Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

109 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

109 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
34
1-20 of 83 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
junkiest "hiking boot" ever purchased
6/27/2011

Customer review by campandhike

1.0 stars 6/27/2011 by campandhike
by campandhike

bought these for a week long camp in oklahoma on a saturday. By wednesday (4 days later) both heels had collapsed. on thursday one of the shoes split open on the bottom. friday afternoon the other one did the same thing. These are not built for any type of hiking whatsoever. strongly recommend that you spend 80 to 90 dollars and get a quality hiking boot.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
campandhike
granbury, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Garbage
10/28/2012

Customer review by Zanth

1.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Zanth
by Zanth

These Shoes are Garbage wore them for 10 days and they started to fall apart on the inside .the lining that is glued under the thin insole separated from the hollow sole.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zanth
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Dissapointed, unsatisfied customer
3/18/2012

Customer review by GodsHiker

1.0 stars 3/18/2012 by GodsHiker
by GodsHiker

I have had these hiking boots for less than a month, and the heels are falling apart! Not acceptable. My heals started hurting so I took a boot off, peeled back the insole, and discovered that the heel was a collapsing, empty gridword of rubber! The insole hardly compensated for the pressure of simple walking, much less the labor of hiking or anything else.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GodsHiker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Great value, but could easily be improved
6/1/2011

Customer review by Entropy512

3.0 stars 6/1/2011 by Entropy512
by Entropy512

It is hard to find shoes in the "hiker" style like this nowadays that aren't full-on hiking boots. These shoes are incredibly comfortable, and I buy them every few months, as the last time I tried spending extra on shoes, I paid more than double the price and only got an extra month or two. My current pair is degrading faster than previous pairs unfortunately. The shoes have three main deficiencies: 1) As others have said, the laces tend to come untied. I fixed this with some DIY paracord laces that I swap from pair to pair. 2) The rear fabric gets torn up, the typical failure mode of these shoes. However, almost no shoe I have ever worn has done much better in this regard, even my fancy composite-toe Hush Puppies ESD safety shoes. Improving my lacing technique (lock lacing) has helped this greatly. 3) The sole has air chambers inside - initially this improves comfort, but there are decorative grooves in the sole (nonfunctional - on the sides far away from the treads) that provide early failure points. My current pair has failed far earlier than normal here. Once the air chamber has ruptured like this, the sole provides far less support and tends to collapse. Signs that this has happened are a "hissing" sound with every step and your feet getting soaked from below if you step in a puddle. I'm hoping that some Shoe Goo can fix this issue, and on future pairs, prevent it by filling in the decorative grooves. So yes - "out of the box" these shoes are fairly dismal, but most if not all of their problems can be fixed economically, and for far less than the price difference between them and shoes that don't need fixes. If I am able to edit the review later, I will post a photo of the typical sole failure.

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Entropy512
Owego, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great !!
3/14/2011

Customer review by bobo1996

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by bobo1996
by bobo1996

I purchased these for my husband 3 months ago. He assumed I paid a lot more for them and thinks they are great boots. He's worn them 3- 4 times a week for many hours at time and is very pleased. I am back to buy another pair for my son - and I am still not telling them I only paid $20!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bobo1996
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value
3/7/2011

Customer review by JTatWalmart

4.0 stars 3/7/2011 by JTatWalmart
by JTatWalmart

I bought a pair of these several years ago in advance of a hiking trip. They have been very comfortable and have held up very well. I don't understand how people would spend so much more for what doesn't have to be expensive. I only take these out periodically, but probably several hundred days total over the past few years. And only recently has the waterproofing stopped working. While I know I can get special spray for that, at this price, I'm going to pull out my American card, be lazy with it, and just give them away and buy a new pair. At $20, why not?

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JTatWalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
I spent $20 and got a shoe that isn't worth $5
6/28/2012

Customer review by Johndoe83485

1.0 stars 6/28/2012 by Johndoe83485
by Johndoe83485

I'm working in large fields in the midwest that are overgrown with grass, weeds, and vegetation. My old Columbia boots wore out and since I knew my job was going to take a toll on any boot I wore I opted for the cheapest thing I could find. Unfortunately, it was these. After only 3 days here is what I've found: The rubber on the bottom of the shoe is almost entirely superficial. Small twigs regularly poke right through the sole and lodge there. You can imagine just how wonderful that feels. There is zero cushioning in this shoe and I mean zero. The tongue is too short and is made out of squishy material so the laces ride up and untie even if they're in double knots. Heat goes into the boot, but it does not come out, which I suppose could be construed as a positive in cold climates. All in all I'd say that these "boots" are better off as kindling for your camp fire than wearing to get to your campsite.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Johndoe83485
Kewanee, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don´t buy this product
3/14/2011

Customer review by Hytron

1.0 stars 3/14/2011 by Hytron
by Hytron

The sole of the shoe took off in less than two months. The glue that produced very bad

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hytron
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Heel-Cup / Insole Issues
9/27/2011

Customer review by WallyWorldShopper2011

2.0 stars 9/27/2011 by WallyWorldShopper2011
by WallyWorldShopper2011

I wore these boots for a couple of days and stopped for awhile because the left one felt odd - I assumed I just needed to tighten the laces. I used them again later and realized the left book's heel-cup had collapsed in on one side. Some pieces of cardboard stuffed into the void helped, but then the right boot's heel-cup is now failing down the center. My everyday sneekers from Costco cost a bit less than these boots, and they've held up quite well. I plan on taking these boots back to Wal-Mart, although I don't have the receipt anymore. Hopefully someone at Wal-Mart will read this and forward it to Ozark Trail.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WallyWorldShopper2011
Juneau, AK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Terrible hiking shoes
1/23/2012

Customer review by johnlvs2run

1.0 stars 1/23/2012 by johnlvs2run
by johnlvs2run

I got two pair of these hiking shoes, which felt fine at first but kept hurting my feet. I felt inside under the insoles and there was basically nothing there except holes! These were causing midsoles to collapse! I push my thumbnail under the insoles, and feel it through the bottom outsoles of the shoes! Thank goodness I didn't step a nail or anything else dangerous, as it would have gone right through the soles! The bottom line is that there is nothing under the insoles for my feet to set on, except air. The shoes are totally worthess. I'm taking them back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
johnlvs2run
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
rev214
1/23/2012

Customer review by 66by66

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by 66by66
by 66by66

These are great shoes. I can't imagine the expensive brands being any better, except for more serious water proofing, and make the tongue fully gusseted instead of gusseted just part way up. That would allow the foot to sink a couple more inches in mud or water and stay dry inside. I am a heavy person and have hiked with them in rough terrain enough to know that I will get my money's worth many times over. Someone complained the laces tend to get loose. An old hiker's trick solves that. Double twist the laces when you twist them together; then double loop the bow tie. If confused, just ask someone in an outdoor shop to show you the technique...just pretend interest in their $300 dollar fancy shoes and they will show ya!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
66by66
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Terrible for what they are designed for.
7/9/2011

Customer review by redneck1975

1.0 stars 7/9/2011 by redneck1975
by redneck1975

I bought these shoes for a hiking trip I was taking in June. I wore them the week before my trip and I thought they were good, but I was walking on normal ground. When I went on my trip, the first trail I took, which was a very easy, very little ascent or descent, the insoles and reinforcing bar under the insoles ripped apart from the rest of the shoe. I had them for a total of 2 weeks and couldn't use them for what they were intended for.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redneck1975
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
SAVE YOUR MONEY, DO NOT BUY THESE BOOTS
9/6/2011

Customer review by RogerinSTL

1.0 stars 9/6/2011 by RogerinSTL
by RogerinSTL

Made the mistake of not paying for value. Used these boots and after ONE DAY of hiking, the entire bottom of these boots began to collapse, my feet hurt so bad. Good luck one of my fellow hikers had a pair of Keen sandals to wear on the next days hike. Save your $20 and buy a better boot, or if you buy these, do not wear them for actual hiking, they will fail you.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RogerinSTL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Lasted ~6 months
11/26/2012

Customer review by kellyzdude

1.0 stars 11/26/2012 by kellyzdude
by kellyzdude

I've noticed that most of the positive reviews are from people marking ownership as 2-7 weeks, which really isn't enough time to judge - not by much. I liked these boots, I really did. I wore them about 60% of the time, split across another pair or two of other shoes. The problem really is that they don't last, as so many other reviewers have mentioned. After 3-4 months I noticed the right boot had developed a lumpiness above where the shoe bends while walking. At around the 6 month mark it failed completely. While I am hard on my shoes, I usually expect a little longer out of a pair of shoes, especially if they are sharing the load with other pairs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kellyzdude
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
waste of good money
7/5/2011

Customer review by pizzy

1.0 stars 7/5/2011 by pizzy
by pizzy

8 days is all they lasted, right sole fell apart just like others who have bought this poor excuse of a shoe. Save your money, these shoes are 100% useless. I wish I would have read these reviews before purchasing them. If I could rate them lower than "1", I would have.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pizzy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cheap, but no value
3/8/2013

Customer review by NPLover

1.0 stars 3/8/2013 by NPLover
by NPLover

Horrible pair I ever owned 1)Lace comes loose every 15-20 mins, you will spend most of your time on trail tying laces 2)After couple of uses, I can hear a hissing sound from one of the two shoes everytime I set my weight on it. If I set that foot in the smallest water puddle, it sucks water inside and completely dampens my feet and sock. It has become a water magnet since then. Threw them away. It is not a $200 Asolo, so, when I bought it I thought, whats the worst that can happen: I loose 20 bucks and I did. spend a little more money and get a good shoe.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NPLover
Santa Clara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Sole Breaks in 3 Months
3/2/2011

Customer review by Atrocious

1.0 stars 3/2/2011 by Atrocious
by Atrocious

The sole/heel of these shoes broke in approximately 3 months. The laces do not stay tied either. Do not buy these shoes.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Atrocious
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
GREAT BOOTS
1/5/2013

Customer review by NYLA1

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by NYLA1
by NYLA1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

THIS WAS MY SECOND PURCHASE ON THESE HIKING BOOTS. I PURCHASED A PAIR FOR MY HUSBAND AFTER HE SUSTAINED AN ANKLE INJURY, HAD TO GET THEM IN A HALF SIZE LARGER DUE TO SWELLING, BUT THEY WORKED OUT PERFECT, HE SAID ""THEY FELT GOOD FOR SUPPORT AND VERY LIGHT WEIGHT TO WALK ON AND HAVE AN EXCELLENT GRIP TO THE GROUND. THEY HAVE A VERY NICE LOOK TO THEM, HE WEARS THEM TO WORK EVERY DAY. THANKS FOR HAVING A BOOT AVAILABLE THAT WORKED OUT WELL FOR HIM.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NYLA1
STAMFORD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good boots for a good price
4/1/2011

Customer review by anji281

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by anji281
by anji281

I bought these boots to wear when working outside at a park. They've held up well, fit just fine and since I bought the black they don't look so much like men's boots when I wear them. Women's boots are hard to find for a decent price and I find a size 7 mens fits my size 9 woman's foot just fine. Would recommend these to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anji281
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Well below standards
5/30/2011

Customer review by LukiLoki

1.0 stars 5/30/2011 by LukiLoki
by LukiLoki

I bought a pair and within three weeks had to exchange them because the sole on the right hiking boot blew out. The replacement pair lasted only two weeks before the sole started caving in on itself. No more Ozark brand footwear for me. Wouldn't even recommend it to someone I don't like

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LukiLoki
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews