Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 339 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

339 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

339 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
169
4 stars
90
3 stars
27
2 stars
16
1 stars
37
1-20 of 302 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews
Great for on the go!
5/26/2011

Customer review by Daqiao

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by Daqiao
by Daqiao

At first i was a little worried that i should have bought an ipod touch or iphone because people said that the picture or video quality would be the same. Its not the same, its MUCH BETTER. I go Disneyland alot and sometimes people ask you to take a picture of them and they dont come out as good on their phones. I also use the waterproof feature alot, more then i thought i would. I get to take pictures and video when no one else can! I went to yosemite national park and was able to take video of yosemite falls and bridalveil falls while everyone else tried to keep their cameras from getting drenched! I also drop it all the time, not intentionally im just a klutz, and it always works fine. I LOVE this camera, i take it with me everywhere!

Was this review helpful? (73) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Daqiao
LA, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Features Difficult to Edit
3/16/2012

Customer review by Filmsmith

3.0 stars 3/16/2012 by Filmsmith
by Filmsmith

The mechanics of the camera are very good for something in the general "flip-camera" format. However, the supplied editing tools are very coarse. They do not compare with Windows Movie Maker as compared to ease of use and the ability to make clean cuts in the middle of a film. This can be done, but not sharply. The water-resistant feature is outstanding for an outdoor-use camera. I find it easier to edit start and end cuts in the camera, rather than on the computer. If you make an error mid-film, the easiest thing to do is to stop the film, restart and resume again. The segments can be added together during the computer editing process. I also dislike the limited space allowed for end credits (Flip lets you continue as long as needed). Take your charger and put some easily identifiable tape or something on it so that you do not accidentally use another company's USB charger. If you do, you can burn out the guts of your camera, but may still salvage your video stored on the memory chip. I like size, internal battery, optics, in-camera features, useability; but hate crude editing and captioning.

Filmsmith
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
I LOVE THIS CAMERA!!
7/12/2011

Customer review by SayThat1MoreAgain

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by SayThat1MoreAgain
by SayThat1MoreAgain

I've read MANY reviews about certain memory cards not working for it, but I bought the 16GB Wintec Filemate card and I have had no problems whatsoever. With that card it takes over 4 hours of video and 10,000+ pictures if I'm not mistaken! I'm just as shocked as you are. Works AMAZING outside, and despite bad reviews on its inside performance it's really not that bad. Great in water, but fogs up in the shower haha. I haven't yet but I plan on making short videos after I get some good editing software. I'll write another review and tell everyone how that goes later! Video on it isn't pixelated either! That was my main concern when I bought it, and its worked out! QUICK TIP:: Trying to use a flashlight in the nighttime doesnt work with this camera unless whatever you shine the light on is up close.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SayThat1MoreAgain
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice little camera - lousy software and support
4/25/2011

Customer review by a1afun

3.0 stars 4/25/2011 by a1afun
by a1afun

This is our first pocket video camera so I can't say how great it is compared to the competition however we have been thrilled with the video quality for $159. We are novice users just trying to videotape our daughters playing soccer and swimming in the pool. The problem with this camera is the software and it's support is absolutely lousy. My wife couldn't get it to operate properly. She called Kodak and all they can say is we can only help you install it on your pc not help you operate it. All she wanted to do was get it to run properly and upload some videos to You Tube. She says there are a lot of complaints online about the software and lousy customer service. I bought it for her based on early reviews as an alternative to the Flip camera (now out of business). Unfortunately I am now stuck with a great camera that won't let me download and edit the video's on my pc. All we wanted to do was post them on You Tube for family to view. Very Frustrating.

Was this review helpful? (15) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
a1afun
Southlake, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great casual use HD video/stills waterproof camera
1/4/2013

Customer review by NatureHound

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by NatureHound
by NatureHound
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am so happy to have this camera that is as big as a cell phone. We did not get our $ worth from our last video camera. It was too large to haul around. This camera needs a Class 4 SDHC card at the time you buy it. They come in 8, 16 or 32 GB. The camera is half price. Charge it up as soon as you get it. It takes about 4 hrs and the continuous use is around 4-5 hrs long. I also bought a case. The charger plug and usb plugs are included. The software automatically downloads from the camera and you can update it from there. The software also includes some photo editing tools like crop, straighten, brightness etc. I was so impressed that it could shoot in low light and even take photos of outdoor Christmas lights. You can auto download to the web but I prefer to reduce the file sizes and make adjustments first. I won't be taking underwater photos, there are plenty of examples on the web, but it is good to know you can take it to the beach or pool and not worry about damage.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NatureHound
Simpsonville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
For the casual user
10/22/2011

Customer review by BrokenDisc

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by BrokenDisc
by BrokenDisc

First off....To get the "Walmart" price of $109...You must purchase this through their website...the order will then be submitted to your chosen local store where you will be able to pick it up if they have it in stock within a day. Otherwise, you'll end up paying the $169 price they have in the store. If you want a cheap camera with decent video quality then this is probably the purchase for you. It's very durable and feels good in your hand. I have taken three videos so far and the quality is about right for the price. This HD is not the same quality as a blu ray movie you might watch. Unfortunately you have to buy a professional grade memory card (see related product below) to get a decent amount of HD video storage. the 16 GB card I bought only holds about 4 hours of HD video but less than that if you use 1080p hd video display for every video captured. You will also want to buy a professional grade memory card to keep your camera from going blurry with fast movement. Once again, for the price of $109, this camera is worth it for the casual user that will pull it out for Holidays and the occasional vacation. If you want top quality, you should spend the extra money and get a regular handheld video camcorder.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrokenDisc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great all-around out door camera
9/30/2011

Customer review by Traby

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Traby
by Traby

This is a great camera; I have taken underwater pictures & videos, from my swimming pool to the Caribbean. Excellent quality photos!! I found myself taking this camera ever ware with me, it’s about the same size as a blackberry. As far evening pictures go- this camera does not have a built in flash. However do not let that deter you! Providing there is enough back light you will still get a decent picture. I did have one issue and Wal-Mart did an exchange hassle free! I used my camera for 10 day straight at a beach resort. I was in the pool, on the beach & in the ocean. By day 5 the watertight doors became increasing harder to open. By the time I returned home I had to use the end of my fingernail clipper to open the two hatches. I don’t know why this occurred, perhaps the sand in the ocean, or even the salt water. I will tell you, during the time that I was playing & testing the camera in my swimming pool I never encountered that issue. Oh FYI my pool is salt water, but no sand.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Traby
Tulum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Another great Kodak experience!
8/30/2011

Customer review by westcoastwhites

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by westcoastwhites
by westcoastwhites

When I read the description for this camera, I knew it was for me. I have long been a fan of Kodak's simplistic approach. With a multitude of children running around, I don't have a lot of time to focus on being in the right setting mode, or making other adjustments. Also, my last two Kodak digital cameras served our family so well, until the inevitable drop down a flight of stairs to damage the opening for the battery section or the drop in the toilet and thus non-functional again no matter how long it was left in a bowl of rice! So, enter the new Zx5 and it's shockproof, waterproof and everything else proof ways! It's wonderful video quality, and still shot are fabulous! Easy to operate, easier to handle and delivers on it's Kodak tradition!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
westcoastwhites
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great deal
9/6/2011

Customer review by jfv48

4.0 stars 9/6/2011 by jfv48
by jfv48

I recently purchased the Zx5 Playsport to take on a family beach vacation. My intent was to use this camera instead of my expensive digital and video cameras. I read some reviews that did not give the Zx5 glowing reports, but I am here to tell you that I completely disagree with the negativity that I saw. This camera is not intended to replace your digital or video cameras. It is intended to be an alternative to these cameras. I found it to be that and more. If the camera is used as the directions clearly state, you will get a good quality still photo and excellent video. I also took advantage of the offer to receive the free USB to HDMI cable. When I got the opportunity to use the HDMI cable, I was very pleased to see the quality of video and stills on the HD TV. The underwater videos were outstanding. I would recommend this product to any of my friends and family, in fact, I am considering purchasing two more of the Zx5's as gifts for our children.

jfv48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kodak Playsport
11/30/2011

Customer review by diver4life

3.0 stars 11/30/2011 by diver4life
by diver4life

My husband knows how much I LOVE to capture all of my daughter's milestones on video so he bought the Kodak Playsport as a gift. What I like: super compact, easy use buttons, perfect for travel, waterproof What I don't like: very sensitive, freezes often I purchased exactly what the KODAK company recommended but the camera is so sensitive. It freezes often if it doesn't like the HDMC. It stops my recordings often and gives me tons of error messages. I thought I had the wrong card in it and went to the electronics store to buy another but they assured me I had the right one. Just in case I purchased two more cards (different brands). I also downloaded their latest software from the net and decreased the video quality on the actual camera itself, but I still have some of the same issues (less frequently). I own it now so I'll keep using it, but I don't feel comfortable telling a friend to buy one unless they need something super small for travel.

diver4life
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product for active people
11/17/2011

Customer review by Pfarrjam

5.0 stars 11/17/2011 by Pfarrjam
by Pfarrjam

I picked up the Playsport to replace the Sony Bloggie that got stolen on a trip to Hawaii this summer. I play paintball and participate in several outdoor sports and I wanted to get a rugged camera I could use in a variety of outdoor activities without worrying about water and dirt causing problems. I've used the camera several time and have been very impressed with the picture quality and sound this little camera produces. I use an Oregon Scientific action cam attached to my paintball gun and bike to get POV video, but unless it's very bright the picture quality is poor. The Playsport video quality is great in most light conditions. The only issue I've run into is the digital focus - it struggles sometimes and can cause picture issues. I'm assuming this is more of a problem in low light conditions. I've got paintball gunk on the camera, dirt, and mud - it cleans up easily with soap and water (which I really like). I can be rough with this little camera and it keeps on ticking. 3 months into owning this camera and I'm happy I bought it.

Pfarrjam
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/29/2011

Customer review by Karenm58

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Karenm58
by Karenm58

I bought this camcorder after I bought the samsung which died on me after a few days, I found this kodak camcorder, very easy to use, very clear videos and pictures and the sound very good. This is small enough to fit in your pocket and carry where ever you are. I just happened to have a memory card that fits with camcorder, but what a nice purchase I have to say. I know I'm going to use this at the beach it's waterproof enough to stand next to the water and not worry, Yes I would tell my family and friends about this, they would love it too.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karenm58
Bristol, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Oh so happy
4/12/2012

Customer review by merci963

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by merci963
by merci963

Just came back from Mexico. This video camera is great. I did not put it in water but the thing is well made. No problems with "doors", they close and lock well. The USB cable makes it easy to recharge by either wall, computer or even my car. I read the reviews watched the utube videos and the thing works better than I could have hoped for. Super easy to use, even if you didn't read all the directions. It fits in my pocket, lite weight, easy to hold and use one handed. Buttons are not sensitive enough to be pushed when in my pocket (unlike my phone) and it does not matter if it's in my left/right hand. The Best video I took was a full moon over the ocean, with the moonlight reflecting off the water. I did not have much hope for the shot but turned out better than I could have hoped for. I have no complaints about this camera and would recomend it. Buy it and have fun, I did and am. Please remember I am a very new to this.

merci963
Tri-Cities, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Worked great for 6 weeks.
4/16/2012

Customer review by Chuxbiz

3.0 stars 4/16/2012 by Chuxbiz
by Chuxbiz

It's difficult to give an overall rating. It will depend on the outcome of my current issue. I'd say 4 stars if mine is replaced and 1 star if not, since it doesn't work. Died two days ago, six weeks after pick up at my local walmart store. Satisfied with ease of use and quality of still pix and video recordings. Really good color and sharpness in all modes. My only major complaint is concerning short battery capacity when recording video, about 25-35 mins per charge, and the inability to change batteries because of the "built-in" battery. It now doesn't function at all, no power up, no playback nor recording. I was simply viewing some videos that I had recorded, when I chose the video to view from the menu and pressed the play button, everything went dead, now nothing works. I'll contact my local store about replacement and come back here to report the outcome.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuxbiz
Panama City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
looking forward to better weather
3/15/2012

Customer review by DaveinSD

5.0 stars 3/15/2012 by DaveinSD
by DaveinSD

So, I didn't buy this, but got it as a gift. I can't tell you if it is a good deal for the money as I don't know the price. That aside, I like this camera, It's very simple to use, nice and compact, fits well in my hand, and takes very good pictures. It feels much heavier than similar size cameras, but I think that gives it a solid feel. Once the weather gets better, I plan to take this with me to some various outdoor venues and give it a try there. When reviewing pictures/video on the camera, remember that you are watching them on a very small screen. You will see that there is much more detail when reviewing those same pictures on a larger screen such as your computer monitor. So far I've just taken pictures around the house, and the lack of a flash can be a problem there, but this camera is designed more for brighter conditions outside and does fine when there is enough natural light.

DaveinSD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Video
4/27/2011

Customer review by danieldh

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by danieldh
by danieldh

Pretty amazing... Using it in Iraq and Kuwait to take a couple HD videos.

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
danieldh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A waterproof HD Video Camera
11/3/2011

Customer review by Ryan

4.0 stars 11/3/2011 by Ryan
by Ryan

I would give the product more like 3.5 stars. It is an amazing HD video camera for a great price. My problem is, I use it only in the ocean and the salt just destroys the camera. I always rinse off my equipment becuase salt water destroys everything but I have already lost all the color on the front of the device. I have also had to send it in to be repaired. After the 2nd trip out it started to get condensation in the view finder, and by the 4th water video it was broken. They repaired it for me for just the cost of shipping. And it works great. I still haven't taken it back in the water, so we will see. As a video camera it does great, and it's transition to underwater is amazing. I would say this camera is best suited for sports uses where it will be splashed with water, or in the rain, or mud/dirt/snow. But for a camera to do legitimate underwater video.... To Be Determined.

Ryan
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very happy with
2/12/2012

Customer review by amphib

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by amphib
by amphib

I wanted a camera to throw in my pocket, pack ,or sprayskirt, that I wouldn't have to worry about getting wet, cold, or overheated. So far I've only had the chance to test it out in the cold backpacking on the Lake Superior shoreline in December, and again on the Lake Michigan shoreline in January. Both trips saw temps in the low teens, and believe it or not, we got rained on, on the way out in January. With this camera I didn't have to worry about water damage, it took the cold without problems and is truely user friendly. My wife used it during a weeklong trip south and took some pretty good shots without having to carry our more expensive and larger camera. I'm looking forward to spring and kayaking, sailing, and recording some thrills from the power boat. So far I'm very pleased with my Playsport. A good value. We'll see just how bombproof it is in the next few months.

amphib
Grand Rapids, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Takes great pictures but not water proof
7/13/2011

Customer review by Alex76

3.0 stars 7/13/2011 by Alex76
by Alex76

This is a very simple point and shoot video/photo camera. I was impressed with the quality of the photos and video this camera takes. Its not bad for its price range. Its pretty rugged.. I dropped it a couple of times and it still worked fine. Its dust proof.I took it camping and it can hadle dirt. It has a good stabalizer because my images did not come out blurry from the shakey shot that I took. Not so much water proof. I took it snorkeling and took great pictures under water. Unfortunatly, it broke on me the second time I took it snorkeling. Somehow water got inside the camera. I think the owners manual gives you instruction on how to fix it if you have water intrusion. I need to find my owners manual and try to fix it. If I can fix it then I will change this to a five star product because it delivers on its promise of being shock proof, dust proof, and water proof.

Alex76
california
Would recommend to a friend? No
kodak playsport g2 (zx5)
4/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i love this camera even though i have not gotten into the water to test it out. i will go to the beach when it gets warmer but i love how it feels in the hand (will not go back to conventional camcorders as i have had in the past. i also like how it is dust-proof so now i don't have to clean my room but only on holidiays, and love how it is shock-proof so i can hip hop dance the night away and not worry about it being dropped or knocked out of my hand. oh i love how easy it is to operate with one hand and to upload to my computer with two hands - can you imagine what i can do with two hands and two legs. so far there is nothing i dislike about this camera but i did want it in black, but received it in red (a good chinese lucky colo). THIS IS ALSO A GREAT KEEPSAKE AND MEMENTO OF AN END OF KODAK CAMERAS AND GLAD I HAVE BEEN PART OF THE KODAK FAMILY FOR OVER 60 YEARS.

An anonymous customer
San Francisco, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews