Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 258 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

258 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

258 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
126
4 stars
73
3 stars
17
2 stars
21
1 stars
21
1-20 of 250 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews
Great Camera
6/7/2011

Customer review by wedgeone

5.0 stars 6/7/2011 by wedgeone
by wedgeone

This camera is awesome....the only 3 downside reviews I saw were dead wrong....battery life is as good or better than any....flash is killer for such a small unit, shot an un lit room at night and the flash lit the entire room evenly w/o harsh shadows, exposure was perfect. Some complain of low light capabilities, with a tripod no problem. That is to be expected with a lens equiv. to 810mm. 36x opitical and 4x digital is incredible. Looking for a great camera at a good price this is it....AND 1080P HD video...it has it all.

Was this review helpful? (120) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wedgeone
West Virgina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Camera and Great price
7/11/2011

Customer review by EasyToShopOnline2

5.0 stars 7/11/2011 by EasyToShopOnline2
by EasyToShopOnline2

I was looking for quite a while for a camera with good zoom and handy features. I had 2 cameras in mind. Sony HX100V and Nikon P500. Both camera's go head to head but Sony has much better features like 3D support and good features for night time shooting. Since I already had an DSLR which is also Nikon, I decided to go with the one which was cheapest. I'm amazed at the quality of pics it take though it has only 12.1 MP. Night time pics were also great. Easy to use and a lot of features for my use. I would totally recommend this camera for anyone who is a beginner or even works for someone with some shooting experience.

Was this review helpful? (59) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EasyToShopOnline2
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Sold my Nikon DSLR for this camera, love love it!
10/2/2011

Customer review by MantyPhotos

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by MantyPhotos
by MantyPhotos

This camera is great!!! I had a Nikon D60 that I sold since I have purchased this camera. I no longer carry a camera, flash, 70x300mm lens and the bag the Nikon P500 does it all and reaches a lot further that my zoom lens. The P500 does more than I even thought it would and cant say enough great things about it. You must read the owners manual to understand everything that this camera can do. You will not be disappointed with this camera the photos or the 1080HD video. This will be my fourth Nikon and I bring it everywhere, I just cant put it down!!

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MantyPhotos
Sheboygan, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/12/2011

Customer review by Valik96

5.0 stars 7/12/2011 by Valik96
by Valik96

Excellent features for the price. Especially the 36X zoom. Best of all it is a Nikon.

Was this review helpful? (38) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Valik96
ocean grove NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
I'm not a pro and love this camera.
10/14/2011

Customer review by Freebird56

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by Freebird56
by Freebird56

I'm 55 and a little challenged at photography terms etc, but I do have common sense. I unpacked the camera, loaded the battery/card and started shooting. A few have not turned out so well due to my trying out the amazing and different options, but that’s a learning curve for sure. I just went out and took pictures of the full moon this morning and am amazed that I captured the craters in textured detail. I posted a few pictures here. I also love the tilt lens. This is great for things like the moon shots using a tripod. It takes out the least movement and makes a great picture. I used the timer which is easy, but at 55, I am a little shaker than I once was. I love this camera. I've taken pet pictures, garden, flowers and gatherings inside the house and all turned out amazing. I didn't even need a flash inside with the right settings and my home tends to be on the dark side. Battery life has been good, but keep in mind with a huge auto lens that adjust with the battery power, the more you use it the more drain,. I bought two extra batteries and a charger for an upcoming trip from another site that isn't Nikon brand, but all reviews gave them 5 stars. I love this camera; it has a lot of bells and whistles, but you have to feel comfy just playing with them and figuring it out. Hey, that’s what is great about digital. You aren't wasting film or money on developing. Just go out and have fun! Don't take yourself too seriously at first and practice different things and I think you will love it. I will suggest writing down what settings you used for say the first 5 on a flower, and then change settings and see what it does.... experiments don't work if you can't look back. There may even be a feature for this but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Good Luck!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Freebird56
South East Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/18/2011

Customer review by midwestphoto

5.0 stars 11/18/2011 by midwestphoto
by midwestphoto

As an amature hobby photographer who wants to take very clear photos, I spent a lot of time on research before buying my latest camera. After reading about a hundred camera reviews, I was leaning toward a Nikon D3100 which came with the 18-55 mm zoom lens or the Canon EOS Rebel T3 with a similar size lens. Next I Started thinking about what exactly I do with my cameras. Almost every picture I take is taken outside, and many at a distance. Living in a rural area I take thousands of pictures of barns, combines, tractors and wildlife. The standard lens that came with these cameras would rarely get used. I would need a longer lens for the pictures I take. The wildlife pictures I take, deer, birds, squirrels and horses are normally taken quickly and at a distance. Next I started reading the reviews on the longer lenses, 55-200 mm and 55-300 mm. Most of the reviews were positive but I read a few from photographers who broke their lens in a short period of time. I thought I was the only person who had ever done that when I scratched a four month old lens two years ago. Then I thought, do I want to spend $1,000 or more on a camera and lens that is a little too technical for me and I may break the lens? To make a long story a little shorter, I found this Nikon Coolpix P 500 with a 36X zoom lens for about half the price of the cameras I was interested in. I ordered this camera and have used it for over a month now. It is quick and easy to use and takes really clear pictures. With my previous camera I would take good pictures but I would delete a high percentage of the pictures because they were not as clear as I expected. So far, with thie P 500 I have been deleting very few pictures. This camera is easy to use, takes pictures I can enter in contests and pictures for shows and displays. Would I buy it again? If I only had a few hundred dollars to spend, yes I would.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
midwestphoto
Alexis, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT CAMERA
10/5/2011

Customer review by HEARTMAMA2

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by HEARTMAMA2
by HEARTMAMA2

The only thing that is HORRIBLE about this camera is that you need the usb cables to charge it and I forgot them went I went on vacation. I went to walmart in the middle of the night to get adapters and they don't work it has to be the usb cord from the manufacturer. Other than that I haven't been disappointed with the camera it takes great pictures. My kids do a lot of sports and sometimes I am sitting in the bleachers at a football game and I need that zoom. I love the fact action shoot ability it looks like a mini movie. Much easier to use than the Canon power shot with 35 zoom.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HEARTMAMA2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
exceptional camera for someone wanting to upgrade.
11/3/2011

Customer review by rettamay

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by rettamay
by rettamay

After receiveing the camera, we took a little while to learn some of the features. Then that same day we took our 3 girls (ages 9-12) out to take our own school pics with the fall colors as a background. All I can say is WOW! I couldn't beleive the quality of the pics. They are right up there with some professional pics we have had taken. As we were headed home down the river the sun was just setting, so we stopped and put the camera on the sunset mode. A deffinite postcard pic for Idaho as the sunset was reflected off the river. I have been telling all my friends and family about it. So happy I upgraded to this camera!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rettamay
Osburn,Id
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I LOVE this camera!
10/24/2011

Customer review by WestWashingtonGal

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by WestWashingtonGal
by WestWashingtonGal

It's easy to use and takes really great pictures. The zoom is great. No fooling with changing lenses.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WestWashingtonGal
Western Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/10/2011

Customer review by outlaw1972

5.0 stars 11/10/2011 by outlaw1972
by outlaw1972

great camera..no problems with it,,recommend it ,,,i love this camera..my friends are all impressed with the quality of the photo's...thanks

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outlaw1972
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/22/2011

Customer review by wm715

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by wm715
by wm715

Great camera for the price. Like the rechargeable battery, longer lasting than AA or AAA. Great zoom and many modes to select. Like the movable display screen. Makes viewing easy especially outdoors.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wm715
Clifton Park, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
LOVE it
12/8/2011

Customer review by Mdmicky

5.0 stars 12/8/2011 by Mdmicky
by Mdmicky

Crisp, Clear, Nikon lens is so superior Low light pics are 100% better than any other camera I have

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mdmicky
Staten Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great camera with great features!
12/13/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/13/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I just recently purchased this camera and so far it has exceeded my expectations! The features are very high-tech and professional, there are so many settings for the user to choose from to get the best photo, takes great pictures, even at high zoom. Auto controls are easy for a beginner to use, but overall this camera would suit someone who is really serious about photography. Nikons are just really good cameras all around.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Hazel, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love the camera.
11/1/2011

Customer review by NikonNut

5.0 stars 11/1/2011 by NikonNut
by NikonNut

Only down side is I do not like the lens cap being attached to the neck strap. Awkward location.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NikonNut
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
easy to use
3/13/2012

Customer review by Wes59

5.0 stars 3/13/2012 by Wes59
by Wes59

I was very impressed with the quality and ease of use

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wes59
Rochelle,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very nice for price
12/19/2011

Customer review by Helpful1Maybe

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by Helpful1Maybe
by Helpful1Maybe

This camera meets all my expectation and takes really good pictures of my kids ball games.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Helpful1Maybe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Dont waste your money
12/24/2011

Customer review by tabungs

1.0 stars 12/24/2011 by tabungs
by tabungs

Pros:It really looks good,alot of bells and whistles and the zoom is super.i also love the pull out screens cons:if you dont care about the end result this is good camera it wont even take good sports shots,cnet also said pics are soft (thats being nice),for the price and the name of the product you expected more.8out of 10 blurred.not very forgiving to beginners that might shake occasionally and doesnt want to play with different settings.Believe me there is a lot of settings to chose from but i dont think it beneficial.i finally settled to canon powershot 40 sx WOW.

Was this review helpful? (3) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tabungs
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/13/2012

Customer review by lilpup2000

4.0 stars 3/13/2012 by lilpup2000
by lilpup2000

This camera has met my expectations. I wanted to try this digital camera before I purchased a true SLR camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilpup2000
sacramento, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Buy something else.
10/19/2011

Customer review by Gyorgy

3.0 stars 10/19/2011 by Gyorgy
by Gyorgy

The camers is great except for one feature............when zoomed to max in the Optical Zoom mode, the pictures are blurry. It's a stablization problem, when the button is pressed "half way" it never can seem to focus properly..............you hear this buzzing sound like it wants to focus, but it never does. I purchased this camera to take close up wildlife pictures, my old Sony does better with a 15X optical zoom............glad i didn't sell the Sony.

Was this review helpful? (5) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gyorgy
Southport, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Disappointed
10/17/2011

Customer review by Lacamera

2.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Lacamera
by Lacamera

I was disappointed in the general image quality of photos. Colors did not look realistic either. I had to remove the battery to turn it off after making adjustments to the exposure compensation. It would not go off even after the 3 minute time lapse. Even when using a tripod with the VR turned off images were still unsatisfactory. Will be returning camera.

Was this review helpful? (3) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lacamera
Stony Point NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 250 total reviews
1-20 of 250 reviews