Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 48 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

48 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

48 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
28
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
17
1-20 of 48 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews
"Best Quality - Maximum Coverage"... not really
9/27/2013

Customer review by JNLFG2

1.0 stars 9/27/2013 by JNLFG2
by JNLFG2

So due to my short amount of time and need to pick up a few groceries items at the same time I decided to pick up some paint from Walmart (against my own better judgment no less) because I wouldn't have enough time to go pick up my usual paint from Lowes. Looking in the aisles of the paint department I found Glidden "High Endurance Plus - Paint and Primer." It was not the cheapest gallon of paint that the store carried, when shaken it didn't slosh around like it was just a gallon of water and the price point was very comparable to the paint that I would have otherwise purchased had I had some extra time so I decided to go for it. I was painting over a wall which had a color that was a couple shades darker (I’ve attached a photo in which the unpainted border against the ceiling can be seen) than the color I picked up from Walmart so I figured that with the paint and primer in one, a good coating with a well loaded roller and two coats of paint I would be just fine. The first thing I noticed was that getting the paint onto the roller itself seemed strange. As you are rolling the paint roller back and forth on the paint tray, the paint seems very thick, a bit strange I thought, and it required a bit more time to ensure the paint was even on the roller, but I thought it was going to be amazing once I got it on the wall… maybe I wouldn’t even need a second coat :) So before placing the roller on the wall I decided to grab a ballpoint pen and make a marking on the wall to see just how great this seemingly very thick on the roller, paint was going to cover since one of the main claims on the gallon of paint from Glidden is that they provide “Maximum” coverage. I also attached a picture after that first coat had about an hour to dry of the marking that I made on the wall. I did two coats of paint on the entire wall and the bottom color still shows through… I gave up on the entire wall. The “test” area now became a problem because it was obviously VERY visible. I have applied 6 or 7 coats just on the mark, and I can STILL see the word TEST bleeding through when the room’s lights are all on. I tried taking a picture of it but it doesn’t show well in the picture for me to provide it… but in person it’s still visible. Instructions state to give it about 4 hours between coats, and I gave it 3 between the first and second coat, 2 more hours before the third coat and after that I just kept throwing more coats on it when the paint seemed pretty dry to the touch hoping that the word would finally disappear... to no avail as of yet. Needless to say… If you are painting a dirty wall, over a dark color, trying to paint with a dark color, a wall that your kids attacked with crayons and markers, or anything besides a bare drywall that’s been primed, DO NOT expect this paint to leave you satisfied with your purchase or efforts to DIY (Do It Yourself). I happened to also be painting a different wall (using lighter colors with not that much difference between the original color and the new one I was changing it for) for which I took out a gallon of my usual paint that I knew had just enough paint left over in it to cover the entire wall. The paint was Valspar Ultra, (I’ve been a Valspar paints user for a long time and am always happy with the results). I decided to give it a test with the ballpoint pen as well. The paint goes onto the roller much smoother… and after just a single coat, not even a thickly applied coat… just a regular coat… there was absolutely NO sign of where I had written with the ballpoint pen, and that wall was finished without the need for a second coat. Valspar paint is usually around $5 more than the Glidden paint. (These are the prices in my area, and comparing it with Lowes prices which is where I usually purchase paint, meaning that it may be a little different in your area, and also depending on what store you would be purchasing paint from). The good news however is that fairly often, Valspar will have $5 off the gallons of paint (little inconvenient since it’s a mail-in rebate) which is why I originally stated that the price points were comparable. In conclusion, spend the little extra money to save yourself some time and frustration, or expect to apply three, four, or maybe even more coats with this paint to get real coverage (which may end up being more expensive since you will waste more paint). Glidden’s claims are completely absurd. I do not work for Lowes, or for Valspar, but since I was so frustrated by this paint I wanted to give full information and a comparison with a different paint that I normally use and am satisfied with.

Was this review helpful? (19) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JNLFG2
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
8/29/2013

Customer review by kyblugras

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by kyblugras
by kyblugras

With trepidation I purchased this paint for a bathroom. I say trepidation because I have always bought Olympic or Valspar from a home improvement store. However, being disappointed in the last paint I bought there, I thought I'd try Wal-Mart. I purchased the Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin which has paint and primer. I was extremely surprised but overjoyed with the consistency of the paint (staying on the roller and brush and not dripping off) and the coverage it provided. I only had to use one coat and it looks excellent. I've used paints that advertise they cover in one coat but they never do. This one actually did. The color I was painting over was fairly close to the new paint color but even so, other paints in similar circumstances still didn't cover this well. I will definitely go to the same brand next time I want to paint.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kyblugras
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Paint isn't scrubbable or durable
3/5/2014

Customer review by Nellysierra

1.0 stars 3/5/2014 by Nellysierra
by Nellysierra

I had previously purchased Glidden Exterior Paint -N- Primer in one at Walmart, the coverage (usually only one coat), scrubbable and durability was awesome. I wanted to use this paint inside, but was told I wouldn't be able to stand the smell inside of an exterior paint, so I purchased the interior paint -n- primer in one. I have no problem with its coverge at all. The paint covers very well, but when you need to wipe dirt off of it, it leaves a very glossy shiny mark on the wall where you wiped. And, all I used was a damp sponge with water on it only. It did clean off nicely, but you can tell everywhere you wipe. There is something wrong with a satin paint that you can't wipe off. My house had previously been painted by the prior owner with flat paint that showed all the dirt and stains and definitely wasn't washable. So, I hired a professional painter to re-paint almost the whole inside of the house with the Glidden Interior paint -n- primer in one paint that still isn't washable and am out about $1,000.00. Don't use this paint if you need to have washable walls because the paint definitely isn't washable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nellysierra
Decatur, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent One-Coat Paint
6/24/2013

Customer review by TeacherMomWife71

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by TeacherMomWife71
by TeacherMomWife71

I bought the Glidden High Endurance Paint at Wal-Mart instead of visiting Lowes to purchase my usual brand (which doesn't actually cover in one-coat as advertised). I could not believe that the Glidden covered in one coat; I have two gallon cans left over. Make sure that you are using the correct roller type--semi-smooth for use with eggshell paint.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TeacherMomWife71
Gray, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Is as thin as water
12/5/2015

Customer review by FixerUpper

1.0 stars 12/5/2015 by FixerUpper
by FixerUpper

I picked up a can of Glidden High Endurance grab and go in Granite Gray in order to paint a room in a mobile home. When I poured it, it seemed thin but I wanted to try it anyway. Putting it on the walls is inpossible. I started to trim out the room and it is almost invisible. It was pouring off of my brush. I have a picture of the area I tried to paint. I wish the site would allow me to post it. I am not sure if I got a bad can or what but I do not want to try again.

FixerUpper
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good value
11/18/2015

Customer review by Maxie

4.0 stars 11/18/2015 by Maxie
by Maxie

I just finished 3 rooms with the high endurance plus in a satin/eggshell finish. I only needed one coat to cover a flat mauve paint underneath. This paint dries very quickly so you need to really hustle when you start rolling and specifically overlapping. No problem with roller marks and the light sheen was exactly what we wanted. I obviously haven't needed to scrub anything yet but, I expect it to be very robust as the dried product has a heft to the shell. Overall, very pleased and will purchase again for other rooms.

Maxie
Fairhope, AL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A definite must! will be doing all our rooms!
1/23/2014

Customer review by MamaBruno

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by MamaBruno
by MamaBruno

We moved in to an entire house of teddy bear brown! The rooms are 13 x 13 so I didn't want to spend a lot of time priming etc. So we tried this paint. I used a very light almost pastel lavender and it covered that yucky darkish/yellowish brown no problem. One coat no worries. Dried in less than 4 hours! It was amazing to have the room painted in a day! I just did diagonal strokes then a layer up and down, and I still have a quarter of a gallon left. I was expecting to do a minimum of two coats, but was pleasantly surprised! We will definitely be doing the rest of the house with this paint as well! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaBruno
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Awesome paint - use the best rollers you can buy!
11/21/2014

Customer review by PracticallyAProfessional

5.0 stars 11/21/2014 by PracticallyAProfessional
by PracticallyAProfessional

I purchased this paint tinted to Vintage Blue 10787 and was seriously AMAZED at the coverage. I will admit that I am a paint snob, I only buy Sherwin Williams and have just assumed that no matter what paint I purchase, 2 coats is the norm. I was in a bit of a budget crunch and decided to give WalMart a shot because I knew for SURE I would need 2 coats because I had chosen such a dark color (which btw, if you're painting a dark color over light color, you should always expect 2 coats - you're a novice painter if you think one and done will do it as some of the other reviews have suggested). Well I was wrong about the 2 coats here, I only needed one coat and am SO happy that I may never buy Sherwin Williams paint for walls again! There are a few small touch ups I need to do but overall I am very pleased with this product. I have painted numerous homes and rooms and know that the paint job is all about the prep work and using the right supplies. If you're using cheap rollers and the wrong nap, you're going to get less than stellar results. I used ShurLine rollers with a 1/4" nap (also purchased from WalMart) and had amazing results.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PracticallyAProfessional
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very poor adhession
10/23/2015

Customer review by Puzzled

1.0 stars 10/23/2015 by Puzzled
by Puzzled

Glidden High endurance with primer and paint. I painted my cabinets several times and never had paint fail. This year I repainted my kitchen cabinets and after a few month the paint is failing! it is so very soft you can rub of the paint off like it had been scraped off and the under color shows. I used a medium gray color to cover over white. They are wiped down with soap and water, no chemical. HIGH ENDURANCE WITH PRIMER in a satin/ semigloss? I WILL TAKE THE TIME TO REMOVE THIS PAINT! I will not be using this again.

Puzzled
Michigan, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT PAINT/PRIMER
11/29/2015

Customer review by HAPPYHARRYIII

5.0 stars 11/29/2015 by HAPPYHARRYIII
by HAPPYHARRYIII

A very easy clean-up paint! covered great. no priming, one coat!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HAPPYHARRYIII
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great coverage
10/17/2015

Customer review by Happyhomeowner

5.0 stars 10/17/2015 by Happyhomeowner
by Happyhomeowner

When we moved into our home the living room was painted a dark orange! The color we chose for the walls was very light, frozen ice crystal, and we were worried about the coverage. We used Glidden in eggshell and the coverage was awesome!!! One wall we only painted once, because of the coverage! I also painted my daughter's bedroom furniture black using Glidden and it has held up reallycwell :)

Happyhomeowner
Indianapolis In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Covered Well
12/4/2013

Customer review by ArmyTanker

5.0 stars 12/4/2013 by ArmyTanker
by ArmyTanker

In the past we've used various paint brands. I've read reviews on different paints and they all have good and bad ratings. Last week we used Glidden High Endurance Plus paint + primer in our family room and are happy with the results. The family room is basically 18 X 20 with 8' walls and has a hickory wood trim about 3' from the floor. Above the trim was a light cream color and below the trim was a dark orange (looked better than it sounds). We bought three gallons of the Glidden 2 in 1 paint and have 3/4 gallon left over. We didn't do the ceiling. The paint is thicker than we expected, but evidently it's supposed to be. It went on fast and easy. It didn't cover the orange completely on the first coat but we didn't expect it to. Second coat went on quicker than the first coat, covered very well and the room looks great. We're happy with the end result. We don't know about the durability yet, but because the paint is thick we expect it to hold up well. Our kitchen is next on the to-do list, and we now plan to use Glidden 2 in 1 in there, too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArmyTanker
Southeast Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
great paint!
8/14/2013

Customer review by chelliebean

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by chelliebean
by chelliebean

i decided to paint my son's room a light blue since it was dark tan from the previous tenants....people who expect ANY paint&primer-in-one to cover completely with one coat are going to be disappointed! i've used high end paint&primer-in-one before and it didn't cover in one coat on white walls so having the light blue cover dark tan walls in 2 simple coats was a great result for me! i recommend putting on your first wall coat, then doing edges with a brush(gives your first coat time to dry a bit) then repeating the process.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chelliebean
aurora,il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Didn't meet my expectations of Paint + Primer
3/10/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/10/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I you're thinking that a paint with primer included will do the job in one coat, well then guess again. Using a deep red color, I attempted to cover both a light blue semi-gloss and flat painted surface in one coat. Applied a second coat, still streaked. Only after a third coat was I satisfied with the overall finish. Selling this paint sure is a great way for Walmart to generate additional paint sales needed to complete your job.

Was this review helpful? (40) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
So. Cal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Love this
6/24/2013

Customer review by lafears

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by lafears
by lafears

I looked through many samples before I decided on getting this paint. Mine is actually the Martha Stewart line that the associate told me was this paint made by Glidden. The label on my paint confirmed it. I am not sure why others did not like this but wow, I got the best looking ivory paint which of course was lighter than my walls and very impressed at the quality. It has transformed my living area and all can say is that it is looking very Pottery Barn around my place. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lafears
Baton Rouge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Great Coverage and durability
10/12/2015

Customer review by VCMama

5.0 stars 10/12/2015 by VCMama
by VCMama

Glidden is fantastic. It covered almost completely with the first coat, and the color is rich and durable. I have kids, and I have been able to scrub away marks without scrubbing away the paint.

VCMama
Ventura County, CA, USA
Terrible paint
11/4/2015

Customer review by Jvega

1.0 stars 11/4/2015 by Jvega
by Jvega

I usually use Sherwin Williams paint for all of my painting jobs. This time my customer wanted to buy the paint. This paint is very thin, drippy, and gummy. Took twice as long to finish one wall. Returning the paint and going back to Sherwin Williams. Spend a little more on quality paint and save a lot on labor cost and time. Lesson learned!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jvega
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product is super.
10/12/2015

Customer review by George50

5.0 stars 10/12/2015 by George50
by George50

I love the workability of this paint. So nice to cut in and roll out. It covers nicely and the finish is great. Super easy to use from a painter for 30 years. Love Glidden!

George50
New Brighton, PA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great coverage
10/14/2015

Customer review by karen59

5.0 stars 10/14/2015 by karen59
by karen59

You get great coverage from one coat. Love the color selections.

karen59
Grand Rapids, MI 49953, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy Painting!
9/26/2015

Customer review by lifeonprint

5.0 stars 9/26/2015 by lifeonprint
by lifeonprint

I purchased this product to repaint my dining room, as we have skylights that needed to be replaced, there was patching to be done. I was a little worried about the paint matching up especially on the new patching, and because I did not know what paint was used before, but it turned out perfectly! I love the finish and the true color! Thank you for a fabulous product!

lifeonprint
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1-20 of 48 reviews