Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 109 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

109 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

109 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

64%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
42
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 stars
34
1-20 of 83 total reviews
64%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
Great value, but could easily be improved
6/1/2011

Customer review by Entropy512

3.0 stars 6/1/2011 by Entropy512
by Entropy512

It is hard to find shoes in the "hiker" style like this nowadays that aren't full-on hiking boots. These shoes are incredibly comfortable, and I buy them every few months, as the last time I tried spending extra on shoes, I paid more than double the price and only got an extra month or two. My current pair is degrading faster than previous pairs unfortunately. The shoes have three main deficiencies: 1) As others have said, the laces tend to come untied. I fixed this with some DIY paracord laces that I swap from pair to pair. 2) The rear fabric gets torn up, the typical failure mode of these shoes. However, almost no shoe I have ever worn has done much better in this regard, even my fancy composite-toe Hush Puppies ESD safety shoes. Improving my lacing technique (lock lacing) has helped this greatly. 3) The sole has air chambers inside - initially this improves comfort, but there are decorative grooves in the sole (nonfunctional - on the sides far away from the treads) that provide early failure points. My current pair has failed far earlier than normal here. Once the air chamber has ruptured like this, the sole provides far less support and tends to collapse. Signs that this has happened are a "hissing" sound with every step and your feet getting soaked from below if you step in a puddle. I'm hoping that some Shoe Goo can fix this issue, and on future pairs, prevent it by filling in the decorative grooves. So yes - "out of the box" these shoes are fairly dismal, but most if not all of their problems can be fixed economically, and for far less than the price difference between them and shoes that don't need fixes. If I am able to edit the review later, I will post a photo of the typical sole failure.

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Entropy512
Owego, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don´t buy this product
3/14/2011

Customer review by Hytron

1.0 stars 3/14/2011 by Hytron
by Hytron

The sole of the shoe took off in less than two months. The glue that produced very bad

Was this review helpful? (28) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hytron
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent value
3/7/2011

Customer review by JTatWalmart

4.0 stars 3/7/2011 by JTatWalmart
by JTatWalmart

I bought a pair of these several years ago in advance of a hiking trip. They have been very comfortable and have held up very well. I don't understand how people would spend so much more for what doesn't have to be expensive. I only take these out periodically, but probably several hundred days total over the past few years. And only recently has the waterproofing stopped working. While I know I can get special spray for that, at this price, I'm going to pull out my American card, be lazy with it, and just give them away and buy a new pair. At $20, why not?

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JTatWalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
Great !!
3/14/2011

Customer review by bobo1996

5.0 stars 3/14/2011 by bobo1996
by bobo1996

I purchased these for my husband 3 months ago. He assumed I paid a lot more for them and thinks they are great boots. He's worn them 3- 4 times a week for many hours at time and is very pleased. I am back to buy another pair for my son - and I am still not telling them I only paid $20!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobo1996
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Sole Breaks in 3 Months
3/2/2011

Customer review by Atrocious

1.0 stars 3/2/2011 by Atrocious
by Atrocious

The sole/heel of these shoes broke in approximately 3 months. The laces do not stay tied either. Do not buy these shoes.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Atrocious
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Heel-Cup / Insole Issues
9/27/2011

Customer review by WallyWorldShopper2011

2.0 stars 9/27/2011 by WallyWorldShopper2011
by WallyWorldShopper2011

I wore these boots for a couple of days and stopped for awhile because the left one felt odd - I assumed I just needed to tighten the laces. I used them again later and realized the left book's heel-cup had collapsed in on one side. Some pieces of cardboard stuffed into the void helped, but then the right boot's heel-cup is now failing down the center. My everyday sneekers from Costco cost a bit less than these boots, and they've held up quite well. I plan on taking these boots back to Wal-Mart, although I don't have the receipt anymore. Hopefully someone at Wal-Mart will read this and forward it to Ozark Trail.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyWorldShopper2011
Juneau, AK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Shoe Lemon
5/20/2011

Customer review by DisappointedinCincy

1.0 stars 5/20/2011 by DisappointedinCincy
by DisappointedinCincy

Had these shoes for only a couple of days when the area under the heel started th collapse, after only an week they were unwearable and there were visible holes through the bottom. these shoes are priced on the cheap but are still not worth the money. I think Ill spend a little more for something I can actually wear. Buyer Beware!

Was this review helpful? (6) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DisappointedinCincy
Cincinnati
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
WILL FALL APART IMMEDIATELY!
9/17/2011

Customer review by Hellofire

1.0 stars 9/17/2011 by Hellofire
by Hellofire

I wore these for less than 2 weeks before the metal shank in the heel was coming up through the foot bed. The sole was so worn it looked like I had worn them every day for years. The rubber is so soft in the sole you're almost guaranteed to puncture it if you step on something sharp. DO NOT BUY THESE BOOTS. THEY ARE JUNK AND NOT EVEN WORTH THE CHEAP $20!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hellofire
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terrible hiking shoes
1/23/2012

Customer review by johnlvs2run

1.0 stars 1/23/2012 by johnlvs2run
by johnlvs2run

I got two pair of these hiking shoes, which felt fine at first but kept hurting my feet. I felt inside under the insoles and there was basically nothing there except holes! These were causing midsoles to collapse! I push my thumbnail under the insoles, and feel it through the bottom outsoles of the shoes! Thank goodness I didn't step a nail or anything else dangerous, as it would have gone right through the soles! The bottom line is that there is nothing under the insoles for my feet to set on, except air. The shoes are totally worthess. I'm taking them back to the store.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnlvs2run
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Terrible for what they are designed for.
7/9/2011

Customer review by redneck1975

1.0 stars 7/9/2011 by redneck1975
by redneck1975

I bought these shoes for a hiking trip I was taking in June. I wore them the week before my trip and I thought they were good, but I was walking on normal ground. When I went on my trip, the first trail I took, which was a very easy, very little ascent or descent, the insoles and reinforcing bar under the insoles ripped apart from the rest of the shoe. I had them for a total of 2 weeks and couldn't use them for what they were intended for.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redneck1975
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
waste of good money
7/5/2011

Customer review by pizzy

1.0 stars 7/5/2011 by pizzy
by pizzy

8 days is all they lasted, right sole fell apart just like others who have bought this poor excuse of a shoe. Save your money, these shoes are 100% useless. I wish I would have read these reviews before purchasing them. If I could rate them lower than "1", I would have.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pizzy
Would recommend to a friend? No
SAVE YOUR MONEY, DO NOT BUY THESE BOOTS
9/6/2011

Customer review by RogerinSTL

1.0 stars 9/6/2011 by RogerinSTL
by RogerinSTL

Made the mistake of not paying for value. Used these boots and after ONE DAY of hiking, the entire bottom of these boots began to collapse, my feet hurt so bad. Good luck one of my fellow hikers had a pair of Keen sandals to wear on the next days hike. Save your $20 and buy a better boot, or if you buy these, do not wear them for actual hiking, they will fail you.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RogerinSTL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Good boots for a good price
4/1/2011

Customer review by anji281

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by anji281
by anji281

I bought these boots to wear when working outside at a park. They've held up well, fit just fine and since I bought the black they don't look so much like men's boots when I wear them. Women's boots are hard to find for a decent price and I find a size 7 mens fits my size 9 woman's foot just fine. Would recommend these to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anji281
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Perfect fit and great style
1/14/2012

Customer review by ThePlateau

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by ThePlateau
by ThePlateau

I have worn Ozark Trail shoes for some years now. I prefer them over much more expensive shoes. These are no exception, I love the fit and styling. I hope this style is till around for my next purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThePlateau
Northeast , TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
rev214
1/23/2012

Customer review by 66by66

5.0 stars 1/23/2012 by 66by66
by 66by66

These are great shoes. I can't imagine the expensive brands being any better, except for more serious water proofing, and make the tongue fully gusseted instead of gusseted just part way up. That would allow the foot to sink a couple more inches in mud or water and stay dry inside. I am a heavy person and have hiked with them in rough terrain enough to know that I will get my money's worth many times over. Someone complained the laces tend to get loose. An old hiker's trick solves that. Double twist the laces when you twist them together; then double loop the bow tie. If confused, just ask someone in an outdoor shop to show you the technique...just pretend interest in their $300 dollar fancy shoes and they will show ya!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
66by66
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT BOOTS
1/5/2013

Customer review by NYLA1

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by NYLA1
by NYLA1

THIS WAS MY SECOND PURCHASE ON THESE HIKING BOOTS. I PURCHASED A PAIR FOR MY HUSBAND AFTER HE SUSTAINED AN ANKLE INJURY, HAD TO GET THEM IN A HALF SIZE LARGER DUE TO SWELLING, BUT THEY WORKED OUT PERFECT, HE SAID ""THEY FELT GOOD FOR SUPPORT AND VERY LIGHT WEIGHT TO WALK ON AND HAVE AN EXCELLENT GRIP TO THE GROUND. THEY HAVE A VERY NICE LOOK TO THEM, HE WEARS THEM TO WORK EVERY DAY. THANKS FOR HAVING A BOOT AVAILABLE THAT WORKED OUT WELL FOR HIM.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYLA1
STAMFORD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I like these boots
5/14/2012

Customer review by Deeburs

4.0 stars 5/14/2012 by Deeburs
by Deeburs

I like these boots I buy them about every 2 yrs to work in the yard in. They protect my feet, when plain tennis shoes would not. I mow the yard and work in my garden and put up fire wood with them. They are cheap and get the job done. Oh and I am a married women and 52 yrs old.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deeburs
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Well below standards
5/30/2011

Customer review by LukiLoki

1.0 stars 5/30/2011 by LukiLoki
by LukiLoki

I bought a pair and within three weeks had to exchange them because the sole on the right hiking boot blew out. The replacement pair lasted only two weeks before the sole started caving in on itself. No more Ozark brand footwear for me. Wouldn't even recommend it to someone I don't like

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LukiLoki
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap, but no value
3/8/2013

Customer review by NPLover

1.0 stars 3/8/2013 by NPLover
by NPLover

Horrible pair I ever owned 1)Lace comes loose every 15-20 mins, you will spend most of your time on trail tying laces 2)After couple of uses, I can hear a hissing sound from one of the two shoes everytime I set my weight on it. If I set that foot in the smallest water puddle, it sucks water inside and completely dampens my feet and sock. It has become a water magnet since then. Threw them away. It is not a $200 Asolo, so, when I bought it I thought, whats the worst that can happen: I loose 20 bucks and I did. spend a little more money and get a good shoe.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NPLover
Santa Clara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Poor Quality
1/1/2012

Customer review by SHC46391

1.0 stars 1/1/2012 by SHC46391
by SHC46391

the first pair I bought lasted 1 month and the sole of the boot came apart. I exchanged them for another pair that lasted a month and a half and the same thing happened. So i again exchanged them at a different Wal-Mart Store for another pair (thinking that maybe it was a bad batch) and this pair lasted 1 week and the upper lining came apart and fell off. Cheap shoe and you get what you pay for!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SHC46391
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews