Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

31 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 24 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
Awesome shades!
10/20/2011

Customer review by shellb925

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by shellb925
by shellb925

I had bought other roman shades that were not blackout and they just felt cheap and were very wrinkled, but instructions said not to iron. These felt very substantial - and best of all not a single wrinkle right out of the box! They have a very clean look. I absolutely love them - I just wish there were more color options! The hanging instructions are pretty vuague as far as the measurements required to use the "hybrid" method (hardware inside mount, but material on the outside of the window), but I eventually got it and they look great and are truly blackout! In my opinion, they're on the expensive side, but even the cheap ones only save $15 and look lousy, so if you're going to spend money on shades go for it and get the good ones!

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shellb925
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value!
4/4/2012

Customer review by McSteamy

4.0 stars 4/4/2012 by McSteamy
by McSteamy

These shades work as advertised and do darken the room. They are a good alternative to more expensive Roman shades sold at the big box home improvement stores and department stores, which in most cases require a custom order. They were easy to install, two screws for each bracket and then the blind header snaps into the bracket and locks with a clip. There is a paper template included to mark the bracket positions on the wall for mounting on the outside of the window frame. You will need some tape or tacks to hold it up and an assistant to help with the install will be welcome. The only odd feature of these blinds is the wand mechanism to raise and lower. It requires attaching the wand to the spring roller at the top of the shade then bending the spring down to make the rod vertical. The wand is then twisted to turn the roller spring and raise lower the shade. The odd part is that the wand is always under tension, and the clip to secure the wand to the wall keeps the wand from turning and the blind to quickly drop. I wish it was designed more like the wand on a mini blind where it is not always under tension- seems like a better design could have been done. Overall, these serve the purpose, look decent and are reasonably priced. The widest width available is 35", my windows are 35" so it barely covered with minimal overlap, there should be a 36" width and larger sizes offered to accomodate bigger windows.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McSteamy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good for blackout, but hard to open and close
7/2/2011

Customer review by Khams

4.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Khams
by Khams

This truely is a blackout blind. We have ours mounted on the inside of the window, so the only light that comes in is just around the edges. I was wondering how a roman shade could be 'cordless' and how well that would work... it's very difficult and slow to open and close, which I kind of suspected would be the case. The main function of this blind for us is to black out our boys' bedroom, so that they don't get up at 5 a.m., so it meets that expectation! :-)

Was this review helpful? (42) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Khams
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
10/16/2011

Customer review by ACKDC

5.0 stars 10/16/2011 by ACKDC
by ACKDC

Aside from it arriving in the wrong color, I was pleasantly surprised by this shade. I kept it anyway because the color worked even though it wasn't what I ordered (didn't feel like dealing with a return). It was easy to install and it's a nice heavy fabric so it really does block out most light. It has made a huge difference in the temperature of the room. I love that there is no cord since it is in the nursery (and it takes about 10 seconds to raise and lower). Much better than other roman shades I've ordered elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ACKDC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for a child's bedroom
9/7/2011

Customer review by smsmom

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by smsmom
by smsmom

I was looking for blackout roman shades that would be safe enough to put in an active child's bedroom and this was pretty close to what I wanted. The shades do a great job keeping the room dark at nap time. The only negative is that they are a bit of a pain to open compared to the pull-string type. However, these are safer for children so I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smsmom
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not what I expected
12/7/2013

Customer review by FreeTexan

2.0 stars 12/7/2013 by FreeTexan
by FreeTexan
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

was expecting the cordless blinds that are raised and lowered and hold position, these have to be rolled up and the wand snapped into a wall bracket to keep it from unravelling

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FreeTexan
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product for the price!!!
5/17/2012

Customer review by Stultz

4.0 stars 5/17/2012 by Stultz
by Stultz

These blinds work well and are easy to install. The cordless feature is kind of a pain to open...you have to twist a rod, keeping constant tension on it, and this takes about 10 seconds per blind. However, they are safer (with children) and they look very nice. They truly do block out all light, but with the inside mount you will still see some light coming through the sides. Definitely worth the money. Not super great quality but very good considering the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stultz
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very dark shade
3/15/2013

Customer review by momloveson

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by momloveson
by momloveson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this shade for my husband who works nights. Even mid-day it keeps our bedroom dark. It is well made and looks great.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momloveson
clarion Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We returned this shade right away
6/14/2012

Customer review by LivesinSF

1.0 stars 6/14/2012 by LivesinSF
by LivesinSF

We ended up returning this shade about 10 minutes after hanging it up. Poor quality and the kids room had more light in with this shade than with regular blinds. Another downside to this shade is that it only pulled halfway up! So you will have a dark room regardless of what you want. We returned it for a refund right away.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LivesinSF
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Really blocks out the light!!!
5/7/2014

Customer review by turkandmina

5.0 stars 5/7/2014 by turkandmina
by turkandmina
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband works nights and sleeps during the day. We tried other black out products to no avail. These black out Roman shades really work. My husband sleeps peacefully without being woken up by the light creeping in. The price was great! I compared the price to other black out shades and the price was almost triple!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
turkandmina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good
4/19/2012

Customer review by kccmom

4.0 stars 4/19/2012 by kccmom
by kccmom

I bought these for my sons' rooms - I didn't want to spend alot of money, but I wanted it to look nice. They actually look pretty decent and you can't beat the price. My teenage son likes that they keep the sun out on weekend mornings! The only down side is it takes a little time to roll them up, but it's really no big deal. Overall, they look very nice!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kccmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great looking shade.
11/22/2013

Customer review by MCDA66

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by MCDA66
by MCDA66
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great looking shade. I was pleased at the price of this item. It looks great and fits my door well. Comparable shades are much more expensive but do not look much different. Overall a great buy. I must add I am using this for a door and do not plan on raising this shade. Therefore I did not add the twist handle as instructed. So I can't comment on how easy or difficult it is to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MCDA66
Southeast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cheap and look that way
5/9/2012

Customer review by 10Patches

1.0 stars 5/9/2012 by 10Patches
by 10Patches

We opened the box of the first of three and looked at it. It was cheaply made and looked cheap. My husband put one up just to see if it looked bettter up. It didnt. He took it down. We placed it in the box and took all of them back.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
10Patches
Madisonville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good product at a good price
2/11/2013

Customer review by TheDiller

4.0 stars 2/11/2013 by TheDiller
by TheDiller
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This does in fact block 99% of the light and can make the room pitch black. My only complaint is how it was packaged because it caused some creases which need to be ironed out. Besides that, it does have a unique way of rolling them up (with a wand like vinyl blinds) but i'm not sure if i like it yet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheDiller
Grand rapids, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good quality
9/20/2015

Customer review by brlady

4.0 stars 9/20/2015 by brlady
by brlady

I really like these shades. We installed them today on our front and back doors of our new house. The only thing I'm not thrilled with is the view from the outside. The back is white, but there is a white mesh that is used to raise and lower the shades is clearly visible. I haven't thought of a solution yet, but I will have to come up with something.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brlady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
disappointed
7/22/2012

Customer review by bengaze

1.0 stars 7/22/2012 by bengaze
by bengaze

the roll up wand was a complete pain, the blinds stuck out too far from the window the mesh in the back kept getting stuck. I had to return them.. awful...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bengaze
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Not a blackout shade
11/23/2011

Customer review by trumpetjh

2.0 stars 11/23/2011 by trumpetjh
by trumpetjh

The shade looks nice and was well constructed. Hanging instructions were clear. Only one major problem - this shade did not blackout sunlight around the edges. I'm returning it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trumpetjh
Would recommend to a friend? No
5/26/2013

Customer review by sdghl207

3.0 stars 5/26/2013 by sdghl207
by sdghl207
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Keeps light out but the handle is the WORST! It is so difficult to use and you need to use two hands. Next time, I would spend more money to get a user friendly shade.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sdghl207
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love these shades
7/16/2015

Customer review by LovetoShop150

4.0 stars 7/16/2015 by LovetoShop150
by LovetoShop150

Love these shades! Awesome that they are cordless and easy to use. They do keep the room dark; however, the way I had to hang them leaves a bit of a gap on the sides. (I had to hang them on the outside of my window).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovetoShop150
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Pretty decent for the price
7/20/2015

Customer review by beccaofky

4.0 stars 7/20/2015 by beccaofky
by beccaofky

I bought these based on the reviews for the black out feature and they hold up to my expectations. They were put in our toddler's room which has a window facing east and a window facing north so the room gets direct sunlight but the shades do their job and keep the room very dark. They, of course, have light seeping in around the sides which we use curtains to minimize. For the sizing, my windows (inside) measured exactly 31" & 35" (we bought two) and these blinds fit inside fine with about 1/4--1/8" allowance (hence the light seeping in). I didn't measure the blind itself, but I wouldn't order a size larger unless you were mounting them on the outside of the window frame. I wish they offered shorter lengths though. As far as other reviews of issues rolling them up, it's not the easiest or best setup, but we don't roll them up that often so for us, that doesn't affect my rating too much. However, I do feel the need to mention this. It uses a wand that you have to twist to bring the shade up. It's is a slow process and if the wand isn't held tightly, the shades will automatically unfurl. That's why they include an extra piece that has to be mounted to hold the wand in place and keep it from twisting and unwinding the shades. The 31 inch winds up fine, leaves about a foot or so hanging down as designed. However, the 35 inch doesn't seem like it was designed or put together just right and only rolls up about half way and because they are so long that leaves the entire window still covered. A little weird, but we just flip the shade over the curtain rod if we want to uncover that window. I would return it, but it seems to be more of a design flaw that I think any shade would have and besides, I really don't want to take it all back down and put another up. I can't comment on the installation, my husband did it all, but he didn't have any complaints so it must not have been too bad. If it wasn't for the rolling up issue with the 35 inch, I would give it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beccaofky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews