Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

29 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

29 reviews | 3 out of 5

48%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
14
1-20 of 29 total reviews
48%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
Excellent One-Coat Paint
6/24/2013

Customer review by TeacherMomWife71

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by TeacherMomWife71
by TeacherMomWife71

I bought the Glidden High Endurance Paint at Wal-Mart instead of visiting Lowes to purchase my usual brand (which doesn't actually cover in one-coat as advertised). I could not believe that the Glidden covered in one coat; I have two gallon cans left over. Make sure that you are using the correct roller type--semi-smooth for use with eggshell paint.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TeacherMomWife71
Gray, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
8/29/2013

Customer review by kyblugras

5.0 stars 8/29/2013 by kyblugras
by kyblugras

With trepidation I purchased this paint for a bathroom. I say trepidation because I have always bought Olympic or Valspar from a home improvement store. However, being disappointed in the last paint I bought there, I thought I'd try Wal-Mart. I purchased the Glidden High Endurance Plus Interior Eggshell/Satin which has paint and primer. I was extremely surprised but overjoyed with the consistency of the paint (staying on the roller and brush and not dripping off) and the coverage it provided. I only had to use one coat and it looks excellent. I've used paints that advertise they cover in one coat but they never do. This one actually did. The color I was painting over was fairly close to the new paint color but even so, other paints in similar circumstances still didn't cover this well. I will definitely go to the same brand next time I want to paint.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kyblugras
Lexington, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Didn't meet my expectations of Paint + Primer
3/10/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 3/10/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I you're thinking that a paint with primer included will do the job in one coat, well then guess again. Using a deep red color, I attempted to cover both a light blue semi-gloss and flat painted surface in one coat. Applied a second coat, still streaked. Only after a third coat was I satisfied with the overall finish. Selling this paint sure is a great way for Walmart to generate additional paint sales needed to complete your job.

Was this review helpful? (39) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
So. Cal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
"Best Quality - Maximum Coverage"... not really
9/27/2013

Customer review by JNLFG2

1.0 stars 9/27/2013 by JNLFG2
by JNLFG2

So due to my short amount of time and need to pick up a few groceries items at the same time I decided to pick up some paint from Walmart (against my own better judgment no less) because I wouldn't have enough time to go pick up my usual paint from Lowes. Looking in the aisles of the paint department I found Glidden "High Endurance Plus - Paint and Primer." It was not the cheapest gallon of paint that the store carried, when shaken it didn't slosh around like it was just a gallon of water and the price point was very comparable to the paint that I would have otherwise purchased had I had some extra time so I decided to go for it. I was painting over a wall which had a color that was a couple shades darker (I’ve attached a photo in which the unpainted border against the ceiling can be seen) than the color I picked up from Walmart so I figured that with the paint and primer in one, a good coating with a well loaded roller and two coats of paint I would be just fine. The first thing I noticed was that getting the paint onto the roller itself seemed strange. As you are rolling the paint roller back and forth on the paint tray, the paint seems very thick, a bit strange I thought, and it required a bit more time to ensure the paint was even on the roller, but I thought it was going to be amazing once I got it on the wall… maybe I wouldn’t even need a second coat :) So before placing the roller on the wall I decided to grab a ballpoint pen and make a marking on the wall to see just how great this seemingly very thick on the roller, paint was going to cover since one of the main claims on the gallon of paint from Glidden is that they provide “Maximum” coverage. I also attached a picture after that first coat had about an hour to dry of the marking that I made on the wall. I did two coats of paint on the entire wall and the bottom color still shows through… I gave up on the entire wall. The “test” area now became a problem because it was obviously VERY visible. I have applied 6 or 7 coats just on the mark, and I can STILL see the word TEST bleeding through when the room’s lights are all on. I tried taking a picture of it but it doesn’t show well in the picture for me to provide it… but in person it’s still visible. Instructions state to give it about 4 hours between coats, and I gave it 3 between the first and second coat, 2 more hours before the third coat and after that I just kept throwing more coats on it when the paint seemed pretty dry to the touch hoping that the word would finally disappear... to no avail as of yet. Needless to say… If you are painting a dirty wall, over a dark color, trying to paint with a dark color, a wall that your kids attacked with crayons and markers, or anything besides a bare drywall that’s been primed, DO NOT expect this paint to leave you satisfied with your purchase or efforts to DIY (Do It Yourself). I happened to also be painting a different wall (using lighter colors with not that much difference between the original color and the new one I was changing it for) for which I took out a gallon of my usual paint that I knew had just enough paint left over in it to cover the entire wall. The paint was Valspar Ultra, (I’ve been a Valspar paints user for a long time and am always happy with the results). I decided to give it a test with the ballpoint pen as well. The paint goes onto the roller much smoother… and after just a single coat, not even a thickly applied coat… just a regular coat… there was absolutely NO sign of where I had written with the ballpoint pen, and that wall was finished without the need for a second coat. Valspar paint is usually around $5 more than the Glidden paint. (These are the prices in my area, and comparing it with Lowes prices which is where I usually purchase paint, meaning that it may be a little different in your area, and also depending on what store you would be purchasing paint from). The good news however is that fairly often, Valspar will have $5 off the gallons of paint (little inconvenient since it’s a mail-in rebate) which is why I originally stated that the price points were comparable. In conclusion, spend the little extra money to save yourself some time and frustration, or expect to apply three, four, or maybe even more coats with this paint to get real coverage (which may end up being more expensive since you will waste more paint). Glidden’s claims are completely absurd. I do not work for Lowes, or for Valspar, but since I was so frustrated by this paint I wanted to give full information and a comparison with a different paint that I normally use and am satisfied with.

Was this review helpful? (19) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JNLFG2
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A definite must! will be doing all our rooms!
1/23/2014

Customer review by MamaBruno

5.0 stars 1/23/2014 by MamaBruno
by MamaBruno

We moved in to an entire house of teddy bear brown! The rooms are 13 x 13 so I didn't want to spend a lot of time priming etc. So we tried this paint. I used a very light almost pastel lavender and it covered that yucky darkish/yellowish brown no problem. One coat no worries. Dried in less than 4 hours! It was amazing to have the room painted in a day! I just did diagonal strokes then a layer up and down, and I still have a quarter of a gallon left. I was expecting to do a minimum of two coats, but was pleasantly surprised! We will definitely be doing the rest of the house with this paint as well! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaBruno
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Paint isn't scrubbable or durable
3/5/2014

Customer review by Nellysierra

1.0 stars 3/5/2014 by Nellysierra
by Nellysierra

I had previously purchased Glidden Exterior Paint -N- Primer in one at Walmart, the coverage (usually only one coat), scrubbable and durability was awesome. I wanted to use this paint inside, but was told I wouldn't be able to stand the smell inside of an exterior paint, so I purchased the interior paint -n- primer in one. I have no problem with its coverge at all. The paint covers very well, but when you need to wipe dirt off of it, it leaves a very glossy shiny mark on the wall where you wiped. And, all I used was a damp sponge with water on it only. It did clean off nicely, but you can tell everywhere you wipe. There is something wrong with a satin paint that you can't wipe off. My house had previously been painted by the prior owner with flat paint that showed all the dirt and stains and definitely wasn't washable. So, I hired a professional painter to re-paint almost the whole inside of the house with the Glidden Interior paint -n- primer in one paint that still isn't washable and am out about $1,000.00. Don't use this paint if you need to have washable walls because the paint definitely isn't washable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nellysierra
Decatur, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome paint - use the best rollers you can buy!
11/21/2014

Customer review by PracticallyAProfessional

5.0 stars 11/21/2014 by PracticallyAProfessional
by PracticallyAProfessional

I purchased this paint tinted to Vintage Blue 10787 and was seriously AMAZED at the coverage. I will admit that I am a paint snob, I only buy Sherwin Williams and have just assumed that no matter what paint I purchase, 2 coats is the norm. I was in a bit of a budget crunch and decided to give WalMart a shot because I knew for SURE I would need 2 coats because I had chosen such a dark color (which btw, if you're painting a dark color over light color, you should always expect 2 coats - you're a novice painter if you think one and done will do it as some of the other reviews have suggested). Well I was wrong about the 2 coats here, I only needed one coat and am SO happy that I may never buy Sherwin Williams paint for walls again! There are a few small touch ups I need to do but overall I am very pleased with this product. I have painted numerous homes and rooms and know that the paint job is all about the prep work and using the right supplies. If you're using cheap rollers and the wrong nap, you're going to get less than stellar results. I used ShurLine rollers with a 1/4" nap (also purchased from WalMart) and had amazing results.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PracticallyAProfessional
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great paint!
8/14/2013

Customer review by chelliebean

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by chelliebean
by chelliebean

i decided to paint my son's room a light blue since it was dark tan from the previous tenants....people who expect ANY paint&primer-in-one to cover completely with one coat are going to be disappointed! i've used high end paint&primer-in-one before and it didn't cover in one coat on white walls so having the light blue cover dark tan walls in 2 simple coats was a great result for me! i recommend putting on your first wall coat, then doing edges with a brush(gives your first coat time to dry a bit) then repeating the process.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chelliebean
aurora,il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Love this
6/24/2013

Customer review by lafears

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by lafears
by lafears

I looked through many samples before I decided on getting this paint. Mine is actually the Martha Stewart line that the associate told me was this paint made by Glidden. The label on my paint confirmed it. I am not sure why others did not like this but wow, I got the best looking ivory paint which of course was lighter than my walls and very impressed at the quality. It has transformed my living area and all can say is that it is looking very Pottery Barn around my place. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lafears
Baton Rouge
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Horrible paint
1/20/2014

Customer review by jacamero66

1.0 stars 1/20/2014 by jacamero66
by jacamero66

This pain is absolute junk compared to other paints. High priced, low-end paint about sums it up. Worst paint I ever used in my life. For being a 2 in 1 paint, it required a second coat to cover an eggshell colored room. So my guess is they are skmping on the primer. Next room we're going to Menards to get a decent paint!

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jacamero66
Lansing, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Definitely not worth the money
7/1/2013

Customer review by SharonRS

1.0 stars 7/1/2013 by SharonRS
by SharonRS

I have had not-so-great luck with the base Glidden paint, but was promised this was a better paint so I decided to try it as I was looking for lower cost paint with a nice color. I didn't believe the "one-coat coverage", which was a good thing because it took 2 coats of paint. As someone else mentioned, it peels off with the lightest scratch, or rubbing against the walls. With putting my house on the market to sell I have had more than enough spots to touch up and fear even more when potential buyers walk through the house. Will definitely be returning to Lowes or Menards for my future paint purchases!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SharonRS
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Not good to use over a sanded laminate product
4/5/2013

Customer review by buzzybee1

1.0 stars 4/5/2013 by buzzybee1
by buzzybee1

I sanded with 220 grit a laminate, brown wood entertainment center. It took 3-4 coats to get it looking decent, but the paint comes off so easily with any scratch. I recommend using Kilz instead. I have had much better luck with it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buzzybee1
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
just horrible
7/14/2013

Customer review by leomia1

1.0 stars 7/14/2013 by leomia1
by leomia1

This product is like painting with water... it not only does not cover in one coat but can still see through on the third, spending a little more money will actually be saving time and money

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leomia1
akron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
This stuff is awful
3/3/2014

Customer review by aleroy

1.0 stars 3/3/2014 by aleroy
by aleroy

Scrubbable? Not. I have kids, and desperately needed to cover up their artwork with something more washable than the cheap stuff my landlord put on the walls. All went well at first. There was some bleed through on one coat but I wasn't terribly worried about it. Then my daughter struck again, this time with a dried up marker she found somewhere. I figured a damp paper towel with a little cleanser would cure it... and boy did it ever! I wiped and it took a big chunk of paint with it. Then half of the wall peeled off. That was NOT what i had in mind when I thought I'd get the marker off the wall. Good thing i have some extra but I'm going to have to redo this whole project with sanding, paint and primer AGAIN but this time with different paint.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aleroy
Greenville SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible Paint
8/20/2014

Customer review by Dallows

1.0 stars 8/20/2014 by Dallows
by Dallows

This paint is total garbage. It is very very thin and doesn't cover well. It took me 3 coats to cover over my beige trim. I had to put it on extremely carefully as it was almost as thin as water I usually purchase my paint at the local big box hardware store and have really gotten used to their quality. Never had a problem with their coverage and usually covers in one coat for nearly the same price! Do yourself a favor and don't buy this product!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dallows
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent paint
5/21/2015

Customer review by twisterlevi

5.0 stars 5/21/2015 by twisterlevi
by twisterlevi

I purchased one gallon of pale green to paint over wallpaper in a (mobile home) bathroom. Unlike what I read in some of the other reviews, I did wash the walls first (with a fluffy roller, dipped in Ajax cleaner, in the bathtub - I'm an older woman, so it had to be super easy). Last year, I had painted 2 walls in my bedroom (with a paint from the hardware store), and needed 2 coats of primer and 2 coats of paint. BUT this time, I only needed 2 coats of Glidden High Endurance Plus to completely cover the wallpaper! What a time-saver! Yes, the paint is thicker than most (I actually liked that), but it didn't spatter all over, like the thinner paints. I'm VERY pleased with this paint, and am already looking for more to cover the paneling in my living room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twisterlevi
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
This paint is awful!
10/2/2013

Customer review by anon1012

1.0 stars 10/2/2013 by anon1012
by anon1012

I was trying to paint over a very light color and new wood wainscoting and this paint would not cover it at all. It was like painting with water. It looked like thinned glue when applying then dried clear, its like I didn't paint at all.. Very disappointed for the high price of this item.. I wouldn't put it on even the $10.00 self..

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anon1012
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Doesn't spatter! Beautiful finish.
11/4/2014

Customer review by gaveuponname

5.0 stars 11/4/2014 by gaveuponname
by gaveuponname

I used both the Glidden grab and go white and the interior 2 in 1 in the egg shell /satin finish. The grab and go white covered a light blue ceiling in one coat. The 2 in 1 took 2 coats to cover the same color on walls. The first thing I noticed was neither paint spattered. When complete and dry, the finish on the walls was absolutely beautiful. The worst thing about the paint was that I had to have it shaken twice in about a 2 week period. That's a small thing for good results. Will buy it again and would recommend it. I will have to wait for time to tell me how well it stands up to cleaning and life.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gaveuponname
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Interior paint
8/30/2014

Customer review by kayt

5.0 stars 8/30/2014 by kayt
by kayt

I've read the posts that people had to use 4 coats of paint? I don't get it, I might do a second coat just to make sure I have everything covered, most of the time it isn't necessary. I use only Glidden and have for years. I tried another brand at my son's house (at his insistence) and we did 4 coats of that..over a lighter shade. It's Glidden for me, now my son is going to be using it too! I painted my bathroom this week just to freshen it up..looks great!

kayt
Largo, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GREAT
12/21/2014

Customer review by deewill59

5.0 stars 12/21/2014 by deewill59
by deewill59

I used this paint, did not drip or smell went on as exepected my room turned out GREAT will buy more so do not trust every opinion you read, but it worked for me.

deewill59
Baltimore, MD, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews