressive
9/16/2011

Customer review by Crusader

5.0 stars 9/16/2011 by Crusader
by Crusader

I was impressed with the quality and features of this product. I purchased it on sale from Fry's and it was the best purchase I made in a long time. I wanted it mostly for just playing Blue-ray Discs, but I use it more now to stream movies from my Linux box. Next I am going to get NAS hard drive (network connected hard drive) and stream videos from there, saves on resources from my computer. I would highly recommend this product!

Crusader
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews