Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-20 of 23 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Excellent new edition!
10/11/2011

Customer review by CuteEverythingcom

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by CuteEverythingcom
by CuteEverythingcom
Top 100 contributor

I've been a huge Betty Crocker fan my whole life. The Betty Crocker Cookbook was the the one cookbook in my home growing up and I loved to look through it and learn about all the delicious possibilities. As I grew older I started collecting vintage Betty Crocker cookbooks and I still refer back to them and their clear and accessible recipes for the home cook. So, I was very interested to see the new 11th edition of the Betty Crocker Cookbook: 1500 Recipes for the Way You Cook Today, with all the classic recipes mixed with new ones. This new Betty Crocker Cookbook edition has many extras that are a big help in perfecting your cooking and baking techniques. I loved the "Learn to Make" additions, which give detailed explanations for popular recipes and compare in photos more or less successful versions of a recipe, while teaching how to achieve the perfect result. Now I know why my chocolate chip cookies are always flat -- the butter was too soft and the cookie sheet too hot. Many of the recipes have been updated from the originals and are now labeled as Lower Calorie, Fast, New Twist, etc., for convenience. I was excited to see current recipes like No-Knead Artisan Bread, which has several variations. An interesting new chapter was "Do It Yourself" where they give information on eating local, canning, making your own spice mixes and more. I'm definitely making some Chai Mix (an Indian tea with milk and spices), to have on hand. I was glad to see sections on Slow Cooker Suppers and 20 Minutes or Less meals included in Betty Crocker Cookbook. There is also lots of variety from the old stand-bys, like the eleven types of deviled eggs or eight sweet and savory spreads for bread offer. One aspect of the Betty Crocker Cookbook that stood out to me was the frequent addition of recipes from cultures all around the world. I really appreciated having easy access to many of our family's ethnic favorites, while giving us the opportunity to try out new ones, like Cajun Chicken or Moroccan Chickpeas. There is even a full section on Vegetarian Cooking with beautiful photos and excellent information and recipes to assist in incorporating vegetarianism into your lifestyle (even if just occasionally). Betty Crocker sure is keeping up with the times! And it's not just a cookbook, but it's more like an excellent course on gaining greater cooking skills.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CuteEverythingcom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 100 contributor
Good eats
1/23/2016

Customer review by Carey

5.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Carey
by Carey

The best cookbook ever

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ringbound not a hardcover
12/20/2012

Customer review by Danni34

1.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Danni34
by Danni34
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This recipe book has AMAZING recipes, as I am sure everyone all ready knows. It is pretty much every girls first cookbook. I tried to buy this cookbook on Amazon.com and it mentioned that it was a ring bound edition. On Walmart site, it stated that the cookbook was in hardcover. This is false. It is ringbound as well. Ringbound recipes do not hold up well. The pages are flimsy and they always get mangled after only a few months use. I returned it, and will keep my eye out for another Betty Crocker Big Cookbook in the Hardcover format. It is usually more expensive, but a hardcover book will last much longer and is worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danni34
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
beautiful cookbook
12/8/2015

Customer review by Divashopper

5.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Divashopper
by Divashopper

Bought this for my Granddaughter who is in culinary school, thought she might like this an have fun with the recipes.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Divashopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great cookbook.
1/8/2016

Customer review by GeorgiaMimi60

5.0 stars 1/8/2016 by GeorgiaMimi60
by GeorgiaMimi60

Bought this for my daughter for Christmas. I have one that is 35 years old and it is a great cookbook with illustrations and instructions for everything.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeorgiaMimi60
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/29/2013

Customer review by madhungarian63

5.0 stars 5/29/2013 by madhungarian63
by madhungarian63

Growing up in the 60/70s I would always be in the kitchen with my mom helping her cook/bake. She would always pull out Betty to refer. Now today 2013 my mom(78) still has her original hardcover betty crocker book circa 1953. rubberbanded and duct taped together which my sistes are fighting over. As the youngest, I decied to get my own copy. This one is now the only cookbook in my kitchen. All the tried and true recipes are there and some new favorites from the breakfast/brunch section. I like all the pictures of the different veggies/cuts of meat etc. It is wonderful and I would have paid more than the $18 plus for this book. A must have for every cook new and old

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madhungarian63
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/2/2012

Customer review by gayleflamingo

5.0 stars 10/2/2012 by gayleflamingo
by gayleflamingo

I love Betty Crocker Cookbook! My original cookbook was lost in a move and I was lost without this book. Walmart provided quick delivery service so I didn't have too go long without the cookbook. I picked it up in the store and was treated extremely well. The cashier was very helpful and friendly. Thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gayleflamingo
Elk Grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
EXCELLENT BOOK FOR BOTH BEGINNER AND PROFESIONAL.
1/6/2014

Customer review by LAURAUNT6

5.0 stars 1/6/2014 by LAURAUNT6
by LAURAUNT6
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

GREAT BOOK-- IT HAS ALOT OF THE RECIPES I USED WHEN I WAS HEAD CHEF AT TRAINER'S RESTAURANT--USE IT TO HELP JOG MY MEMORY WHEN COOKING FOR FRIENDS AND MYSELF.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LAURAUNT6
SLATINGTON , PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful Cookbook
11/23/2011

Customer review by psn1

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by psn1
by psn1

My mother bought me my Betty Crocker Cookbook when I got married 31 years ago and use it all the time. Great cookbook. I'm buying one for my daughters now.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
psn1
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not a hardcover book
12/19/2013

Customer review by JerzeeBoy

2.0 stars 12/19/2013 by JerzeeBoy
by JerzeeBoy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Well I can't say I was not warned by another reviewer. The cookbook does come in a binder format rather than a hardcover as the description calls for, but when you wait till the last minute to go Xmas shopping, beggars can't be choosy. The rating I gave it was based solely based on the product's poor description. There are advantages to both styles. I just like to know what I truly am getting before it arrives.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JerzeeBoy
Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The best cookbook available
10/26/2012

Customer review by NewHampshire

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by NewHampshire
by NewHampshire
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I had my Mother's old Betty Crocker cookbook. It must have been at least 75 years old, and really worn out. This new addition is really excellent. There is so much more detailed cooking information included as well. If you cook a lot, like I do, this well really help you, and you will not have to refer to other cookbooks.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewHampshire
Northfield, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wedding shower gift for my beloved granddaughter
9/30/2013

Customer review by RitaMM

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by RitaMM
by RitaMM
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been using a Betty Crocker cookbook for all my married life. I bought my first Betty Crocker Picture Cook book in 1956 for my Hope Chest. When 1975 rolled around, my original book was falling apart at the spine, so I bought a new hard-bound book - which is still in excellent condition. I like that it lays flat to any chosen page! This is a wonderful book for a beginner cook, as well as for a seasoned cook. If I could change anything, I would I have bought a hard-bound book, like the 1975 edition for my granddaughter, as it is stronger and easier to open.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RitaMM
Dubuque, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great price for great cookbook
10/28/2011

Customer review by Lavendy

5.0 stars 10/28/2011 by Lavendy
by Lavendy

I bought this as a wedding gift, so I really didn't get to try any of the recipes or look at it, but it looked wonderful from the outside!

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lavendy
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
cookbook
12/28/2014

Customer review by snoopy6

5.0 stars 12/28/2014 by snoopy6
by snoopy6

couldnt find this in store so ordering was great and shipped so fast

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snoopy6
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
100% Satisfied
12/2/2012

Customer review by Adilynn

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Adilynn
by Adilynn
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought two, one for each son who now live outside the home. I have had my Betty Crocker Cookbook from when I got married in 1975 and wouldn't part with it but after seeing their's, I have decided to purchase one for myself as well. It is more modern and up to date with new recipe's in each catagory. The price is great and I know it will last me the rest of my lifetime.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adilynn
Citrus Heights
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice cook book
12/16/2013

Customer review by Doctordo77

4.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Doctordo77
by Doctordo77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I really have not had a chance to use this cook book yet but just from glancing through it I would say it has all that I need or want in a cook book. I used the have one just like it and it got lost in the move to another state...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Doctordo77
Bonners ferry Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great selection of recipes
8/10/2013

Customer review by 101Teedy

3.0 stars 8/10/2013 by 101Teedy
by 101Teedy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This cookbook has many great selections. It has difficult for me to read the fine print and many of the pages stuck together where they were bound in the book. The pages were thin and many would tear when carefully tried to separate them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
101Teedy
Fairfield, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent quality - layout great, durable pages
1/8/2014

Customer review by realqaguy

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by realqaguy
by realqaguy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are looking forward to effective use of it and it's exciting, easy to use recipes. Our last edition of this same book lasted 57 years and got so dog-eared, it was in need of this wonderful upgrade.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
realqaguy
Kansas City MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Books for novice or experienced.
12/22/2011

Customer review by Grama68

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by Grama68
by Grama68

I learned to cook with the Orginal copy of Betty Crocker. Therefore - I am starting my granddaughter out with a copy and also my grandson got a copy. If you can read you always succeed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grama68
Brighton, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great cook book for beginners or longtime cooks..
11/22/2013

Customer review by yummyinthetummy

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by yummyinthetummy
by yummyinthetummy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great vauel for the price and wonderful recipes and great pictures all kinds of information...I love it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yummyinthetummy
Loon Lake WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews