Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 107 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

107 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
68
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 stars
11
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
Great Value
5/23/2011

Customer review by BarbecuingFanatic

4.0 stars by BarbecuingFanatic

Purchased this product because it is made by Char Broil co. Having owned their CB940X BBQ Grill for years I wanted to replace it. (Very Worn Out After Years Of Continual Use) I found the new one would cost in excess of $430.00 + shipping. No Way. I began searching for a replacement and finally settled on the Kingsford (Char Broil) 784Sq in unit and purchased it online from Walmart. It arrived within a week and had it set up in three hours. Fantastic instructions, step by step with a bolt and nut identifier in the back pages. I followed the guidelines and seasoned it as described. On the firetray I use a flat pan to hold my charcoal and wood rather than placing the charcoal on the firetray. Works great. The heat source height adjustment is grand making it easy to control proper heat. Just barbecued for my third time and the food was wonderful. This is a great buy and comes with many accessories like smoke stack cover, well made side shelves and tool hanger, storage tray at bottom, and more. Adding my favorite wood makes for great smoke flavors. My only wish would be that the metal were a bit heavier like the CB940X but then again I did save over $200.00 with this one. I would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (93) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BarbecuingFanatic
Pineville, Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Grill for experienced grillers
4/26/2011

Customer review by jcotchery89

5.0 stars by jcotchery89

I got the grill, and the guy who helped me carry it out said it was the heaviest grill hes ever lifted (126lbs) everything was perfect on it, good solid metal on it, everything is good quality on it. make sure to get a grill cover to protect the finish on it. I reccomend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? (84) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jcotchery89
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great grill
5/9/2011

Customer review by justlov

5.0 stars by justlov

This grill is very nice. It was easy to put together, I being a women it was every easy. The grill cooks nice, and has plenty of space for all your food. This was a great buy for the price.

Was this review helpful? (51) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
justlov
philadelphia, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A outstanding product for the price
5/6/2011

Customer review by Thinkit

5.0 stars by Thinkit

I love this pit, it was pretty easy to put together (this is always my concern) it cooks great and we have been cooking outside every weekend since we got it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Thinkit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great product
5/17/2011

Customer review by seadog77

5.0 stars by seadog77

I have had my grill for 8 years and it now needs to be replaced. The bottom fell out. I had to replace the pan where the charcoal goes on at 6 years. This grill would have probably lasted longer if I did two things. 1 I should have used high heat paint made for grills and given it a extra coat of paint. 2 I should have used the cover. which was hard to do since I grill so much it never cooled down enough to cover it before the rain/snow came.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
seadog77
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love, love, love
5/30/2011

Customer review by gmommee

5.0 stars by gmommee

I absolutely love this grill. I purchased one around 6 years ago and treated myself this year to a new one. The new version now has heavier duty grates and a smoke stack on top. I change the location of my grill depending on the number of guests we have so this time we put the bottom storage tray on upside down so items don't roll off the tray when I move the grill.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gmommee
Burlington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Almost great
5/20/2011

Customer review by baracuda74

4.0 stars by baracuda74

This thing was a nightmare to put together... set aside 2-3 hours for assembly, the sheet metal for the lid is so thin that if you breath on it hard it dents... the lid never fits properly against the bottom there is always a gap... other than those 3 things the grill is Great, very versitile, I have been able to do things on this grill I have not been able to do on any other grill I have owned. So I would recommend the grill to friends but would also recommend a few improvements to the manufacturer.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
baracuda74
Central Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Grill!
6/8/2011

Customer review by GrillSergeant

5.0 stars by GrillSergeant

I have owned this grill for about a week and so far I love it. It is made of strong metal and is very sturdy. No wooden parts to fade or crack. Very pleased with the way it cooks. Also, Walmart assembled this unit for me at absolutley no charge. A competitor wanted to charge $50.00 to assemble their product, no thank you. You won't find a better product for the price in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GrillSergeant
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Grill For The Price
4/30/2011

Customer review by grilldaddyaz

5.0 stars by grilldaddyaz

Our family loves to BBQ. We cook out at least 4 times a week. This grill is a nice addition to our lineup. We have already smoked a turkey, and Boston butts for pulled pork. Easy to assemble, easy to clean and a great price. we hope to be using this grill for many years to come. the only draw back is we just dont have enough time to use it more often. we are forced to use one of our other grills due to a lack of time .

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
grilldaddyaz
Tucson, Az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for the money
6/6/2011

Customer review by BBQ4U

5.0 stars by BBQ4U

This grill has exceeded our expectations for the price !! It was easy to put together and when assembled, is one beast of a grill !! Make sure you season it as described in the manual for longevity. Worth the money !!! Get a XL Large cover for it as well !!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BBQ4U
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
This Grill ROCKS.....;-)
5/10/2011

Customer review by NAZFromBama

5.0 stars by NAZFromBama

Totally satisfied....Love this grill. Awesome results and the staff at Wal-Mart were very friendly and helpful in getting the thing to my car, too. Couldn't ask for a more satifactory experience.

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NAZFromBama
Yucaipa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
7/18/2011

Customer review by Shoneka

5.0 stars by Shoneka

I bought this grill for my boyfriend who so loves it. He's extremly picky and very funny acting when it comes to his cooking items. It did overall take a while to put together. Been cooking on the grill since I purchased it. I have also been getting high praises for it. So thanks to the ppl online for these good views for helping me pick this great grill for my picky man.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Shoneka
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good BBQ - Poor packaging
6/24/2011

Customer review by Orez

2.0 stars by Orez

I am satisfied with the BBQ, but very disappointed with the packaging. To begin with, the carton was obviously opened before since the outer edges were taped with unmatching tape. And there was a hole in the bottom corner. When putting the BBQ together, some screws and flange nuts were missing. The shrink wrapped inventory of screws/nuts were pre-opened and some obviously fell out of the carton. You can imagine the disappointment/frustration when trying to put this together without all the parts. A trip down to the hardware store enabled me to complete the project. This is a very poor reflection on Wmart and Kingsford. Am not sure if I would do this again.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Orez
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Love my grill
6/11/2012

Customer review by TheThomasJ

4.0 stars by TheThomasJ

As a seasoned BBQer I really like this grill. Lot's of room to work with the Metal is a little thin but it's seems to be tempered enough that it keeps the heat locked in. I have had this grill up to 600* & am able to maintain 500* for extended periods of time. The adjustable fire rack is a great feature that every serious BBQer, charcoal or gas should have. The warming rack provides lot's of room to accomplish numerous things. There are several small features that I like that really make this grill a great vaule. one being the grill has 4 wheels & two of them are lockable. Very usefull for easy transport & knowing that's it's secure from rolling is one less thing I have to worry about. dual folding trays with hooks. Many grills that are twice as much don't offer two trays. The grill also comes with a tool to remove & replace the grates if the grill is to hot to touch. It's add on's like this that really make this grill a great vaule. The charcoal door is great for stoking the fire, adding more charcoal or moving charcoal from one side to another if needed for a variety of reasons. I have been able to use this grill as a poor mans smoker & the food cooked very well. Since i'm able to maintain such a high tempature for extended periods of time I have cooked pizza & baked bread on it as well. The only negative in my eyes is that it's not bigger & it's not made in America

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheThomasJ
Staten Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great design, terrible quality
4/14/2012

Customer review by jameseh

2.0 stars by jameseh

I loved the design of this when I saw it in the store. A nice amount of cooking space, an ash tray so you can empty the charcoal onto the garden, a telescopic grill plate for buns, a pan for the coals than can be raised to control the amount of smoke/direct heat cooking... When I got it home there were dents and bends everywhere! There was rust on the weld-seams inside the lid, nobbles of extra metal on everything, scratches, paint flaking. I went back to a different store and bought another, but the quality was the same. Except this time, the lid wasn't even painted on the inside! The problem is, everything is squeezed tight together inside the box, with everything inside the lid. The lid had the most dents warps. The metal is very thin and easy to bend, but when its assembled its quite sturdy. With the 2 sets I now had, I was able to get a reasonable assortment of 'good' parts, but still had to compromise on a few dings. Then I took back the bad set. * I shall be spray-painting the grill with fire-proof flat-black paint to cover all the missed spots, rusty seams, etc.* It takes 3 hours to assemble but its not complex - just tiresome. The English copy of the manual is very easy to follow, and its mainly just a case of putting bolts through each panel/leg into the ajoining panel. It really is simple to assemble and any fool should be able to it, providing they are patient. Every piece lines up perfectly. You just need to screw. I would say, if you can be bothered to deal with a few return trips to Walmart, you will eventually get enough good parts to make it happen. The design is fantastic, but the ship-quality is pathetic. Thats why its cheap, so as long as you dont expect a Rolls-Royce for the price of a Dodge, its a great option.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jameseh
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
6/18/2012

Customer review by lynchburgbull

5.0 stars by lynchburgbull

I bought this grill after my Weber of 12 years finally bit the dust. I grill at least 2 times a week year round. So Far i love the new one. It took a second pair of hands a time or two during the assembly , but it was easy enough. it cooks well, plenty of room. I like the crank charcoal tray, easy to control the heat. for not being a Weber I think its a great grill.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lynchburgbull
hurst tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/18/2012

Customer review by Mabes

5.0 stars by Mabes

LOVE love LUV this Grill ---I prefer Charcoal (due to my idea of FLAVOR) So, I went with this. I saw one (much more expensive) earlier the day of my order. I was tempted due to PRICE, to try this one --I was sure it would be a smaller grill than I had seen and maybe lesser quality-- BOY_O BOY was I wrong the SIZE is GREAT, the overall cooking area is befitting feeding a party of 45 with no problem --My son put it together took a minute (he is NOT astute in manual operations) LOL Offfice guy--Yet the BBQ was Delicious, we did corn, beans, salads, wieners, brats, spagetti and used the warming shelf it was GREAT love the size and durablilty. FINE 4 ME and my HUGE FAM

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mabes
Palmetto, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Wonderful grill
6/14/2012

Customer review by Bigmama90

5.0 stars by Bigmama90

I purchased this grill for my husband for Father's day last year. I gave more for it then and felt like I was getting a bargain. He sat in the living room and put it together (out of the Texas heat), bragging on it all the time. It took a while for him to put it together but he didn't have to redo anything on it since he read the directions as he went. Since then, we have acquired a son-in-law who would dearly love to sneak it home with him. We haven't a single complain about this product. I purchased a cover to protect it from the elements and it looks like new still, over a year later. Go on and get yourself one; you'll be happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Bigmama90
Denton, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Love It
8/29/2012

Customer review by Manny61

4.0 stars by Manny61

I'm one of those who likes to BBQ year round (weather permitting) and wore down my old BBQ after 8 years of continuous use. This model got my attention when I saw that it had a crank to raise and lower the charcoal tray to various levels. My last grill had 3 levels of hooks which I found to be annoying when I wanted to change the level in the middle of cooking. I also liked the upper level warming surface that I plan to use to heat up the buns and cook my hot dogs on since I sometime tend to burn the dogs while cooking alongside the burgers. I used the warmer for the first time and the dogs came out perfect for me. As far as the cooking area is concerned, I generally cook for 5 so the main area (527 sq inches) is perfect for me, plus the warmer area (257 sq Inches) just adds some extra space for guests. The main grill comes in 3 sections, so I can fit them in my dishwasher if I want to. The unit also has 2 dropdown side shelves (one with hooks for 4 utensils) which is good for me so I don't need such a wide cover. Another plus, is the use of cotter or hair pins to hold the 2 large wheels onto the axle. My last grill had cap lockes that constantly popped. Also the unit comes with 2 swivle wheels that lock which make it easier for me to move around. My last grill had 2 wheels, so I had to pick up one end to move it around. I like to move my grill around to avoid winds. The only complaint I have is when I put the unit together (took me about an hour and a half) ,the nuts and bolts used for the circular side vents did not work with each other. It was as if the threads were different. I ended up forcing the bolt into the nut and ended up stripping the head of the bolt. So far I cooked on the unit 2 times, once to grill chicken legs, and the once to grill burgers and dogs, and I'm loving my new grill already. I'm giving this grill an excellent value since I got lucky and caught this on sale for $99.00 this past weekend. Happy Grilling to all!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Manny61
Wappingers Falls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good grill at a great value.
7/13/2011

Customer review by grillmasterseargent

4.0 stars by grillmasterseargent

Putting this grill together was definitely a 2 man job which took about 1.5 hours. The instructions were pretty straight forward and easy to read. My immediate impression when putting it together was that the metal was a little thinner than I had hoped, but for the price, it's still a very good value. When it was finally set up, the whole unit felt pretty sturdy, with just a little wobble. The cooking grates were very heavy, and the tool that they included for removing the grates is very helpful. The shelves are very useful, and the thermometer, air vents, and chimney all work properly. Probably my favorite feature is the ability to raise and lower the charcoal to the grate to increase or decrease heat on the food. I've owned this grill for 2 weeks and have cooked burgers, steaks, pizza, kabobs, and chicken on it. Very consistent heat, good adjustments, easy to use, easy to clean, great grill overall!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
grillmasterseargent
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 96 total reviews