Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 339 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

339 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

339 reviews | 4 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
169
4 stars
90
3 stars
27
2 stars
16
1 stars
37
1-20 of 302 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews
Great for on the go!
5/26/2011

Customer review by Daqiao

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by Daqiao
by Daqiao

At first i was a little worried that i should have bought an ipod touch or iphone because people said that the picture or video quality would be the same. Its not the same, its MUCH BETTER. I go Disneyland alot and sometimes people ask you to take a picture of them and they dont come out as good on their phones. I also use the waterproof feature alot, more then i thought i would. I get to take pictures and video when no one else can! I went to yosemite national park and was able to take video of yosemite falls and bridalveil falls while everyone else tried to keep their cameras from getting drenched! I also drop it all the time, not intentionally im just a klutz, and it always works fine. I LOVE this camera, i take it with me everywhere!

Was this review helpful? (73) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daqiao
LA, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I LOVE THIS CAMERA!!
7/12/2011

Customer review by SayThat1MoreAgain

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by SayThat1MoreAgain
by SayThat1MoreAgain

I've read MANY reviews about certain memory cards not working for it, but I bought the 16GB Wintec Filemate card and I have had no problems whatsoever. With that card it takes over 4 hours of video and 10,000+ pictures if I'm not mistaken! I'm just as shocked as you are. Works AMAZING outside, and despite bad reviews on its inside performance it's really not that bad. Great in water, but fogs up in the shower haha. I haven't yet but I plan on making short videos after I get some good editing software. I'll write another review and tell everyone how that goes later! Video on it isn't pixelated either! That was my main concern when I bought it, and its worked out! QUICK TIP:: Trying to use a flashlight in the nighttime doesnt work with this camera unless whatever you shine the light on is up close.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SayThat1MoreAgain
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
For the casual user
10/22/2011

Customer review by BrokenDisc

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by BrokenDisc
by BrokenDisc

First off....To get the "Walmart" price of $109...You must purchase this through their website...the order will then be submitted to your chosen local store where you will be able to pick it up if they have it in stock within a day. Otherwise, you'll end up paying the $169 price they have in the store. If you want a cheap camera with decent video quality then this is probably the purchase for you. It's very durable and feels good in your hand. I have taken three videos so far and the quality is about right for the price. This HD is not the same quality as a blu ray movie you might watch. Unfortunately you have to buy a professional grade memory card (see related product below) to get a decent amount of HD video storage. the 16 GB card I bought only holds about 4 hours of HD video but less than that if you use 1080p hd video display for every video captured. You will also want to buy a professional grade memory card to keep your camera from going blurry with fast movement. Once again, for the price of $109, this camera is worth it for the casual user that will pull it out for Holidays and the occasional vacation. If you want top quality, you should spend the extra money and get a regular handheld video camcorder.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrokenDisc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Video
4/27/2011

Customer review by danieldh

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by danieldh
by danieldh

Pretty amazing... Using it in Iraq and Kuwait to take a couple HD videos.

Was this review helpful? (16) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danieldh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice little camera - lousy software and support
4/25/2011

Customer review by a1afun

3.0 stars 4/25/2011 by a1afun
by a1afun

This is our first pocket video camera so I can't say how great it is compared to the competition however we have been thrilled with the video quality for $159. We are novice users just trying to videotape our daughters playing soccer and swimming in the pool. The problem with this camera is the software and it's support is absolutely lousy. My wife couldn't get it to operate properly. She called Kodak and all they can say is we can only help you install it on your pc not help you operate it. All she wanted to do was get it to run properly and upload some videos to You Tube. She says there are a lot of complaints online about the software and lousy customer service. I bought it for her based on early reviews as an alternative to the Flip camera (now out of business). Unfortunately I am now stuck with a great camera that won't let me download and edit the video's on my pc. All we wanted to do was post them on You Tube for family to view. Very Frustrating.

Was this review helpful? (15) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
a1afun
Southlake, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Another great Kodak experience!
8/30/2011

Customer review by westcoastwhites

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by westcoastwhites
by westcoastwhites

When I read the description for this camera, I knew it was for me. I have long been a fan of Kodak's simplistic approach. With a multitude of children running around, I don't have a lot of time to focus on being in the right setting mode, or making other adjustments. Also, my last two Kodak digital cameras served our family so well, until the inevitable drop down a flight of stairs to damage the opening for the battery section or the drop in the toilet and thus non-functional again no matter how long it was left in a bowl of rice! So, enter the new Zx5 and it's shockproof, waterproof and everything else proof ways! It's wonderful video quality, and still shot are fabulous! Easy to operate, easier to handle and delivers on it's Kodak tradition!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
westcoastwhites
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/29/2011

Customer review by Karenm58

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Karenm58
by Karenm58

I bought this camcorder after I bought the samsung which died on me after a few days, I found this kodak camcorder, very easy to use, very clear videos and pictures and the sound very good. This is small enough to fit in your pocket and carry where ever you are. I just happened to have a memory card that fits with camcorder, but what a nice purchase I have to say. I know I'm going to use this at the beach it's waterproof enough to stand next to the water and not worry, Yes I would tell my family and friends about this, they would love it too.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Karenm58
Bristol, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do not get!!!
12/14/2011

Customer review by amy8012

1.0 stars 12/14/2011 by amy8012
by amy8012

I just got this. put my sd card in it wouldn't read it! Then it froze and wouldn't turn off!! Going to return this ASAP!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
amy8012
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Really Like This Product
9/30/2011

Customer review by MuseumMan

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by MuseumMan
by MuseumMan

I wanted a small, easy to use camera which I used primarily for video. I really like this camera and have used it even more than I thought. I have used it to document the contents of my house, to record scenery on vacation, to catch the perfect moments and when visiting grandchildren. I share my video with family and friends and I have found it very easy to download and export. I did some research ahead of my purchase and I would recomend this camera to any prospective buyer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MuseumMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great camera for a teen
11/7/2011

Customer review by Nikitasmom

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by Nikitasmom
by Nikitasmom

I purchased this camera for my 13 year old son. He loves shooting videos and taking photos and this camera fits the bill. It's easy to use. Picture quality both video/stills is very good. Stabilization for video use is a really nice addition (we had a Flip before that didn't have this option). It also is very sturdy and does allow shooting videos in water up to 10'. Haven't tried that yet but my son is looking forward to checking that option out.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nikitasmom
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not Worth the money
7/16/2011

Customer review by CjBlade54

1.0 stars 7/16/2011 by CjBlade54
by CjBlade54

Got this camera in April. Froze up after one week usage. The user manual suggested pressing reset bottom with paper clip almost seemed like they knew it would happened quite often. The freezing up happens more and more often as time goes on. It gets really annoying re-setting the camera who it does happen. Last known issue was camera turned on own its own with black screen on. Camera got heated up and losing battery charge after. Contact Kodak support through their support phone number numerous times and no one answered. Online chatting function to reach technical support was unavailable. Not even sure whats the point having a link there. End up contacting tech support via email. Still waiting for their reply. Hoping to get full refund or replacement..... actually, not even sure i want the replacement. Would rather get my money back. Pro: When it works... its actually very good camera. Quick on taking pictures one after another. Good video quality. Underwater footage was clear and sound recording quality was pretty decent and that is only if WORKS which most of the time it DOESN'T. Too bad there is no flash on-board. Cons: Bad production to invest overall. Don't wait your money on it. If you got one, try to get rid of it!

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CjBlade54
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great casual use HD video/stills waterproof camera
1/4/2013

Customer review by NatureHound

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by NatureHound
by NatureHound

I am so happy to have this camera that is as big as a cell phone. We did not get our $ worth from our last video camera. It was too large to haul around. This camera needs a Class 4 SDHC card at the time you buy it. They come in 8, 16 or 32 GB. The camera is half price. Charge it up as soon as you get it. It takes about 4 hrs and the continuous use is around 4-5 hrs long. I also bought a case. The charger plug and usb plugs are included. The software automatically downloads from the camera and you can update it from there. The software also includes some photo editing tools like crop, straighten, brightness etc. I was so impressed that it could shoot in low light and even take photos of outdoor Christmas lights. You can auto download to the web but I prefer to reduce the file sizes and make adjustments first. I won't be taking underwater photos, there are plenty of examples on the web, but it is good to know you can take it to the beach or pool and not worry about damage.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NatureHound
Simpsonville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great price, great for action
4/24/2012

Customer review by terriblescapn

5.0 stars 4/24/2012 by terriblescapn
by terriblescapn

I've only had it about a week, I needed to get video of my son playing baseball. My daughter used it taking fun pictures underwater. Works great, clear picture even under water. I don't know if I got this exact model, mine is blue, says kodak playsport, and is waterproof. I got it on sale for 109$ at walmart store. Very, very easy to use and have posted video and pictures on facebook. Only small complaint is video is a little wobbly by hand, plan to use my tripod next ball game. Great value and of course Kodak can't be beat for quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
terriblescapn
lv nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great value. Easy to use and edit.
10/17/2011

Customer review by 1cool1

5.0 stars 10/17/2011 by 1cool1
by 1cool1

I purchased this before my ATV trip to West Virginia. I had it mounted on my ATV and it performed great! I then used the editing software that comes with it and now I have a great video with memories that will last a lifetime.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1cool1
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Easy to use quality camera
11/6/2011

Customer review by Carty71704

5.0 stars 11/6/2011 by Carty71704
by Carty71704

I purchased this camera for my 13yr old daughter. She loves it. It's easy to use,compact and takes quality pictures. I believe she had taken over 300 pictures during the first week after receiving this camera. My mother, who is not electronically capable, was impressed with how simple this camera is to operate..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Carty71704
Climax, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great small rugged digital/video camera
12/30/2012

Customer review by PSYDOG

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by PSYDOG
by PSYDOG

Bought 2 of these, one for my 8yr old son and one for his sister 9yrs old. They love them and they have been putting them to the test. Even took them to the pool and did some underwater shooting. No problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PSYDOG
Salem, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked great for 6 weeks.
4/16/2012

Customer review by Chuxbiz

3.0 stars 4/16/2012 by Chuxbiz
by Chuxbiz

It's difficult to give an overall rating. It will depend on the outcome of my current issue. I'd say 4 stars if mine is replaced and 1 star if not, since it doesn't work. Died two days ago, six weeks after pick up at my local walmart store. Satisfied with ease of use and quality of still pix and video recordings. Really good color and sharpness in all modes. My only major complaint is concerning short battery capacity when recording video, about 25-35 mins per charge, and the inability to change batteries because of the "built-in" battery. It now doesn't function at all, no power up, no playback nor recording. I was simply viewing some videos that I had recorded, when I chose the video to view from the menu and pressed the play button, everything went dead, now nothing works. I'll contact my local store about replacement and come back here to report the outcome.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chuxbiz
Panama City, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Vacation MEMORIES LOST! What a piece of JUNK!
10/10/2011

Customer review by ImaWalmartfreak

1.0 stars 10/10/2011 by ImaWalmartfreak
by ImaWalmartfreak

Upon researching and going to the actual store to test, check and look up close at waterproof VC, I found the Kodak Playsport and loved it. The concept, design, and functions seemed ideal for what I was looking for. Walmart.com of course had the best prices as usual. I ordered it for same day pick up and the next day took it to the pool to test out before taking it on my cruise. It was wonderful! I followed all instructions about cleaning it with fresh water and towel dried. Upon taking it to my cruise and on the first day of use, it would not even turn on. Thinking it was the battery I charged it before our snorkeling excursion and was on my way. When we got there and were about to get in the water it did not turn on when I looked at the screen it was fogged in the corners. I CAN NOT tell you how angry I am with this VC and KODAK! I have no videos or pics and had to end up buying a cheap one time use camera which was not so cheap. Basically BEWARE of this VC and buy another model! OH and the manual has a small paragraph on page 25 that basically says that even though the VC is waterproof it may not work and its pretty much your problem. Seriously?!

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ImaWalmartfreak
Spring Hill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent underwater camera that offers great value
3/20/2013

Customer review by SuperdavesTO

4.0 stars 3/20/2013 by SuperdavesTO
by SuperdavesTO

Picked up this camera from Walmart for $80 and read all the various reviews, comments on this little unit. Our main use was to take this camera on an all day swim event which means that it would spend the majority of the time in the water at a snorkeling level. A couple of observations 1) Did not leak as others may have had that issue. The door seals are pretty basic and they are essentially just raised rubber seals that rely on latch pressure to keep the water out. Just make sure that the seal looks good when you close the door 2) Underwater video was good. Quite clear video and the zoom was decent. Obviously picking up sound underwater is difficult but I'm happy with the video quality 3) Low light photos are not recommended. As there is no flash on the camera, you are pretty much stuck if you want this for taking regular photos indoors or in low light situations. Not really worth trying however I was able to use my cell phone's LED to lighten up an area to take a photo with this camera 4) Value for the money paid. There are tons of great underwater cameras at the $200+ range that will do more than you can get with this camera. However at this price, you would be hard pressed to find a more capable camera for underwater video

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SuperdavesTO
Toronto, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's OK, a nice toy that will not be used much
6/29/2011

Customer review by MarinaPJ

3.0 stars 6/29/2011 by MarinaPJ
by MarinaPJ

I got this as a gift and used it the next day to record a school event. The quality is acceptable for what you pay for, grainy, a bit too dark with acceptable volume recording. On the second use the unit would not turn off. I couldn't turn it off, reset it or remove the internal battery. Since I was not home to get to a computer or read the manual this was on for about an hour, getting hot and staying on but not usable. Several such complaints are found on the web. I kept it but if this happens again; bye bye Kodak PlaySport.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarinaPJ
Mays Landing, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews