Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 118 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

118 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

118 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
67
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 stars
6
1-20 of 100 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews
Disappointed
7/2/2011

Customer review by Ann1613

2.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Ann1613
by Ann1613

I bought this camera a few weeks ago and quickly returned it before my 15 day return policy was up. If you only intend to use this camera outdoors and in very good lighting then it would be a really great camera. It takes really great pictures outdoors. I was very pleased with how my pictures came out the first time I used it. But after having it for about a week I used it to "try" and take pictures of my sisters indoor graduation ceremony and was very disappointed. It was the first time I used the camera indoors and I wish I would have tested it out sooner because it took absolutely horrible indoor pictures. I tried just about every setting on the camera multiple times with and without a flash and ended up not even having 1 picture of the whole event that wasn't either completely blurry or almost completely black. I was not pleased at all and am still looking for a camera that takes decent outdoor and indoor pictures.

Was this review helpful? (47) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ann1613
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent Camera & Video
1/6/2012

Customer review by OCMommmy

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by OCMommmy
by OCMommmy

Luv this camera. Because of the reviews I wasn't sure I wanted this one. So I tried others before this one and with out a doubt returned them all within a week. I then decided to buy this one and see for myself. So very glad I did. It works excellent!! It is user friendly and if you previously had a Kodak then its even easier. Pictures come out wonderful and even in dark settings. I used it for my daughter's ballet recital in which I wasn't able to get good seats and was in the back...but my pictures came out GREAT and very close up AND my video on this camera for the recital came out awesome too! Yes indeed so glad I got this camera and I use it often!! The only thing I would change is the metal casing as it is very shinny and can be easily noticed if scratched, so make sure you use the case at all times.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OCMommmy
OC, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera, many features
5/1/2013

Customer review by FloridaCracker1753

5.0 stars 5/1/2013 by FloridaCracker1753
by FloridaCracker1753

I first purchased a Kodak Easy Share Camera in January 2007 at an office supply store and was very pleased with the camera. Back then it cost me $219.00. I was pleased to find the same camera at Wal-Mart in March 2013 when my old one died. The new version has 14MP compared to the 8MP of the old one. The new camera has a bigger viewing screen than the old one. The new camera comes with a re-chargeable battery compared to the expensive Energizer Lithum batteries I had to usein the old one. The profile is smalller than the old camera and all of the features were the same with some additional options. Last but not least, the $78.00 total price was much cheaper than the original price I paid. The ordering process through Wal-Mart.com with delivery and pick-up at my local store made the process a breeze. I have used this same ordering process through Wal-Mart before but never wrote a review and I was just as pleased this time and will order the same way again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloridaCracker1753
St. Augustine, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for the price
10/9/2011

Customer review by dragoon

4.0 stars 10/9/2011 by dragoon
by dragoon

The response time after shoot is a little bit long. Other than that, everything works great.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dragoon
Saint Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/6/2011

Customer review by roundtripp

4.0 stars 11/6/2011 by roundtripp
by roundtripp

Good zoom. Picture quality is not as good as a previous Kodak camera I have.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roundtripp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Product
2/9/2013

Customer review by boblbu

5.0 stars 2/9/2013 by boblbu
by boblbu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Grear value for the money. This camera has features of cameras 2 - 3 Xs it's cost. Just leave it on Smart Capture and don't worry about the lighting. The camera will adjust and produce excellent prints. I bought one 9 months ago and took it on seveal trips (Grand Canyon, Vegas) and it took excellent shots. Unfortunately the camera was stolen in January 2013 in NJ. I liked the camera so much that I purchased this one to replace the stolen camera.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boblbu
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Pictures, but such a PAIN!
11/20/2011

Customer review by vivalagloria

3.0 stars 11/20/2011 by vivalagloria
by vivalagloria

This camera is sleek and compact, and takes really great pictures and HD video. It's light, but not super light, and pretty durable. The battery life is great, editing and sharing is easy. Sounds great, right? No so fast. Frequently, when I'm taking a video, the recording time will stop at say, 4:45. It will still show I'm recording, but everything else is frozen. You have to take out the battery and put it back in because it won't turn off. When you go back to your video, it says it is an unrecognized file format, and you lost your video. Another problem is that once when I went to review, it didn't show the pictures I had just taken. It showed ones I took a while ago. It continued to do that until I deleted all the pictures. When I try to upload videos and picture, I have to do each one one at a time, because otherwise they won't import, and it says it is an unrecognized file format. If it does this even when I do one at a time, I have to turn on and off the camera until it works. It also takes a while for it to turn on, and after you take a picture, it has to be "Processing" for a long time.

vivalagloria
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice Camera
3/24/2012

Customer review by SpeedcatBeth

4.0 stars 3/24/2012 by SpeedcatBeth
by SpeedcatBeth

I have the 580 from a couple of years ago and do love it! I bought this 583 because, well, it might be the last Kodak camera I have. I am a "Kodak" girl. If when you order this camera online and the Micro camera card is out of stock, go someplace else immediately and order the micro card. When my camera arrived I could only take 7 pics at a time to test it and play with it. So far it has performed as well as my 580. However, I tried to upload the pics to my iPad2. Because the camera uses the micro card, I had to use the thumb drive connector for the iPad. This means transferring the pics directly from the camera. So I plugged everything up and connected it, then received a message saying the device (camera) required too much power. So I am not pleased. The micro card came with a standard sd card insert, so will have to try using that.

SpeedcatBeth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/3/2012

Customer review by SLM66

1.0 stars 1/3/2012 by SLM66
by SLM66

The camera would not turn on after just one use. It does not come with a memory card so I ordered one. I used it one time while waiting for the card to arrive. The camera was fully charged but would not turn on. So I returned it and got a Nikon instead. It did take great pictures but if you can't turn it on to use it, what good is it. Walmart was great about returning the money on the camera so I could get a different one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SLM66
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
Great camera for having around all the time!
12/15/2011

Customer review by Patsy2011

5.0 stars 12/15/2011 by Patsy2011
by Patsy2011

I've used a lot of cameras through the years and this one is one of the easiest to operate.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patsy2011
Nacogdoches, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this camera!
2/23/2013

Customer review by Karabear4344

5.0 stars 2/23/2013 by Karabear4344
by Karabear4344
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This camera has a very short flash time, which is GREAT! Click and instant pic, no waiting for the flash, no more blurry pics. It takes really good pictures and the one thing I really like is that it has sound playback ON the camera! When you review your videos, you can hear the sound, a lot of easyshares don't have that. It was very simple and I didn't even need to read the instruction manual. I bought a Sony Cybershot a week before this and hated it. I gave the Cybershot away and bought this one instead. Kodak Easyshares are the absolute best cameras around. Easy for a child to operate too, I gave my old Easyshare to my 7 year old and she caught right on. Super easy uploading too, no software needed. This camera is thin and lightweight and fits easily in a coat pocket or purse (and I have a small purse). The battery is rechargeable, doesn't take backup batteries. The only thing you need to know is that it takes a micro sd card, not regular size, a little bit of a burden to use the micro but still love this camera. I heard that Kodak has stopped making cameras. Must be why the cheaper Easyshares were all sold out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karabear4344
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great little camera
1/29/2012

Customer review by GCoats

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by GCoats
by GCoats

I have an older Kodak Easyshare P850, and while I love that camera, I found that the smaller pocket cameras are used more often, so decided to give this one a try. Very pleased with it so far. Same delay frustrations as all other cameras that autofocus instead of using a fixed focus like the old-time snapshot cameras, but worth the tradeoff for the versatility. The ability to recharge the battery in the camera is wonderful. Would like a user's manual that explains the camera functions more thoroughly. Would be nice if a microSD card and a camera case came with the camera. Function buttons need to be a bit more prominent. I thought perhaps technology might have solved the lag problem between focus and shutter release, but I guess not. The Schneider-Kreuznach Variogon lens is the finest made, thank you!

GCoats
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera, Very Poor Performance
9/6/2011

Customer review by MGEinSF

2.0 stars 9/6/2011 by MGEinSF
by MGEinSF

For point and shoot cameras, I've always bought Kodak. This image and color quality have always been excellent. That holds very true for the M583. And that's unfortunately where it all ends. If that is all I cared about then this is a 5 star camera. I specifically bought this as a replacement for my old M515. It has a wide angle lens which I wanted. And the telephoto lens is awesome. Image clarity is excellent. But my real problem with the camera is performance. I turn on the camera, and it thinks for 5-10 seconds before becoming usable. I take a picture. It thinks for 5-30 seconds. Once I had to pull the battery because the camera froze. To replay pictures, it takes upwards of 15 sec to even get to the menu to view the photos. Seriously, this camera is virtually unusable at times. I wanted a camera th a would allow me to take great quality photos quickly and without hassle. Instead I got a camera that takes great photos with nothing but performance troubles. It's easier and quicker for me to take my DSLR and take a photo than it is to use the M583. And that's sad. I can take pictures faster with m iPhone too. If it weren't for the great pictures, this would be a 1 star camera.

MGEinSF
San Francisco,CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
Great Camera for College
1/4/2012

Customer review by Bananner

4.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Bananner
by Bananner

This camera takes clear pictures and has many different settings so that you can experiment with editing your photos. The only problem I have experienced with it so far is that every time you turn it on, it resets the date and time, which can be a pain when you are trying to quickly take a picture of something. The share button seems cool, but you probably don't want to use it for Facebook all the time because it creates a new folder, even if you're just uploading one picture. This camera can take a panoramic picture and also has a cool option of "photo booth" where you take four self-timed pictures in a row and it turns it into a photo strip. I would definitely recommend this camera to people who take pictures for their own personal memories. I use mine for experiences in college.

Bananner
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera for a Great Price
1/30/2012

Customer review by BJsTech

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by BJsTech
by BJsTech

The camera itself is really great. It has a sleek design and seems very well built. One thing is that this camera uses a Lithium Ion batttery which holds a charge for about two or more days. The several modes for taking photos work really well. This camera also has a macro feature which most point and shoot cameras don't have. I was taking pictures of plants, animals and it looked like i was using a DSLR camera. The video side of this camera is ok, it takes 720p video which is great but, you can not use optical zoom while in video mode so if you plan to use zoom it will make the video grainy. Another annoying thing is the big red LED light that comes on when taking video. If you plan on purchasing this camera make sure you get a Micro SD Card and Micro SD Card Reader.

BJsTech
Dublin,Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty good camera
2/5/2012

Customer review by Ogre

4.0 stars 2/5/2012 by Ogre
by Ogre

The M583 is a pretty good camera for the size. It's thin & lightweight, so, carrying it in your pocket isn't too bulky or intrusive. Also, the strap is big enough so you can feel it around your wrist, which makes for good peace-of-mind. What I'm not crazy about, is that the On/Off & Record buttons for video are close together. More than once, I've unknowingly recorded video while I thought I was in camera mode. No big disaster, however, video will fill your memory card faster than pictures, and drain your battery life. The view screen needs to be cleaned of fingerprints a lot, but I guess that's to be expected, and doesn't really hamper the quality when using the screen. Beyond that, it has a decent size view screen, and it turns on quick for those moments that seem to happen fast when you need to snap a quick shot. I also like the various choices for functions, i.e. Close-up, Night time, Dark room Sepia, etc. It also has the Easy-Share function built-in, where you connect to your Pc, and upload directly to several different social/picture sharing sites, which saves a step or two, if you're into that sort of thing. I give it 4 out of 5 stars, and would recommend it to someone looking for a good camera to carry around.

Ogre
Central New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Features...Needs to Sync with iPad
6/25/2011

Customer review by Redhead09

4.0 stars 6/25/2011 by Redhead09
by Redhead09

Just picked up my M583 last week...this is my 6th EasyShare camera and so far it's my favorite! The image quality is sharp and crisp, and the SmartCapture feature makes it tough to take a bad shot. I also like the fact that the image software is loaded directly onto the camera for easy download on to your laptop...no more CD-ROMs! The only downside...as an iPad user I was hoping to use the Share function to download photos directly to my iPad. An online search & a trip to my local photo shop sadly confirmed that this can't be done just yet...so for now I'll use the Share function via my Netbook...which, by the way, works seamlessly. Fingers crossed that this will be addressed in short order...but overall this camera is a winner!

Redhead09
Stamford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sleek & Sweet Camera
4/4/2012

Customer review by Kamath

4.0 stars 4/4/2012 by Kamath
by Kamath

I am happy to handle this product because it is sleek and gets into my pant pockets with ease. I have been using this product for past one month, taking Pictures and Vedios with ease and transfering to my lap top in a flash due to the Share programme. May be the voice recording is not as sound as that of another Kodak Product Play Sport which is amazing on this count. But now i saw the fresh launch of PLAY TOUCH which is beatiful with the touch screen. I see here 3 stages of evolution in digital camera. Using the MS Movie Maker software i made use of for casting the several pictures & vedios shot by me for thrill to family members which became my hobby. Photos were very good for putting in my 'Trip Advisor reviews"

Kamath
PUNE,411007, INDIA. Temp. now in Langhorne PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great all-around camera!
3/11/2013

Customer review by Whaaazzup

5.0 stars 3/11/2013 by Whaaazzup
by Whaaazzup
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had a Kodak camera a while back and unfortunately lost it on a vacation...since then I have wasted time & money on a couple of other brands trying to find a good replacement to no avail...I stumbled upon this one & I love it! It's easy to use, compact, & develops beautiful pictures!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whaaazzup
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Haven't used it much, but so far a great camera.
12/28/2012

Customer review by LOVSTOSHOP

5.0 stars 12/28/2012 by LOVSTOSHOP
by LOVSTOSHOP
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a real value for the $$. Very happy with purchase. If Kodak has gotten out of the camera market (and supposedly filed for bankruptcy in early January 2012), and IF we need service, that will be an issue down the road if needed. Otherwise, so far, so good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LOVSTOSHOP
Palm Beach County, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 100 total reviews
1-20 of 100 reviews