Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 23 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Great first tent
10/26/2013

Customer review by elyza45

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by elyza45
by elyza45
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was my very first tent and camping experience, and the tent was used for a five day retreat in Southern California in mild weather. The tent is a good size for one person using a folding 4- inch thick sleeping pad, although given the choice again, I probably would have bought the 7x7 for a little more room, since I had a carry-on size suitcase and bags with me which did not leave much floor space, and as a tall person it was a challenge to stretch out to dress in the tent. Also the sides slope in and reduce some usable space around the edges. This tent does not provide outside space for storing items. The tent was comfortable and was high enough to hang a lantern from the top. One night was especially breezy and cold and I used a blanket over the open mesh top areas which are covered by the rainfly but still allow cold air to enter. Overall it did a great job for the purpose.

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elyza45
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use.
6/27/2016

Customer review by Robert

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by Robert
by Robert
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This tent is easy to setup. Just two poles in an X pattern. Set it up and stake it down. It is very lightweight and stores easily on my motorcycle.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Robert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent tent for the price
8/13/2013

Customer review by bluebrier

5.0 stars 8/13/2013 by bluebrier
by bluebrier
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this little Coleman tent for my 15 yr old son. Coleman calls it a 2 person tent, but it is more suited to one person. He had plenty of room for a single air mattress and his gear. First night out we got caught in a torential downpour with thunder and lightning. He stayed reasonably dry, there was a bit of water under the air mattress, even with a tarp under the tent (really recommended, even if it doesn't rain the tarp will keep the tent clean) Sides of the tent and rainfly were very water resistant. Went together easily (instructions sewn into the bag :) and actually fit easily BACK into the bag when we broke camp. Overall a great little tent for the price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluebrier
Brier, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not exactly what we expected
3/16/2012

Customer review by WalMartCustomerReviewer

3.0 stars 3/16/2012 by WalMartCustomerReviewer
by WalMartCustomerReviewer

When we got the tent, we were happy to see that the picture on the outside of the carrying case (sans rainfly) showed at least one of the side windows as a half-window (it doesn't go all the way from side seam to side seam), which, along with the rainfly that completely covers the windows, wouldn't seem too bad as far as heat retention and wind. However, the actual tent has full width open mesh windows on both short sides (only the back window is zipper-closeable), which you can't tell based on the product picture and description online. There's also an approx. 18"x4" 'ground vent' mesh opening at the back bottom which only has an open fly over it (no zipper, no way to close it off). There’s really nothing to keep rain from splashing up through there, and it looks like you’d have cold air coming in right at your lumbar region. The design for the rainfly support pole is kind of a pain - you need an extra set of hands to hold the rainfly in place while you get it attached or it keeps sliding off to one side or another, frustrating at best if you’re setting it up alone, but I see this to be impossible in any kind of wind. We were looking for a three-season tent, but this one is definitely summer only, which I guess the Sundome name kind of alludes to.

Was this review helpful? (92) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WalMartCustomerReviewer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Super Tent for camping
10/12/2012

Customer review by RonColorado

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by RonColorado
by RonColorado

This is a great little tent, claims it fits 2 people but it would be tight, however for one person it is perfect, fits a single air mattress and still has extra floor space. You could sit up & move around ( I am 6'1") without jambing your head into the roof. Very rain proof, camped at the 7000 foot level in Rocky Mountains and hit a all night rainstorm, tent kept me dry. This tent folds up into a very very compact size and is EZ for one to put up. I think this is a super tent for the money..Ron/Colorado

Was this review helpful? (59) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RonColorado
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Little Tent
6/20/2012

Customer review by glas

5.0 stars 6/20/2012 by glas
by glas

This is a great tent for primitive camping. Lightweight and easy to set-up. Fit 2 people (6'3" and 5'5") comfortably on 2 twin size air mattresses that were 72.5" long by 23" wide. The tent has 2 pockets inside, one on each end of the tent. Used seam sealer to waterproof the seams and it withstood a heavy spray down from the water hose. This is my second Coleman tent purchase in 10 years and I highly recommend this brand.

Was this review helpful? (63) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
glas
Fort Worth
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
I love this tent! Great 1 person + gear tent.
6/14/2015

Customer review by Malanka

5.0 stars 6/14/2015 by Malanka
by Malanka

Tent was a very fast set up by myself. It is perfect for just me. I couldn't see using for a 2 person but its great for 1 and gear. I've used it twice already. I go on lots of campouts with my 3 sons for Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts. Both of these past weekends it poured! A scout saying is "anyone can camp in good weather" well with this tent it wasn't hard. Inside was very dry. Rule of thumb is to not have anything resting on the interior walls and it will remain dry, very true. Windows could have been bigger, my only complaint. But it's not a huge tent so it is what I expected. I am happy on the ground without an air mattress, just a foam pad and bag. so this tent was the perfect amount of space. I had room to maneuver to change clothes. nice to have the pockets inside for keys , flashlight, ect. Also I used site to store and it arrive 2 days before the promise date! Overall very pleased!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Malanka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
kept dry through thunderstorm
7/9/2014

Customer review by tonka279

5.0 stars 7/9/2014 by tonka279
by tonka279
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

bought for my son who is going on a week long wilderness camp this summer. tried it out prior over the july 4th weekend. we set it up dry on thur afternoon, it thunderstormed like crazy thur night and continuously rained hard until sat morning. tent remained dry the entire time but we did place a tarp underneath when set up. Worked Great! Only negative I would say is space is small. you could sleep two inside with no gear but it is really better for one person with gear. Set up is easy, just 2 poles for tent plus 1 for rain fly and my 12 year old can do it himself. Tent easily goes back into carrying bag for storage.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tonka279
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great tent!
6/2/2014

Customer review by DrawAndRelease

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by DrawAndRelease
by DrawAndRelease

Bought this a few months ago and I have already used it about 4 or 5 times. Me and my boyfriend go camping as much as possible with friends. It's held up in bad winds (barely budged) and held out through a lot of rain without leaks. If you sleep in it with another person, you will be a little close (not too bad). My boyfriend is 6'2" and fits comfortably without having to scrunch up at all, plus we can fit all our gear in here pretty much! We used an air mattress last time we camped, which was a queen size that was one of the tall air mattresses, which did make the tent puff out at the bottom so next time we would probably use one of the shorter ones. Other than that, it is a must have for campers who want something durable and not crazy expensive!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrawAndRelease
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy
5/30/2015

Customer review by kklady3

5.0 stars 5/30/2015 by kklady3
by kklady3

Purchased this small 2 person dome tent to use on weeklong road cycling trip. Easy up with one person, goes up super fast with 2 people. Make sure to secure the tie downs. The floor is like a bath tub so you don't have to worry about water seeping in. The zippers and screen netting keeps the bugs out. To make this the "perfect 2 person tent" I placed a tarp under the tent between the ground and the floor of the tent. I put a couple of pads down for the sleeping bags. Cozy. Packs away nicely in its little sack that comes with it, but you have to take your time to actually roll and fold the tent up prior to sticking it back in its little sack. The rain fly not only keeps the rain drops out, it keeps the sun from heating up the inside too much. It is very light weight and I would recommend this to any one looking for something small, lightweight and easy to put up and take down.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kklady3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
substandard poles
4/22/2016

Customer review by mgkmom82

1.0 stars 4/22/2016 by mgkmom82
by mgkmom82

should be the perfect little tent for my boy scout but after 3 uses 1 pole broke during setup Duct tape to the rescue. One the 4th use snap! the other pole snapped. Duct tape to the rescue again GRRR for the price and the brand we expected more The tents the troop uses are much cheaper and are year and year old we'll be buying on of those to replace this one

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgkmom82
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Tent (great tent)
10/5/2012

Customer review by KODIAKWRATH

5.0 stars 10/5/2012 by KODIAKWRATH
by KODIAKWRATH

it is a real good tent just the same with all tents try not to touch the side or water will come in it was very comfy

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KODIAKWRATH
alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A Whopper 7lbs tent!
4/21/2013

Customer review by Gyozadude

2.0 stars 4/21/2013 by Gyozadude
by Gyozadude

I've been camping in a dirt cheap $20 ultralight tent( 2lbs 8 oz) for about 30 overnights during the last 2 yrs and it was made of super light polyester taffeta that was finally falling apart. Not finding the same model for cheap online, I decided to look up some more cheap, small tents. Then I saw the relatively high ratings for this 2 person Coleman Sundome, so seeing the competitive price, I didn't think much and bought it. Pros: Price is good. Construction and materials are decent quality. Dome height is good for a big guy and I can sit up fully. Cons: This weighs like a tonne! Yikes! 6 lbs 15 oz, quiverring on 7lbs 0oz says my digital tournament fish scale! The poles along are half if not more of the weight. Roomy is relative. You can squeeze two small people in this but not their gear, or just one big guy like me. And the limited rainfly sort of precludes rainy conditions with water blowing in semi-sideways. Tent setup has part pole-sleeves and part clips. Why didn't just use clips all the way and make it 3 times faster to setup (like in the rain). Clearly, this isn't a backpacking tent unless you're hiking a really short distance from the car to your campsite. I have a full 3 person/4 season tent with aluminum poles I got online for just a little more that has full rainfly that weighs in at 5 lbs 8 ozs, nearly a pound and a half lighter. And the rainfly includes a vestibule and it's not much more expensive. Also, it's clear that it's not a technologically superior tent. Even the low-end tents at Walmart from Ozark Trail and moving to clipped attachment to the poles as opposed to sleeves, and they are also incorporating fuller rainflies. This Coleman is last generation in design and is still slower to setup, uses taped seams and heavy, single layer, material to block water penetration when 2 thinner layers is far superior and prevents condensation effects getting inner layers wet (problematic on cold, moist nights). So I can only surmise, the high ratings for this tent are due to positive confirmation bias of the buyers who don't know enough and don't camp enough in different conditions to know what is good versus what weighs a tonne is just average. They give this high ratings probably because everyone else is giving it high ratings and they don't want to feel foolish for buying this tent. Well, I think the construction is good and the price is good. Those get this two stars. But other than that, I don't see much value for the weight and the design. Luckily, this is Walmart and I'm not out much money, like I would be buying a similar tent from some Really Expensive Incorporated 3-letter outdoor company. I may keep it for the kids who don't know any better and give this tent for them to haul on longer backpack trips as punishment for a bad test score or too much video gaming at home. LOL!

Was this review helpful? (19) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gyozadude
Sunnyvale, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Nice but small!
1/14/2015

Customer review by Roadgrader

4.0 stars 1/14/2015 by Roadgrader
by Roadgrader

The sundome tent says it'll sleep two people which it may but it would be a snug fit. If your using an air mattress it'll only fit one person. Quality is great and sets up in about 10 minutes with one person. Nice tent for one person but not 2.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Roadgrader
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great tent for all levels of camping
3/19/2014

Customer review by KitKat317

5.0 stars 3/19/2014 by KitKat317
by KitKat317
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Coleman products are always a good value for the price. Have been a Coleman customer/user for years. This tent sold at a good price. It was easy to set up. During our recent torrential rains, the inside stayed remarkable dry.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KitKat317
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Coleman 2-person Tent
6/20/2015

Customer review by ninny727

4.0 stars 6/20/2015 by ninny727
by ninny727

This tent was easy to setup. We camped in the rain and it kept us dry. Only regret is that my Coleman 2-person air mattress just barely fit, with no room to spare. Had I known we would have gotten the 3-person model. But this tent would be excellent for a smaller mattress. We stayed cool as well. I recommend it for one person. I was a bit disappointed to learn that even though this tent came from Canada it was made overseas.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ninny727
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great tent
11/24/2013

Customer review by Florida545

5.0 stars 11/24/2013 by Florida545
by Florida545
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This tent is just what I was looking for. Large enough for an adult with some room left over for gear. Two adults in this tent would be a tight fit. Appears well made and has good ventilation. Easy setup and take down.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Florida545
Central Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
too small for 2 people
10/26/2015

Customer review by Nola

3.0 stars 10/26/2015 by Nola
by Nola

I love the tent, it was easy to put up but it is too small for 2 people and bags. My husband and I purchased this tent since the zipper broke on our old tent, I expected it to be the same size since my old tent was a 2 man tent. We could not fit anything but ourselves in the tent. I need to upgrade to the larger tent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nola
Would recommend to a friend? No
coleman 2 man tent
8/10/2015

Customer review by george

5.0 stars 8/10/2015 by george
by george

I am happy with it so far. But, why is it priced at $44? I thought I paid $47. Did you reduce the price on it? Shouldn't I get a partial refund?

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
george
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cool tent
8/30/2015

Customer review by Granny

5.0 stars 8/30/2015 by Granny
by Granny
Walmart associate

Easy set up? Grandkids love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Granny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews