Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 23 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

23 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

23 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
1-18 of 18 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Excellent Reel
11/22/2011

Customer review by BlueCat57

5.0 stars 11/22/2011 by BlueCat57
by BlueCat57

I own many reels including the Okuma ABF 65 Avenger reel. I bought the smaller ABF 50 because of my satisfaction with Okuma products. This reel is very smooth, balanced and the bait feeder feature works great.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlueCat57
Waco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
12/3/2011

Customer review by ljcmldad

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by ljcmldad
by ljcmldad

Okuma reels are an excellent value. I've used a couple for 10 years at the coast.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ljcmldad
Salisbury, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Buy one, you will love it.
6/24/2011

Customer review by northernpikefishin

5.0 stars 6/24/2011 by northernpikefishin
by northernpikefishin

Smooth. Baitfeeder is ideal as I can flip my drag all the way loose and walk away from my rod until I hear the drag scream, then easily set the hook and bring in the fish. I bought one of these and liked it so much I bought the smaller 20 for my lady.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
northernpikefishin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't go wrong with theese reels!
5/9/2012

Customer review by MelDeal

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by MelDeal
by MelDeal

These are excellent reels! This is the third one I have purchased. I also have the ABF-65. The baitfeeding dual drag function is awesome! For the money I haven't found a better reel and prefer these over my Shimano and Penn reels that cost much more. They are smooth out of the box, easy to clean and maintain. I use the 50's for heavy freshwater Striper and cat fishing as well as saltwater surf and boat with 50 lb. braid. The Okuma Tundra rods are an excellent value as well.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MelDeal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
Great value for a saltwater reel.
8/30/2013

Customer review by Grumpy2609

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Grumpy2609
by Grumpy2609

I already have the larger ABF-65 on which I have caught many King Mackerel, Spanish Mackerel, Sharks, and a Sailfish. The baitfeeder is great for allowing the fish to run with the bait before setting the hook. I mostly use it on the pier and sometimes in the surf. The reels are well made and easy to maintain.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grumpy2609
Navarre, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product
7/26/2013

Customer review by MrLive2fish

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by MrLive2fish
by MrLive2fish

Great value reel with extra spool . Bait runer option is a must have for serious big fish hunters. I use 3 of them for cats , carp , sturgeon etc. It is simple... Fish take bait , they feel no resistance, they run with it , pick up the rod , disengage the bait runing option with a turn of a reel handle or a lever on a back of a reel, set the hook and fish on!!! Have 3 of those reels and bought some for my father. The oldest one is couple years old and still no problem. Powerfull enough to bring 60"+ Lake Sturgeons for a photo sesions over and over again. Okuma also makes very decent and affordable rods.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrLive2fish
illinois,wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SLAM DUNK!
6/26/2013

Customer review by GoneFishinnn

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by GoneFishinnn
by GoneFishinnn

I picked this reel up on clearance and the first thing I had to to say as I took it out of its box was WOW. This thing is built right, spins flawlessly, and is an over all beautiful piece of craftsmanship. Highly recommend it, you're definitely not going to find a better real for $36 bucks!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoneFishinnn
Oregeon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Baitfeeder for the money
4/24/2014

Customer review by jonleshark

4.0 stars 4/24/2014 by jonleshark
by jonleshark

I bought this and the slightly cheaper DIAWA Opus BR 5500 and I prefer this. A little lighter and less bulky. Features are the same though and action is very similar.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jonleshark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great reel for fresh or salt water fishing
3/25/2013

Customer review by Gearsjammer59

5.0 stars 3/25/2013 by Gearsjammer59
by Gearsjammer59

I have owned many Okuma Avenger Bait Runner, ABF20 up to ABF90 and they all excellent reels. I landed 30 Lbs. Red-Fish on Okuma Avenger40 with 25 Lbs. Power Pro Braided Line, 45 1/4 lbs. Red with Okuma Avenger ABF90 with 60 Lbs. Power Pro Braided Line and many Blue-Fish Average 4-6 lbs. with my Okuma Avenger ABF20 and ABF30. PS. You don't have to worry about the pole & reel went in the water if you set Bait-Feeder on and leave un-attendant when the big one hit, cause it's Bait Runner - Bait-Feeder. (Perdido Pass) (Alabama Point) Orange Beach , Al.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gearsjammer59
Mobile,Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awsome reel
6/26/2013

Customer review by i2on1n

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by i2on1n
by i2on1n

For the price is one of the best, I have been using this reel for saltwater for a couple of months now, and I am very happy with the results, with the proper maintenance it will perform always great!! And I have put it to the test for fights between 15 lbs and even 40 lbs!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
i2on1n
PR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Too much handle wobble!!!!
9/29/2014

Customer review by jray8

2.0 stars 9/29/2014 by jray8
by jray8

You cannot eliminate handle wobble! This makes it very difficult when retrieving line and makes the reel feel flimsy! I am returning two reels for refund. otherwise reel casts well and other parts seem satisfactory for a reel at this price point.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jray8
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
China
5/28/2015

Customer review by CaptMark

2.0 stars 5/28/2015 by CaptMark
by CaptMark

These reels are not up to the standard necessary to fish in salt water in FL. I have returned 2 of them because the drag failed in one and the reel seat broke in the other. Great price, but probably better off sucking it up and spend $150+ on a Shimano Bait Runner.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptMark
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/11/2013

Customer review by BXSTRIPER

5.0 stars 10/11/2013 by BXSTRIPER
by BXSTRIPER

simply awesome

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BXSTRIPER
BRONX NEW YORK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
catch more fish
12/29/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/29/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I am looking forward to a lot of great fishing trips.I got it to catfish with.we have some big catfish on the ky,river.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1 reel arrived broken, but local walmart refunded
3/24/2013

Customer review by Amerlin1

4.0 stars 3/24/2013 by Amerlin1
by Amerlin1

shipment went fast, 1 reel in excellent condition as expected, the other reel was broken(there was no damage to shipping box seen)local Walmart refunded price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amerlin1
mt vernon il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Okuma baitfeeder reel
5/23/2015

Customer review by jondent

4.0 stars 5/23/2015 by jondent
by jondent

Have just cast one a few times to try it out and can not complain. I am eager to try it in the fall with big blues out there.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jondent
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a good reel for the price.
5/21/2013

Customer review by Offshore59

5.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Offshore59
by Offshore59

This reel is as good as the more costly penn reels I like the bait drag feature it has just wish it came with both spools being aluminum

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Offshore59
Perkins, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Okuma ABF-50 Avenger Reels
7/24/2015

Customer review by Marc

5.0 stars 7/24/2015 by Marc
by Marc

Purchase two of the Okuma 50 ABF Reels, what a Buy, Great Reels, Smooth Action , Great Bait Feeder, .... Will get More Okuma Fishing Tackle

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes