Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 118 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

118 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

118 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 100 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
Great Pictures, but such a PAIN!
11/20/2011

Customer review by vivalagloria

3.0 stars 11/20/2011 by vivalagloria
by vivalagloria

This camera is sleek and compact, and takes really great pictures and HD video. It's light, but not super light, and pretty durable. The battery life is great, editing and sharing is easy. Sounds great, right? No so fast. Frequently, when I'm taking a video, the recording time will stop at say, 4:45. It will still show I'm recording, but everything else is frozen. You have to take out the battery and put it back in because it won't turn off. When you go back to your video, it says it is an unrecognized file format, and you lost your video. Another problem is that once when I went to review, it didn't show the pictures I had just taken. It showed ones I took a while ago. It continued to do that until I deleted all the pictures. When I try to upload videos and picture, I have to do each one one at a time, because otherwise they won't import, and it says it is an unrecognized file format. If it does this even when I do one at a time, I have to turn on and off the camera until it works. It also takes a while for it to turn on, and after you take a picture, it has to be "Processing" for a long time.

vivalagloria
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice Camera
3/24/2012

Customer review by SpeedcatBeth

4.0 stars 3/24/2012 by SpeedcatBeth
by SpeedcatBeth

I have the 580 from a couple of years ago and do love it! I bought this 583 because, well, it might be the last Kodak camera I have. I am a "Kodak" girl. If when you order this camera online and the Micro camera card is out of stock, go someplace else immediately and order the micro card. When my camera arrived I could only take 7 pics at a time to test it and play with it. So far it has performed as well as my 580. However, I tried to upload the pics to my iPad2. Because the camera uses the micro card, I had to use the thumb drive connector for the iPad. This means transferring the pics directly from the camera. So I plugged everything up and connected it, then received a message saying the device (camera) required too much power. So I am not pleased. The micro card came with a standard sd card insert, so will have to try using that.

SpeedcatBeth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little camera
1/29/2012

Customer review by GCoats

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by GCoats
by GCoats

I have an older Kodak Easyshare P850, and while I love that camera, I found that the smaller pocket cameras are used more often, so decided to give this one a try. Very pleased with it so far. Same delay frustrations as all other cameras that autofocus instead of using a fixed focus like the old-time snapshot cameras, but worth the tradeoff for the versatility. The ability to recharge the battery in the camera is wonderful. Would like a user's manual that explains the camera functions more thoroughly. Would be nice if a microSD card and a camera case came with the camera. Function buttons need to be a bit more prominent. I thought perhaps technology might have solved the lag problem between focus and shutter release, but I guess not. The Schneider-Kreuznach Variogon lens is the finest made, thank you!

GCoats
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera, Very Poor Performance
9/6/2011

Customer review by MGEinSF

2.0 stars 9/6/2011 by MGEinSF
by MGEinSF

For point and shoot cameras, I've always bought Kodak. This image and color quality have always been excellent. That holds very true for the M583. And that's unfortunately where it all ends. If that is all I cared about then this is a 5 star camera. I specifically bought this as a replacement for my old M515. It has a wide angle lens which I wanted. And the telephoto lens is awesome. Image clarity is excellent. But my real problem with the camera is performance. I turn on the camera, and it thinks for 5-10 seconds before becoming usable. I take a picture. It thinks for 5-30 seconds. Once I had to pull the battery because the camera froze. To replay pictures, it takes upwards of 15 sec to even get to the menu to view the photos. Seriously, this camera is virtually unusable at times. I wanted a camera th a would allow me to take great quality photos quickly and without hassle. Instead I got a camera that takes great photos with nothing but performance troubles. It's easier and quicker for me to take my DSLR and take a photo than it is to use the M583. And that's sad. I can take pictures faster with m iPhone too. If it weren't for the great pictures, this would be a 1 star camera.

MGEinSF
San Francisco,CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
Great Camera for College
1/4/2012

Customer review by Bananner

4.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Bananner
by Bananner

This camera takes clear pictures and has many different settings so that you can experiment with editing your photos. The only problem I have experienced with it so far is that every time you turn it on, it resets the date and time, which can be a pain when you are trying to quickly take a picture of something. The share button seems cool, but you probably don't want to use it for Facebook all the time because it creates a new folder, even if you're just uploading one picture. This camera can take a panoramic picture and also has a cool option of "photo booth" where you take four self-timed pictures in a row and it turns it into a photo strip. I would definitely recommend this camera to people who take pictures for their own personal memories. I use mine for experiences in college.

Bananner
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for a Great Price
1/30/2012

Customer review by BJsTech

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by BJsTech
by BJsTech

The camera itself is really great. It has a sleek design and seems very well built. One thing is that this camera uses a Lithium Ion batttery which holds a charge for about two or more days. The several modes for taking photos work really well. This camera also has a macro feature which most point and shoot cameras don't have. I was taking pictures of plants, animals and it looked like i was using a DSLR camera. The video side of this camera is ok, it takes 720p video which is great but, you can not use optical zoom while in video mode so if you plan to use zoom it will make the video grainy. Another annoying thing is the big red LED light that comes on when taking video. If you plan on purchasing this camera make sure you get a Micro SD Card and Micro SD Card Reader.

BJsTech
Dublin,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty good camera
2/5/2012

Customer review by Ogre

4.0 stars 2/5/2012 by Ogre
by Ogre

The M583 is a pretty good camera for the size. It's thin & lightweight, so, carrying it in your pocket isn't too bulky or intrusive. Also, the strap is big enough so you can feel it around your wrist, which makes for good peace-of-mind. What I'm not crazy about, is that the On/Off & Record buttons for video are close together. More than once, I've unknowingly recorded video while I thought I was in camera mode. No big disaster, however, video will fill your memory card faster than pictures, and drain your battery life. The view screen needs to be cleaned of fingerprints a lot, but I guess that's to be expected, and doesn't really hamper the quality when using the screen. Beyond that, it has a decent size view screen, and it turns on quick for those moments that seem to happen fast when you need to snap a quick shot. I also like the various choices for functions, i.e. Close-up, Night time, Dark room Sepia, etc. It also has the Easy-Share function built-in, where you connect to your Pc, and upload directly to several different social/picture sharing sites, which saves a step or two, if you're into that sort of thing. I give it 4 out of 5 stars, and would recommend it to someone looking for a good camera to carry around.

Ogre
Central New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Features...Needs to Sync with iPad
6/25/2011

Customer review by Redhead09

4.0 stars 6/25/2011 by Redhead09
by Redhead09

Just picked up my M583 last week...this is my 6th EasyShare camera and so far it's my favorite! The image quality is sharp and crisp, and the SmartCapture feature makes it tough to take a bad shot. I also like the fact that the image software is loaded directly onto the camera for easy download on to your laptop...no more CD-ROMs! The only downside...as an iPad user I was hoping to use the Share function to download photos directly to my iPad. An online search & a trip to my local photo shop sadly confirmed that this can't be done just yet...so for now I'll use the Share function via my Netbook...which, by the way, works seamlessly. Fingers crossed that this will be addressed in short order...but overall this camera is a winner!

Redhead09
Stamford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sleek & Sweet Camera
4/4/2012

Customer review by Kamath

4.0 stars 4/4/2012 by Kamath
by Kamath

I am happy to handle this product because it is sleek and gets into my pant pockets with ease. I have been using this product for past one month, taking Pictures and Vedios with ease and transfering to my lap top in a flash due to the Share programme. May be the voice recording is not as sound as that of another Kodak Product Play Sport which is amazing on this count. But now i saw the fresh launch of PLAY TOUCH which is beatiful with the touch screen. I see here 3 stages of evolution in digital camera. Using the MS Movie Maker software i made use of for casting the several pictures & vedios shot by me for thrill to family members which became my hobby. Photos were very good for putting in my 'Trip Advisor reviews"

Kamath
PUNE,411007, INDIA. Temp. now in Langhorne PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
so far so good
5/19/2011

Customer review by Dawn23

4.0 stars 5/19/2011 by Dawn23
by Dawn23

This is my 4th Kodak camera and is an upgrade to the one I got a couple years ago. I am not a professional picture taker but do like to take nice snapshots of family etc. I was going to get the m580 but held off until this one came out because I liked the buttons on the top better. So far I am liking this camera. I didn't give it 5 stars because haven't had it long enough. Never had any problems with kodak cameras - in fact my first one from 6 years ago still works. Only thing I am not to happy with about this camera is it takes the microSD cards and they are tiny so had to go back to store to get one. No big deal. I like the fact that this camera is smaller than my older ones. Like the nice big screen.

Dawn23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
KODAK EASYSHARE Camera / M583
1/12/2012

Customer review by benfrank

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by benfrank
by benfrank

I purchased this camera a few weeks ago to upgrade from my really good Kodak Easy Share camera that is only 3.1 MP, and has a very small screen. I have only taken maybe 50 or so pix with this new M583, but I really like it so far. I have also used the video on this camera at our grandchildren's Chrismas programs. The video and audio on this camera is awesome as well, when replaying them to view on the LCD screen! If I was to do it all over again, I would buy the same model again and not waste time looking at other models or brands. It takes excellant photo's, it's very simple to use with a lot of good features,, and the 3" viewing screen is awesome!!! Very compact and will fit in your shirt pocket.

benfrank
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Pics, but Kodak forgot Front Fingers' GRIP
8/29/2011

Customer review by RetiredinTN

4.0 stars 8/29/2011 by RetiredinTN
by RetiredinTN

I own a Kodak M580 camera and I bought the M583 mainly because it remembers the last camera settings used and Kodak moved the mode and flash buttons to the camera back. The M580 always comes up in smart mode and I usually take pictures in program mode. The 'slick' camera body and missing front rubber finger grip make it hard to hold securely, especially when holding the camera vertically. I've added partial velcro buttons to the camera front and back to help grip it. I like the camera settings memory and that it takes better zoom and indoor flashless pictures for me than the M580. I wish it had the M580 camera body with the buttons relocated.

RetiredinTN
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not so easy to transfer to computer
3/29/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 3/29/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

In general I like the camera. I notice that its zoom isnt as powerful as two other brands I have with the same zoom, especially an Olympus FE 340. My big problem with it is being unable to quickly download pictures into my generic photo software programs such as FastSTone Image Viewer, etc. This has its own too complicated software that drives you crazy trying to just get those pics to a file on your computer. My computer doesnt instantly recognize it as another drive through the USB port. Im a real estate appraiser and load pics all day long. Ive actually gone back to my older Olympus now for ease of use.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice camera
4/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is my 3rd Kodak camera that I have purchased over the years. I have been happy with all of them. However the software that comes with the camera keeps getting worse. First of all, you used to be able to set the format of the directory name. With the YYYY-MM-DD format, the directory appears in chronological order just by sorting my name. With the new SW there is no option. Also when connecting the camera the SW that comes up automatically tries to connect to the Internet unless you turn off all the sharing features. Again, not a show stopper but just a convenience issue.

An anonymous customer
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Amazing Camera
2/28/2012

Customer review by Jabbe

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by Jabbe
by Jabbe

I aimed my new camera at a Northern Mockingbird looking at his reflection in my window. I was in my living room and used the telephoto lens. I downloaded the picture (with ease) into my IPhoto Mac Computer and printed it. I have had three friends tell me that I should submit it to a magazine and I have done it. The picture is absolutely beautiful and I now take my "tiny" camera with its' fantastic telephoto lens everywhere I go. The camera is easy to use and I like the flash going off if I need it. I am going to the Caribbean in a few weeks and can't wait to use it there.

Jabbe
Newport, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
LOVE LOVE This Camera
3/27/2012

Customer review by Nicole7205

5.0 stars 3/27/2012 by Nicole7205
by Nicole7205

This camera was a very good investment! I just had a baby girl and my husband thought I needed a new camera. I have had other Kodak cameras in the past so thought I would try this one because of the share option. It is the best thing ever. So easy to set up kodak guides you through every step in the setting up process. Then the "share" option has made my life so easy emailing the family new baby pictures. It is also very nice that my pictures can load straight to my facebook account. If you are going to be emailing lots of pictures I highly recommend this camera!!

Nicole7205
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Beginner
Nothing but Kodak!
12/25/2011

Customer review by Nini

5.0 stars 12/25/2011 by Nini
by Nini

I have bought nothing else but Kodak easy share for me and my 4 children for years. I just love the ease of these cameras! I have a "Z" series" but I wanted a small compact just simple point and shoot and this camera is really it! I also love how you can get on Kodaks website and order things like extra batteries, chargers, and memory cards and its all very informative before you decide on your purchase. Also if you need help with your photography they have great books. I recently purchased one of those. If it's not obvious, I love Kodak cameras!!

Nini
Texas!!
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Little Camera
12/5/2011

Customer review by tbow5

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by tbow5
by tbow5

Good value for a camera that has 8x optical zoom. Photos are excellent under Smart Capture. I'm not quite fast enough to figure out and get to other modes on the run so the auto is great for me. The speed of adjusting to scene conditions under Smart Capture is quite fast and works great for me. I am not the sharpest pencil in the box when it comes to taking taking manual mode photos so this works for me and should be more than adequate for the person who wants to take excellent pictures without having to be an expert.

tbow5
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Little Camera
2/12/2012

Customer review by Phantom

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by Phantom
by Phantom

Very nice little camera. While I loved the old days, souping film, push the numbers, working the prints I have to admit that this latest little Kodak M583 has good resolution, clean colors, over all a good buy. I've only had it a short time so I think there are things I have yet to discover but I'm sure they will please too. So sad to see an American Icon dissappearing. I have other Kodak products which have been good buys too, and used Kodak papers, films and chemicals over 50 years.

Phantom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this camera!
8/1/2011

Customer review by Tiana

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by Tiana
by Tiana

I purchased this camera a month ago and love it. It is compact, has a large LCD but most importantly takes great pictures even in low light conditions. I have taken several hundred pictures with this camera, most using the smart capture setting, and the results have been excellent. I purchased this camera in red and it is very cool. I would also recommend the hard case. It clips on a belt which is convenient and provides good protection for your camera.

Tiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews