Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

25 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

2.5 stars

25 reviews | 2.3 out of 5

32%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
11
1-20 of 25 total reviews
32%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews
Not BAD...but definately not good
5/4/2011

Customer review by iliketechnology

3.0 stars 5/4/2011 by iliketechnology
by iliketechnology

Bought it about a week ago and I'm taking it back. I'm relatively tech savvy, and I knew from the get go there would be some sacrifice for the great sub 200 price - just not this much. First, the good stuff. The sound is not bad at all, very good quality for the price. No one needs more than about 200 watts. Easy to set up - it was connected in 10 minutes and ready to go. Easy to figure out menus. Didn't even have to open the manual to make changes to the video settings. Always nice to be able to do that. Now, the not so good. The remote is not the best designed piece in the world. The scene skip and fast forward buttons are on different planes. That makes no sense. There are only RCA audio inputs (most likely to connect your TV). A lot of the newer TV's are digital audio output only, so this hurts your selection. And no, there is no Digital Audio to RCA connector - unless you're willing to spend $60 on an adapter. Next, the quality is not great. The face plate has a plastic piece that popped out after two days. It snapped back in, but that was not a good sign to me. Next, and the ultimate deal breaker for me, is that the Bluray/DVD player is louder than an original XBOX 360 - in other words, you KNOW its on, even with the audio cranked up. If you're not watching a special effects crazy video (say, like a comedy or drama), you will definitely know this thing is on. It's SO annoying. So in conclusion, if you can live with those shortcomings, its not a bad system and is relatively easy to use. I just wouldn't recommend it based on its shortcomings.

Was this review helpful? (73) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iliketechnology
fresno, ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RCA Home Theater
3/13/2011

Customer review by Jrogercsa

4.0 stars 3/13/2011 by Jrogercsa
by Jrogercsa

I bought this home theater system about a month ago and really have enjoyed it. For an inexpensive system it performs very well. It was easy to set up and delivers a very good theater experience. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jrogercsa
Brandon, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Dissappointed with Product
4/22/2011

Customer review by MrsOW

1.0 stars 4/22/2011 by MrsOW
by MrsOW

I purchased the product for a small loft area in my home. The set up was very easy out of the box. My first attempt to use the remote to power on the system did not work. I had to manually turn on the system with the power button on the unit. After changing batteries in the remote from the batteries supplied with the unit, the unit powered off. However, when trying to power the unit on again with the remote, the unit would power on and immediately power off. This process continued with several attempts using the remote. I then tried to power the unit on with the power button on the unit. Well no luck there either. The unit continued to shut off instantly. I checked all the settings (power saver and sleep) none of the features were turned on. So I called RCA for help. RCA told me to return the unit to the store. I did. I thought maybe I had a bad unit. So I exchanged it for a new one at a different Walmart store. Got the item home and went through the same process. The new unit had the exact same problem. The remote did not power the unit on and after turning on the unit with the power button on the unit, the remote would power up the unit only for the unit to immediately shut down again. The second unit not only would not stay on using the remote but got stuck in the off mode and would not come on again even with using the power button on the unit. Had to unplug the unit to get it to power up again. Not sure what the problem is with the unit, but it should not take 6 to 8 attempts to power on the unit with the remote only to have the unit continue to instantly power off. Like the apps, picture quality, and sound for the money. Don't like the power on issues with 2 different units. This second one is going back to Walmart. I'm going to spend more money for a better brand name unit. I won't purchase another RCA unit.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsOW
Plainfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
GREAT....WHILE IT LASTED!
3/26/2011

Customer review by savantswife

2.0 stars 3/26/2011 by savantswife
by savantswife

I bought this set for my husband for christmas. I knew it was too good to be true! It has worked great untill now..We just watched a movie on it last night. Wake up this morning and it doesn't work!! So it lasted 3 months!!! Also, when it did work it took forever to load up blu rays. Especially the something of high quality like the Disney Blu Rays!! It took 10 minutes for it to load Bambi!! I do NOT recommend. Save your money for a good brand that will last!!

Was this review helpful? (25) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
savantswife
Fort Bragg, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very inexpensive but very poor quality
8/25/2011

Customer review by SelfDestruct

2.0 stars 8/25/2011 by SelfDestruct
by SelfDestruct

Save your money and buy something else. This stereo is cheap for a reason. I was considering buying the Philips Blu-Ray 1000 watt system which was about $100 more than this system. However, I cheaper out and bought this one only to return it a few days later. The Good Parts: -The setup was very easy. -It actually sounded pretty decent. The Bad Parts: -The power button never really worked consistently. You need to understand that receivers like these that can display Netflix movies and video from various other apps are essentially little computers that have limited functionality; almost like an iPad, if you will. As such, the system has to power down much like a computer. The problem is that this unit takes forever to turn off and it is often reluctant to turn on. Often, there are many features which you press a button to activate and they would take 30 seconds or more to engage. It's like using an old computer only there's no hour glass to tell you that it's loading or whatever it's doing. -The remote is sort of cartoonish and just cheap feeling. -It did not work consistently at all in other ways. Randomly, the eject button would not work. In fact, when I returned it to the store, it still had a DVD in it because I couldn't get it out. Really, spend a little more money and get a better unit.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SelfDestruct
Would recommend to a friend? No
DO NOT buy this!!!!!!
10/14/2011

Customer review by T3I4A7

1.0 stars 10/14/2011 by T3I4A7
by T3I4A7

I am on my second one of these. Now I have to take it back again! The sound is really great, but the blue-ray player is HORRIBLE quality! The first time I took it back it was because the disc tray would not close. We tried everything to make it close, powered it off, unplugged it...no luck. So we took it back and got another one, this one now after 30 days is doing the same thing except now when you try and close it, it will reopen itself, over and over again. We put in a DVD to see if it would read it and NOPE! Anything we put in would say "Disc Not Found" and would reopen on its own. I will NEVER buy any kind of RCA product again after this! Very Very Unhappy!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
T3I4A7
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Yes, you're correct it is too good to be true.
8/5/2011

Customer review by dsrt

1.0 stars 8/5/2011 by dsrt
by dsrt

So I thought the price was a great deal for the available options and it would be if the unit had the fortitude to manage all the accessories. The first unit I brought home hooked up very easily but had no sound, it just buzzed like the speakers were full of thousands of angry bees. After testing the speakers on another radio in the garage I realized the unit itself would not work so I returned it and thought it was my luck that I had chosen the faulty one. Well I purchase another of the exact same unit, get home all goes well with the hook up and this has sound! It ran the preloaded internet sites okay, not great but managble. The next day I decided to check the weather app that is preloaded and just as the 5-day forecast comes up, the unit "clicks" the TV screen goes black and the "WAITING" message appears on the small screen on the front of the unit. I wait....and wait....and wait....and cook dinner and eat and wait. Then I held the power button for about 5 seconds till it turned off, well that was exactly the moment it gave up all existance, repeated attempts to pull the plug and wait a few seconds then plug it back in and try to turn it on were to no response. All this to say that within 24 hours I had returned 2 units where one did not work in the beginning and the second barely lasted through the re-run "Nightly News" download and one weather map. Do not buy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dsrt
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Save your money
5/23/2011

Customer review by oldhonestguy

1.0 stars 5/23/2011 by oldhonestguy
by oldhonestguy

This thing seemed like a heck of a deal. Stopped working after 6 months of very little use. The warranty is a full year so I called tech support. Those guys are as good as their crummy products! Maybe RCA could spring for new phones so you could understand what they are saying without having to ask them to repeat 3 times. Well, could be because its an off shore support center. I was told to try pushing a combination of buttons and to then observe the unit for a period of time. Didn't solve anything so I called back. I was told to try another combination of button mashing and observe the unit again. I spent more time on hold waiting for a tech than I did talking to one. The price of this thing did not break the bank. If I pay to ship it to them they will send me a refurbed unit once they determine my problem is covered by the warranty. Its just not worth it to me. I'm going to drop this thing in my electronics recycling pile and chaulk it up as a lesson learned.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldhonestguy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Enjoy it a lot
10/24/2011

Customer review by 1BuyingMama

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by 1BuyingMama
by 1BuyingMama

We received this for christmas last year and have had no problems with it. It was easy to connect & is easy to work (my 5year old knows how to work it & the remote). We enjoy using it, especially with action movies, makes you feel like you are right in the movies. Our RCA tv has great sound so this just enhanced it that much more! I have rearranged my living room several times, and its easy to take down & reassemble as well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1BuyingMama
Kinston, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
i think its great
8/7/2011

Customer review by thebeanerswife

5.0 stars 8/7/2011 by thebeanerswife
by thebeanerswife

i bought this product january 2011 and have not had a problem with it yet, i have it hooked up to my computher and my tv and it works great, i have several friends that have commented on the sound quality which is better than our old surround sound that we had previously owned.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebeanerswife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It has been a great Blu-Ray home theater
9/7/2011

Customer review by DelCloud

4.0 stars 9/7/2011 by DelCloud
by DelCloud

Easy installation and everything worked first try!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DelCloud
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not bad...not great!
6/29/2011

Customer review by thebroxter69

3.0 stars 6/29/2011 by thebroxter69
by thebroxter69

I believe the RTB1023 to be a descent blu-ray system for the price. It gets the job done unless you're a surround-sound, blow the roof off guru. What I don't like about it is that it will not connect to the internet through my router. I have to plug it directly in to my modem which means I can't use the internet on any other device while I'm using the VUDU service.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebroxter69
Hiawatha, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Too Bad, RCA
10/14/2011

Customer review by 5Monimom

1.0 stars 10/14/2011 by 5Monimom
by 5Monimom

I wanted to give RCA a chance because I had a few stereo systems which were OK and really affordable from RCA. Remote stopped working wondrously on the same day the play button on the unit stopped working. Replaced batteries, powered off and unplugged, but it would not do more than autoplay the DVD. I could not forward or play once the DVD menu came up. I really like my other blu ray player, its a Phillips. I thought as the technology got cheaper it would be ok to switch to an economy brand. Not so much! I am sticking with Samsung and Phillips. Never done me wrong in the past. I am just really glad this unit broked down before the 90 days was up to return it to the store. A warrantee would have been no good because I don't want this brand ever again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5Monimom
Palmdale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Remote Compatibliity
4/24/2011

Customer review by tvhead

3.0 stars 4/24/2011 by tvhead
by tvhead

The big hassle is the total lack of support from RCA regarding their remote and finding the remote code to make this and their other units functional with a universal remote. I do not need another component remote piled up on the coffe table in order to turn on the TV.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tvhead
Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Spend your money on something else
7/17/2011

Customer review by Zisca

2.0 stars 7/17/2011 by Zisca
by Zisca

This product needs a lot more refining. The remote is almost useless and even operating the player manually requires a lot of unplugging and waiting.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zisca
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Horrible Product
7/26/2011

Customer review by als79

1.0 stars 7/26/2011 by als79
by als79

First of all the wires are visually unappealing, second about 2 months after installing, there is a horrible buzzing sound. I am currently in the process of trying to return and hope that I still have the warranty. I got them 6 months ago..

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
als79
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible sound quality(DO NOT BUY)
10/5/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/5/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The system is terrible. I bought this system without reading reviews because it looked like a quality product from the box. I was wrong! I paid 200 dollars for a home theater system that has muffled sound. There is plenty of base but the sound is terrible, it is way worse than my cheap TV. I would not recommend this to anyone ever. The central speaker doesn't even work during the previews of the other movies which makes the sound quality even worse. I would not have paid 50 for this system. The only good thing about the system is the features on DVD player and the other reviews say that is terrible too. DO NOT BUY

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Value, Budget-minded
3/30/2011

Customer review by ComputerCritter

4.0 stars 3/30/2011 by ComputerCritter
by ComputerCritter

My wife and I purchased this player last night. Setup was straight simple, but an update for the player took seniority before we could watch a movie. Blu-rays take a while to load, but once loaded, the player's hi-definition really shines on the 40" HDTV we have...also made by RCA. The controller is comfortable and easy to use. Sound? Took a while to fine-tune (each channel can be individually set...a feature usually not found on budget-friendly systems), but once set the system gave impressive lows and highs with plenty of subwoofer power. Recommended for a first HD setup in an apartment, dorm, or home. This system may not be powerful enough for a large room.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ComputerCritter
Moberly, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My humble opinion on this Home Theater Unit.
7/4/2011

Customer review by fotoman72

4.0 stars 7/4/2011 by fotoman72
by fotoman72

We got this home theater unit from Wal-Mart and I hooked it up on the same day. I was impressed by the overall size of the unit which helps since we are living in a small apartment. The system was easy to install and I had it up and going in a short amount of time. This system does have great sound for a smaller system in the 500W range. I do have to agree that the unit can be slow in reading the Blu-Ray discs. I think that it is because I do not have the unit hooked into the internet and it is searching for maybe extra content or a license. Yes some Blu-Ray discs DO REQUIRE a license to be downloaded before playback. There are a few more little issues as well. The remote I agree with another user that the skip buttons are in a weird location. And like still another user states, I would have liked to see some different inputs for sound as well. My personal addition to the unit would have been to add a WiFi card built into the unit so I would not have to improvise a internet connection for the unit. But for a 5.1 system that is fairly small, it sounds better than the Sony one that it is replacing! Overall, I am very satisfied with the unit!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fotoman72
Crystal Coast, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/19/2012

Customer review by franny23

3.0 stars 1/19/2012 by franny23
by franny23

Good for the price. I am a female and I was able to set it up all by myself. The setup was easy. Instruction are pretty straight-forward.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
franny23
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1-20 of 25 reviews