Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 90 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

90 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

90 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
1-20 of 80 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews
Many great features
9/25/2013

Customer review by mtnbilly

4.0 stars 9/25/2013 by mtnbilly
by mtnbilly

Very good tent. The only problem was water collecting on the top apex during a substantial rain. Once it built up it would come in the top air vents. Other than that it is a great tent and meets all of colemans bragging points. A rain fly is now available for this model and we plan on adding this to our rent. The best feature is the quick set up and tear down. No bundle of pole sections or tension cords to mess with.

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mtnbilly
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Tent
10/16/2012

Customer review by Nanny4two

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by Nanny4two
by Nanny4two

This tent is a dream. I put this tent up by myself in 1 minute without even watching the video. The zipper on the door was a little tricky at first but after a couple of days using it the tension stretched out on in and it opens and closes easily. I do wish there was an electric port but I was able to just run an extension cord through the bottom corner of the door and it worked just fine. Taking the tent down was just as easy as set up. The only think I would change is the fact that the "optional" rain fly is sold separately (not through Wal-Mart) and they are on back order every where that sells them. I have ordered one from Amazon but it did not come in time for my camping trip last week. This was not really a problem because the night it called for rain I just put a tarp over the top of the tent and tied it down with rope and had no leaking issues. I am pretty sure I have finally found the "Perfect" tent.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nanny4two
Pevely, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great tent!!!!!
10/30/2012

Customer review by Belix162

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Belix162
by Belix162
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My husband and I do a lot of camping. I have put up and taken down many different tents in all shapes and sizes. The Coleman Instant Tent is the last tent I will ever use. Goes up in a few seconds and comes down in about the same time. I used my tent 2 weeks ago and did not have any problems with it whatsoever. It was a cold night (around 38) and we slept fine and stayed surprisingly warm. I would recommend this tent to anyone who is tired of all you have to go through to put up and take down a tent. This one is amazing. The only negative I can think of is that like most tents the amount of people it will sleep is based on being on the ground in a sleeping bag so if this is the case it will sleep 6 very close together. If you are like us and use an air mattress. It will hold a queen air mattress and a twin air mattress with enough room to get in and out of the tent.

Was this review helpful? (32) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Belix162
Berea, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty sweet!
3/25/2011

Customer review by kaylow

5.0 stars 3/25/2011 by kaylow
by kaylow

I've had this tent for a few weeks. I haven't had a chance to actually camp with it yet. I did however set it up in my family room, and the 60 second set up time is no exageration- even on the first try. The nearly vertical side walls make this tent feel really spacious. The peak of the tent to the floor is about 6'5". I am 6' tall and I never felt the need to duck my head, even away from the center. The six person rating is a little on the optimistic side. You could fit six people, but there wouldn't be much room to move. The materials seem sturdy and there are plenty of windows. There is no rainfly, which is nice for set up, but it doesn't give you the option for the open air feel on nice nights. Take down is relatively simple, though not as easy as set up. I have a feeling it will get easier with practice. Although the tent bag is decently sized, it's still a bit of a pain to get the tent back in there. Overall, this tent is awesome! I am very pleased with my purchase and excited to use it when the rain stops. I definitely recommend this tent- especially if you camp more than once a year.

Was this review helpful? (87) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kaylow
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
LOVE IT!!!!
5/20/2011

Customer review by Trini2Hot

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by Trini2Hot
by Trini2Hot

I purchased this tent after reading many reviews. I already own a six person tent, but needed a tent that did not require two adults to setup, as I often camp with my young daughter. I cannot find enough good things to say about this tent!! Setup was ridiculously easy!! I don't know if I would try to fit six people inside, although I think it would be great for four. It definitely retains heat. But then again, I was camping in the Florida Keys in the middle of May. The poles are already set up, so that's one less thing to worry about. This tent is SOOOO worth the money. Now, I didn't experience any inclement weather during my camping trip, so I don't know how it handles in those cases. But so far, so good. I'm actually looking into buying the 8 person tent, as it has two rooms!!

Was this review helpful? (134) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Trini2Hot
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
10/11/2013

Customer review by mgkmom82

1.0 stars 10/11/2013 by mgkmom82
by mgkmom82

Kudos on the ease of set up and take down but that is as far as my praise is going to go. I am very very disappointed as I really wanted this to be a great tent. I have never had a wet tent before and this one is the first. There was "NO RAIN" and my tent was wet and everything in it was wet. As soon as condensation settled on the walls is soaked right through. My pillow was even wet. I rolled from the spot I was on and had to roll back as the surface of everything was wet not damp but straight up wet. Thank goodness there was no rain because we probably would have drowned. I have made several attempts to contact Coleman to no avail. I guess when you are that big you don't need to have good customer service. The Oasis is much cheaper and the fabric is 1/2 the thickness but it stayed dry even in rain. Plan is to return this one and buy the Oasis instant set :(

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgkmom82
Clermont, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
This Tent leaks horribly
9/17/2012

Customer review by allen13143

2.0 stars 9/17/2012 by allen13143
by allen13143

Overall the Tent is good , but leaks horribly . The instant up feaure is really nice , you will love that part . Coleman normally builds good stuff . But this one leaks like a sive. I used two cans of Waterproofing and did all the seams . The area it leaks is at the bottom where the Polyester tent fabric meets the urathane boddom , it had standing Water all along the edges after an all night rain. I was a Scout Master for years and know a little bit about Camping , you always must test your equipment in your backyard before going out on a trip or expect Negative surprises . The Tent is well made and worth the money, but only after I repair the leaks . A simple amount of Silicon rubber along that bottom seam should do the trick . The Tent is cheap to buy and well worth the money , Just remember to spend extra money on sealing it or wake up in the morning with water around the edges . Every Coleman instant Tent has the same design so remember to spend extra time and money to fix their problems . A truly great tent will cost you many hundred more , most people do not want to spend that kind of money. Also if it does not rain , your fine , but you take a chance because no one knows when a shower occurs . Also put a light Tarp over the entire Canopy to slow down the rain. The design is good overall , but Coleman failed to make the Tent rain Tight .

Was this review helpful? (66) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allen13143
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Not suitable for RAIN!
8/4/2014

Customer review by WorstTentEver

1.0 stars 8/4/2014 by WorstTentEver
by WorstTentEver

After reading all the reviews on here about this tent, I felt pretty good about the possibilities. I though, "Nah," people must be kidding about the water coming in the tent. It is absolutely true. My first night in the tent, it poured down rain. Then I felt rain come in from the very top, plus rain was coming through the window seams. Also, there was a hole in my brand new tent, so I took the tent back to Walmart, no questions asked. Which the hole let less rain in than the top. I was so hoping that this would be a good tent for the family. I had one of the worst nights of my life. Good thing I was on a cot, but it still pooled up on the bottom, and dripped onto my cot. DO NOT BUY THIS TENT. Even with the rain fly, I doubt the windows will keep you dry. Setup and take down are easy, other than that this is a horrible tent. Buy at own risk, you may just have a very long night.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WorstTentEver
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy and convenient
9/17/2012

Customer review by HemiHauler

4.0 stars 9/17/2012 by HemiHauler
by HemiHauler

Just bought this before a three-night trip last month. Was quite easy to put up, as seen in the demo video. Also as seen: works a lot easier with two people helping. Took 2 or 3 minutes to fully collapse and squeeze out enough air to get it back into the carry-bag. Main flaw in design is that the center hub (spring-loaded thing at the top where the legs all meet) takes a lot of pressure and is only made of plastic. The hub helps hold the legs outward when putting up the tent. When putting away the tent after airing it out after the trip, I noticed the hub was broken. There are two long bolts that a spring-loaded plate slides on as a guide, and one of the bolts (and the threaded plastic it had been attached to) was broken away from the core of the hub. I believe the tent would still work even if the other bolt would snap off too. I called Coleman and a replacement hub was delivered FREE in three days: no questions asked. I loved the tent and I applaude Coleman's service. I will, however, be purchasing a spare hub as cheap insurance for about $16. I'll have no trouble changing the hub, but it might be tricky for some folks, as there are about a dozen screws on the spring-loaded contraption.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HemiHauler
York PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
GREAT tent
7/9/2012

Customer review by mezzomaniac

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by mezzomaniac
by mezzomaniac

Lightweight and easy to carry (I have a bad back and it was no problem). It is a typical "6" person size (tents are sized by how many sleeping bags would fit pushed next to each other, not by how 6 people would particularly choose to sleep). I think it's a great size for 2 (or 3) people and a dog... We had no problem with rain getting in during a torrential downpour and thunderstorm that lasted for over an hour, we, and our stuff were perfectly dry. I am very pleased with the purchase; couldn't be more satisfied. We probably took 5 minutes on both the set-up and take-down, very easy and I'm sure we'll get faster.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mezzomaniac
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
One minute wet
5/8/2012

Customer review by Tockie

1.0 stars 5/8/2012 by Tockie
by Tockie

This tent will set up in about a minute as it states... It takes down about as quick. The problem that i have found is, it leaks at all the zipper locations, ie; all windows, doors and top. It does however withstand high winds as long as you use the upgraded plastic stakes also available at Walmart. Even though it's rated for 6 people, i would probably think 2 people would be more comfortable. I could have been one of the lucky people who had purchased a tent that was defective. I strongly recommend that you set the tent up and water test it before taking it out to camp. Walmart was real helpful by taking the tent back. I will however be looking for another tent for my next trip.

Was this review helpful? (79) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tockie
Gainesville Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Big Tent, Small Price
9/19/2013

Customer review by TentativeReviewer

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by TentativeReviewer
by TentativeReviewer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Often it costs more to stay in a hotel one night than it does to buy this tent, which we intend to use for years to come (but not at a hotel!) The 6-person is very large inside, with plenty of headroom for my 6'2" husband, plus extra for that handy overhead tent light I forgot to buy (the one held on by magnets - though there is a hook in the center of the tent to hang some other type of light or fan). This is one of the only car-camping tents we found that had inside zip-up window covers, so you could have privacy without using a rainfly. We also bought the rainfly and extra stakes for safety. The plastic flooring is rather crispy sounding as you roll it up. Hopefully it lasts. An extra set of compression straps would help push the air out of the tent after you rolled it up (very airtight, so leave some windows unzipped). There are "compression" straps attached to the outside of the carrying bag, so not helpful to reduce the size of the tent to get it into the bag. Once stuffed back into the bag, the tent was a little too long to fit sideways in the back of our Ford Escape or the standard sized roof top cargo carrier, but it does fit at an angle.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TentativeReviewer
L.A., CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good but small and leaks
7/9/2014

Customer review by FlyRodGuy

4.0 stars 7/9/2014 by FlyRodGuy
by FlyRodGuy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is smaller than I anticipated. For a 6 person tent they must all be tiny persons. Two queen mattresses pretty much take up the whole floor. Buy the optional rain fly direct from Coleman and use a tarp over the top until Coleman finally ships yours. The roof vents are a nice touch in warm weather but leak when it rains. But it goes up and down really quickly and stores in the provided bag. To compress out all the air for storage, leave the roof vents open and the zipper across the bottom of the door unzipped. The vertical zipper has a problem making it around the upper corner of the door if the tent is securely anchored. Try to use the door with just opening the bottom zipper and using the vertical to just below the upper corner.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlyRodGuy
Pinetop, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great family tent
4/12/2011

Customer review by Jamilyian

5.0 stars 4/12/2011 by Jamilyian
by Jamilyian

We are a family of five (mom, dad, and three kids) and bought this tent last year. We have camped twice and so far it has worked great. We are not experienced campers and it really is an easy setup/takedown and has lots of windows for ventilation. I love that it is tall so that we aren't all hunched over when trying to move around in there. I also like that you can zip down the tops of all the windows for ventilation but still sit down and have a good amount of privacy when changing. We have not yet been in rainy weather in this tent, only very dewy mornings but so far so good in terms of wetness protection. We recommend you set this up on top of a tarp for added protection.

Was this review helpful? (113) (42)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jamilyian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great tent for a midium priced tent
5/31/2012

Customer review by Rocklahoman

4.0 stars 5/31/2012 by Rocklahoman
by Rocklahoman

Used this tent for 3 very windy days. Seems to have held up very well. My only complaint is the zipper on the door does not take the curve in the top right corner very well, tends to bind up, but will proceed with a little firm persistance.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rocklahoman
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Love this tent
7/6/2012

Customer review by Lissyrock

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by Lissyrock
by Lissyrock

The first time we took this tent out for a camping trip it rained like cats and dogs and we did not get wet. We did not have anything over the tent to protect it and it kept us very dry.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lissyrock
Medford, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Fantastic Value and Easy Setup
8/12/2014

Customer review by Dynamo47

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by Dynamo47
by Dynamo47

I previously had an Ozark Trail 8 person tent but wanted to downsize. This tent is great for two people although as others have said, 6 people is a stretch. I went camping with my new tent two weekends in a row. I had a queen size inflatable mattress which left a good amount of room for supplies. The key is the height of this tent as you can stand in it and plenty of ventilation. Along with the window screens there ventilation areas along the ground as wall as expandable vents in the roof. It rained two nights in a row and despite not having any rain canopy the tent stayed dry inside. Setup literally took a minute and a half once i realized i had to extend the poles until they clicked. Taking it down was not as easy and I would recommend unzipping the window flaps to allow air to escape to tightly pack it back in the carry bad. This is a great value for anyone who enjoys camping and doesn't want to spend a half hour setting up a tent. You literally lay the ground cover, unpack, extend the legs and stake it down and you are setup and ready to enjoy your camping trip.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dynamo47
Spring City, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
6/7/2013

Customer review by dnbsvc

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by dnbsvc
by dnbsvc

I finally got to go camping with my new tent. I absolutely love it. It was easy to set up but I did have trouble with the guy lines on the rain fly. I finally got them tight using two knots I have recently learned. The second night the wind started gusting to 15 or 20 mph. Inside the tent I couldn't even tell it but I did hear it coming. The next morning I checked and the guy lines had stayed tight and that made me very happy. I was hoping it would rain so I could test it out. I got my wish and it was great. No leaks and I was able to keep the windows open a couple of inches. I love the sound of rain on the roof. I was camping with my little dog and we both enjoyed the nice size. I put rugs down on the floor and we had room for all the extras to make it more comfortable. The large windows kept a breeze flowing through. At night it was cool and I slept so good. I had a heater that we had to use one night. I was okay but my dog was cold. The heater runs a little and then shuts down. It's a good little heater (Holmes). I put a tarp up from the back of my car and two tent poles. I set my kitchen up in the back of my car. I cooked and did the dishes there. It was real handy. I'm going to make a few changes to make it easier to pack and set up. I love doing this stuff! My neighbors were very impressed with how easy my tent was to put up. One lady even wanted to help so she could see how it worked. Everyone was gone when I got ready to leave. I had a terrible time getting the tent in its bag. It was wet and I got frustrated. Now I have to dry it out in my living room. No room for visitors for a while. I plan to go camping every chance I get. It can't be too hot or we are miserable. I'm already packing to be ready for some cool days. Happy camping everyone!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dnbsvc
Southwest Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Amazing!
7/15/2012

Customer review by nuno68

5.0 stars 7/15/2012 by nuno68
by nuno68

I was looking for an easier way to camp. I had a huge cottage tent that was a pain to set up. so I bought this after watching the set up video. My first time using it only took about 90 seconds to set up. second time took under a minute. and just as fast to take down. it is the best tent I have ever bought. and it actually fits in the bag it comes in. this was money well spent.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nuno68
Rensselaer, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Easy Set up... leaks everywhere
5/28/2013

Customer review by gsanchez123

2.0 stars 5/28/2013 by gsanchez123
by gsanchez123

We love camping, but needed to upgrade, since our three children are growing up. The size is awesome... the easy set up, couldn't been any easier. the first two nights were really good... but the third night rained and we got all wet. Would not recommend this, unless you are planning to buy an extra tent/roof for the water problem.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gsanchez123
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1-20 of 80 reviews