Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 179 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

179 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

179 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
74
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
19
1 stars
45
1-20 of 168 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews
Love this simple and easy to use camera.
1/11/2012

Customer review by Lovelife2020

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by Lovelife2020
by Lovelife2020

Battery charges. Simple to transfer photos to computer. This series also has the best access door to the memory card. Have had 4 family members purchase one since I purchased mine.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovelife2020
Okatie SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/20/2012

Customer review by MayBeGaGrl77

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by MayBeGaGrl77
by MayBeGaGrl77

I needed a camera for a big family camping trip and the price was perfect. I wasn't sure what to expect but the camera did amazing. I have great shots in the dark and some really good motion shots as well. Its hard to get kids to slow down for pictures sometimes and with this one they didn't have too. The quality of the photos are amazing also. It didn't come with a case but the camera is slim enough that I bought a cheap cell phone case and it works out perfect. The battery died about 200 pics in but charged it for 2hr and I was back in business. I will not be going through dozens of AA batteries like the rest of my family. I highly recommend this camera. In the picture I uploaded the animal and the van were both in motion.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MayBeGaGrl77
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
12/20/2011

Customer review by mskw

1.0 stars 12/20/2011 by mskw
by mskw

the good: the pictures come out great when printed. the bad: the lag time between taking pictures is terrible! I have missed so many moments waiting for this camera to process my last shot! Also, when in auto mode, the flash hardly ever flashes...even when the lighting is terrible!!! There is no way to make it flash when you need it! I spent over $100 dollars on this camera and just hate it. Video: the time to video tape is only 25 minutes long, no matter how large your SD card is. I have a 16gb card in right now, and it still will only do increments of 25 minutes each. I have to keep and eye on the video and make sure I click to record again when my 25 minutes are up. This is terrible when taping your child in a play or big performance! Ugh!

Was this review helpful? (42) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mskw
TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Avoid this version of CoolPix
1/22/2012

Customer review by hcrockett

1.0 stars 1/22/2012 by hcrockett
by hcrockett

I had problems with the focusing mechanism of the camera from the moment I purchased it, resulting in consistently blurry photos. Those problems got worse and the optical zoom started malfunctioning. The lens started sticking when I turned the camera on and off and worsened to the point I couldn't turn the camera on. The camera was still under warranty, so I sent it in to Nikon for repair. Almost 2 months later, I got the repaired camera back. The optical zoom works, but the focusing mechanism still doesn't work correctly. No matter what settings I choose, the camera has a hard time auto-focusing and many times simply can't focus on ANYTHING. The photos that I do manage to get are a little blurry and now they consistently have orange splotches on them, so now there's something wrong with the white balance or color management. I've owned other versions of Nikon's CoolPix in the past and really like some of the features, so I'm doubly disappointed with this camera. Given the other poor reviews, it seems like I'm not the only one.

hcrockett
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/20/2012

Customer review by honestopinon1023

1.0 stars 1/20/2012 by honestopinon1023
by honestopinon1023

My old camera (Sony, had for 3 years and loved it) broke the day before I left for vacation. I bought this camera on the way to Florida for $114, and thought it was a good buy. I charged it, used it for less than 3 hours and the lens kept getting stuck- saying "Lens Error" I had to turn it off and on for it to work again. I took it back and exchanged it for the same camera, but one that I hoped would work. For the first week I had no more problems with the lens- but then I started to get "Lens Error" again. I have several problems with this camera. 1) Even when using the flash my pictures come out bluury, dark, or the colors are not true. 2) The camera takes a long time to focus, sometimes I have to press the button 3 times to for it to focus and take the picture 3)You cannot take picture after picture quickly, the camera takes 5 to 10 seconds to "record" image to memory card. I can honestly say there is nothing I like about this camera, im in the process of buying a new one (really reading reviews and researching the products i do not want to waste my money again) I am giving this camera to my 5 year old niece for it is too late to take it back.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
honestopinon1023
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Camera for the price!
1/4/2012

Customer review by JenD831

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by JenD831
by JenD831

I purchase this camera for my mom for Christmas! She loves it! She wanted something that was thin & easy to take on the go that took great pics. She has 3 grandkids that are always involved in school activities! So far she loves this camera and has recommended it to several of her girlfriends! I'm so glad that I purchased this in a bundle!

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JenD831
Muscle Shoals, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great camera
2/21/2012

Customer review by Zelgar

5.0 stars 2/21/2012 by Zelgar
by Zelgar

I read other reviews that were not that flattering, but after using this camera I found that it must be user error as I got great photos from it and it is very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zelgar
Palm Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awful Camera
12/29/2011

Customer review by LisaAS

1.0 stars 12/29/2011 by LisaAS
by LisaAS

I had to buy a camera to replace one that had broken. Somehow, I decided on this one. I was able to use it for a few weeks before I decided that it was really no good. It is very slow. Many of my pictures were blurry. The flash did not always work. It was annoying to use when I couldn't get it to work right. I have since returned it and am looking for a better camera.

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LisaAS
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great deal!
1/10/2012

Customer review by motochick179

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by motochick179
by motochick179

This camera is a great deal for the price it is sold for! Highly recommend purchasing one.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
motochick179
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Despite brand name I would not recommend this came
1/17/2012

Customer review by BRC1

2.0 stars 1/17/2012 by BRC1
by BRC1

Pics were not sharp and color not good. Flash washed out some and not enough in others. Definitely not up to the Nikon 35mm 's quality that I have owned and the name is why I purchased it. I have a 4 yr old Kodak SLR digital that takes much better pics under similar conditions and got the Nikon for better ease of carry. I have taken thousands of pics with Nikon,Pentax,Minolta,Canon 35mm and Kodak digital SLR and I would not buy this camera or recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BRC1
Lakeland,Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
This camera's just fine
3/3/2012

Customer review by xButtercupx94

4.0 stars 3/3/2012 by xButtercupx94
by xButtercupx94

I got this camera for Christmas and I've had it for almost 3 months now. It takes good pictures with flash, but it will sometimes take blurry pictures when you use no flash. The zoom is pretty useless because it has the same problem in taking blurry pictures, but be sure to overcome your anxiety because it can help give you a good chance to take better pictures. It's pretty hard to take pictures of things that are moving, such as pets, so you have to use your effort in trying to get a good shot of them. There's really no point in taking close up pictures because it turns out blurry or out of focus. If you're going to take pictures of something far away, you might have to change your ISO settings to a higher setting in order to make the picture easier to see and to avoid darkness. The videos turn out better than the videos I recorded from my Canon Powershot A495, but it's a little grainy, though.

xButtercupx94
Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Camera
2/6/2012

Customer review by MommaP85

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by MommaP85
by MommaP85

LOVE my new camera! I had a Coolpix several years ago that went missing. I am SO happy with my new one! It takes great pictures and is so easy to use!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaP85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great basic camera, perfect for nights out!
1/31/2012

Customer review by kenalin

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by kenalin
by kenalin

Got this camera to replace my other old Nikon Coolpix. Works great, just what I need to document my last years of college.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kenalin
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Fantastic, Fun Camera
5/27/2012

Customer review by marknorway

5.0 stars 5/27/2012 by marknorway
by marknorway

This camera was great right out of the box. I previously owned a Nikon CoolPix. After 10 years of happily using it, it became possessed and started turning itself on and off, repeatedly. I really wanted another CoolPix, since I thought that my old one was so good and had served me for so long. I shopped around and found the S3100. I jumped when I saw the price and features. It's so easy that you could use it without doing any reading to discover everything else special that it can do. I don't understand the few negative reviewers' comments. This camera can't take a bad picture. I used it for photos for a business proposal, and everyone was so impressed with the pictures even when printed with a color laser printer on plain bond paper. It's fun and easy to take great pictures. It's such a good buy for a fantastic price. It's one of the best buys I've made all year.

marknorway
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Phone Cameras Take Better Pictures
1/6/2013

Customer review by Cookla

1.0 stars 1/6/2013 by Cookla
by Cookla

The name Nikon use to signify a quality camera. I usually research products that cost over $50, but I trusted the name, and boy was I wrong. This camera is a piece of junk. The only halfway decent picture it takes is outside on a clear day with absolutely no motion whatsoever. My financial situation has been very poor the last couple of years, but I bought this camera because I needed it for a special project. Now, I cannot afford to go out and buy another. I finally gave up on it after trying every combination of settings with no positive results. I will never skip my research again. I found a great vacuum on walmart.com. I read through many pages of reviews before making my purchase, and it's the best vac I've ever purchased.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cookla
Massachsetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Nice little camera
7/25/2011

Customer review by cubbie

4.0 stars 7/25/2011 by cubbie
by cubbie

I was looking for a camera to slip into my pocket for those times when carrying my SLR wasn't feasible ... like when fly-fishing and wanting to get a picture of that "great catch"! The Coolpix fit the bill. There are so many options that are just a finger-click away - close-up, scenery, night, etc. The response time if reasonable .. on the same par with other point-and-shoot cameras in the same price range. In some cases the color doesn't come out as the "original" looked .. but I'm guessing in time I will learn what buttons to push to make that a little better. I would have liked a more detailed instruction manual. I know that a CD with all the information was provided, but when we're on the road and I don't have the computer handy - it would be nice to be able to look up on paper what I need to know. All in all, I am pleased so far with the results.

cubbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Handy and easy to use
7/1/2011

Customer review by odaraia

5.0 stars 7/1/2011 by odaraia
by odaraia

From day one, this camera has produced good pictures with ease. I purchased it in Daegu, Korea, and was able to register it online and download an English version user's guide. The simple "scene" feature, by which speed and aperture are represented by icons, make choosing settings fast and easy for a non-numbers brain like mine. Additional features such as panorama assist and pet and sports settings expand my ability to capture a good photo. Even the video is good. My partner, more experienced with cameras than I, has commented on our ability to capture photos during this trip, " This is a great camera." We've been posting on our blogs with these pictures, and they look great. The camera's size is convenient for pocket or purse. I didn't know it came in pink, which could have been extremely cool as a souvenir from this Korean trip. Good job, Nikon!

odaraia
Seoul, Korea
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great camera! Attractive and Great Quality!
3/11/2012

Customer review by Musicchicklily

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Musicchicklily
by Musicchicklily

Got this from Walmart.com and got it for a great price with the bundle package. So happy with it, camera is pretty and great quality. I have little kids and I want to capture every cute moment this camera is perfect for that because it is so sleek smaller and thinner than an iphone!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Musicchicklily
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/3/2012

Customer review by duganjr

5.0 stars 1/3/2012 by duganjr
by duganjr

ost of this camera is considered to be a great value....bought this camera for my wife for christmas.....she has hardly set it down taking pics of our grand-daughter....seems to work fine and the different modes to take a photo are very good....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
duganjr
hickory nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great camera
12/27/2011

Customer review by Sandy529

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by Sandy529
by Sandy529

I got this as a present for my daughter who will be going to Washington DC in the spring. She was absolutely thrilled and said the camera takes "awesome" pictures! Great camera for my daughter and a good deal for me!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sandy529
Kearney, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 168 total reviews
1-20 of 168 reviews