Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

46 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

46 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-20 of 41 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
Works well, and does not need external power.
6/23/2011

Customer review by r00t

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by r00t
by r00t

I ran out of HDMI ports on my TV. I decided to get this switch to share a port between my PS3 and my OnLive Microconsole. It came with a short HDMI cable to put between the TV and this switch. I connected the OnLive microconsole on port 2 and the PS3 on port. It automatically switches to the PS3 when is on, when i power off the PS3 it automatically switch back to the microconsole. Just like I wanted. It does not need an external AC adapter, and it comes with the required short HDMI cable. The only issue I have with it is the blue LED it is sooo bright it illuminates the entire back of the TV. I didn't like that, so I just put it face down and problem solve. I got it from here because it was the cheapest place I found online, even cheaper than the site with the eggs.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
r00t
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best $25 I ever spent!
8/26/2011

Customer review by Trent2011

5.0 stars 8/26/2011 by Trent2011
by Trent2011

So I searched every where for a product that would be able to support my xbox and cable for my tv. My tv has only one hdmi port. This porduct was not only simple but it came with its own hdmi cable so that it can be inserted in the tv hdmi port. There is a primary and secondary port for this product. I put my xbox as the primary and cable secondary. So whenever I want to jump on the xbox all I have to do is turn it on. If I want to go back to cable I just turn off the xbox and instantly goes back to the secondary port, cable. Awesome product. So simple. So efficient. So affordable.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trent2011
Yorktown, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Need a 2nd HDMI input for your home theater...
4/25/2011

Customer review by Ghostdog61

5.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Ghostdog61
by Ghostdog61

...well look no further. The StarTech 2-Port Auto High Speed HDMI Switch is exactly what your looking for, Easy to install and use. With plug and play and no download disks, this dual HDMI input single output makes it easy for novice users as well as audio/videophiles. You won't find a more inexpensive solution that provides optimum results for the money anywhere.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ghostdog61
Punta Gorda, FL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Product Warning
4/12/2013

Customer review by Guzda

4.0 stars 4/12/2013 by Guzda
by Guzda

The switch was a very good value and it works very well, just as advertised. However a buyer should be aware of one thing. If you have Dish Network as your TV provider, this would not be a good idea to buy. The Dish receiver has a screen saver that is on when the unit is off. Therefore the video signal is always on and won't let the switch do its job. Even if you press the manual button, the unit returns to the dish receiver. Dish tech department offered no help with the problem at all. I now use the switch to go between two different Blue ray players. It works fine now that the screen saver is gone from the hookup.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Guzda
Valparaiso IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far, so good
12/8/2013

Customer review by gone2town

5.0 stars 12/8/2013 by gone2town
by gone2town

I've only been using this little HDMI switch for a few days. So far, it is working great. Just plug the HDMI cables from your two HDMI input devices (in my case, it was the bluray, and cable box) into the "IN" ports and then plug the HDMI output cable that goes to the output device (for me, it's the TV) into the "OUT" port. That's it. The switch derives it's power from the HDMI cables to light the indicator LEDS, and enable the internal electronic switch (so no need for a power connection to it). Push a button on the face to switch between the two input devices. Pretty easy. The switch is tiny, and will fit anywhere that is convenient, but the LEDs are bright. I have it behind my equipment cabinet so that the light from the LEDS doesn't distract when room is darkened to watch a movie or something. Anyway, this switch works well, and I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gone2town
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for the $'s
3/26/2011

Customer review by jkarrtunz

5.0 stars 3/26/2011 by jkarrtunz
by jkarrtunz

It does not switch automatically as advertised. However, works manually.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jkarrtunz
Kinnelon, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works
1/22/2014

Customer review by scoopsfl

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by scoopsfl
by scoopsfl

this works as expected

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scoopsfl
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
switch works great
2/23/2012

Customer review by olegrizz

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by olegrizz
by olegrizz

my tv has one hdmi input and i needed one more .i got this switch and it works as advertised,no more changing cables

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
olegrizz
Visalia,CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Switch works as advertised.
6/16/2013

Customer review by gystroup

5.0 stars 6/16/2013 by gystroup
by gystroup

I used this switch to hook up the DVD Player and the Roku to the same port in my TV. My TV only has 2 HDMI Ports and my other port is for Dish Satellite. It saves plugging and unplugging to hook up between the Roku and DVD Player. It came with a short HDMI Cable. Overstock had another short 12 inch HDMI cable. Works as well as direct hookup.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gystroup
Marietta, Ga. 30066
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Device Worked Great, BUT...
10/21/2011

Customer review by GetTheKnow

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by GetTheKnow
by GetTheKnow

The StarTech does its job okay, but the auto-turn-on feature of my Blu Ray player kept telling the StarTech I wanted it to switch to it, when I did not. The problem was solved when I put a surge protector switch between the Blu Ray and the power supply to it. Now, whenever I want to used the Blue Ray, I just turn on the surge protector switch and the StarTech switch automatically activates it. This works fine for me because I always use the surge protector switches for entertainment appliances anyway so they cannot draw energy when not in use. Bottom line, the StarTech works excellent as advertised.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GetTheKnow
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Doesn't switch between devices automatically
3/19/2014

Customer review by Tiigger123456

1.0 stars 3/19/2014 by Tiigger123456
by Tiigger123456

If you have a Time Warner Cable DVR, it will not switch automatically between this device and another. probably because the DVR is always "on".

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tiigger123456
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect...just as described.
11/11/2013

Customer review by tdrichard

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by tdrichard
by tdrichard

Perfect...just as described plus it comes with an additional short HDMI cable to allow quick and easy hookup without having to buy anything else. The perfect solution to a HDTV that only has 1 or 2 HDMI inputs when all your gear needs access to those ports.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tdrichard
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
JUST NICE...!!!
2/22/2012

Customer review by Jeysi

5.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Jeysi
by Jeysi

Easy to use. You don't need an adaptor and it comes with an HDMI cable(1 foot) HDMI was kinda short but it works perfect. Smaller than your cell phone and very easy to store behind your HDTV. It is a good buy plus it's "CHEAP".

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jeysi
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
So far so good!!!
1/13/2014

Customer review by CustomerCat7

5.0 stars 1/13/2014 by CustomerCat7
by CustomerCat7

I didn't want to spend to much on a HDMI switch box but I was not sure if this less expensive one would work as good. So far it has worked great. It's really small and very plastic feeling but it works well and that's all that matters. I do recommend.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CustomerCat7
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works as stated no problems so far
5/28/2012

Customer review by sparkey909w

4.0 stars 5/28/2012 by sparkey909w
by sparkey909w

using on a TV with only one HDMI port and I use my TV on the secondary port. This way when I power up my BlueRay it automatically switches. I have to wait for BlueRay to power up and connect ti the internet which takes but not to bad. When I turn off my Blueray it automatically goes back to TV. Only issues I have noticed is a couple of times I had to restart my Blueray to get it to switch correctly but only happened twice so far. Small device so space is not an issue

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sparkey909w
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works as stated
4/1/2014

Customer review by PassOnName

4.0 stars 4/1/2014 by PassOnName
by PassOnName

At first I thought there was a glitch with the HDMI switch but after disconnecting and reconnecting it the switch worked as advertised. I only needed a 2 port switch for my Dish receiver and DVD player. Works automatically without having to manually switch from one device to the other

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PassOnName
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Is good but ...
1/5/2015

Customer review by AlanGzz

4.0 stars 1/5/2015 by AlanGzz
by AlanGzz

It is a very good device snice it does what it says ... the only thing is that delay after changing from one source to another is like 2-3 seconds ... and after using it for a few times you would like to have a remote controller to switch sources ... but there is not. I would still recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlanGzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just Allright
12/5/2011

Customer review by thatguy62

3.0 stars 12/5/2011 by thatguy62
by thatguy62

I got this because I only have 2 HDMI inputs for my HDMI reciever, XBOX 360, and PS3. I hooked my gaming systems up to it since I do not use the PS3 very much. It works well most off the time but frequenlty at start up of my XBOX the picture and audio are very distorted (the picture has lines all over the place and the audio is a bunch of static). It usually goes away after a minute or two but is very annoying. It was to be expected for being one of the cheapest I could find and other than that it works just like stated.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thatguy62
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
flaky performance
4/25/2013

Customer review by AVCustomer60

2.0 stars 4/25/2013 by AVCustomer60
by AVCustomer60

The StarTech 2-Port Auto HDMI Switch, switching ports on it own, to the device that is often not active - ie no signal. Whats with that...? I am not impressed. I have not had time to call or otherwise communicate with the manufacturers service and support folk. I will probably be returning the device to Walmart or to the manufacturer in the near future.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AVCustomer60
Example, Not Newark NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great buy!!
5/15/2013

Customer review by Cobanfly

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by Cobanfly
by Cobanfly

Simple plug and play. Small device, no noticeable loss of signal quality. Does exactly what I needed it to. Automatic switching works perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cobanfly
Clementon, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews