Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

46 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

46 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 44 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Excellent appliance but.........
5/29/2011

Customer review by vettebob2

4.0 stars 5/29/2011 by vettebob2
by vettebob2

I would give this product 4 1/2 stars. Not 5 stars? Why? The sensitivity of the humidistat is not accurate. I want my area to be approximately 50% humidity. To achieve this I have to put the units setting at 60% and sometimes at 65%. The reason: if I set it at the desired 50% the unit will draw the humidity down to the 50% and in fact lower but, the unit will never shut off. It will 'kick off' so to speak but the fan will continue to run.....cool air comes out of unit indicating the unit is not needing to take out any more moisture. After talking with the GE people I have finally figured out how to make the unit run without the fun constantly on (see above). Also, make sure there is plenty of room/clearance on all sides of the unit. My 'lower level'(basement) is finished so with hallways and rooms this does not allow for the 'openness' these type of appliances need. I have it placed now so there is plenty of room on ALL SIDES. Other than this complaint I've written the unit does the job and does it well. The lower level is markedly improved, humidity wise.

Was this review helpful? (64) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vettebob2
N.E. Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
6/25/2011

Customer review by AllergyGeneral

5.0 stars 6/25/2011 by AllergyGeneral
by AllergyGeneral

I am throwing away buckets full of water (couple everyday) from its container. I think I need to throw the connect the dehumidifier to the sump pump. My basement was at 85% humidity and after running the the GE ADEW65LP dehumidifier for a day the humidity level went down to 50%. 45% is supposed to be the best level for humidity to avoid mold. I have put it at 45% but I have not seen it go down to that level so the machine keeps on running. My basement is about 2000 sq. ft. I have a feeling that it is due to the large size of my basement that it does not go down to 45%. I didn't see anything written regarding the square feet that this unit covers. Regardless, I think this is a great unit and I am going to get another one so that I can cover the large area of my basement.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AllergyGeneral
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT BUY!!
6/23/2011

Customer review by dash522

5.0 stars 6/23/2011 by dash522
by dash522

I am so happy with this dehumidifier. I have a very damp basement and within 12 hours brought the humidity down from 75% to 55%. You can hook up a garden hose and never have to empty the bucket. It is also very quiet compared to previous dehumidifiers I used. I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dash522
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unit didn't work as expected
6/13/2011

Customer review by KFAIradiogal

1.0 stars 6/13/2011 by KFAIradiogal
by KFAIradiogal

I bought this after Consumer Reports rated a similar model (ADER65LN) as a "best buy" and I had difficulty finding that model. I reviewed the manual and plugged this unit in two days after getting it by mail. The unit stated the current humidity level was 80%, so I set the humidistat at 50% and selected the highest fan setting. 36 hours later it was down a whopping 5% to 75%. I could tell there was some water that had come out of the hose. There was also some water in the bucket, despite the fact that the hose was supposed to drain all the water. But the bucket wasn't full. I had done laundry on the day I plugged it in, but given the capacity and the high fan setting, didn't think it unreasonable to see this attain a 55-60% humidity level in 36 hours. I unplugged the unit and tried it again on another day I did NOT do laundry - again, there was minimal change in the humidity level over 24 hours. I'll be returning this as soon as I can get it boxed up and back to a store. Dehumidifiers in general seem to be problematic these days. I had one that lasted one season, and this is my second attempt in the last 45 days to get a working, energy-efficient dehumidifier.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KFAIradiogal
Mpls, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Works just like I expected
6/20/2011

Customer review by GaryMcinTX

4.0 stars 6/20/2011 by GaryMcinTX
by GaryMcinTX

The dehumidifier works about like I expected. I have had it about 6 weeks. It replaced a Danby which quit working. I have had 2 Danby dehumidifiers in the last 5 years. They just quit dehumidifying so I decided to try a General Electric product. So far it is working great. The GE is noisier than the Danby but it does seem to be doing a little better job of keeping the area dehumidified. I use it in a downstairs living area that consists of a laundry room, bath room, bedroom and hall, approximately 450 sq feet. We live right on the coast so humidity is a problem particularly in the spring and fall while we are not running the heater or air conditioner very much. So far, I would recommend it. I would have given it 5 stars if it were a little quieter. I have it installed with a drain and run it continuously since it was installed.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GaryMcinTX
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/14/2011

Customer review by cdsc96

5.0 stars 6/14/2011 by cdsc96
by cdsc96

Does a great job and has, so far, met all of my expectations. Waiting to see how energy efficient it is. My first dehumidifier and I have been very pleased with it so far.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cdsc96
Upstate, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/19/2011

Customer review by Norm12

3.0 stars 6/19/2011 by Norm12
by Norm12

Kind of loud but tolerable if you use low fan speed; in a basement would be more tolerable. Owner's manual is very vague.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Norm12
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
6/13/2011

Customer review by gosseylucy

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by gosseylucy
by gosseylucy

This is a great dehumidifier. Easy to use with great displays. Have only used it for a couple weeks, but it has removed an incredable amount of moisure from my basement.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gosseylucy
Mn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Dehumidifer
6/24/2011

Customer review by goboy

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by goboy
by goboy

This Dehumidifer is the best one I have had we live in a house trailer and it has done a every good job. Thank You

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goboy
Cushing Wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/12/2011

Customer review by YouCanCallMeRay

4.0 stars 8/12/2011 by YouCanCallMeRay
by YouCanCallMeRay

I just recently received the dehumidifier and have not used it long. However, it seems to work as advertised. Having purchased it in July and it being rather hot and humid this year, I'm glad I purchased the 65 pint unit, because it fills the tank rather quickly ( in 2 - 3 hours) under humid conditions. I use it in a 600 sq. ft. basement and it does increase the temperature and it makes noise when run at any setting: low, med or high. I believe that that the noise and temperature output are within reason given what the unit is designed to do. I did look at some units in some major home improvement stores and considering the features of the G.E. unit and its cost, I feel like I got a good value. Time will tell.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YouCanCallMeRay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Unit
7/11/2011

Customer review by fjkhfv

4.0 stars 7/11/2011 by fjkhfv
by fjkhfv

Only used it or a week but appears to work fine in my damp Hamptons beach house basement. It's quiet with basicaly zero compressor noise but the accuracy of the humisidtat is suspect since my portable humidity meter was reading about 10-15% lower than the ADEW65LP. No problem, I set the ADEW65LP to 60% and got the 50% I was looking for. Auto start feature is a nice too. Too bad it was $20 less today.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fjkhfv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does a great job removing humidity
7/25/2011

Customer review by 551HVACTECH

4.0 stars 7/25/2011 by 551HVACTECH
by 551HVACTECH

The onboard humidity indicator reads 10% higher then the actual room humidity,measuring with an accurate humidity meter. When the fan shuts off,the humidity sensor picks up moisture from inside the unit,and the unit restarts in approx. 1 to 2 minutes later. When measured,the actual room humidty only rose 1 percent,but the unit thinks it rose 5%. I believe the fan shutting off,and the location of the humidity sensor is causing this problem. If this unit had a remote humidy sensor,similar to the thermostats on some mini split systems,it's operation would be perfected. The only other thing to do would be to constantly run the fan,or relocate the humidity sensor to outside the unit,so it won't be affected by moisture from the refrigeration coil or water bucket. I use the hose connection to drain my unit,and it still short cycles. I tried to talk to a technician at GE,but they only have customer service people,who you hope will pass on the info,to their engineering dept. I hope this review doesn't sound too technical,but I work on heating and a/c equipment for a living. Maybe a GE engineer will read this review and improve the design.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
551HVACTECH
New Castle,De
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Product
6/22/2011

Customer review by wereonlyinitforthemoney

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by wereonlyinitforthemoney
by wereonlyinitforthemoney

Works great!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wereonlyinitforthemoney
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT!!!
7/7/2011

Customer review by MarineWife165

5.0 stars 7/7/2011 by MarineWife165
by MarineWife165

Works great! Not too big and runs quietly. Only downfall is the bucket is on the small side so it has to be emptied 2-3 times a day. Overall, couldn't be happier with this product!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarineWife165
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It works but uses a lot of energy.
9/29/2011

Customer review by BobGF

3.0 stars 9/29/2011 by BobGF
by BobGF

This is a replacement for the same dehumidifier that quit after 8 months. GE honored the warranty with no problems. Dehumidifying a closed 30x15 room costs $22 in electricity per month (according to a plug in usage meter). I had hoped for more efficiency. The unit is relatively quiet compared to other humidifiers I have had and makes no noise when it isn't dehumidifying. The calibration of the hygrometer on the unit is not close to true. I have had 5 units of different brands over the past 10 years. This is one of the better ones but it isn't great. I wish someone made a great one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BobGF
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Has worked great so far to eliminate moisture.
8/5/2011

Customer review by tnladyvolsfan

5.0 stars 8/5/2011 by tnladyvolsfan
by tnladyvolsfan

Easy to operate and does a good job eliminating moisture in a stinky basement. Bucket is easy to emply and controls are visible without a magnifying glass.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tnladyvolsfan
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Performer
7/29/2011

Customer review by Bugmen

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by Bugmen
by Bugmen

Works very well, dropped the RH in our basement from 75-40% to 40%

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bugmen
East Brunswick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works good in 1300 sq ft basement
8/21/2011

Customer review by SteveF15M

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by SteveF15M
by SteveF15M

This unit replaces a Kenmore dehumidifier which stopped working after 4 years of use in a 1300 sq ft basement. Decided to go with GE this time because of an excellent rating in Consumer Reports (#1 ranked as of May 2011). Also read many negative user reviews on Kenmore reliability. So far, so good after three months of steady use. It is noisy like all dehumidifiers (sounds like rushing air or white noise) but thankfully does not have the buzzing/vibration sound that my Kenmore had. Since the unit is in the basement I do not hear the noise in the rest of the house. I like the built-in humidity reader so I can tell if the unit is doing its job. In humid south Jersey in August the dehumidifier keeps the basement at 45%-50%. I currently have the unit set for 50% and have started using the 6-hour power-off energy saver. If the humidity stays at 50% then I will stick with the 6-hour mode. Also, I recommend buying the Walmart extended warranty given that these units run almost continuously. I believe the extended warranty was less than $10 and well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SteveF15M
Egg Harbor Twp, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
High style, quiet,very effective dehumidifer
8/4/2011

Customer review by Vliger

5.0 stars 8/4/2011 by Vliger
by Vliger

The model was compact, quiet; has a nice control panel and very quickly dehumidifies your home. GE is a known brand name with local customer service,as is Walmart, to follow up on any problems. Overall, this is a good value and is the very newest model of the 65 quart capacity humidifier.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vliger
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
11/24/2011

Customer review by cintii

5.0 stars 11/24/2011 by cintii
by cintii

We have had this unit in use for 6 months. It works fine and the hose conection eliminates empting the bucket.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cintii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews