Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

15 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Coleman 3 burner stove
6/4/2012

Customer review by aztester

1.0 stars by aztester

When I first attempted to insert the regulator into the propane connection in the side of the stove, the regulator stem would not go in all of the way. I determined that the cause was that the internal propane connection was not lined up with the hole in the side of the stove. I removed the stove drip plate and properly aligned the propane stem with the hole in the side of the stove and that solved that issue. While I did not have any issues with this repair, I would think that many customers would not attempt this fix, this is a manufacturing and quality control issue. The next issue I encountered was that the knurling on the brass connection nut on the regulator stem was basically non-existent. This makes it very difficult to tighten the nut to the correct torque to prevent a leak at this joint, this again is a manufacturing/quality control issue. When I assembled the stove and connected it to a propane source and attempted to light the stove, no propane would come out of any burners. I had to close the valves on the stove, close the valve on the propane source, remove the propane source several times to get the regulator to provide propane to the stove. Once I finally got propane running to the stove, and I had one burner running, as soon as I turned on a second burner, the first one would go out. I had to close both burners, then turn them on simultaneously to get two running at the same time. Over time using the stove, this issue did get better. This is a regulator manufacturing/quality control issue. While the stove valves have approximately 180 degrees of motion, only about 30 degrees or less control the flame from off to full. Attempting to adjust the flame to anything less than medium is very difficult if not impossible, once you get the flame to low, and let go of the valve knob, the flame jumps to medium, this is a design issue. The next issue is the design of the stove its self, the stove is advertised as a three burner stove, but its design will not allow three pots of any reasonable size to be used simultaneously. You have to align the three pots in a triangular shape, which does not allow them to have sufficient contact with the burner flame to heat them reasonably. Only two pots can be used simultaneously, which completely negates the value of a three burner stove, the main reason I bought the stove. The stove needs to be at least 6-8 inches wider to use 3 burners. I noticed that most of the competitors in this propane stove/size have as a standard, a stainless steel drip pan and burner rack, this unit has neither. In good conscious I cannot recommend this stove for purchase, considering Coleman’s reputation for superior design/reliability, and dependability, this unit is a very big disappointment.

Was this review helpful? (55) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
aztester
Mesa, Az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent stove
8/11/2012

Customer review by farout67

5.0 stars by farout67

WalMart has the best price that I could find! Out of the box is instructions that should be read to avoid making repairs that do not need to be made! After reading the simple instructions the stove went together simple as pie. The heat is even and consistant, the heat adjustment is accurate. The sides are a stainless steel and easy to clean. The Coleman griddle is attached to the left side to drain liquids off in a pan that attaches to the side. The griddle is pictured on the box, to show what and how it works. We have had the older stove that uses karosine, which is dangerious to us, and small shildren. The Coleman 3 burner prophane stove is tops in our camping experience, easy to clean, store and is well worth the great price at Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
farout67
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/18/2012

Customer review by bunny43

5.0 stars by bunny43

THIS IS GREAT FOR BIG POTS. I BOUGHT A GRIDDLE AND IT DOES COOK EVENLY

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bunny43
Prospect Park, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
10/3/2012

Customer review by ZombieHordeGeocaching

5.0 stars by ZombieHordeGeocaching

I didn't get a chance to test before our family camping trip but we pulled it out of the box at the camp ground, hooked it up and cooked pancakes for about 30 of our friends. It worked great. It's idiot proof to use and operate. We're actually going camping again this weekend and I can't wait to use it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ZombieHordeGeocaching
White Plains, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great stove!
7/17/2013

Customer review by TheresaR

5.0 stars by TheresaR

Loved this stove. It is very large and can cook a lot of food at once. It uses little to no propane. We used it 2x a day on a 4 day camping trip and went through about half of one of the small Coleman propane tanks. The stove can fit three smaller pans perfectly and cooks a lot more evenly than the 2 burner stove. The only cons are the price and the weight. It is pretty heavy. Oh, and the controls are very hard to adjust. In the daylight it is very very hard. Basically, it is on high or off. But you get used to it and can get it to be lower. The one last thing is the setup. I found it very easy except one thing. The battery compartment has a small screw on it. The screw is twisted about 10million times so getting it off at first is a huge pain. Just wear a glove and be prepared for twisting ALOT.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TheresaR
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great heat
5/1/2013

Customer review by AwesomeDude777

5.0 stars by AwesomeDude777

This was my first camp stove. I go camping every year, but always had to rely on others for cooking stoves. I have a large pot for heating water for washing dishes. My stove heated the water in just a few minutes. Any time anyone in our group was ready to wash dishes, they came to me. I cooked a huge pot of oatmeal for about 20 people. It cooked in 30 minutes. I made french toast on the Coleman griddle. The third burner made the griddle heat evenly, so I could make 5 slices at a time. There was so much heat that I had to turn the main burners almost down to low to avoid burning the bread. My dad and my brother have stoves with two burners, and they always have cool spots in the center of their griddles, which is why they never make pancakes or french toast. I had the stove still in the box when I was at the campsite. I had the thing up and running in about 10 minutes. NOTE: A Phillips screwdriver is needed to assemble the feet, although I was able to do it with a pocket knife. If at first you do not get flame, try tightening the propane tank. And lastly, the push button ignition is great. No lighting long matches, and blocking the wind, etc.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AwesomeDude777
Sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
New stove
8/22/2013

Customer review by HeresT0U

4.0 stars by HeresT0U

The size and configuration of the burners, lid, and side flaps work very effectively. I would have rated this 5 stars but would like to see a little improvement in the flame adjustment using the knobs. It could be cause it's new, but it's difficult to get a very low flame for simmering. Also, it would be better if there was more room to tighten the brass propane connector to the stove. Otherwise, the stove functionality is simple and cleanup is a snap.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HeresT0U
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does the job but has two temperatures, off and on.
6/13/2014

Customer review by RockemSockem

3.0 stars by RockemSockem

I got this to use car camping and it does the job well enough. My biggest complaint is that the burners are not very adjustable. For the life of me I could not get this to simmer. The first batch of bacon I made with the griddle burned. To get it to cook properly I had to keep turning it on and off. I may return this and try and find one that has better temperature control.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RockemSockem
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/18/2013

Customer review by Jayco2013

4.0 stars by Jayco2013

I would have gave it 5 stars but the product came with a damage grate. Not Wal-Mart's fault. Just a quality control issue. Wal-Mart exchanged it promptly. I recommend getting the griddle for this stove, works awesome. Can't wait to camp again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jayco2013
mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lid Wouldnt Open- Couldnt Even Try It.
4/21/2014

Customer review by HuffDodger

1.0 stars by HuffDodger

Bought this for $50 on clearance- was excited to get a Coleman product for that price. I already own a Coleman white gas stove and a couple lanterns. Wanted to try propane as connecting to a larger propane cylinder seems easier than dealing with liquid fuel. Brought the stove home and was eager to inspect . I couldnt even open the lid!!! Tried and tried to no avail. Looked online and saw others had the same issue. Some forced it open but most returned it. That is what I did. Since it was clearance there were no others to exchange for. I hope Coleman hasnt become another company that that turned to offshore production of substandard products like many others have. My 30+ year old lanterns never fail and my 20+ year old stoves never fail to work. Wanted to enjoy this product but one that cant be used is useless

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HuffDodger
Would recommend to a friend? No
9/13/2013

Customer review by Lindy1950

5.0 stars by Lindy1950

Exellent product, Walmart had the best price out of anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Lindy1950
Goshen, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great stove
12/23/2014

Customer review by k2andremi

5.0 stars by k2andremi

Large and functional for average camper! Great purchase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
k2andremi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The Deal
2/4/2015

Customer review by gmarch

5.0 stars by gmarch

The was the deal of the year, great service Great Price

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gmarch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice little stove.
2/4/2015

Customer review by pinkwan

5.0 stars by pinkwan

Small and light weight, easy to carry.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pinkwan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes