Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 179 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

179 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

179 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
19
1 stars
45
1-20 of 168 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews
Avoid this version of CoolPix
1/22/2012

Customer review by hcrockett

1.0 stars 1/22/2012 by hcrockett
by hcrockett

I had problems with the focusing mechanism of the camera from the moment I purchased it, resulting in consistently blurry photos. Those problems got worse and the optical zoom started malfunctioning. The lens started sticking when I turned the camera on and off and worsened to the point I couldn't turn the camera on. The camera was still under warranty, so I sent it in to Nikon for repair. Almost 2 months later, I got the repaired camera back. The optical zoom works, but the focusing mechanism still doesn't work correctly. No matter what settings I choose, the camera has a hard time auto-focusing and many times simply can't focus on ANYTHING. The photos that I do manage to get are a little blurry and now they consistently have orange splotches on them, so now there's something wrong with the white balance or color management. I've owned other versions of Nikon's CoolPix in the past and really like some of the features, so I'm doubly disappointed with this camera. Given the other poor reviews, it seems like I'm not the only one.

hcrockett
Would recommend to a friend? No
This camera's just fine
3/3/2012

Customer review by xButtercupx94

4.0 stars 3/3/2012 by xButtercupx94
by xButtercupx94

I got this camera for Christmas and I've had it for almost 3 months now. It takes good pictures with flash, but it will sometimes take blurry pictures when you use no flash. The zoom is pretty useless because it has the same problem in taking blurry pictures, but be sure to overcome your anxiety because it can help give you a good chance to take better pictures. It's pretty hard to take pictures of things that are moving, such as pets, so you have to use your effort in trying to get a good shot of them. There's really no point in taking close up pictures because it turns out blurry or out of focus. If you're going to take pictures of something far away, you might have to change your ISO settings to a higher setting in order to make the picture easier to see and to avoid darkness. The videos turn out better than the videos I recorded from my Canon Powershot A495, but it's a little grainy, though.

xButtercupx94
Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic, Fun Camera
5/27/2012

Customer review by marknorway

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by marknorway
by marknorway

This camera was great right out of the box. I previously owned a Nikon CoolPix. After 10 years of happily using it, it became possessed and started turning itself on and off, repeatedly. I really wanted another CoolPix, since I thought that my old one was so good and had served me for so long. I shopped around and found the S3100. I jumped when I saw the price and features. It's so easy that you could use it without doing any reading to discover everything else special that it can do. I don't understand the few negative reviewers' comments. This camera can't take a bad picture. I used it for photos for a business proposal, and everyone was so impressed with the pictures even when printed with a color laser printer on plain bond paper. It's fun and easy to take great pictures. It's such a good buy for a fantastic price. It's one of the best buys I've made all year.

marknorway
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice little camera
7/25/2011

Customer review by cubbie

4.0 stars 7/25/2011 by cubbie
by cubbie

I was looking for a camera to slip into my pocket for those times when carrying my SLR wasn't feasible ... like when fly-fishing and wanting to get a picture of that "great catch"! The Coolpix fit the bill. There are so many options that are just a finger-click away - close-up, scenery, night, etc. The response time if reasonable .. on the same par with other point-and-shoot cameras in the same price range. In some cases the color doesn't come out as the "original" looked .. but I'm guessing in time I will learn what buttons to push to make that a little better. I would have liked a more detailed instruction manual. I know that a CD with all the information was provided, but when we're on the road and I don't have the computer handy - it would be nice to be able to look up on paper what I need to know. All in all, I am pleased so far with the results.

cubbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Handy and easy to use
7/1/2011

Customer review by odaraia

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by odaraia
by odaraia

From day one, this camera has produced good pictures with ease. I purchased it in Daegu, Korea, and was able to register it online and download an English version user's guide. The simple "scene" feature, by which speed and aperture are represented by icons, make choosing settings fast and easy for a non-numbers brain like mine. Additional features such as panorama assist and pet and sports settings expand my ability to capture a good photo. Even the video is good. My partner, more experienced with cameras than I, has commented on our ability to capture photos during this trip, " This is a great camera." We've been posting on our blogs with these pictures, and they look great. The camera's size is convenient for pocket or purse. I didn't know it came in pink, which could have been extremely cool as a souvenir from this Korean trip. Good job, Nikon!

odaraia
Seoul, Korea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This camera performs.
9/6/2011

Customer review by earlycadet

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by earlycadet
by earlycadet

I bought this camera because my friend had it and I reallly liked the pictures she had taken. It has performed extremely well in all situations: Shuttle launch video, riding video, bands, flowers, birds, rain, etc. I'm convinced of its construction quality because it flew out of my hand on a recent trike ride and ended up in the middle of the road. I lost the battery door and the battery but not the SD which was loaded with pictures. I bought a new battery, charged it up, downloaded my pictures, took the camera through all its settings and added a little duck tape for the battery door. It works like new but looks like junk. I will likely spring for another Coolpix in the future because I really like the size and quality of the photes. Thanks NIKON.

earlycadet
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good For the price, Nice look and easy to use and carry, Terrible close up focus battery is okay..
6/16/2012

Customer review by Shahben

4.0 stars 6/16/2012 by Shahben
by Shahben

I bought this camera a day before my trip since i didn't have any digital camera and to be honest i was getting a good deal on it..! it takes good quality pictures indoor and outdoor for its price...... i would say overall it's good camera to have and easy to use, Pros; good design, easy to carry, light weight battery life is good, pictures quality is good, Cons; terrible close up focus, scene mode is just whatever movie mode button is little bit tricky... with all said, it's good camera for the price and it take excellent outdoor pictures specially on sunny day in parks, beach, city, etc.. i wouldn't recommend for people who sell stuff on internet since the close up is bad and it is hard to get a good shot,

Shahben
New York, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
amazing camera for small size
9/6/2011

Customer review by leftycombo

4.0 stars 9/6/2011 by leftycombo
by leftycombo

Although I am charmed by the size and features of this camera (my favorite Is the ability to control the ISO), I am infuriated by the lack of a full printed Manual! My last Coolpix came with one. Reading the manual on a computer screen is difficult for most people over 40. Naviga- Ting from p.8 to p.108 in PDF or for that matter, any computer format, is much More difficult than flipping to the paper page. So please don't be so chintzy, Nikon! I would be willing to pay if the hard copy manual were offered as an option. Meanwhile I am having some trouble figuring out how to get to the options I want. The older Coolpix (4100) is much easier for me to use- perhaps BECAUSE I HAD THE BENEFIT OF A FULL PAPER MANUAL!

leftycombo
S. New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The lens mechanism seems prone to failure.
8/22/2011

Customer review by BrokenDishRanch

1.0 stars 8/22/2011 by BrokenDishRanch
by BrokenDishRanch

Having just returned this Nikon to the warrantee folks, I can't evaluate their service yet. This is my 3rd Nikon. The other 2 had similar failure, but it was well over a year down the road and I really really use my camera, so I felt I had gotten my money's worth out of them. This time it was a month since purchase and I am disappointed, because I was really treating it with kid gloves, blaming myself for the other malfunctions. I get "lens error" and it won't retract or partially retracts. The other one would come out and then retract in a fraction of a second and display "lens error." Deep sighs. This particular Nikon also required a loooong time to recover between pix, even with no flash use.

BrokenDishRanch
the West Texas Prairie
Would recommend to a friend? No
mypix
3/3/2012

Customer review by pocket pix

5.0 stars 3/3/2012 by pocket pix
by pocket pix

I have been using film cameras for years. I have a Nikon N90 and a Nilon N70 which I use for travel with a 35mm lense. Film, like fuji film professional, is by far superior to digital, whatever anyone says. My Nikon film cameras will produce at least 28megapixels, while this unit would have 14megapixels. Nikon cameras have always been in a league apart, I give them 5 stars. This coolpix is very lightweight, and I can use it as a pocket camera. I will use it to take picture shots I might not take with film. I will reserve film for the best shots, and take both cameras on my next trip. I recommend Nikon by far. They are great cameras...

pocket pix
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good quality, but complex
11/29/2011

Customer review by nikon4444

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by nikon4444
by nikon4444

Taken only about 12 pix so far, and picture quality is good. Camera has too many options and features for a "simple" camera. Also, it seems I have to download pictures to the Nikon View and then upload to MyPicturetown, instead of to my camera's picture files (?)...and I really don't want to do that....maybe I don't have to? And then I cannot email direct from Nikon View in the computer unless I use Windows Live E-[mail, which I also don't want to use. Great camera, but you need to be up on technology. I printed out the 196-page manual, so I don't have to go back and forth on-screen with the on-screen manual.

nikon4444
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Disappointed
2/22/2012

Customer review by Disappointed in Nikon

1.0 stars 2/22/2012 by Disappointed in Nikon
by Disappointed in Nikon

I purchased this camera for my husband as a gift 6 weeks ago. He was very happy with it until this past weekend. It locked up. He didn’t do anything but try to turn it off after he used it. The lens won’t close. It won’t take a charge. It won’t even turn back on. It also got very warm until we removed the battery. Luckily, we were able to take the pictures off of the memory card by removing it, so we didn’t loose them. Hopefully Nikon service will repair or replace under warranty. It is just a shame that I have to send it to them after only 6 weeks. At this point, I would not recommend this product.

Disappointed in Nikon
Indiana USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not worth the price!!!
11/3/2011

Customer review by un-satisfied customer

1.0 stars 11/3/2011 by un-satisfied customer
by un-satisfied customer

This was my first nikon s3100. when i would rec a video sometimes it would only record the sound. The pictures were really hazy and blurry when taken indoors,when i used zoom at anytime the pictures were really blurry. not to mention the color quality was awful. most the time the colors were different shades of orange. i only had it for 35 days, called nikon, they wanted me to pay for shipping there and back, and if they couldnt find anything wrong with it, then i had to pay for the labor.. needless to say i ended up getting rid of it and getting a different camera.

un-satisfied customer
Martinsville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to Use.
11/23/2011

Customer review by Pizza

4.0 stars 11/23/2011 by Pizza
by Pizza

I have a 5 yr old Coopix 8.1 and liked it, so when I went for a camera upgrade I decided to buy same brand. I use mostly for intenet sales and snapshots. I like the sleeker features and matte finish. It's a bit more user friendly too. I have more difficulty getting steady close ups of objects then my older Coolpix. I use mostly auto features and when it says a close up object is in focus it's not and I really have to monkey with it to get the picture I want. For everyday use however its a great little camera and would be great for someone not too camera savvy.

Pizza
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The only camera you needed
11/1/2011

Customer review by Nikon Beanbag

5.0 stars 11/1/2011 by Nikon Beanbag
by Nikon Beanbag

In 2002, I brought my first digital camera, Nikon Coolpix 4500 with 4MB of pixels, I enjoyed taking photos with that camera for all these years, finally, I decided to “Up-Grade” to Nikon S3100. I love the small size and big LCD Monitor, 19 selective SCENEs, SMART PORTRAIT, SUBJECT TRACKING, Video modes. Nikon Coollpix 3100 also equips many functions such as White Balance, ISO Sensitivity etc, used to be only in professional DSLR camera, but now all built-in to Nikon Coolpix S-3100. What a different the progress of camera technology Nikon made in a few years.

Nikon Beanbag
Grayson, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I keep getting a lens error
7/5/2011

Customer review by kg1130

1.0 stars 7/5/2011 by kg1130
by kg1130

I have had the camera for 2 months, it was working fine at first then one day while using it I was trying to take a picture and the picture stayed blurry on the screen, it finally closed and said 'lens error" it now works a few times after it has been sitting a while then after 3 or 4 shots it will give me the 'lens error again and shut off. Of course this always happens when I am in a situation where I want to take pictures, like a wedding that can't be re lived. The camera was a gift so I don't have any type of receipt to prove the purchase.

kg1130
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/6/2011

Customer review by Daren

1.0 stars 10/6/2011 by Daren
by Daren

I bought this camera because of the reputation of Nikon, but have been extremely disappointed; have taken over 500 photos with this camera & not one of them has turned out well, many of which was on a holiday of a life time to Disney world Orlando , I took photos with my daughters Fuji film on that holiday to & they are all fine. I wrote letters to Nikon explaining this & detailing the problems with the photo's , the last one 2 months ago & to this day have had no reply. I would certainly never recommend this camera for anyone.

Daren
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice Camera good pictures SOMETIMES
12/29/2011

Customer review by Sugar Plum

2.0 stars 12/29/2011 by Sugar Plum
by Sugar Plum

I bought this camera back in November 2011 and i was able to upload pictures fine onto my computer with the USB cord. Now here it is December literally only a month later and I cant upload pictures. I installed that ViewNX2 or whatever onto my computer and still nothing. I registers for that myphototown stuff and nope nothing. I emailed Nikon service & support and I have yet to get a response back from them. I am disappointed with this part of the camera. If anyone knows how to go about fixing this please let me know.

Sugar Plum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a great camera!!
7/10/2012

Customer review by photo101

2.0 stars 7/10/2012 by photo101
by photo101

Overall this camera is really simple to use. I purchased this camera because it was smaller than my other camera and easy to handle. I liked that it was 14 megapixels. However, if I am not up close to the object I am taking a picture of the photo is either blurry, grainy, or dark. I have tried to change all of the settings and even reset all the settings, NOTHING seems to work. Also I find that when ever I zoom in on something I get the same results if not worse. This was my first Nikon and I am not impressed.

photo101
Would recommend to a friend? No
WORSE CAMERA EVER!
1/12/2012

Customer review by bibi

1.0 stars 1/12/2012 by bibi
by bibi

I bought this camera after having a fuji very old model, well this camera takes for ever to take a pic after taking one and while taking one. The pics are blurry you have to stay super still when taking the photo because even a slight movement (from the person holding the camera) will mess up the picture. I literally have to take at least 8 pics so I can get a decent one. I am completely disappointed, I wish I didn't have gotten rid of my old but much better camera than this! Will not buy Nikon again!

bibi
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews