Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

36 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

36 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 34 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Great first tent
10/26/2013

Customer review by elyza45

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by elyza45
by elyza45
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was my very first tent and camping experience, and the tent was used for a five day retreat in Southern California in mild weather. The tent is a good size for one person using a folding 4- inch thick sleeping pad, although given the choice again, I probably would have bought the 7x7 for a little more room, since I had a carry-on size suitcase and bags with me which did not leave much floor space, and as a tall person it was a challenge to stretch out to dress in the tent. Also the sides slope in and reduce some usable space around the edges. This tent does not provide outside space for storing items. The tent was comfortable and was high enough to hang a lantern from the top. One night was especially breezy and cold and I used a blanket over the open mesh top areas which are covered by the rainfly but still allow cold air to enter. Overall it did a great job for the purpose.

Was this review helpful? (43) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elyza45
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not bad for the money
12/6/2016

Customer review by Sallie11

4.0 stars 12/6/2016 by Sallie11
by Sallie11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We have a glass sunroom on the back of the house that is heated & cooled. Sadly, it is also leaking & replacing the glass isn't on the to-do list yet. For the Thanksgiving holiday, I wanted to make it the bedroom for our 13 yr old granddaughter. I settled on a pop up tent to use inside--it worked like a charm. I doubt it will ever get used outside but for this, it was perfect. We put a cot inside--probably couldn't fit 2 of them in. For camping outside, 2 people who liked each other would probably be very comfortable. We did get a little rain but not enough to pour through the glass so I don't know if it really is waterproof but other reviewers gave it good marks in that area. One of the zippers got off the track--that's the reason for 4 stars--but it was possibly the best $25 I ever spent. Our granddaughter got some privacy & protection from the rain. That's all I wanted!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sallie11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love this tent! Great 1 person + gear tent.
6/14/2015

Customer review by Malanka

5.0 stars 6/14/2015 by Malanka
by Malanka

Tent was a very fast set up by myself. It is perfect for just me. I couldn't see using for a 2 person but its great for 1 and gear. I've used it twice already. I go on lots of campouts with my 3 sons for Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts. Both of these past weekends it poured! A scout saying is "anyone can camp in good weather" well with this tent it wasn't hard. Inside was very dry. Rule of thumb is to not have anything resting on the interior walls and it will remain dry, very true. Windows could have been bigger, my only complaint. But it's not a huge tent so it is what I expected. I am happy on the ground without an air mattress, just a foam pad and bag. so this tent was the perfect amount of space. I had room to maneuver to change clothes. nice to have the pockets inside for keys , flashlight, ect. Also I used site to store and it arrive 2 days before the promise date! Overall very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malanka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great tent!
6/2/2014

Customer review by DrawAndRelease

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by DrawAndRelease
by DrawAndRelease

Bought this a few months ago and I have already used it about 4 or 5 times. Me and my boyfriend go camping as much as possible with friends. It's held up in bad winds (barely budged) and held out through a lot of rain without leaks. If you sleep in it with another person, you will be a little close (not too bad). My boyfriend is 6'2" and fits comfortably without having to scrunch up at all, plus we can fit all our gear in here pretty much! We used an air mattress last time we camped, which was a queen size that was one of the tall air mattresses, which did make the tent puff out at the bottom so next time we would probably use one of the shorter ones. Other than that, it is a must have for campers who want something durable and not crazy expensive!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrawAndRelease
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awesome tent stays totally dry in rain
2/22/2017

Customer review by UTVCamper

5.0 stars 2/22/2017 by UTVCamper
by UTVCamper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Coleman never disappoints!! Amazing tent especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
UTVCamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Self
2/16/2017

Customer review by Tony

4.0 stars 2/16/2017 by Tony
by Tony
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My son loves it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tony
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not exactly what we expected
3/16/2012

Customer review by WalMartCustomerReviewer

3.0 stars 3/16/2012 by WalMartCustomerReviewer
by WalMartCustomerReviewer

When we got the tent, we were happy to see that the picture on the outside of the carrying case (sans rainfly) showed at least one of the side windows as a half-window (it doesn't go all the way from side seam to side seam), which, along with the rainfly that completely covers the windows, wouldn't seem too bad as far as heat retention and wind. However, the actual tent has full width open mesh windows on both short sides (only the back window is zipper-closeable), which you can't tell based on the product picture and description online. There's also an approx. 18"x4" 'ground vent' mesh opening at the back bottom which only has an open fly over it (no zipper, no way to close it off). There’s really nothing to keep rain from splashing up through there, and it looks like you’d have cold air coming in right at your lumbar region. The design for the rainfly support pole is kind of a pain - you need an extra set of hands to hold the rainfly in place while you get it attached or it keeps sliding off to one side or another, frustrating at best if you’re setting it up alone, but I see this to be impossible in any kind of wind. We were looking for a three-season tent, but this one is definitely summer only, which I guess the Sundome name kind of alludes to.

Was this review helpful? (102) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalMartCustomerReviewer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Super Tent for camping
10/12/2012

Customer review by RonColorado

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by RonColorado
by RonColorado

This is a great little tent, claims it fits 2 people but it would be tight, however for one person it is perfect, fits a single air mattress and still has extra floor space. You could sit up & move around ( I am 6'1") without jambing your head into the roof. Very rain proof, camped at the 7000 foot level in Rocky Mountains and hit a all night rainstorm, tent kept me dry. This tent folds up into a very very compact size and is EZ for one to put up. I think this is a super tent for the money..Ron/Colorado

Was this review helpful? (64) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RonColorado
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
nice tent for the value
12/8/2016

Customer review by eunj

5.0 stars 12/8/2016 by eunj
by eunj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

got this for patio and indoor use. easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eunj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent tent for the price
8/13/2013

Customer review by bluebrier

5.0 stars 8/13/2013 by bluebrier
by bluebrier
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this little Coleman tent for my 15 yr old son. Coleman calls it a 2 person tent, but it is more suited to one person. He had plenty of room for a single air mattress and his gear. First night out we got caught in a torential downpour with thunder and lightning. He stayed reasonably dry, there was a bit of water under the air mattress, even with a tarp under the tent (really recommended, even if it doesn't rain the tarp will keep the tent clean) Sides of the tent and rainfly were very water resistant. Went together easily (instructions sewn into the bag :) and actually fit easily BACK into the bag when we broke camp. Overall a great little tent for the price.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluebrier
Brier, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Little Tent
6/20/2012

Customer review by glas

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by glas
by glas

This is a great tent for primitive camping. Lightweight and easy to set-up. Fit 2 people (6'3" and 5'5") comfortably on 2 twin size air mattresses that were 72.5" long by 23" wide. The tent has 2 pockets inside, one on each end of the tent. Used seam sealer to waterproof the seams and it withstood a heavy spray down from the water hose. This is my second Coleman tent purchase in 10 years and I highly recommend this brand.

Was this review helpful? (68) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glas
Fort Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Coleman Sundome 2-person dome tent.
12/18/2016

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 12/18/2016 by Bill
by Bill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am not a fan of camping or familiar with tents. I purchased this tent as a play tent for my Granddaughter. However, a family member fond of camping states it's a very nice tent. It was extremely easy to set up, but don't forget to get the tent stakes also. My Granddaughter loves it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
kept dry through thunderstorm
7/9/2014

Customer review by tonka279

5.0 stars 7/9/2014 by tonka279
by tonka279
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bought for my son who is going on a week long wilderness camp this summer. tried it out prior over the july 4th weekend. we set it up dry on thur afternoon, it thunderstormed like crazy thur night and continuously rained hard until sat morning. tent remained dry the entire time but we did place a tarp underneath when set up. Worked Great! Only negative I would say is space is small. you could sleep two inside with no gear but it is really better for one person with gear. Set up is easy, just 2 poles for tent plus 1 for rain fly and my 12 year old can do it himself. Tent easily goes back into carrying bag for storage.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tonka279
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice!
12/11/2016

Customer review by ToomeyGirl

5.0 stars 12/11/2016 by ToomeyGirl
by ToomeyGirl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for Christmas for my 13 yr old son. Perfect size, easily assembled and great quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ToomeyGirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tent
12/11/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/11/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this tent for my dogs to have their own space when going camping

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy
5/30/2015

Customer review by kklady3

5.0 stars 5/30/2015 by kklady3
by kklady3

Purchased this small 2 person dome tent to use on weeklong road cycling trip. Easy up with one person, goes up super fast with 2 people. Make sure to secure the tie downs. The floor is like a bath tub so you don't have to worry about water seeping in. The zippers and screen netting keeps the bugs out. To make this the "perfect 2 person tent" I placed a tarp under the tent between the ground and the floor of the tent. I put a couple of pads down for the sleeping bags. Cozy. Packs away nicely in its little sack that comes with it, but you have to take your time to actually roll and fold the tent up prior to sticking it back in its little sack. The rain fly not only keeps the rain drops out, it keeps the sun from heating up the inside too much. It is very light weight and I would recommend this to any one looking for something small, lightweight and easy to put up and take down.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kklady3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Tent for Backyard and short camping trips
11/27/2016

Customer review by TheShrek

5.0 stars 11/27/2016 by TheShrek
by TheShrek
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used these long back for camping in state parks and it does hold good. I bought the new ones for my children to use in backyard and sleeping outside on short cabin based trips, while weather holds good, so that they get used. The quality is good but wont recommend using in really bad weather. Not strong enough.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheShrek
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super value tent
12/16/2016

Customer review by TomMcC

5.0 stars 12/16/2016 by TomMcC
by TomMcC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great quality tent for a great price. Store pick up very smooth and fairly quick to arrive at the store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TomMcC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Tent (great tent)
10/5/2012

Customer review by KODIAKWRATH

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by KODIAKWRATH
by KODIAKWRATH

it is a real good tent just the same with all tents try not to touch the side or water will come in it was very comfy

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KODIAKWRATH
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A Whopper 7lbs tent!
4/21/2013

Customer review by Gyozadude

2.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Gyozadude
by Gyozadude

I've been camping in a dirt cheap $20 ultralight tent( 2lbs 8 oz) for about 30 overnights during the last 2 yrs and it was made of super light polyester taffeta that was finally falling apart. Not finding the same model for cheap online, I decided to look up some more cheap, small tents. Then I saw the relatively high ratings for this 2 person Coleman Sundome, so seeing the competitive price, I didn't think much and bought it. Pros: Price is good. Construction and materials are decent quality. Dome height is good for a big guy and I can sit up fully. Cons: This weighs like a tonne! Yikes! 6 lbs 15 oz, quiverring on 7lbs 0oz says my digital tournament fish scale! The poles along are half if not more of the weight. Roomy is relative. You can squeeze two small people in this but not their gear, or just one big guy like me. And the limited rainfly sort of precludes rainy conditions with water blowing in semi-sideways. Tent setup has part pole-sleeves and part clips. Why didn't just use clips all the way and make it 3 times faster to setup (like in the rain). Clearly, this isn't a backpacking tent unless you're hiking a really short distance from the car to your campsite. I have a full 3 person/4 season tent with aluminum poles I got online for just a little more that has full rainfly that weighs in at 5 lbs 8 ozs, nearly a pound and a half lighter. And the rainfly includes a vestibule and it's not much more expensive. Also, it's clear that it's not a technologically superior tent. Even the low-end tents at Walmart from Ozark Trail and moving to clipped attachment to the poles as opposed to sleeves, and they are also incorporating fuller rainflies. This Coleman is last generation in design and is still slower to setup, uses taped seams and heavy, single layer, material to block water penetration when 2 thinner layers is far superior and prevents condensation effects getting inner layers wet (problematic on cold, moist nights). So I can only surmise, the high ratings for this tent are due to positive confirmation bias of the buyers who don't know enough and don't camp enough in different conditions to know what is good versus what weighs a tonne is just average. They give this high ratings probably because everyone else is giving it high ratings and they don't want to feel foolish for buying this tent. Well, I think the construction is good and the price is good. Those get this two stars. But other than that, I don't see much value for the weight and the design. Luckily, this is Walmart and I'm not out much money, like I would be buying a similar tent from some Really Expensive Incorporated 3-letter outdoor company. I may keep it for the kids who don't know any better and give this tent for them to haul on longer backpack trips as punishment for a bad test score or too much video gaming at home. LOL!

Was this review helpful? (24) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gyozadude
Sunnyvale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews