Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

17 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

17 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-15 of 15 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great little Spin-cast
10/8/2011

Customer review by RETIREDATLAST2010

5.0 stars 10/8/2011 by RETIREDATLAST2010
by RETIREDATLAST2010

I have used these ever since they hit the market, great for light to medium freshwater fishing. They are great for beginners and are good little reels for a day's fishing at the pond or lake. I use them all year long pan fishing. They are easy to use and smooth to wind and have a good drag for a spin-caster. They will last several years with care and maintenance. Zebco quality has slipped over the past few years, but the 33 is still a good reel for the money.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RETIREDATLAST2010
Faison,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
7/21/2011

Customer review by okiefisher

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by okiefisher
by okiefisher

one of very few reels that could be used to catch everything from panfish to 10lb bass

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okiefisher
Soper Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/11/2011

Customer review by iowagrandpa

1.0 stars 11/11/2011 by iowagrandpa
by iowagrandpa

falls apart while casting far cry from the 33 of years past zebco has lost a customer

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iowagrandpa
Would recommend to a friend? No
terrible reel
6/3/2012

Customer review by trex1962

1.0 stars 6/3/2012 by trex1962
by trex1962

Having owned a Zebco 33 reel as a kid, I purchased two for my sons in April. One reel has already been disassembled and repaired. The other is now useless. The line becomes entangled in the gear mechanism and there is no easy way to untangle. Lasted four trips. Also, the gears are very cheaply manufactured and strip if you catch a fish of any size. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trex1962
Cookeville, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Zebco 33
4/24/2014

Customer review by WiseMagus

5.0 stars 4/24/2014 by WiseMagus
by WiseMagus

I've had several Zebco 33 reels...all of which performed flawlessly.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WiseMagus
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bang for the buck
4/21/2013

Customer review by MasterofReality

4.0 stars 4/21/2013 by MasterofReality
by MasterofReality

I own two of these newer 33's. They've both been very reliable, smooth operating, and problem free. I have several older 33's, and think these are close to being on par with their quality. Some asthetic issues I don't personally care for compared to the older ones, but I do like the ease of changing to left hand retrieve since I'm a lefty. Time will tell if they can make it several decades,lol. I will add this. I never cared for pre-spooled reels. I know that should save you money, but regardless who's brand line it is, it has always caused me problems. I prefer to re-spool all my reels with fresh. If you really want to use the factory line, do this: 1)Remove the spool, and soak in a bowl of hot tap water, until the water cools. That will help re-set/limp the the factory "coily" line. Make it less likely to knot up. 2)Remove several arms lengths of line. Both new ones I purchased were clearly over lined, which leads to wrap-ups. Something I learned as a kid. 3)Apply new oil to the mechs. 4) Dont exceed 12lb test line, or .014(just personal experience). Also, buy a decent rod! A good 6+ft medium action with a fast tip. Something you can work with!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MasterofReality
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
9/4/2012

Customer review by Roger357

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by Roger357
by Roger357

Same old reliable reel as when I was A kid

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roger357
Okc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
worth every penny
3/23/2014

Customer review by Jp3324

4.0 stars 3/23/2014 by Jp3324
by Jp3324

This is the best reel for the price far casting and smooth brought in a 10lb channel cat with this reel. Some reviews talk about lines braking tangling one thing I learned years ago never use the line that comes with the reel there cheap. I would have gave 5 star if it did not have that red pull apart line in it. Just buy a small spool of fishing line. I myself like spiderwire it don't cost to much and works very well. any will do and you will see just how great this reel is have used it many times with no issues.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jp3324
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
red cast line
1/23/2014

Customer review by crawfishbill

4.0 stars 1/23/2014 by crawfishbill
by crawfishbill

most of the problems with this reel is the red cast line. zebco cajun line comes in red cast, lightning, and advantage. i only use lightning, and advantage. advantage is a copolymer and is there best line. you can buy all of these in a clear version. zebco say's the red line is hard for fish to see under 3 feet of water, but i am not sold on them yet. there is alot of good fishing line out there, trilene, suffix, stren, spider wire just a few, my problem with these new reels is how easy the covers can come off. if the line is not broken then the front cover is okay, but if the back comes off and falls in water, then it's lost. the older reels had a lock screw to prevent this. to day every thing is about money, and now zebco has a new 2014 33 reel so , is it better. i can only say time will tell. i still have 3, 33 reels that i have had for 45 years and i still use them, they have USA on them. go to zebco.com to see the new 2014 33's you may want to wait. one trick i used was silacon sealent to glue the back covers on between servicing. this does not glue them permanently. good fishing, crawfishbill

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crawfishbill
texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Total junk
5/2/2013

Customer review by JohnnyWayneM

1.0 stars 5/2/2013 by JohnnyWayneM
by JohnnyWayneM

Terrible value for money. I bought this thinking it would be as good as the Zebco 33 reels from decades past. The action on this reel is so bad it won't cast at all if you have less than several hundred feet of like installed. At that volume, the line tangles up inside the reel. Complete garbage.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnnyWayneM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not satified
5/1/2013

Customer review by flyrodman56

1.0 stars 5/1/2013 by flyrodman56
by flyrodman56

Zebco use to be a name one could trust but the reels today DO NOT have the same quality as of old.I bought two 33 reels.On one the line was very poor quality,the line would break just when casting,the other reel when i would try to cast the line would always catch on something inside the cap.Ended up taken them both back and buying 2 reels by another make. Zebco what has happen to your products over the years, very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flyrodman56
Laurinburg,NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Best closed-face reel made in the USA.
8/24/2014

Customer review by Upperpond

5.0 stars 8/24/2014 by Upperpond
by Upperpond

This is the thrid Zebco 33 I've bought. The first was purchased in 1968, and I still use it. The next one I gave as a present to my nephew in 1972 (still in use). If anything, this most recent reel is the smoothest so far. I also like that it is pre-spooled with good quality line.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Upperpond
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel!
8/12/2014

Customer review by FredericksburgGuy

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by FredericksburgGuy
by FredericksburgGuy

Ordered through ship to store. Arrived at store crushed. Good thing is Walmart called me right away told me reel was crushed and they had credited my card. Great service from Walmart, saved me a trip to store. I have another reel like this one and it is great. This one was for another rod.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FredericksburgGuy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
THE CAJUN LINE IS THE PROBLEM
5/25/2013

Customer review by GraceInSavannah

3.0 stars 5/25/2013 by GraceInSavannah
by GraceInSavannah

My mom is mid 70s, fishes ALL the time and this is her reel of choice. BUT she DOESN'T like that it now comes with the CAJUN LINE. That's the problem, not the reel itself. The cajun line tangles inside the reel and breaks easily. I have looked everywhere for a Zebco 33 without the cajun line and cannot find one!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GraceInSavannah
Savannah, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Locked up after 10 casts
9/5/2014

Customer review by Ready4C

1.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Ready4C
by Ready4C

I love Zebco reels - own quite a few. This one, however, did not live up to the Zebco name. Failed after 10 casts - line didn't tangle on the spool, but under the internal oscillating cover. Couldn't get to the line to untangle it. Reel is locked and won't cast or retrieve. Returning the reel in the morning.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ready4C
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.