Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 31 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 30 reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
Easiest and most versatile I've used.
6/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used to sell camp stoves, and I own many. For perspective, I have a vintage 60s Coleman 3 burner liquid gas stove (AKA "The Beast") and a modern base level match light Coleman propane 2 burner. The Eventemp is my go-to. Boils water quickly on high and simmers low. Works well in between too when cooking on cast iron. Much easier to control the flame than either of the others I mentioned. No camp stove I've encountered regulates as well as a home range, unless it's pro grade and pricey. The Eventemp works as well with a 1lb bottle as it does with a 20lb tank. I find it very fuel efficient. The middle burner is perfect for keeping a griddle evenly heated or a smaller pan or pot simmering while cooking on another. Don't expect three equal and even burners though - you can look at it's dimensions and plainly see that's not what's intended. On the other hand, this is only slightly broader than a typical 2 burner yet fits on nearly any camp kitchen (most are designed for 2 burner stoves, not wide 3s). It's not like a traditional 3 burner - the middle burner on the Eventemp is more like the bridge element on a glass stovetop for griddles. When using a griddle, whether the one customized for this stove or another, turn your side burners down low and let the middle burner do the work or you'll have blackened pancakes. The electric start is handy - I don't need to hunt for my lighter each time. The price is high, but commensurate with what you get. I'm very satisfied with this stove and may replace my lesser 2 burner with a second Eventemp.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Should have bought it sooner!
10/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought it today, unboxed it, fired it up, cooked breakfast on the tailgate of my truck, and yeah i'd buy it again but it looks so good it will probably outlive me. I've been using Coleman stoves for five decades and think this is a Great design for cooking for groups/families but still will be my solo stove on roadtrips. The Wal-Mart price is what made up my mind on this purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great heat
5/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was my first camp stove. I go camping every year, but always had to rely on others for cooking stoves. I have a large pot for heating water for washing dishes. My stove heated the water in just a few minutes. Any time anyone in our group was ready to wash dishes, they came to me. I cooked a huge pot of oatmeal for about 20 people. It cooked in 30 minutes. I made french toast on the Coleman griddle. The third burner made the griddle heat evenly, so I could make 5 slices at a time. There was so much heat that I had to turn the main burners almost down to low to avoid burning the bread. My dad and my brother have stoves with two burners, and they always have cool spots in the center of their griddles, which is why they never make pancakes or french toast. I had the stove still in the box when I was at the campsite. I had the thing up and running in about 10 minutes. NOTE: A Phillips screwdriver is needed to assemble the feet, although I was able to do it with a pocket knife. If at first you do not get flame, try tightening the propane tank. And lastly, the push button ignition is great. No lighting long matches, and blocking the wind, etc.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent stove
8/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
WalMart has the best price that I could find! Out of the box is instructions that should be read to avoid making repairs that do not need to be made! After reading the simple instructions the stove went together simple as pie. The heat is even and consistant, the heat adjustment is accurate. The sides are a stainless steel and easy to clean. The Coleman griddle is attached to the left side to drain liquids off in a pan that attaches to the side. The griddle is pictured on the box, to show what and how it works. We have had the older stove that uses karosine, which is dangerious to us, and small shildren. The Coleman 3 burner prophane stove is tops in our camping experience, easy to clean, store and is well worth the great price at Walmart!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great stove!
7/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Loved this stove. It is very large and can cook a lot of food at once. It uses little to no propane. We used it 2x a day on a 4 day camping trip and went through about half of one of the small Coleman propane tanks. The stove can fit three smaller pans perfectly and cooks a lot more evenly than the 2 burner stove. The only cons are the price and the weight. It is pretty heavy. Oh, and the controls are very hard to adjust. In the daylight it is very very hard. Basically, it is on high or off. But you get used to it and can get it to be lower. The one last thing is the setup. I found it very easy except one thing. The battery compartment has a small screw on it. The screw is twisted about 10million times so getting it off at first is a huge pain. Just wear a glove and be prepared for twisting ALOT.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
THIS IS GREAT FOR BIG POTS. I BOUGHT A GRIDDLE AND IT DOES COOK EVENLY
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/3/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I didn't get a chance to test before our family camping trip but we pulled it out of the box at the camp ground, hooked it up and cooked pancakes for about 30 of our friends. It worked great. It's idiot proof to use and operate. We're actually going camping again this weekend and I can't wait to use it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
New stove
8/22/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The size and configuration of the burners, lid, and side flaps work very effectively. I would have rated this 5 stars but would like to see a little improvement in the flame adjustment using the knobs. It could be cause it's new, but it's difficult to get a very low flame for simmering. Also, it would be better if there was more room to tighten the brass propane connector to the stove. Otherwise, the stove functionality is simple and cleanup is a snap.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great camping stove.
9/18/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First I would like to dispel some thoughts from other reviews. If I was trying out for a job as a head chef at a 5 star restaurant I would probably want to cook on a "Viking" or a 'Wolf" stove that costs upwards of $15,000.00 For heating up a pot of chili in the woods this stove works great. Some reviewer's commented on the lack of "Knurled brass" where you connect the regulator to the stove. That fitting works so good you need only tighten it with your fingertips. I mean two finger tight, that's all. It will not leak and no pliers or wrenches or over tightening by hand is necessary. Try it. Secondly some people thought that you can not adjust the flame down to a simmer without it going out. That's true but if you push the red igniter button a few times while adjusting your flame you'll see it lights back up and stays on low. It takes some playing with but like I said, it's not a "Viking." I can get all 3 burners on a simmer for times when things just need to be heated up a little or cooked low. And any stove is going to blow out at low in the wind so be prepared to hit the igniter again when it goes out. Like Dirty Harry used to say "A man has got to know his limitations." Keep the 5 star cooking for home, this stove beats the heck out of a cold Tuna Fish Sandwich.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Coleman 3 burner stove
6/4/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When I first attempted to insert the regulator into the propane connection in the side of the stove, the regulator stem would not go in all of the way. I determined that the cause was that the internal propane connection was not lined up with the hole in the side of the stove. I removed the stove drip plate and properly aligned the propane stem with the hole in the side of the stove and that solved that issue. While I did not have any issues with this repair, I would think that many customers would not attempt this fix, this is a manufacturing and quality control issue. The next issue I encountered was that the knurling on the brass connection nut on the regulator stem was basically non-existent. This makes it very difficult to tighten the nut to the correct torque to prevent a leak at this joint, this again is a manufacturing/quality control issue. When I assembled the stove and connected it to a propane source and attempted to light the stove, no propane would come out of any burners. I had to close the valves on the stove, close the valve on the propane source, remove the propane source several times to get the regulator to provide propane to the stove. Once I finally got propane running to the stove, and I had one burner running, as soon as I turned on a second burner, the first one would go out. I had to close both burners, then turn them on simultaneously to get two running at the same time. Over time using the stove, this issue did get better. This is a regulator manufacturing/quality control issue. While the stove valves have approximately 180 degrees of motion, only about 30 degrees or less control the flame from off to full. Attempting to adjust the flame to anything less than medium is very difficult if not impossible, once you get the flame to low, and let go of the valve knob, the flame jumps to medium, this is a design issue. The next issue is the design of the stove its self, the stove is advertised as a three burner stove, but its design will not allow three pots of any reasonable size to be used simultaneously. You have to align the three pots in a triangular shape, which does not allow them to have sufficient contact with the burner flame to heat them reasonably. Only two pots can be used simultaneously, which completely negates the value of a three burner stove, the main reason I bought the stove. The stove needs to be at least 6-8 inches wider to use 3 burners. I noticed that most of the competitors in this propane stove/size have as a standard, a stainless steel drip pan and burner rack, this unit has neither. In good conscious I cannot recommend this stove for purchase, considering Coleman’s reputation for superior design/reliability, and dependability, this unit is a very big disappointment.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (80)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Lid Wouldnt Open- Couldnt Even Try It.
4/21/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this for $50 on clearance- was excited to get a Coleman product for that price. I already own a Coleman white gas stove and a couple lanterns. Wanted to try propane as connecting to a larger propane cylinder seems easier than dealing with liquid fuel. Brought the stove home and was eager to inspect . I couldnt even open the lid!!! Tried and tried to no avail. Looked online and saw others had the same issue. Some forced it open but most returned it. That is what I did. Since it was clearance there were no others to exchange for. I hope Coleman hasnt become another company that that turned to offshore production of substandard products like many others have. My 30+ year old lanterns never fail and my 20+ year old stoves never fail to work. Wanted to enjoy this product but one that cant be used is useless
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does the job but has two temperatures, off and on.
6/13/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got this to use car camping and it does the job well enough. My biggest complaint is that the burners are not very adjustable. For the life of me I could not get this to simmer. The first batch of bacon I made with the griddle burned. To get it to cook properly I had to keep turning it on and off. I may return this and try and find one that has better temperature control.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
9/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Exellent product, Walmart had the best price out of anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/18/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I would have gave it 5 stars but the product came with a damage grate. Not Wal-Mart's fault. Just a quality control issue. Wal-Mart exchanged it promptly. I recommend getting the griddle for this stove, works awesome. Can't wait to camp again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Deal
2/4/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The was the deal of the year, great service Great Price
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great stove
12/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Large and functional for average camper! Great purchase!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice little stove.
2/4/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Small and light weight, easy to carry.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent item
10/7/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This stove works perfectly! Couldn't be happier with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice to look at
7/15/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is impossible to control the heat on this thing. It is as sturdy as any other I've seen, but I can't cook on it. It has 3 burners, all with separate controls, but it doesn't matter if I have it on high or low, it is on med/high. The only way I could cook was to turn 2 burners off and cook on the opposite side of the griddle. Sorry I bought this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good stove for the money
4/28/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
While I agree that the metal is thinner than I am used to on Coleman products the stove performed great and was all I could have asked for. I would buy it again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643934, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-