Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 2.9out of 5 stars
2.9 out of 5 | 20 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
Sort by: 
1-18 of 18 reviews
1-18 of 18 reviews
Wasn't what I wanted
6/10/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ordering this cooling unit was a mistake on my part. As I usually read the fine print on all purchases I make, I did not on this particular item - I was hot and needed cool air - Let me say it DOES do what it says it will, however it puts so much humidity in the air it's almost unbearable. It cools by pouring water into the unit, which when it evaporates creates a very, very high amount of humidity. It's now in our shed. The product itself works wonderful, took less than 5 minutes to get it set up, buttons controls are easy to see and understand, but after using it for 1 week, there's no way to lower the humidty. Might be better suited for an outside building of some sort - garage or pole barn. I wouldn't recommend you put this in your house.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (60)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not Very Good
6/13/2011
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I live in Silver City, NM. Summers are warm and dry and the traditional form of cooling is with an evaporative cooler (usually semi-permanently installed, and blowing outside air thru the cooler into the house). I live in a travel trailer, not more than 350 square feet and I only wanted to cool the front (living area) half. Unfortunately, this unit performed only marginally. It did cool, but not much. I tried with only a little fresh air ventilation (open windows) and with a lot. It didn't make much difference; although with only a little fresh air ventilation, the inside air eventually got warm and humid.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (63)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Had to return
9/30/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Used it outdoor for 2 weeks hoping to get rid of the awful smell of metal and plastic it omitted. Moved it in to get some cool air for a small bedroom. It failed in both occasions.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
JUNK
6/9/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
THIS ITEM IS JUNK, ITS A GLORIFIED FAN, IT IS HORRIBLE AND NOT WORTH THE MONEY.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
a lot to spend for poor construction.
9/17/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This upper half is mounted incorrectly from the factory and the unit leaks. I spent a lot of money for poor quality.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
LEAKING!!!!!!!!!!!
6/18/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
3 and 4 years ago, I owned two of these and after the bottom cracked (my accident moving it over doorways), I purchased a 2nd that leaked, after a couple of months, for no apparent reason. Unfortunately, I did NOT purchase a protection plan for the 2nd one, sooooooooo, $500 down the drain. NEVER -NEVER NEVER NEVER buy this unit. You need to have it fairly close to you to cool you off in a large NOT TOO HOT room. I would NEVER recommend this product to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A siutable substitute
6/10/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I subscribed to a electric providers program that cuts off the AC compressor for a couple of hours during times of high consumption. Given the alterative of having no AC in a HOT dry climate, this unit works as intented. What else can you ask for. Well, one could ask for the unit to be a bit more quiet. Even with the blower on low, it is quite noisy but with all the materials the air has to go through, I suppose noise is a byproduct. Better to have noise than have the unit not perform. Looking at the manufacturers'web site, I didn't find this model. So, one can expect the newer models may be quieter, but for $30 less I guess I'll live with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great fan but not cool.
7/30/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After living with evaporative cooling for 14 years in the Mojave Desert, I had high hopes for this unit. But it didn't cool my apartment in Billings, Montana. The fan is very powerful, so at first I thought it was cooling. Then I left for a couple of hours, and when I walked back in it was much hotter than before. I bought an 8000 BTU portable air conditioner instead, and it actually works to cool my apartment. Too bad the KuulAire didn't cool, since it's truly portable, with no need to vent to the outside. That's what I wanted, but I guess you can't have everything!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great but not the Best!
2/14/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This product is great if you are right in front of it. any other place you don't feel the air and it doesn't cool the room down.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i have had my packa55 3 months now and it is by far the best investment i have made yet. my unit runs 24 hrs a day on med speed and does a great job. there is a lot of calcium in our water but with my buying a chemical called MK-47 which i can buy from Port-a-cool i have no worries about my unit clogging up. mk-47 seems a little pricy but well worth the money. it is a once a month chemical that works really well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great!
7/2/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The only problem I had with it was it was supposed to be beige and it was silver when it was delivered. My house is a whole lot cooler. I purchased 2 so I could have one at each end of the house.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great 'swamp cooler'!
5/19/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Does exactly what it is supposed to. Right out of the box, just fill the water reservoir, place it near a partially open window and you will have cool air in minutes. We live in Stockton, CA and the summers get HOT...this is a perfect alternative to the grossly high electric bills from using the central air.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/15/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I read other reviews before purchasing my Kuulaire unit. People in humid climates didn't like it. Those in dry climates did. I live in Colorado. This is considered a semi-arid state. Very dry! And I do like it very much. It makes our house comfortable even when the temperature is in the 90s.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
it works
8/12/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My mom liked it. She said its better than nothing. She almost 60 but said the wheels make it easy for her to roll from room to room when need be. Shipping took forever (a few wks) but Walmart has no control over that.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/29/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
works great as a fan but I can buy a fan for a lot less than I paid for this item, I put it in my bedroom and it did not cool the room. also, 5 gallons a day of water going into my bedroom does not sound healthy to me
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
WILL ONLY COOL A REALLY SMALL RM
6/4/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
THE ROOM I TRIED TO COOL WAS 8X10 IT NEVER COOLED THE ROOM JUST BLEW AIR EVEN AFTER I ADDED SEVERAL TRAYS OF ICE. I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS PRODUCT TOOK IT BACK TO WALMART THE NEXT DAY.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
3/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have not actually used the product, but am so glad i was able to find it at a great price, so i can have it in the summer when i will really need it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/21/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
When I opened it up it was broken
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643916, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-