Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 139 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

139 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

139 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
77
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
14
1-20 of 128 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews
Good value and a fine performer.
6/13/2011

Customer review by IM3CPO

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by IM3CPO
by IM3CPO

The LG BD670 has worked well. The installation, including the WiFi, was straight-forward. I have used it sucessfully streaming from both Vudu and Netflix. The upscalling of a DVD is excellent. It works well displaying digital photographs that are stored on my computer's hard drive, a USB memory stick, and an external hard drive with a USB interface. It does not work with the AVI files generated by my High-Definition Sony camcorder. I will have to transcode those into a format that the BD670 supports.

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IM3CPO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
LG BD 670 Exceptional purchase
6/13/2011

Customer review by Willful

4.0 stars 6/13/2011 by Willful
by Willful

I have reviewed several new Blue Ray wireless players hoping to find the optimal configuration that is a balance between price and options. In my opinion, this BD 670 hit the mark. It is a very slim, lightweight unit. The other critera that swayed me this and my LED TV and this unit are both LG. This allows me to eliminate use of my TV remote in lieu of the BD remote. I found it very easy to set up and engage my home network. I found the icons in the menu self- explanitory and very responsive. Blue Ray loading could be a little faster, but overall it is more than acceptable. For my money this Blue Ray exceeded my expections and is an exceptional buy.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Willful
Charleson SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Easiest wireless setup
8/6/2011

Customer review by TechEccentric

5.0 stars 8/6/2011 by TechEccentric
by TechEccentric

This is a great unit. Once I read the instructions I was able to navigate the menu better. I have not seen a wireless device connect so quickly and easily. It took a while to find where to connect to Netflix. I really didnt want to pay for more services, so I avoided the Premium menu, which is where you go to connect to Netflix, etc. Overall, great unit, I chose well, only negative so far is a bit slow when you insert a disk until you get a picture.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechEccentric
Phoeniz, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/5/2011

Customer review by Fallenstar2716

4.0 stars 6/5/2011 by Fallenstar2716
by Fallenstar2716

We had a few hiccups setting it up because we didn't realize our wireless password was case sensitive and LG customer service was very unhelpful. Once we got it working though it was great. We had to do one update the day after we hooked it up and since then, it's worked each time we tried to connect to the internet, even though it's a few rooms away from our router.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fallenstar2716
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good features... when they work
2/22/2012

Customer review by TakiDCat

2.0 stars 2/22/2012 by TakiDCat
by TakiDCat

Echoing what DougN has already said, the latest firmware update pretty much ruined the ability to stream Netflix more than 10 minutes at a time without having to pause and/or back up the video to refresh the stream. The player also doesn't retain connectivity to a wireless router for more than 2-3 days at a time; not sure if this is related to a DHCP lease timing issue, but it also doesn't offer the ability to set a static IP address so there's no good way to test connectivity issues or maintain a consistent IP address across power cycles. On the plus side, YouTube and Pandora have been great, and Netflix *was* up until the January firmware update (Ver:BD.8.62.382.E/Date:2012.01.02). If LG has a firmware update forthcoming that will fix these issues, it would be greatly appreciated. Otherwise, this will end up in our next garage sale with a "Buyer Beware" sign as we enjoy a player from a different manufacturer.

TakiDCat
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great player. Well done LG!
11/11/2011

Customer review by ILikeTechToys

5.0 stars 11/11/2011 by ILikeTechToys
by ILikeTechToys

I purchased this to replace gaming machine manufactured by another company that was also a Blu-ray player and was supposed to steam video. The streaming performance was terrible so I decided to find another device. I purchased the model "below" (BD640) this at Walmart and then this one went on sale within the 15 day period I could make the exchange. The BD640 worked well but the 670 has more streaming options built in. The BD670 is a great Blu-ray player and solid performer for streaming movies. LG has done a great job of providing options for the top video streaming services. The best of which is Vudu which just happens to be owned by Walmart. I would recommend this player to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILikeTechToys
St Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Bought a lemon!
9/1/2011

Customer review by Kisstory

1.0 stars 9/1/2011 by Kisstory
by Kisstory

After scouring Consumer Reports, CNET, and other electronics review sites, I settled on the BD670 as a feature-packed economical Blu-ray player (thus the decent Value rating). Out of the box, it was simple and easy to set up, including the Wi-Fi connection to my network. Everything was wonderful about this unit until the optical drive (the actual Blu-ray disc player) started making horrible sounds and would give me "Disc Error" messages. This is not good for a player that was minimally played (1 - 2 times/week) over the couple of months that I have owned it. So, despite my research, this player is a dud. I have now learned to steer clear of LG's cheap products.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kisstory
SF Bay Area, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It's ok...
9/6/2015

Customer review by Indica

3.0 stars 9/6/2015 by Indica
by Indica

It crashes from time to time, and as you go along apps are no longer available so the things you buy it for like streaming videos no longer work.

Indica
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
My first blu ray
11/17/2011

Customer review by mmg12

5.0 stars 11/17/2011 by mmg12
by mmg12

After researching for a long time in different stores, i decided to go with this LG blu ray, this is my first BP player, so, for me meets and exceds all my expectations about on quality, response and features. The loading time is "normal" i don't know why this aspect is for others is "slow" , but as said before, i don't know to much about blu rays out there, so for me is fine. The picture is awesome, I have and LG 42 1080p lcd tv and I have also HD channels from my cable provider, but the movies in blu ray format are beyond hd channels... I didn't have problems with the wi-fi setup, i done it very easy. I have tried Netflix and youtube, and they work very well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmg12
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Value
6/13/2011

Customer review by MasterMaster

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by MasterMaster
by MasterMaster

Only had this a few weeks. So far so good. Only watched one blue-ray so far. Watched several regular DVD's, and a lot of Netflix. I think the blue-ray may have had a little better picture, and I wasn't able to crank up the surround system to see if the blue-ray sound was much better because it was too late at night. I have all higher end equipment, and my sound, and picture have always been good before blue-ray, but I would like to do a more exacting comparison in the future when I have time. But the main things I wanted to say here, is that I have had no problems with the wireless network connection to get Netflix as I have read about with many of these new players. Connection and download time is very quick, No pausing, or flickering, or sync problems, and sound, and picture is great. I see no pixeling, or blurring from any format I have played on my 51 inch CRT rear projection 720p/1080i Ultravision Hitachi. Untill you are up into the 70-80 inch monitor sizes, you 'will not' be able to notice any benefits with 1080p technology over 720p, and then it will still be so marginal, you will not likely notice a difference without doing a simultanious side by side comparison. The greatest benefit will likely be in better sound quality with a blue-ray. I am not interested in the 3D functionality, and cannot comment on that upgrade option on this player. If this thing lasts a few years, I will be very pleased with this purchase. It does everything I wanted well, and at a very reasonable price. I suspect the blue-ray audio will rock the house when I am able to crank it up some.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MasterMaster
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/29/2011

Customer review by Shawing

4.0 stars 6/29/2011 by Shawing
by Shawing

Great picture. I cannot get wireless to work. Called LG but was on hold forever. Will call again. The player is super-sensitive to any smudge marks on DVDs/BluRays, much more than my last SONY Player.Interface/Menu is super easy. BluRay startup time is about 11 seconds

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shawing
Sterling VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty Good, but Some Problems
11/28/2012

Customer review by JoshO

4.0 stars 11/28/2012 by JoshO
by JoshO

I wanted this because it was time to upgrade to Blu-ray, and I like the network video playing capability. Initially we had a lot of problems with it wanting to update, but failing in doing the update over the network. The problem is, it didn't want to do anything else until it got the update done. I was able to download the update and put it on a USB drive, and it was able to update. It seems to have been able to do the next couple updates fine after that. It plays videos over the network Pretty well, even on WiFi (very close to wifi router). It works even better from the USB port on a flash drive of course. I've used the Netflix streaming a couple times and that works well too. One incomprehensible oversight though is the image viewing feature. I wanted to show some vacation photos over the network to my Family. Navigated to the computer they were stored on, and mysteriously, most of the images couldn't load, but a handful did. Turns out that it can't view photos that are over 4MB in size. Well, pretty much any camera makes images a little larger than that (My DSLR camera averages 6MB per pic) so this is kind of unacceptable. It can play a 1.5 GB video, but can't load a 4MB jpg? Kinda dumb. I hope they fix it in a subsequent update.

JoshO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Defective Out of the Box
6/2/2011

Customer review by Sandra1313

1.0 stars 6/2/2011 by Sandra1313
by Sandra1313

The unit had sound and video problems out of the box. LG support was called and couldn't help. They advised us to return it. Walmart was great about taking it back.

Was this review helpful? (7) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandra1313
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Had problems from the begining
10/22/2012

Customer review by Nancyheidt2

1.0 stars 10/22/2012 by Nancyheidt2
by Nancyheidt2

I bought this unit in December and I have only used it a few times. The sound was intermitend and now there's a lound crunching noise and will not play.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nancyheidt2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
My first Blue Ray player
2/6/2012

Customer review by MichaelReally

2.0 stars 2/6/2012 by MichaelReally
by MichaelReally

The reports found on the web about the high-pitched noise from this unit are accurate. Don't know exactly what it is but I'm sure it's a motor of some sort, maybe a fan. Don't know. The "Apps" they crow about are horrible, most of them are repackaged movies of highly questionable value. The other thing is the "Apps" that aren't movies seem to be geared to children or niche markets, and trying to dig through the pile of this to find anything interesting is just too much work to be worth it. Wait until you have to enter a username/password on the screen using the cursor buttons on the remote! That'll drive you bonkers inside the first five minutes. (The "Auto Login" function doesn't seem to work reliably either.)

MichaelReally
Would recommend to a friend? No
LG 3d Blu-ray player
12/12/2011

Customer review by breade98

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by breade98
by breade98

This mates up perfectly with my LG 47" 3d Smart tv. I would highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
breade98
Alamogordo, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/30/2011

Customer review by TrueTestRemarks

5.0 stars 6/30/2011 by TrueTestRemarks
by TrueTestRemarks

Although I did not purchase this player for the 3D effect, I will use this feature in the future. I did purchase for the streaming video and Blu Ray player features. The Blu Ray player performs well and did not have any problems. The streaming video also performs well and is easy tio use once familiar with the menus (which are very simple). The only con I can see is that the unit did perform software upgrades several times within two weeks. However all upgrades were automatically installed (you can choose not to install) and keeps the unit up to date. I did not experience any problems with the updates and they each took about 4-5 minutes to complete on power up of the unit. Overall I can recommend this unit for great streaming video.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrueTestRemarks
Chanute, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BD-670
5/1/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 5/1/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is a good Blu-Ray player, but I returned mine due to a design change from previous models. I chose LG based on previous ownership of a BD-590 -- I appreciated that it never distorted a disk's aspect ratio by stretching, but allowed the viewer to zoom in to fill the screen or zoom out to avoid cropping. The new BD-670 faithfully preserves the image's correct aspect ratio (unlike many brands), but the zoom feature has changed from prior years and doesn't allow 4:3 content to fill in the black side masks when zooming in, like my older LG did. Since that feature was the main reason I selected LG, I returned the BD-670 and am still shopping for a replacement.

An anonymous customer
Fort Walton Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
WiFi doesn't work
8/25/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 8/25/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Have had this product for approx. 6 months. Have had nothing but problems connecting to wifi. When finally can, many buffering problems and unit will shut itself down, for no reason. Have updated driver many times, but only seems to get worse, each time. 2 nights ago, updated, and now can't connect at all. WiFi is the reason I bought this product. Want to get rid of my cable movie channels and use NetFlix and such for moving watching, so far not happening. DVD and HD playing works well, so can't complain about that. My guess is that the reason this product is discontinued is because of the WiFi issue. Especially after reading some of the other reviews.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
GOOD BUT !!!!!!!!!!!!
6/8/2012

Customer review by kdeserio

4.0 stars 6/8/2012 by kdeserio
by kdeserio

Ok let me start with this , It is a great blue ray player ! The only thing I found wrong is the conect to internet maybe its my home or the player but its hard to conect to internet . My thought is they should able you to use your own adapter to get a better or stronger signal , But over all works great, picture is ..WOW . The easy use makes my wife like it .THAT IS IMPORTANT THANK YOU LG . One more thing would be good not just on this but on all players if you shut down in mid movie when you start up youshould start at that piont , Im not sayin , Im just sayin . OK so I SAY BUY IT YOU WILL BE HAPPY . You make the popcorn I will be there.

kdeserio
new york
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1-20 of 128 reviews