Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 258 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

258 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

258 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
126
4 stars
73
3 stars
17
2 stars
21
1 stars
21
1-20 of 250 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews
I'm not a pro and love this camera.
10/14/2011

Customer review by Freebird56

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by Freebird56
by Freebird56

I'm 55 and a little challenged at photography terms etc, but I do have common sense. I unpacked the camera, loaded the battery/card and started shooting. A few have not turned out so well due to my trying out the amazing and different options, but that’s a learning curve for sure. I just went out and took pictures of the full moon this morning and am amazed that I captured the craters in textured detail. I posted a few pictures here. I also love the tilt lens. This is great for things like the moon shots using a tripod. It takes out the least movement and makes a great picture. I used the timer which is easy, but at 55, I am a little shaker than I once was. I love this camera. I've taken pet pictures, garden, flowers and gatherings inside the house and all turned out amazing. I didn't even need a flash inside with the right settings and my home tends to be on the dark side. Battery life has been good, but keep in mind with a huge auto lens that adjust with the battery power, the more you use it the more drain,. I bought two extra batteries and a charger for an upcoming trip from another site that isn't Nikon brand, but all reviews gave them 5 stars. I love this camera; it has a lot of bells and whistles, but you have to feel comfy just playing with them and figuring it out. Hey, that’s what is great about digital. You aren't wasting film or money on developing. Just go out and have fun! Don't take yourself too seriously at first and practice different things and I think you will love it. I will suggest writing down what settings you used for say the first 5 on a flower, and then change settings and see what it does.... experiments don't work if you can't look back. There may even be a feature for this but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Good Luck!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Freebird56
South East Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/18/2011

Customer review by midwestphoto

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by midwestphoto
by midwestphoto

As an amature hobby photographer who wants to take very clear photos, I spent a lot of time on research before buying my latest camera. After reading about a hundred camera reviews, I was leaning toward a Nikon D3100 which came with the 18-55 mm zoom lens or the Canon EOS Rebel T3 with a similar size lens. Next I Started thinking about what exactly I do with my cameras. Almost every picture I take is taken outside, and many at a distance. Living in a rural area I take thousands of pictures of barns, combines, tractors and wildlife. The standard lens that came with these cameras would rarely get used. I would need a longer lens for the pictures I take. The wildlife pictures I take, deer, birds, squirrels and horses are normally taken quickly and at a distance. Next I started reading the reviews on the longer lenses, 55-200 mm and 55-300 mm. Most of the reviews were positive but I read a few from photographers who broke their lens in a short period of time. I thought I was the only person who had ever done that when I scratched a four month old lens two years ago. Then I thought, do I want to spend $1,000 or more on a camera and lens that is a little too technical for me and I may break the lens? To make a long story a little shorter, I found this Nikon Coolpix P 500 with a 36X zoom lens for about half the price of the cameras I was interested in. I ordered this camera and have used it for over a month now. It is quick and easy to use and takes really clear pictures. With my previous camera I would take good pictures but I would delete a high percentage of the pictures because they were not as clear as I expected. So far, with thie P 500 I have been deleting very few pictures. This camera is easy to use, takes pictures I can enter in contests and pictures for shows and displays. Would I buy it again? If I only had a few hundred dollars to spend, yes I would.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
midwestphoto
Alexis, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
exceptional camera for someone wanting to upgrade.
11/3/2011

Customer review by rettamay

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by rettamay
by rettamay

After receiveing the camera, we took a little while to learn some of the features. Then that same day we took our 3 girls (ages 9-12) out to take our own school pics with the fall colors as a background. All I can say is WOW! I couldn't beleive the quality of the pics. They are right up there with some professional pics we have had taken. As we were headed home down the river the sun was just setting, so we stopped and put the camera on the sunset mode. A deffinite postcard pic for Idaho as the sunset was reflected off the river. I have been telling all my friends and family about it. So happy I upgraded to this camera!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rettamay
Osburn,Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great zoom on this baby
7/30/2011

Customer review by Freelenz

5.0 stars 7/30/2011 by Freelenz
by Freelenz

Having owned 2 other coolpix models prior to purchasing this one, the first thing I noticed is how much easier the controls have become. Very logical and easy to use Thanks for listening. I bought this camera specifically for the 12 mega pixels and the 36X zoom. I was not disappointed. The 810mm equivalent zoom usually needs a tripod but that isn't really a problem for me. I would highly recommend this camera for anyone from beginner to advanced hobbyist.

Freelenz
Viera, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera with some minor drawbacks
8/19/2011

Customer review by Mike W.

4.0 stars 8/19/2011 by Mike W.
by Mike W.

I bought this camera for the slow motion capabilities exclusively. I am using it for Springboard Diving and Golf Swing Analysis. The slow motion capabilities are unbelievable, and did not disappoint. You do need a lot of light for the high speed recordings, but that was to be expected. The camera is very easy to use - I was always a fan of Canon cameras, and bought this to try out the slo mo, but I must say that Nikon is much more intuitive to me than my Canon G3 was. I am not a good photographer and rely heavily on the automated settings - which are excellent! Setting it to auto, or one of the pre-configured scenes usually takes a great picture. There are a few battery drain issues, that I believe is fixed with a firmware update which I have yet to apply, but it is not a big concern because I have spares. The only real problem I have found with this camera is that when powering on the camera, the lens cap must be removed first or it tries to extend the lens and grinds against the cap. I don't know if this can be fixed with a firmware update, but I hope so because this is a huge problem and I can see the motor on the lens getting burned out if you do this too many times. This was a HUGE miss by the Nikon team. I knew about this before buying the camera, and you should too. I don't forget to remove the cap - but I am very leery of lending the camera to my wife or kids because they might forget. If it were not for this, I would give five stars for sure - but overall I am still very happy with the purchase and would buy it again!

Mike W.
Potomac, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
6/7/2011

Customer review by wedgeone

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by wedgeone
by wedgeone

This camera is awesome....the only 3 downside reviews I saw were dead wrong....battery life is as good or better than any....flash is killer for such a small unit, shot an un lit room at night and the flash lit the entire room evenly w/o harsh shadows, exposure was perfect. Some complain of low light capabilities, with a tripod no problem. That is to be expected with a lens equiv. to 810mm. 36x opitical and 4x digital is incredible. Looking for a great camera at a good price this is it....AND 1080P HD video...it has it all.

Was this review helpful? (120) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wedgeone
West Virgina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Camera and Great price
7/11/2011

Customer review by EasyToShopOnline2

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by EasyToShopOnline2
by EasyToShopOnline2

I was looking for quite a while for a camera with good zoom and handy features. I had 2 cameras in mind. Sony HX100V and Nikon P500. Both camera's go head to head but Sony has much better features like 3D support and good features for night time shooting. Since I already had an DSLR which is also Nikon, I decided to go with the one which was cheapest. I'm amazed at the quality of pics it take though it has only 12.1 MP. Night time pics were also great. Easy to use and a lot of features for my use. I would totally recommend this camera for anyone who is a beginner or even works for someone with some shooting experience.

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EasyToShopOnline2
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Sold my Nikon DSLR for this camera, love love it!
10/2/2011

Customer review by MantyPhotos

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by MantyPhotos
by MantyPhotos

This camera is great!!! I had a Nikon D60 that I sold since I have purchased this camera. I no longer carry a camera, flash, 70x300mm lens and the bag the Nikon P500 does it all and reaches a lot further that my zoom lens. The P500 does more than I even thought it would and cant say enough great things about it. You must read the owners manual to understand everything that this camera can do. You will not be disappointed with this camera the photos or the 1080HD video. This will be my fourth Nikon and I bring it everywhere, I just cant put it down!!

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MantyPhotos
Sheboygan, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/12/2011

Customer review by Valik96

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by Valik96
by Valik96

Excellent features for the price. Especially the 36X zoom. Best of all it is a Nikon.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Valik96
ocean grove NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great camera for blurry photos
5/22/2011

Customer review by NikonBlake

2.0 stars 5/22/2011 by NikonBlake
by NikonBlake

We owned a lower-priced Coolpix that always took great photos easily in many lighting conditions. Unfortunately, it got stolen. We replaced it with the Coolpix 500. Although it was double the cost of the older Coolpix, we were attracted to it by its powerful optical zoom and its HD video capabilities. However, the Coolpix 500 has been a disappointment. Unless you are in full sunlight or within flash range, its pictures are always blurry, particularly when you are zooming. Perhaps a professional photographer could take advantage of the Coolpix 500's numerous manual override features to get a clear picture, but we have not figured out how to take sharp pictures in low light with any level of zoom. As to the HD video, it does better in low light than the camera's still photography features, but since the video doesn't have a pause feature, you end up shooting multiple files for the even the shortest of events. For example, a birthday party turns into a dozen 1 minute video files. Avoid this camera.

NikonBlake
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT CAMERA
10/5/2011

Customer review by HEARTMAMA2

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by HEARTMAMA2
by HEARTMAMA2

The only thing that is HORRIBLE about this camera is that you need the usb cables to charge it and I forgot them went I went on vacation. I went to walmart in the middle of the night to get adapters and they don't work it has to be the usb cord from the manufacturer. Other than that I haven't been disappointed with the camera it takes great pictures. My kids do a lot of sports and sometimes I am sitting in the bleachers at a football game and I need that zoom. I love the fact action shoot ability it looks like a mini movie. Much easier to use than the Canon power shot with 35 zoom.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HEARTMAMA2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera
11/22/2011

Customer review by HeatherMarie

4.0 stars 11/22/2011 by HeatherMarie
by HeatherMarie

I've been told Nikon has the best picture quality and everyone that told me that was right. Ive only had Kodak and Canon .I've had this camera for about a week now and i love it. I seen all the bad reviews about the battery life but i have not had any problems with it. I've taken 300+ pictures and have not had to charge it but the first time i bought it. So i don't see where all the complaints are... It takes amazing pictures and well worth the money spent i go hiking alot where i live and it works just fine for me. When you zoom in sometimes they are a little blurry therefore i need to buy a tripod but ive had that issue with every camera ive owned. Amazing up close shots. All in all it is an amazing camera. The only things wrong with it was the video can be a bit confusing at first and it can get annoying to have to take the lens cap on and off. I've been told Nikon has the best picture quality and everyone that told me that was right. Ive only had Kodak and Canon and never again will i not buy a Nikon.

HeatherMarie
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to use with great results
5/20/2011

Customer review by Sam

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by Sam
by Sam

I’ve been using the P500 for about 3 weeks. During that time I’ve tried it under a variety of conditions, sports, with flash, natural light, etc. and found it to be very easy to use with fine results. The ability to change from shutter preferred to something else is easy and allows for me to compose a scene the way I want it. I purchased and extra battery to keep one always charged. I would prefer to have a separate charger rather than tie up the camera with its very slow charge mode. I will buy the separate charger to eliminate this. On the extreme telephoto you need at least a bipod or a tripod would be best, to steady your shot. At its maximum focal length the results are slightly soft. All other zoom positions are quite sharp and the colors are spot on. The P500 quickly boots up and is ready to use in a very short time. I truly enjoy using this camera. It has many features that I haven’t yet used and I look forward to trying them. Its size and weight are perfect for travel and hiking. Great camera!

Sam
Chagrin Falls, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!
6/2/2012

Customer review by Bandshooter801

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by Bandshooter801
by Bandshooter801

When I decided I was ready to upgrade from a basic point and shoot camera I did a lot of research....I mean A LOT. After comparing and going to multiple stores playing with displays and such, I finally decided the Nikon P500 was the perfect camera for me. I was a little wary though because I was purchasing it to mainly shoot bands and everyone had suggested I go with a DSLR instead. I have shot multiple shows and have been beyond impressed with the final outcome! I have friends who are actual photographers professionally and they have made comments about how well my pictures come out! I like the fact that I am able to customize the options to best suite the scenery, I can snap multiple pictures one after another without having to wait, the tilting screen is a must, being able to switch back and forth between the eyehole and the screen with ease makes things amazing. I recommend this camera for someone who loves to take pictures but isn't looking to spend a lot.

Bandshooter801
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful camera!
6/24/2011

Customer review by Birdie

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by Birdie
by Birdie

I love this camera. I have only had it a few days but it was very easy to use right out of the box. I had read all of the reviews prior to purchasing it. I turned off the charge battery by computer option as someone had suggested and my battery seems to be working fine. It takes awesome photos. I put it on pet mode and took a ton of photos of my dog and they came out excellent. In the past her eyes have always came out with yellow eye instead of red eye, really bad. Not with the P500. The quality of the picture is perfect. You do have to make sure you put the shutter release down to half way to let it focus before releasing the shutter all the way. Do this and you won't have blurry photos. I am still experimenting with the rest of the modes. I am going to Europe next year with my sister and wanted a good camera that is light and easy to pack, this is definitely it. With the 36X zoom and wide angle, it will be perfect for sightseeing photos. Thanks Nikon!

Birdie
Kalamazoo, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
VERY disappointing!
11/23/2011

Customer review by kpgray

1.0 stars 11/23/2011 by kpgray
by kpgray

I have been a Nikon fan since the 1970's when I bought my Photomic FTN. However, this is the 2nd P500 I've had. Fortunately, I was able to return the first one. Now, I'm having trouble with the 2nd one. Both cameras do not do well in low lighting conditions; and both have issues with the battery/charging system. The battery will show a full charge, but when you try to power up, it won't. I've also had a problem with the lense zooming out all the way (on it's own) and then the camera completely freezes up. I had to remove and re-insert the battery to get it to power off. Nikon says to send it in for repairs; but really, a 5 month old camera??!! Unfortunately, I agree and have the same issues as the other reviewers that have problems with this camera. When it operates correctly, it does take good OUTDOOR pics. Indoors is disappointing. I'm really surprised that Nikon has not corrected these issues with this camera. If it wasn't for the other accessories I've already purchased for this camera, I would get something else!

kpgray
Newark, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Disappointing
4/10/2011

Customer review by Shez Photography

2.0 stars 4/10/2011 by Shez Photography
by Shez Photography

I wrote a full review with photos which you can probably find by googling my username. Here is the gist of it: CONS Only satisfactory image quality Poor auto focus Inconsistency in white balance Noticeable lag time between shots Aperture changes automatically even when the mode is set to Manual or Aperture Priority (this is the one that really bothers me and so does Nikon’s answer) No shortcuts for settings like ISO or metering No sensor to tell you when the lens cap is still on when powering up No RAW file format No info in the display or EXIF data showing what mode you are shooting in Does not have the ability to choose an auto focus point besides the center PROS Macro mode is fantastic Manual focus works well especially with Macro Large LCD screen Easy Panorama mode really is easy and the results are totally awesome Pet Portrait mode Menus are easy to navigate Surprisingly good performance at ISO 1600 Very light and easy to carry around It’s RED!!!

Shez Photography
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/29/2011

Customer review by Nikon13

4.0 stars 7/29/2011 by Nikon13
by Nikon13

I purchased the camera 3 weeks ago and have not tried all of the many special features. So far, with the basic photo stuff makes, this a very good camera. The optical zoom is incredible provided you use a tripod to keep it steady. The one snag is that it has a known bug, in that a fully charged battery will die within a couple of days whethher the camera is in use or not. There is a default setting for 'Charge by Computer' that when turned off is suppose to fix this and so far after 6 days, the battery is still showing almost full power. Nikon support's solution was to just update the firmware and did not acknowledge that there was a problem in thier software.. This is a known bug with some of the P500 cameras, which I had seen in reviews and blogs. It's dissapointing that NIKON has not admitted to the flaw, but just gives a generic answer to update the firmware. Even with the snag, the bottom line is that I am very happy with the Nikon P500 camera.

Nikon13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
pleased, but some limitations
5/30/2011

Customer review by socal flix

4.0 stars 5/30/2011 by socal flix
by socal flix

overall good camera. easy to use from the minute you pick it up. movie mode works well, and high speed movie is great to review my golf swing. lens is great...can really get in close. you must be good at holding still and using the viewfinder to steady shot or use a tripod for far away shots. (try a tabletop flexible one for travel, as you can slip it in your pocket) two limitations so far...in low light, shutter speed cannot keep up, so your photos tend to blur, unless subject is perfectly still. also, on wide angled portraits (trying to fit more people into a group shot) the edges are stretched, so people on the ends appear 100 pounds heavier than the rest of the group. practice with both situations helps outcome. overall happy with purchase. can get in tight on shots that i would miss before. easy to use, nice shots, lots of setting options (smile feature's a plus) For the price, you'd be hard pressed to beat this camera.

socal flix
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
People Always Ask Which Camera I used
5/21/2011

Customer review by Lars

5.0 stars 5/21/2011 by Lars
by Lars

I've now carried this camera on two trips within the US and have taken several hunderd photographs with it. The standard question of my friends is always, What camera did you use to take these photos? I know for sure of two friends who also bought it after seeing mine. It is easy to use, relatively, and it takes fantastic photos in difficult situations -- people standing in front of a window where there is bright backlighting or in dimly lit interiors. I also bought it to use for taking photographs of documents for my work and for taking photographs of microfilm frames displayed on a screen -- a librarian tipped me off on this. The close ups for shots like this and for copying documents is spectacular. I was able in two days to photograph nearly 6,000 documents(I bought two extra batteries and a large memory card) and transferred them to my computer, flawlessly. The tranfer program by the way, provided by Nikon, is very flawed and on my Mac failed completely. It is a shabby match for such a fine camera and I hope Nikon does something about it.

Lars
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews