Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 82 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

82 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

82 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
5
1-20 of 70 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews
Very tough and powerful carpet cleaner
7/31/2012

Customer review by p38fln

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by p38fln
by p38fln

I purchased this as a replacement for a Hoover SteamVac 77 - the Hoover lasted two weeks then began to leak water from the accessory hose. The Rug Doctor is a commercial grade product, it's supposed to be the very same unit you can rent from almost any hardware store. The just color it blue so you don't try to rent it out yourself. The rug doctor is designed to clean when it's going BACKWARDS (I read the manual last night) - the water jet is in the rear, the brushes are in the middle, and the vacuum is in the front. This is so you don't walk over the wet carpet. I had just cleaned the carpet with my Hoover MaxExtract / SteamVac 77 on Saturday night - on Sunday evening, it broke. On Monday night, I returned the Hoover and purchased the Rug Doctor - and just for kicks ran it over the carpet again. I'm amazed at how much more dirt the Rug Doctor sucked from the carpet - just 48 hours after using the Hoover on it. It even sucked out small pieces of gravel I hadn't even realized were in the carpet.

Was this review helpful? (122) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
p38fln
Superior, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome
4/10/2011

Customer review by askell24

5.0 stars 4/10/2011 by askell24
by askell24

I have 3 cats, a dog, and a child on the way. Needless to say, I figured I would go all in on a good steam cleaner especially after we had bought 2 others for $200 and both have broken since. I have to tell you, after one use, this thing was fantastic. It sucked up things in one swoop that usually took 5 or 6 passes with my old steam cleaner. I was able to do my entire basement in 30 minutes vs 1 and a half hours because I only needed to do one or 2 passes with each cleaning stride. This thing is the real deal I promise you. I told my wife that it was the best $398 I ever spent and I totally mean it. It may sound weird, but I actually found it fun to clean my carpet. That is how good this thing is.

Was this review helpful? (339) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
askell24
Avondale, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Wow. Really Impressed.
12/20/2011

Customer review by whoknewbutu

5.0 stars 12/20/2011 by whoknewbutu
by whoknewbutu

I just moved back into a house I had rented out. and man were the carpets trashed. Had a professional company come out and clean and the carpets looked good the first day, but after that the stains came back. I cleaned half my carpet a week ago and the stains are still gone. Stains that have been here over a year are gone. WOW... Simple to use and alot better then every other cleaner i have ever wasted money on. Even though this was a little more money than some it works 1,000% better than any oreck or hoover i have ever owned. Only issue i have is it uses water fast, but that maybe me more user error since i was moving really slow since the carpets are so dirty.

Was this review helpful? (118) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
whoknewbutu
Jacksonville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best of the carpet cleaners
6/16/2011

Customer review by Rljakes

5.0 stars 6/16/2011 by Rljakes
by Rljakes

I've tried many other carpet cleaning machines and have always been so unhappy with their performance. This machine is 5 stars all the way. Yes it is a bit more money but worth every penny, it cleans in one swipe, is dependable and built to last.

Was this review helpful? (137) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rljakes
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
NOT as good as the commercial models I've rented!!
5/27/2011

Customer review by Jimmy76014

2.0 stars 5/27/2011 by Jimmy76014
by Jimmy76014

I purchased this machine about a month ago and I was very disappointed with it. My biggest complaint is that while the commercial models that I have rented in the past have brushes that constantly vibrate this one only scrubs the carpets while the cleaner is being dispensed. With the commercial ones I would normally make a pass while adding cleaner and then make another pass to scrub and vacuum up the remaining water. Repeating as necessary. With this machine you have to be dispensing fluid for the brushes to scrub so if you go back over a strip of carpet with the brushes going you're just adding more water. Speaking of water, with my carpet, which is a short plush piled carpet, I find that only about 20% of the water is recovered even if I go back over it a second time with just the vacuum running. The commercial version did a much better job of water recovery. That being said, this is still a decent machine and does a great job of scrubbing out stains but since most of the water stays in the carpet I don't know if I'm really cleaning it as much as just scrubbing the stains and letting all the dirty water sink into the padding.

Was this review helpful? (198) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimmy76014
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Outstanding appliance
12/23/2011

Customer review by Bobbo96814

5.0 stars 12/23/2011 by Bobbo96814
by Bobbo96814

I always wanted one of these commercial carpet cleaners, I have rented them in the past but it's nice to have one on hand so you can clean one room at a time, let it dry, then do another room the next day. You can clean rugs too, and there's also an upholstery wand you can use to clean the carpet in your car, or your sofa. This cleaner is so easy to use, there is a huge 3 gallon tank, a super long power cord, and this package already came with the cleaning chemical. Call me weird, but it's quite satisfying to see how filthy the water is when you drain it out, it's so nice to walk barefoot on super-clean carpet. This machine is not going to remove really stubborn, deep-down stains, you'll have to scrub those out by hand if they will even come out at all. It's louder than a vacuum cleaner, and quite powerful, but it's easy to use and you don't need a lot of muscle to maneuver it around. I'm very happy with this carpet cleaner, it's quite small and the handle folds down so you can store it anywhere. Don't let your neighbors see you using it, or they'll want to borrow it, LOL.

Was this review helpful? (58) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bobbo96814
Honolulu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
LOVE THIS MACHINE
9/17/2011

Customer review by Shirlee0000001

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by Shirlee0000001
by Shirlee0000001

Between my parents and I we've own both the the other brands. While they are good products they don't compare to a Rug Doctor clean. I recently invested in the Mightly Pro because my folks own several rentals that I've been cleaning and I knew the cost would pay for it's self in no time with rental savings. Plus it's nice to have on hand when the urge hits to clean the carpets late at night. No time limit, I can clean a room and a week later clean another. Or in my case, my shampooer no longer dispenanced soap, so when I did the bathroom I had to do the hallway, then I saw how dirty the carpets were and I had to do the livingroom, lol. This week I took it over and did a heavy use area at the folks house. When we get around to it, their living room is next, well maybe the 2 rentals and then the living room. It's nice to have choices.

Was this review helpful? (67) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shirlee0000001
Cabot, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great Product
12/2/2011

Customer review by ENGMAN1964

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by ENGMAN1964
by ENGMAN1964

WORTH EVERY DIME. IF YOU'VE EVER USED THE RENTED VERSION, THIS WORKS JUST AS WELL AND HAVING IT AVAILABLE 24 HOURS A DAY IS PRICELESS IF YOU HAVE PETS AND DOGS. THERE ARE NO NEGATIVES TO THIS UNIT!

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ENGMAN1964
JENKS, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Worth the money.
3/2/2012

Customer review by Val2020

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by Val2020
by Val2020

After wearing out 2 Bissel machines, I tried the Rug Dr. It's SO much better! Cleans better and leaves carpet dryer than the Bissel. Wish I bought it years ago! Very happy with this purchase. Miss the on-board attachments, but they can be purchased separately and I plan to do so.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Val2020
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/30/2011

Customer review by harrald

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by harrald
by harrald

I have lived in apartment complexes for 50 years in four states, and I have shampooed my carpet every 3 to 4 months. I recently moved to a new, larger apartment with a thick, fabulous-looking carpet, and I decided to investigate purchasing a carpet-shampooing machine. I visited several online vendors for rug-shampooing machines. I inquired with the manufacturer first and was disuaded because of price. Bizrate.com listed the Rug Doctor Pro 3 with Walmart for a discount of $300. Walmart stated the machine was in stock and could ship it free to the Walmart store in Houston, Texas, that I frequent in just two days, and would send an e-mail to me when the machine arrived in Houston. I am very pleased with the Rug Doctor Pro 3, and it performs just as advertised. The fact that the Rug Doctor Pro 3 was awarded a Good Housekeeping Seal confirmed my decision to purchase the machine from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (31) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
harrald
Houston, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Does a decent job
5/28/2012

Customer review by Markliny

3.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Markliny
by Markliny

I called rug doctor direct to find ot if this machine makes steam. I was told that it does but that is not true, it does not even heat the water that you put in. I bought the machine and have used it after my 2 dogs shed and messed up my rugs. It did not do as good a job as Stanley Steamer, but long term it will be less expensive and more convenient...the job it does is acceptable. You can see in the recovered water how much dirt you are extracting The pros are that it is rather simple to use and the products that you use with it are effective, readily available, and somewhat reasonably priced. The cons: The machine is not commercial quality as the advertising would have you believe, it is not really very sturdy and wants to tip over backwards unless you are wary of this, it does use a lot of cleaning soluton ( water with cleaner), and does not really let you know when you have run out of it unless you are really looking for it. Not realizing that you have run out of liquid can ruin the machine, according to the instructions. The handle is not firmly attached, it "gives" a little. After I used the machine, I looked underneath to get a better idea where the solution comes out and where the brush is. I found a mess of wet debris stuck all over the bottom, that had I left on would have been a source of mold and mildew. If you buy direct from Rug Doctor you pay $300 more (believe it or not). When I had them on the phone and mentioned this to them, they hung up on me. Overall, if I had it to do over,I would probably still buy the machine...the urine treatment that comes with it does work better than any other product that I have tried, including "nature's miracle" which is supposed to be the best.

Was this review helpful? (30) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Markliny
Massapequa, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
The mighty pro max 3 is so excellent
4/21/2012

Customer review by Jlallen214

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by Jlallen214
by Jlallen214

I bought one for my sister!! When someone in Your family realizes what you have, they're constantly borrowing it. Walmart sells them cheaper than anyone! Site to store is your best option. My other recommendation is to get the floor attachment and hand attachment. Walmart doesn't carry but you can get them online from rugdoctor.com. As you can tell, I absolutely love the mighty pro max 3 and highly recommend it to everyone that needs a easy and efficient way to clean your carpets and floors. The hand attachment allows you to clean upholestly in your home and in your car, motor home, basically whatever you want! It's a great investment. Get yours now!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jlallen214
Fort Worth, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/26/2012

Customer review by SpyderRider

5.0 stars 1/26/2012 by SpyderRider
by SpyderRider

I've gone through two home machines in the past two years and they just don't hold up. The cost of the Rug Doctor with it's 5 year warranty cost me less than the two previous machines combined and will last much much longer.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpyderRider
Rice, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
stunned
6/22/2014

Customer review by davevd

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by davevd
by davevd

I used this product on my carpeting, I haven't cleaned my carpets in excess of a year, since I burned up my $250 Bissel cleaner. I went over an area in my carpet that was soiled by soda pop. My Bissel didn't touch it, and had multiple cleanngs with the Bissel over the area. It had been in the carpet in a wide area for 3 years. I could shoot my kid! Anyway I took ONE sweep with this machine over the area, and soda pop GONE! I mean GONE! I was stunned. I have a large shedding dog and every time I used my Bissel I always had trouble with DOG hair clogging the machine. I didn't have the problem with the rug Doctor. I would never WASTE the several hundred dollars on the cheaper rug machines after using this product. If you can't afford to buy a rug doctor, then rent one, you will be surprised!

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
davevd
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
11/22/2011

Customer review by 1honeyb

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by 1honeyb
by 1honeyb

It works just like the ones in the store to rent..My hubby used it. He loved it..Worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1honeyb
Ridgecrest, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
This thing rocks!
4/9/2012

Customer review by klgemg

5.0 stars 4/9/2012 by klgemg
by klgemg

This is the best carpet cleaner I have had. We have three dogs and I am constantly using a the rug shampooer. I got sick and tired of buying the cheapo rug shampooer every six months to a year and after having this for a few weeks, I am certain it will last quite a bit longer and probably end up saving me money as I will not have to keep replacing it. This leaves my carpets far cleaner than the other cleaners I have had in the past. If you are thinking about buying this one - I would say definately do it!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klgemg
Charleston, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome design!
7/29/2014

Customer review by TurnoverWizard

5.0 stars 7/29/2014 by TurnoverWizard
by TurnoverWizard

Purchased this product for my Property Management company with over 200 units. It paid for itself on the first use bringing dirty, spotted, white Berber carpet back to like new! Not too heavy and quite compact. Buy it and try it! You must go slow over heavily soiled carpet to get it clean!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TurnoverWizard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/27/2011

Customer review by tekchimp

4.0 stars 12/27/2011 by tekchimp
by tekchimp

I have 3 dogs that still can't make it outside all the time. Needless to say, my home is not the right place for a white carpet, but thanks to the mighty pro, I can clean the rug anytime I want with professional results. The extraction process is superior to most rented systems and it has a good capacity in both the dispenser and extraction repository. It is easy to maneuver and use.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tekchimp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rug Doctor Mighty Pro X3
12/18/2011

Customer review by CtryatHeart

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by CtryatHeart
by CtryatHeart

It works as well as the rental ones in the stores. I only wish that it came with attachments. But, you can purchase them at Rug Doctor's site as well as replacement parts. I got the extended warranty, but then realized it has a 5 year warranty already. Nice steam and vac!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CtryatHeart
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Built very well. Industrial type quality
12/6/2013

Customer review by Arthur30

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by Arthur30
by Arthur30

Excellent machine. Wish it had an on/off switch instead of turns on when you plug in but other than that very happy with my choice. It is easy to use and easy to set up and break down when done

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Arthur30
Lexington KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1-20 of 70 reviews