Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

15 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-15 of 15 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Camcorder/Lousy Digital Camera!
5/7/2011

Customer review by jcene7

3.0 stars 5/7/2011 by jcene7
by jcene7

We bought this hoping to be able to use it as a recorder and a camera. As a recorder, it works great. The zoom is awesome. The internal memory ensures ample memory. The battery lasts a long time before needing recharged. The touch screen is pretty handy. It's easy to use. I'm still tinkering w/ the computer program that comes with it that allows you to edit your recordings, but what I've been able to figure out thus far...it's neat. However, when using it in the camera feature, the pictures are very, very grainy. This was so disappointing because I really like the rest of the product. Honestly, the pictures are just so poor they just aren't usable. All this to say, if you are looking for a great digital recorder...you won't be disappointed. If you were hoping to utilize it as a camera as well.....this is NOT the product for you.

Was this review helpful? (81) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jcene7
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
5/29/2011

Customer review by cccampers

3.0 stars 5/29/2011 by cccampers
by cccampers

THE SIZE IS GREAT, EASY TO HOLD AN CARRY. THE PICTURE QUALITY WAS VERY GOOD, SO MUCH FOR THE GOOD POINTS. I WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THE VIEWING SCREEN IN BRIGHT SUNLIGHT. NO MATTER HOW YOU TILTED IT YOU CAN't SEE WHAT YOUR FILMING. I KNOW THAT'S THE THING NOWDAYS WITH PHONES AND CAMERAS. I WISH SONY WOULD HAVE PUT A PEEP WINDOW ON THE CAMCORDER ALSO SO YOU CAN REALLY SEE WHAT YOU'RE LOOKING AT. THE CAMCORDER IS SLOW TO REFOCUS WHEN YOU MOVE FROM ONE SCENE TO ANOTHER. ONE THING TO KEEP IN MIND, IF YOU ARE USING THE ZOOM ON ONE SHOT AN STOP FILMING AN START TO FILM AGAIN ON A CLOSER SUBJECT THE CAMERA IS STILL ON ZOOM. AS LONG AS YOU REMEMBER TO CHANGE IT BACK YOU WILL BE OK. I GUESS I THOUGHT IT WOULD RESET IT SELF. MOVING FROM SITE TO SITE IT WAS EASY TO FORGET TO MAKE THE CHANGE FOR THE ZOOM. SPEAKING OF THE 70X ZOOM , YOU REALLY NEED A TRIPOD IF YOU GO THE MAX. I BOUGHT A SMALL 6 INCH TRIPOD WHICH ALSO WORKED LIKE A HANDLE. THAT PROVED TO BE HELPFUL.

Was this review helpful? (20) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cccampers
New Smyrna Beach, Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great camera but.... come on sony!!!!
5/17/2011

Customer review by madismommaintexas

3.0 stars 5/17/2011 by madismommaintexas
by madismommaintexas

i purchased this camera after searching several stores in my area. this seemed to be the better camera for my money. i have taken several videos with it that have turned out pretty good. quality depends on the lighting conditions and things like that but thats any camera. i ALMOST returned this camera. here is the reason why... i loaded the videos onto my pc which without the sony software is a pain. if you just insert the memory card or camera into the pc to import the files they are hidden in an off the wall titled folder and are slightly hard to find. i finally got them loaded and they wouldnt play!!! i contact sony. the format is MPEG-2 for the videos. basically they told me windows media player doesnt support this format (they dont have the codec required) and that i HAD to use THEIR software to import or play the videos. i couldnt believe that! i said well then whats the point of buying a camera to shoot videos if you cant send them to your family because they need special software just to view it. seems like a valid point right? he didnt have any answer. i asked how to get the codecs for media player and he said to contact microsoft for them. so i said ok ill do that. he then tells me that its recommended i use THEIR software again. again REALLY? so i go to microsofts page. well if you dont have windows vista home premium or a windows 7 pc the MPEG-2 format isnt supported. you have to purchase an add on like power dvd or windvd ect... price ranging from 14-99 dollars!!! luckily i had one of these titles that i received free with another pc so i loaded it. videos played perfectly with windows media player after installing power dvd. i was going to return it because at first it seemed to be a huge hassel just to load and play back any video i recorded and sending to family was going to be just as difficult. i didnt return the camera because after loading power dvd i was able to open and edit the files on my pc without needing the sony software. once you figure out where the files are hidden its pretty easy to get them off the memory card/internal memory.i know the few family and friends i will be sending it to have the required programs to view it as well. so for me it eliminated the hassel. if your not real tech savy id pass on this camera but if you read all that and went no problem then by all means buy it! i actually love it after getting the playback issues resolved.

Was this review helpful? (61) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
madismommaintexas
middle of nowhere texas population 999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great camcorder
4/21/2011

Customer review by AgilityDobe

5.0 stars 4/21/2011 by AgilityDobe
by AgilityDobe

I originally was going to buy a Flip camera but saw this one at the store & really liked its features. I liked the zoom options & the steady feature so I can take it on hikes to video my dogs having a good time in the woods. The feature I really like, though, is the on board USB port. Very handy. It's easy to download videos to my computer as well as the options to delete the scenes on the camera after downloading. Overall, I love this camera!

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AgilityDobe
Apple Creek, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Overall Good
10/8/2012

Customer review by masterofdisaster1

4.0 stars 10/8/2012 by masterofdisaster1
by masterofdisaster1

I purchased this to replace a High-8 Hitachi because I was having difficulty transferring videos of soccer games direct to DVD. The transfer is still not instantaneous, but much quicker than transferring to VHS tapes! The camcorder is small, lightweight, easy to use, and packed with features. I find a neck/chest mounted monopole better than a tripod for this unit because it is so light, and the view screen is closer to my eyes. This Camcorder has a FAST zoom which is good for following sports action, but I've had some trouble because the zoom control is exactly backwards from the Hitachi. My bad I think, not the camera's. The only other problem is the very busy and sometimes obscure menu grouping. Color and detail are good for either SP or HD recording and there appears to be ample recording space on the internal memory. The removable card will allow you too increase that substantially, or keep photos separate from the internal memory. The only other problem is that Wal-Mart doesn't carry replacement batteries. I wound up having to buy them on e-Bay which left me tied to a power cord for several weeks to ensure not running out of battery until they arrived. The battery supplied will last about 40 to 50 minutes with heavy zooming. I purchased 2 larger batteries with chargers so I don't have to have the camera plugged in to charge.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
masterofdisaster1
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
sony camcorder
4/18/2011

Customer review by customb

4.0 stars 4/18/2011 by customb
by customb

The features are great on this camcorder and you have to play with it to get it set the way you want. Instructions not that great. The only reason I returned this was due to the poor video when you play it back. Objects are blurry and doesn't focus quick enough.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
customb
wv
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Half way disspointed
10/25/2012

Customer review by cpass1024

2.0 stars 10/25/2012 by cpass1024
by cpass1024

THIS IS A GREAT CAMERA FOR VIDEO . . BUT SAME AS BELOW . . THE PICTURE CAPTURE QUALITY IS VERY GRAINY . . THAT'S WHERE IT WAS DISAPPOINTING BECAUSE I WANTED A CAMCORDER THAT COULD DO BOTH . . ALL THOUGH SONY DOES MAKE EXCELLENT ELECTRONICS . . I WAS NOT HAPPY WITH THIS ONE . . I AM NOW SELLING IT ON CRAIGSLIST TO GET MY MONEY BACK AND TO BUY A NEWER ONE . . WITH BOTH GREAT VIDEO AND PICTURE CAPTURE . . THE VIDEO IS GREAT BUT NOT SO GREAT WITH JUST PICTURES . .

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cpass1024
Saugus
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent little camcorder
2/8/2012

Customer review by slwalker

5.0 stars 2/8/2012 by slwalker
by slwalker

I love this little camcorder. It fits in the palm of my hand and has so many user friendly features such as the built in usb connector in the carrying handle, the long battery life and the revolving screen for self video. I bought this to create tutorials for my customers and I could not be happier with my purchase. Thanks Dell for carrying this product.

slwalker
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hot Handycam
2/16/2012

Customer review by tmsharky

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by tmsharky
by tmsharky

Handy cam is easy to use. I have little or no technical skill. I find this product to be user friendly. Sound picture quality and sound are top notch. Stabilzer works well for my shaky hands. Easy to carry and easy to hide in the palm of your hand. Get ne and have some fun

tmsharky
virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent except in bright sunlight
11/7/2012

Customer review by Lovemychoices

4.0 stars 11/7/2012 by Lovemychoices
by Lovemychoices
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very impressed with this camera except when trying to see what I'm filming in bright sunlight. Unfortunately the screen reflects my own face back at me rather than what I'm filming. Must be a way around that ... some non-reflective coating or something? Other than that, zoom is fantastic, video is crisp and clear, sound is good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lovemychoices
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Bad
5/10/2011

Customer review by WMShopper325

1.0 stars 5/10/2011 by WMShopper325
by WMShopper325

I have seen better results from $20 cameras you can find in the toy section. I took It back.

Was this review helpful? (2) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WMShopper325
Would recommend to a friend? No
Functions are to difficult to get to
8/29/2012

Customer review by Will1954

2.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Will1954
by Will1954

The digital focus is useless and the manual focus is not really manual also the night vision is very poor but besides that everything else is OK. Overall though I am not impressed with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Will1954
Bellingham, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great camera for the price.
12/8/2012

Customer review by Carlitoz

5.0 stars 12/8/2012 by Carlitoz
by Carlitoz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have been using this camera for the past year twice a month excellent camera.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carlitoz
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/7/2011

Customer review by Frankybaby

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by Frankybaby
by Frankybaby

Great price & great product - works perfectly

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frankybaby
Hamburg, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/26/2011

Customer review by mommarosered

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by mommarosered
by mommarosered

easy to use

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommarosered
grantsville md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month