Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 9 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

9 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

9 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-9 of 9 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Very well made and dry---many nice features
8/21/2016

Customer review by ChrisK

5.0 stars 8/21/2016 by ChrisK
by ChrisK

An experienced camper here---mid 60's and have been tent camping since age 10. Have several high quality back pack size tents for motorcycle camping but wanted a family size tent for car camping with the grand kids. Spent several weeks researching before I selected this tent...searched all brands, but ultimately was sold on this tent because of the screen porch, overall ratings, and positive reviews on this site and others. Bought on line at sale price of $108 and free shipping to the store. Very well packaged. the tent and all other parts came packed into a box, then the box was packed into the duffle case, and the duffle was packed into another heavier box. Also purchased a 9x12 ground tarp---a near perfect fit, the tent over hung the sides 6" and the front and back about 8". In addition, bought 8 of the 9 inch nail type spikes for more secure hold in windy conditions...Folks, you just cannot rely on those little wire stakes that come supplied for any thing, except maybe tacking down the 'doormat' which comes with this tent. Did test run in my back yard...set it up for a full weekend, with rain in the forecast. By myself, the tent itself went up in 15 minutes...it took another 15 minutes to put up the rain fly cover, but half of that was spent untying the neatly rolled up guy lines. Overall the fit was snug but not overly tight. Full tub floor all the way around except for screen porch, 2 large mesh pockets in sleeping area, over head loop for a lightweight lantern, good zippers, lots of windows (including one in door and another beside door, and both sides. As noted in other reviews, the back window is half the wall and there is no zip flap but the rainfly completely covers it. The rainfly is nicely designed and overhangs the side windows to let air in and keep rain out. There are several velcro fasteners on the rain fly that allow you to fasten it to the tent's fiberglass poles, plus the guy lines and clips at 4 corners. Interior height? I am 5'8" and can stand up straight in the center of this tent. Rain was forecast the first nite---I solved the wet porch problem but pulling up the 2 front stakes and pulling the porch floor next to the body of the tent. Rained 6 hours and no rain on porch or inside slleping area. Simple to exit tent and pull porch back out. The second nite it was not supposed to rain so I did not put porch away---there was a brief cloudburst that lasted 5 minutes...yes it got water inside the porch but the next morning it was easy to drain it out through the mesh drain in the floor. Again, not a drop in the sleeping area, even with all the windows fully open and unzipped. I am very impressed with the construction and quality of this tent. Well thought out, easy to set up with color coded sleeves and rods. Porch big enuf for 3 chairs or 2 chairs and a table...will be easy to add a tarp over the porch when items are stored there overnight. I used a queen and twin inflatable beds with room to spare. Great choice for 2 adults and 2 children...even a dog or two on the porch. Take the whole family, or treat yourself and one other person to a camping palace!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChrisK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent tent
8/27/2014

Customer review by AtWork

4.0 stars 8/27/2014 by AtWork
by AtWork
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This tent is a great buy. It is well made, has great air flow, the bottom is made from sturdy material. The porch is the best feature. It was big enough to place two camping chairs and a small trunk. The only two things I was not crazy about was the rain flap not covering the porch entirely, so if it rains everything on the porch would get soaked. The other thing is the seam of the bottom between the porch and the tent appears to be possibly a weak spot. The bottom tarp is stitched so it creates a 2 inch lip all around the tent to prevent water from seeping in ( which is great), however the lip does go all the way around and when you so in and out of the tent you cannot help but stepping on it and I would fully expect the fabric or the stitching to give in after a few uses.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AtWork
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tent
6/22/2016

Customer review by CampingMom

5.0 stars 6/22/2016 by CampingMom
by CampingMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great tent for the price. It was easy to set up and has plenty of room. My husband and I took it this past weekend and were very pleased with it. The instructions were a bit vague, but we figured it out quickly. The screen porch was just right for 2 chairs. It rained while camping and we were pleased with how well the rainfly did its job. I would recommend this tent to anyone wanting a good tent for a good price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CampingMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great purchase
7/2/2016

Customer review by Cassie

5.0 stars 7/2/2016 by Cassie
by Cassie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great quality, fair price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cassie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great dome tent for anyone
12/16/2014

Customer review by jodired

5.0 stars 12/16/2014 by jodired
by jodired

We, my 10 year old and I were able to setup the tent in 15 minutes. Very easy to setup. All the parts fit into the bag easily. Screen porch is the best convenience to leave shoes, umbrellas or anything extra. Walmart delivery was exceptional with no issues. Hoping to enjoy for many years to come.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jodired
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Returned my first tent I purchased
5/12/2014

Customer review by xxJanexx

5.0 stars 5/12/2014 by xxJanexx
by xxJanexx
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I can fit a queen size and twin mattress with room for my shoes, clothes, ice chest and chair. The tent can be set up buy one person in about 15 to 20 minutes. The screen room has a floor in it, which helps keep the tent floor clean. The back window is only covered by the rain fly. I camp often and love this tent. I may purchase the Evanston 8 person tent to bring along my extended family.

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xxJanexx
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good buy
5/19/2014

Customer review by Bake226

4.0 stars 5/19/2014 by Bake226
by Bake226
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

2 people set this tent up in less then 15 min the first time. The tent performend well in high winds.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bake226
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome tent!!
8/25/2014

Customer review by thejingler

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by thejingler
by thejingler
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have only set this tent up, not slept in it yet, but the size of the screened in area is much larger than the photo suggests. I am looking forward to setting this up and camping for the weekend!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thejingler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Coleman's questionable quality control - Tent
8/7/2012

Customer review by Fussa

1.0 stars 8/7/2012 by Fussa
by Fussa

I had reviewed and looked at many tents and decided to order the Coleman Evanston 6 person tent for 4 person use. There are several reviews on how much the products coming from Coleman are not the way they used to be and I was very cautious about it. Well, I had opened it a few days before we were to go out camping and, frankly, I was astounded on how such a big mistake was not caught during a simple quality control. What had happened was that, the top sleeve for the poles to go through was sewn into the seams of the tent right on the ridge. I tried several times to contact Coleman over the phone, it was a Monday, the line was busy all day long, not even a machine took the call. I filled a form online, sending them pictures of the defects and receipts, and got confirmation. After a couple of days, since I was not contacted at all, I had to call again to make sure they had received my request. They had in fact received the request, but they made me send in again all the info although what I had sent them was sufficient, and were able to see the pictures, they said it was not how they want it. By this time, days have passed and were closing to another camping date. It took forever the tent to come, it showed up days after we had left. Well, in retrospect, I should have sent it to the vendor and got my money back instead of contacting them directly as they had left a huge note inside the package indicating not do so. My problem is not only the obvious defect only and this is only a tent, what about those gas cookers and other things they make that could have severe result ? If this can happen, it is my guess it can be on other products too. Other than that, the tent itself is very good. It is fairly good for 6 but very comfortable for 4 people. It has enough outlets / inlets for air and quite high in the middle. Putting it together for first time took a little bit over 25 minutes (the defect made it complicated), but once that was sorted out, it shouldn't take more than 15 minutes. Also, you need to air out a new tent as always, it smells like some kind of chemical. We camped in an ideal weather and can't say much about rain and wind. Heat though, as any tent is, gets trapped and it can get hot in there.

Was this review helpful? (24) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fussa
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male