Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

30 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 23 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Awesome shades!
10/20/2011

Customer review by shellb925

5.0 stars 10/20/2011 by shellb925
by shellb925

I had bought other roman shades that were not blackout and they just felt cheap and were very wrinkled, but instructions said not to iron. These felt very substantial - and best of all not a single wrinkle right out of the box! They have a very clean look. I absolutely love them - I just wish there were more color options! The hanging instructions are pretty vuague as far as the measurements required to use the "hybrid" method (hardware inside mount, but material on the outside of the window), but I eventually got it and they look great and are truly blackout! In my opinion, they're on the expensive side, but even the cheap ones only save $15 and look lousy, so if you're going to spend money on shades go for it and get the good ones!

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shellb925
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good for blackout, but hard to open and close
7/2/2011

Customer review by Khams

4.0 stars 7/2/2011 by Khams
by Khams

This truely is a blackout blind. We have ours mounted on the inside of the window, so the only light that comes in is just around the edges. I was wondering how a roman shade could be 'cordless' and how well that would work... it's very difficult and slow to open and close, which I kind of suspected would be the case. The main function of this blind for us is to black out our boys' bedroom, so that they don't get up at 5 a.m., so it meets that expectation! :-)

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Khams
Chicago, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
10/16/2011

Customer review by ACKDC

5.0 stars 10/16/2011 by ACKDC
by ACKDC

Aside from it arriving in the wrong color, I was pleasantly surprised by this shade. I kept it anyway because the color worked even though it wasn't what I ordered (didn't feel like dealing with a return). It was easy to install and it's a nice heavy fabric so it really does block out most light. It has made a huge difference in the temperature of the room. I love that there is no cord since it is in the nursery (and it takes about 10 seconds to raise and lower). Much better than other roman shades I've ordered elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACKDC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect for a child's bedroom
9/7/2011

Customer review by smsmom

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by smsmom
by smsmom

I was looking for blackout roman shades that would be safe enough to put in an active child's bedroom and this was pretty close to what I wanted. The shades do a great job keeping the room dark at nap time. The only negative is that they are a bit of a pain to open compared to the pull-string type. However, these are safer for children so I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smsmom
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good value!
4/4/2012

Customer review by McSteamy

4.0 stars 4/4/2012 by McSteamy
by McSteamy

These shades work as advertised and do darken the room. They are a good alternative to more expensive Roman shades sold at the big box home improvement stores and department stores, which in most cases require a custom order. They were easy to install, two screws for each bracket and then the blind header snaps into the bracket and locks with a clip. There is a paper template included to mark the bracket positions on the wall for mounting on the outside of the window frame. You will need some tape or tacks to hold it up and an assistant to help with the install will be welcome. The only odd feature of these blinds is the wand mechanism to raise and lower. It requires attaching the wand to the spring roller at the top of the shade then bending the spring down to make the rod vertical. The wand is then twisted to turn the roller spring and raise lower the shade. The odd part is that the wand is always under tension, and the clip to secure the wand to the wall keeps the wand from turning and the blind to quickly drop. I wish it was designed more like the wand on a mini blind where it is not always under tension- seems like a better design could have been done. Overall, these serve the purpose, look decent and are reasonably priced. The widest width available is 35", my windows are 35" so it barely covered with minimal overlap, there should be a 36" width and larger sizes offered to accomodate bigger windows.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
McSteamy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very dark shade
3/15/2013

Customer review by momloveson

5.0 stars 3/15/2013 by momloveson
by momloveson

I got this shade for my husband who works nights. Even mid-day it keeps our bedroom dark. It is well made and looks great.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momloveson
clarion Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not what I expected
12/7/2013

Customer review by FreeTexan

2.0 stars 12/7/2013 by FreeTexan
by FreeTexan

was expecting the cordless blinds that are raised and lowered and hold position, these have to be rolled up and the wand snapped into a wall bracket to keep it from unravelling

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FreeTexan
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
We returned this shade right away
6/14/2012

Customer review by LivesinSF

1.0 stars 6/14/2012 by LivesinSF
by LivesinSF

We ended up returning this shade about 10 minutes after hanging it up. Poor quality and the kids room had more light in with this shade than with regular blinds. Another downside to this shade is that it only pulled halfway up! So you will have a dark room regardless of what you want. We returned it for a refund right away.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LivesinSF
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
cheap and look that way
5/9/2012

Customer review by 10Patches

1.0 stars 5/9/2012 by 10Patches
by 10Patches

We opened the box of the first of three and looked at it. It was cheaply made and looked cheap. My husband put one up just to see if it looked bettter up. It didnt. He took it down. We placed it in the box and took all of them back.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
10Patches
Madisonville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for the price!!!
5/17/2012

Customer review by Stultz

4.0 stars 5/17/2012 by Stultz
by Stultz

These blinds work well and are easy to install. The cordless feature is kind of a pain to open...you have to twist a rod, keeping constant tension on it, and this takes about 10 seconds per blind. However, they are safer (with children) and they look very nice. They truly do block out all light, but with the inside mount you will still see some light coming through the sides. Definitely worth the money. Not super great quality but very good considering the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stultz
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really blocks out the light!!!
5/7/2014

Customer review by turkandmina

5.0 stars 5/7/2014 by turkandmina
by turkandmina

My husband works nights and sleeps during the day. We tried other black out products to no avail. These black out Roman shades really work. My husband sleeps peacefully without being woken up by the light creeping in. The price was great! I compared the price to other black out shades and the price was almost triple!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
turkandmina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good
4/19/2012

Customer review by kccmom

4.0 stars 4/19/2012 by kccmom
by kccmom

I bought these for my sons' rooms - I didn't want to spend alot of money, but I wanted it to look nice. They actually look pretty decent and you can't beat the price. My teenage son likes that they keep the sun out on weekend mornings! The only down side is it takes a little time to roll them up, but it's really no big deal. Overall, they look very nice!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kccmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great looking shade.
11/22/2013

Customer review by MCDA66

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by MCDA66
by MCDA66

This is a great looking shade. I was pleased at the price of this item. It looks great and fits my door well. Comparable shades are much more expensive but do not look much different. Overall a great buy. I must add I am using this for a door and do not plan on raising this shade. Therefore I did not add the twist handle as instructed. So I can't comment on how easy or difficult it is to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MCDA66
Southeast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good product at a good price
2/11/2013

Customer review by TheDiller

4.0 stars 2/11/2013 by TheDiller
by TheDiller

This does in fact block 99% of the light and can make the room pitch black. My only complaint is how it was packaged because it caused some creases which need to be ironed out. Besides that, it does have a unique way of rolling them up (with a wand like vinyl blinds) but i'm not sure if i like it yet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheDiller
Grand rapids, mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
disappointed
7/22/2012

Customer review by bengaze

1.0 stars 7/22/2012 by bengaze
by bengaze

the roll up wand was a complete pain, the blinds stuck out too far from the window the mesh in the back kept getting stuck. I had to return them.. awful...

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bengaze
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Not a blackout shade
11/23/2011

Customer review by trumpetjh

2.0 stars 11/23/2011 by trumpetjh
by trumpetjh

The shade looks nice and was well constructed. Hanging instructions were clear. Only one major problem - this shade did not blackout sunlight around the edges. I'm returning it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trumpetjh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Liked the previous one better
11/15/2013

Customer review by Chrisa5150

4.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Chrisa5150
by Chrisa5150

This item was a replacement for the previous one I bought a couple years ago as that one broke. The new one I just received is not as nice as the old one. Material is cheaper looking. A little disappointed as I have 2 side by side and you can see the difference.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chrisa5150
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
perfect
12/21/2012

Customer review by sportyredhead

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by sportyredhead
by sportyredhead

beautiful but installation is a tad difficult.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sportyredhead
boston,ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice. Good quality.
8/1/2014

Customer review by Tedwolf

4.0 stars 8/1/2014 by Tedwolf
by Tedwolf

Hoping they are as functional as they are attractive.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tedwolf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I'm happy
12/6/2014

Customer review by 73wingnut

4.0 stars 12/6/2014 by 73wingnut
by 73wingnut

works great! very easy to install. depending on your walls you may need wall anchors (even though it comes with some)the ones supplied didn't work well with my walls.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
73wingnut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews