Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 72 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

72 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

72 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 67 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
best tent ever
3/8/2011

Customer review by busboy64

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by busboy64
by busboy64

we had bought this tent last year and i have to say its the best tent i have ever owned we open this tent at the campground and even without previous experience we had this set up in about 2 minutes this tent had enough room for our two queen size air beds plus lots of extra room if you want to make camping much more enjoyable buy this tent

Was this review helpful? (135) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
busboy64
haverhill ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
EXCELLENT, 2nd to none!
6/2/2011

Customer review by MomtothreeinNC

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by MomtothreeinNC
by MomtothreeinNC

I have not written a review until now b/c I wanted to wait and see how it performed after multiple uses. I can ASSURE you this tent is 5 stars and then some. It literally goes up in less than a minute. You set it on the ground, let it fall open, slide out the poles, slide up the poles and voila, you are done! It goes down just as easy. As far as rain, we have endured a HEAVY rain in the mountains with wind and we did not have a drop. Though it does not have a rain fly, all of the seams are taped and so nothing can get through. You will not regret buying this AT ALL. As parents of 3 children, the need to get our site set up and get on to the fun was imperative when we started camping. We get to our site, find people trying to get their tents up, get unloaded, get our tent up and the rest of our site before others even get their tent finished. Every single time we have gone out we get multiple campers stop by to inquire about the tent because they see how easy we have it ;) If you are thinking about camping and worrying it will be too much work, stop thinking about it, buy this tent and start enjoying!! Coleman definitely has a winner with this tent!

Was this review helpful? (135) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomtothreeinNC
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
This tent still needs improvement
6/19/2012

Customer review by Byteman21

3.0 stars 6/19/2012 by Byteman21
by Byteman21

This tent goes up and comes down quickly, although not 1 minute, more like 5 minutes. My main complaint about this tent is water getting in. Last year when I bought this tent I had a few leaks which I corrected with a tarp. I just got back from a camping trip and had another problem with water in my tent. The front door must be closed perfectly and covered with the tarp or else water will pool up at the bottom of the door and leak in. This feat is very hard to accomplish from the inside and so leaks are inevitable. As noted before air circulation with the windows buttoned up and a tarp (you really really need a tarp) is non existent . I would hope that Coleman would improve this tent by designing a rain fly that keeps the water off the tent and away from the windows and door. This would eliminate the leaks through the tent and allow for ventilation during rains. I further feel that Coleman should realize that such a rain fly should be included. The rain fly that Coleman now offers is inadequate for this job and is a $40.00 option.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Byteman21
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
BEST tent ever !!!
4/9/2011

Customer review by megi79

5.0 stars 4/9/2011 by megi79
by megi79

Top quality. One person will set up and take down it. We love this tent. Tent keeps warmth, while using heater and outside is only 41F.

Was this review helpful? (61) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
megi79
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
One great tent to own
6/12/2011

Customer review by beetlelady

5.0 stars 6/12/2011 by beetlelady
by beetlelady

I did my homework before buying this tent. I needed a tent I could set up rather quickly. I wanted quality as well as convience. I found both in this product. I am not sure if others know but there is a difference in the instant 8 over the instant 9. One is 14 X 8 the other is 14 x 10. The 14 x 10 has 2 doors while the 14 x 8 has the one T door. For myself, the 14 x 8 is perfect. I am able to set up and tear down this tent by myself. I have tested it for rain and perfect, no leaks at all. I do quite a bit of camping since I am retired. Family as well as backpacking. This tent is excellent for family camping. The last time I took my granddaughter camping before I could get my then current tent up it began to rain. A nice tent but took some time to totally have set up. That was a problem indeed. That problem will not be one ever again with this great tent. Coleman, I give you a 5 for this design.

Was this review helpful? (86) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
beetlelady
Anoka MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
An Outstanding Tent! GREAT Design and Top Quality!
3/22/2011

Customer review by Discovery222

5.0 stars 3/22/2011 by Discovery222
by Discovery222

I was looking for something that sets up fast specifically and I have always liked Coleman products. With gear like this you will never spend an hour or two setting up when you arrive at camp again. When I arrive I want to set up and go and this is not only fast but I love the tent just on its own for all other features. This tent literally sets up in 1 minute. I have set it up alone in less than 5. Take down is almost as easy and far easier than any tent I have ever owned. It is a great design all around, extremely well made. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS TENT!!! It is worth every penny!

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Discovery222
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Delived everything promised and more !
9/15/2013

Customer review by IMovedDaMoon

5.0 stars 9/15/2013 by IMovedDaMoon
by IMovedDaMoon

I did my homework, read every review, studied all brands, and choose the Coleman as they have a history of quality products. I paid a few $$$ more ordering from Walmart because I believed IF there was a problem I could get it resolved quickly. By myself it took about 5 minutes first time setting it up. I went Ludington State Park, Michigan, which is all sugar sand, the stakes held fine. I got 2 cans of water repellent and drowned the whole tent and rain fly for extra insurance. First night it stormed with 30mph winds. NO LEAKS or problems the whole week I was there. For all of the negative reviews I have read I offer this... It is a $200.00 Tent, not a nuclear storm shelter, nor the Holiday Inn.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IMovedDaMoon
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Tent on the Market
8/23/2012

Customer review by BethWV

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by BethWV
by BethWV

Watched the video to see just how easy it was to set up this tent. My husband and I were both amazed and decided we had to buy this tent. We're both in our early 40's and have two toddlers ages 2 and 3, and so the easier it is to set up camp, the better! Well let me tell you, this tent is just as easy to set up as it shows in the video! My mom and step-dad were setting their tent up at the same time we started setting ours up. (They didn't have a Coleman Instant Tent). Our tent was up and we were putting our sleeping gear inside the tent, and they were still putting their poles through their tent. LOL. My mom was being sarcastic and telling us that we had a "senior citizen tent" LOL OK OK let her have her laugh :) The next night, we had a very bad thunderstorm with high winds and heavy downpours. I was worried our tent would be soaked, but it was not! There was a small puddle just inside the door, and at first I thought it had leaked, but soon found that someone didn't zip the bottom of the door completely and that's how the water got on the floor. There was no water anywhere else. The walls weren't wet or damp feeling at all. We didn't even have the tent staked down.. although I wouldn't advise that (our tent could have blown away), I just wanted to add that for a thorough review. I would have given the tent 5 stars for Meeting my Expectations, however, I was a little disappointed with the size. We had a queen size air mattress in the tent, and it literally took up half the tent and touched the walls at both the foot and head of the mattress. There was room enough I guess. We also had our 2 year old's sleep n play yard in the tent and there was still room enough to get in and out of the tent easily. I guess I just like LOTS of room. Would be nice if Coleman would make a 14' x 20' instant tent :) That's what it would take to meet my expectations, but other than that, this tent is AWESOME. Take down of the tent was just as easy once we figured out which direction to fold the poles. It's simply the reverse of the way you put it up. We collapsed the tent and folded the tent around the poles, and put it right back in the SAME bag it came out of without any problems at all. Once home from our camping trip, my mom decided she was going to set her tent up in the yard so she could sweep the floor out from our last camping trip. She tried to set it up without staking it first and it wouldn't work LOL She called my husband and asked "do you know where I can get one of those "Senior Citizens Tents"? LOL Looks like my mom is going to order a Coleman Instant Tent now! Who got the last laugh?? Thanks Coleman!!!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BethWV
Lumberport, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Choose NO OTHER Tent - This is ALL THAT and more!
5/27/2011

Customer review by TURTLEGIRL01

5.0 stars 5/27/2011 by TURTLEGIRL01
by TURTLEGIRL01

After camping for the past three years and fighting with putting up our old tents (plus they all leaked) we bought this one. Honestly, it sets up in minutes and it is AWESOME. It is HUGE, heavy duty, and easy. It weighs a little more but, worth every extra pound !!!!! I would recommend heavier tent stakes for extra security if you camp where it is windy or in the event of a storm. You will NOT be disappointed in this purchase !!!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TURTLEGIRL01
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great tent BUT NOT WATERPROOF
8/21/2013

Customer review by SammieSoap

4.0 stars 8/21/2013 by SammieSoap
by SammieSoap

I borrowed this tent from my brother-in-law for a two-day music festival with outdoor camping. The tent was extremely easily to put up and take down, which is always lovely. It is sturdy. It slept three adults very comfortably, and could have easily housed four. BUT, we caught some bad weather with high winds and rain for about 2-3 hours. The tent was staked and didn't move an inch. HOWEVER, within thirty minutes of wet weather, water started to form inside the roof of the tent, and then the sides became completely soaked. Even after the rain stopped, we continued to have water dripping from the top of the tent and EVERYTHING inside got soaked. That being said-- I will continue to use this tent because of how large, sturdy, and convenient it is, BUT I will bring a tarp or two to cover the roof and sides in case of rain. I never leave reviews on items, but I just want to warn future purchasers to not expect this tent to be waterproof and to bring tarps or extra cover in case of rain. Everything will get soaked. Nonetheless, it is a great tent.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SammieSoap
Virginia Beach, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
7/10/2011

Customer review by Kim911

5.0 stars 7/10/2011 by Kim911
by Kim911

I love this tent. So easy to put up. It was a learning process taking it down though. The directions need to be better. If the bottom of the tent gets into the folds at all it won't fold up correctly. You have to make sure the bottom stays flat as possible don't bunch it up. Some trouble shooting tips would have been nice but I finally figured it out.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kim911
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I am not a happy camper with this tent!
6/18/2012

Customer review by cjsmith45

2.0 stars 6/18/2012 by cjsmith45
by cjsmith45

First of all, I did not purchase my tent from Wal Mart. I had been looking at the instant tent since they came out and was excited when I finally had the money saved to purchase one. The first trip out it went up OK, not quite as easy as the video shows, but then I was setting it up by myself. The front door is not taut enough and constantly droops into the tent, causing any and all rain to puddle right in the front of the tent. No other leaking, BTW. The second trip wasn't as nice, the tent set up OK, but one of the poles snapped when trying to get it to collapse, still had the same issue with the door falling back into the tent and the rain puddling, and boy did it RAIN that trip! Also the zipper kept getting stuck in the fly. I took the tent home, contacted COLEMAN and set it up to dry out and waited for the replacement part to be sent to me. During this time, (about a week) the handle on the carry bag ripped off the bag itself. Final straw was this weekend. Another pole snapped during setup, and 3 more snapped during take down. The front door still drooped, even after getting an email from COLEMAN about the correct way to set it up. (Same way I had been, just in case you were wondering.) Tonight the tent is like a giant octopus in the back of my car and tomorrow I am calling COLEMAN directly and will demand a refund so I can purchase a tent that is functional!

Was this review helpful? (20) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cjsmith45
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great
9/6/2011

Customer review by AmyGVB

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by AmyGVB
by AmyGVB

This tent is great, easy set up/take down. It is large and can stand up to the rain. The only thing I didn't like was the zipper to get into the tent. It took two hands to get the zipper going. We had rain and it did not leak..we did scotch gard it before going.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmyGVB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
DO NOT USE IN RAIN
8/14/2012

Customer review by campingkurt

1.0 stars 8/14/2012 by campingkurt
by campingkurt

This tent claims "Exclusive WeatherTec™ System Keeps you dry Guaranteed™" Our experience while camping during an all day rain was top and all sides seeped water through fabric within a few minutes. Within 24 hours at least 1/2 gallon of water entered the tent. This would have been much more- we put a tarp over top as a rain fly. Everything inside tent was soaked. DO NOT BUY IF ANY CHANCE OF RAIN.

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
campingkurt
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Love this tent
7/5/2011

Customer review by mhjh

5.0 stars 7/5/2011 by mhjh
by mhjh

We bought this tent for 2 adults and a baby. it was great. it fit a queen sized air mattress, pack n play and all our bags, plus had lots of room to move around. It was a really easy set up. It took my husband about 5 minutes to set up with no help and about 5 minutes to break it down. There is no electrical zipper pocket, so you can't run a cord into the tent unless you use the zipper on the door. we wanted to set up the baby monitor, but we worked around it. There is no fly over the tent, which was fine because it didn't rain, but i suppose in the rain you would have to zip up your windows. This was a great product for the money.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mhjh
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Good tent - be careful of dimensions however
12/2/2013

Customer review by Camper27

4.0 stars 12/2/2013 by Camper27
by Camper27

This is a good tent and is worth the money. I personally purchased this tent to replace an exact similar tent (so I was thinking) as a part that broke could not be replaced. This part broke because of improper setup and was entirely my fault :( - yes I broke it.... Anyway, be aware that Coleman had 2 sizes - a 12x8 and a 12x9 and they are both marketed as "8 person instant tent". I originally had a 12x9. I bought a 12x8 (I did not know) instead and was disappointed strictly from the standpoint that two queen beds no longer fit side by side towards the rear of the tent. This is a completely personal preference. My solution: I used the new tent part to fix the old tent. So I am back in business. Please be aware of this "size" change. I believe the older 8 person tents used to be 12x9 and now they are 12x8. Minor inconvenience? For me it was.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Camper27
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
BEST TENT...HANDS DOWN!
9/30/2013

Customer review by gincravens

4.0 stars 9/30/2013 by gincravens
by gincravens

We purchased this tent, after ALOT of research, because we had returned a different brand of tent when it collapsed on top of us at 4am(25 mph wind) and broke a fiberglass rod. THIS TENT IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! The IMMEDIATE value comes along with the ease of putting it up. From taking it out of the bag to putting in the last stake...10 minutes! This was only the 2nd time we have erected a tent and we felt like BOSSES! We were camping on the Texas coast...and we DID upgrade to bigger stakes, but this tent withstood 35 mph winds like a CHAMP, all night long the 1st night. (wind tapered off after that)The second night, it rained cats and dogs! NOT ONE WET SPOT IN THE TENT! We were IMPRESSED! Two things I could say would make this tent BETTER...an electric cord port.(BUT...I wouldnt trade water resistance!) and when you unzip the windows (I didnt mention there are PLENTY of windows for good air circulation!) there arent any ties to secure them so that they dont flap in the wind all night.I will buy clips to secure these before we head out again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gincravens
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Fast set up.
9/22/2014

Customer review by JKT1832

5.0 stars 9/22/2014 by JKT1832
by JKT1832

Finally a tent that is quick to put up and bring down. It's pretty roomy and although I probably would not want to actually put 8 people in there, you could squeeze them in. But in reality this would be great for a family of 4 and all their junk - let's just be honest! It has two "rooms" or at least a divider that you can make the large space into two areas. And it's kind of long and skinny shaped- rather than a large square. We watched a video on youtube on how to put the tent up and bring it down before doing it so we didn't have to read directions and that was pretty much all we needed to do, it was very simple. I would have had difficulty doing it alone though because I am very short. I needed someone taller like my husband to help in all actuality. Really he could have just done it without me I guess. But with two people it goes faster because you can work from opposite sides. Packing it up is simple too, but takes slightly longer because you have to get it back in the bag.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JKT1832
Iowa, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Top 10 contributor
Great tent, easy to use.
8/3/2012

Customer review by Jenjo4

4.0 stars 8/3/2012 by Jenjo4
by Jenjo4

We camped in this tent for two nights. It would have been three, but we were in some heavy rain and it was actually coming through the tent all over. I'm sure it wouldn't in light rain. Overall it was very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jenjo4
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Tent pole tether broke on set up
11/1/2013

Customer review by JmyJames

1.0 stars 11/1/2013 by JmyJames
by JmyJames

Very odd floor plan with door on short side of tent. If you go for max capacity then air mattresses are all perpendicular to door. three Occupants would have to climb over other's sleeping gear to get to back of tent and leaves no room for duffles, shoes, etc.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JmyJames
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews