Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

32 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

32 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 28 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
Exactly What I Was Looking For
4/12/2011

Customer review by Big6ft6

4.0 stars 4/12/2011 by Big6ft6
by Big6ft6

I was looking for a small flash drive camera with a good zoom. I need the zoom becuase I take my camera in the woods when I go hunting and often take long range video of cool wildlife I see when sitting in my stand. I needed the flash because I wanted to be able to share video easier. My last camera was a Sony with those miniDV tapes...I loved my old camera and zoom, but to share video I had to "capture" from the tape...very laborious and unfun. So far I'm really happy. I wish there was an optical viewfinder but I might as well forget those, as it is clear nobody is every going to put them on consumer video cameras anymore, pluse it saves cost and space to not have it. There are some flimsy little plastic parts, like the little door that covers the place to connect the charger. The built in lens covers also worry me they are very light-weight plastic and the mechanism that opens and closes them must be fragile..but only time will tell. What I am most happy with is the ability to share video. At first I was frustrated becuase I was hoping I could simply "drag and drop" videos off the camera like I do for .jpeg files on a still camera. Well you can...but they are huge files even for a very short video. And if I double click on the mpeg2 files from with my computer, it opens in media player...it plays the video but no sound (problem with codecs for media player) so it seemed the ability to share easily wasn't going to be so easy. That is what I thought until I opened the included software that comes with the camera (built right into the camera so you don't need to install it on your computer!). There is a built-in feature to upload to youtube or facebook and it worked like a charm. Once I uploaded the video to youtube, I was able to e-mail the link to everyone, worked great!! The built in USB cable is a terrific feature, I don't have to remember to bring a cable with me, if I have the camera and find a computer..I can upload just like that!! So far so good. Only time will tell on the plastic parts. Oh and picture quality is great for my purposes. I don't own a fancy TV...don't care about HD. I'm more worried about sharing with everyone and the ability to have a good picture and tell what is going on. To be honest as soon as I opened the camera I set the video quality to the lowest possible so it would make the smallest video files for sharing. So I don't even know how good the video gets, but it looks great at low quality for my purposes. I'm sure the highest settings will easily be comparable to my miniDV. I figure I want people to see the antlers on the buck out in the field...I don't need them to see the deer's eyelashes!

Was this review helpful? (95) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Big6ft6
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
So far,"VERY PLEASED"!!!
6/9/2011

Customer review by cmfd71

4.0 stars 6/9/2011 by cmfd71
by cmfd71

I just bought this Sony Handycam SX45,and I love it so far.I read alot of reviews on here & other places,and most were good.So,I wanted a new one.This is a great camera for people who want one for special events or just to have fun videoing family,kds & regu;ar stuff.I read some reviews where people didn't like it,but I think if your looking for a profesional video camera,you can spend thousands of dollars.This is a "Great"camera for capturing those great moments.Just work with it and I think you will be very pleased with it.Also,"VERY" good for the price.Hope this helps who reads reviews like I do before purchasing.Oh,and the 70x optical zoom works great!!! I also reccomend you buy at east a 4GB SDHC card for it or up to a 32GB.Good luck and have fun with it,I am.

Was this review helpful? (48) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cmfd71
Cleveland,TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome I love it!!
7/29/2011

Customer review by mbgrammy

5.0 stars 7/29/2011 by mbgrammy
by mbgrammy

I have had this for well over a month now and this has been the best investment for the price. I got more than I paid for. I love the 70X zoom and the best Carl Z lens is a plus. The still photo mode is really nice and recording is excellent. The built in USB is a big plus. I would recommend this to anyone that is a beginner to advanced.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mbgrammy
Gravette, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Ultimately great value for the price
7/24/2011

Customer review by isodole

4.0 stars 7/24/2011 by isodole
by isodole

Bought this to take on vacation, was pretty satisfied. The image quality is one of the better I've seen - not perfect but what really is? The 70x zoom is awesome. Works great in picture mode too. Very glad for the image stabilization. Battery life lasts for a full day of filming. On screen menus are decent, definitely workable. Easy hook up to computers and tvs. Perfect for the whip out and take video moments.

Was this review helpful? (46) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
isodole
Petoskey, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome
4/23/2011

Customer review by ANGELnREE

5.0 stars 4/23/2011 by ANGELnREE
by ANGELnREE

Couldn't have found better quality for the price, already plan to purchase another as a christmas gift!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ANGELnREE
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty Good
10/10/2011

Customer review by Allysmom06032011

3.0 stars 10/10/2011 by Allysmom06032011
by Allysmom06032011

I purchased this camera because of the birth of my baby. My digital camera broke and liked the idea of having a camcorder & camera in one. I am pleased so far with the camcorder, it's pretty easy to use. The camera is attractive, but VERY small. Other reviews explained this and they were right! However it will get the job done, the size isn't a big drawback. I am not pleased with the quality of the still pictures. The images have a "grainy" look. I am no photographer, as I said I am using this for family photos and such, so I don't expect perfect, but I am not pleased with the quality of the pictures. As a bundle, I believe it is a decent value with the card, tripod, and cam. I would recommend this product for camcorder only, not camera. I will be purchasing another camera for still shots.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Allysmom06032011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/22/2011

Customer review by sammie2011

3.0 stars 5/22/2011 by sammie2011
by sammie2011

I like that the cam is 2 in 1. I bought it just for that reason. Better than carrying 2 cams around with me. The only proboem I have and hope that someone can help me is that for night recordings and taking pictures at night outside. Inside picutres also that are in low lighting comes out fuzzy and very dark. Any suggestions anyone on taking outside night pics, inside pics, and videos outside at night? Thanks!

Was this review helpful? (23) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sammie2011
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
Very Nice!
7/18/2011

Customer review by MissBugg

4.0 stars 7/18/2011 by MissBugg
by MissBugg

This a very good camera. The only thing I'm not crazy about, is when taking videos outdoors on a sunny day, you can sometimes see your own reflection on the screen instead of the subject you are videoing. It's almost like looking in a mirror and that isn't so good. Other than that, it's a very cool camera. I LOVE the 70x zoom!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissBugg
The Great Northwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Appearance is Deceiving!
6/14/2012

Customer review by MsPatt

2.0 stars 6/14/2012 by MsPatt
by MsPatt

I bought this to film outside. To make a long story short, the viewscreen reflects so badly I cannot see what I am filming. The focus goes in & out leaving things blurry. I had high hopes with this one and it is still ok for indoors but not for what I need it for.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsPatt
MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Camera and Great Features
6/16/2012

Customer review by buffalogirl99

4.0 stars 6/16/2012 by buffalogirl99
by buffalogirl99

I got this camera about 2 months ago. I use it to make you-tube beauty videos. The zoom is absolutely amazing. I LOVE that it has auto focus and comes in handy. People say it is shaky but i have had no trouble filming when i move around. I also like that it has a light great for lighting up a shot in low light. It does amazing in low light and if there is something light behind you it dims it and lights up the darker and balances the light. It has many features in the menu that are great, although i don't like that it does not have time laps. Another thing I like about it is you can cut out parts of the video on the camera before you even edit anything. A major set back is the format of the video. It is not compatible with a Mac and you can't upload the videos to windows movie maker because they are formatted differently. The pictures are fine though. If you upload the video straight to you tube a 12 min. video takes 7 hours to upload and you can edit it on you tube. But it is worth the good video quality. So over all I would recommend you get this camera.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buffalogirl99
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not what I hoped.
9/16/2012

Customer review by dlsnps

2.0 stars 9/16/2012 by dlsnps
by dlsnps

Used inside under moderate light and outside during bright sunlight. Outside the screen was nearly impossible to see. Photos were grainy outside and inside. Camera is small, which is good but makes it difficult to use controls and I don't have large hands. Attached USB is good. Good included software.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlsnps
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great camera!
8/1/2011

Customer review by fdm500

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by fdm500
by fdm500

Awesome zoom, lightweight easy to use, Daughter loves it for Youtube.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fdm500
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works great right out of the box. Easy to use.
4/20/2012

Customer review by 2old2worry

4.0 stars 4/20/2012 by 2old2worry
by 2old2worry

Easiest video cam I have used. Takes great video and playback is a breeze. Recommend use of a tripod for long zoom shots. I got it for quick easy videos while traveling and I am very pleased so far. I travel by motorcycle, so size and weight were a big concideration. This unit is so light, you almost forget you are holding it. I would reccomend this cam for those that like to take videos but don't want to spend a lot of time on a learning curve. Sound recording is also very good and clear. Glad I decided to get the Sony SX45 w/ 70x zoom.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2old2worry
Wa. State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
10/23/2012

Customer review by p5reviews

4.0 stars 10/23/2012 by p5reviews
by p5reviews

I haven't had this camera for very long and haven't gotten to use it a whole lot but I love it so far. I haven't transferred any video yet but the sound quality seems fine from the playback mode. I've taken several still pictures with it. The outdoor pictures have all turned out well but the indoor ones not so much. Which for me is fine because I bought it for the video but I love the fact that I can take pictures from any of my videos (which turn out good). This feature is awesome to have and saves me from having to switch back and forth from two different cameras.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
p5reviews
Clarksburg,WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
sony handycam dcrsx45
7/19/2011

Customer review by cuteyorkiegirl

5.0 stars 7/19/2011 by cuteyorkiegirl
by cuteyorkiegirl

i just received it and its a great little video cam so easy to used i really liked sheila from wisconsin.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cuteyorkiegirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Nice, compact & easy to hold
8/2/2012

Customer review by 2slh

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by 2slh
by 2slh

I bought this camera for my 14yr old. She hasn't really used it yet because it doesn't have a memory card. I thought it had an internal memory but it doesn't. So when you buy this camera buy a memory card with it. Otherwise, seems pretty durable and looks really nice. It's easy to work and to handle.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2slh
Eagle pass , Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
OK for the price
12/11/2012

Customer review by Z456

3.0 stars 12/11/2012 by Z456
by Z456

This is a good entry level camcorder for the budget minded person. Menus are easy to follow and it works very well. Do not expect high resolution video becasue it is not designed to produce high resolution video. It is designed to produce high quality video comparable to the old analog televisions (the ones used prior to High Definition TV). There is only so much the great Carl Zeiss lens can do with a 1/8" 720 X 480 resolution imaging element. It is nice that it has automatic as well as manual settings for things such as exposure, white balance, and focus. Spot focusing and spot metering are also available which makes this a great camera for a video/photography student.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Z456
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/1/2012

Customer review by IdahoSteve

1.0 stars 8/1/2012 by IdahoSteve
by IdahoSteve

Great Camera, the Zoom is AWESOME and pic/vid clarity is way above expectations!

Was this review helpful? (4) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IdahoSteve
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A great camera
1/1/2013

Customer review by yanks53

5.0 stars 1/1/2013 by yanks53
by yanks53

It worked great on out trip to Aruba. Small and easy to handle. Great videos.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yanks53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for new baby
1/2/2013

Customer review by ellesee28

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by ellesee28
by ellesee28

I bought this camcorder after a recommendation from another mom. I wanted something to capture my new baby's special moments. It's not difficult to use and easy to get started. I have enjoyed this purchase. I also didn't feel like I needed all the extra bells and whistles that some of the other recorders came with. For my purposes, I find this to be an excellent value, clear picture, and simple. The photo part isn't great but isn't so important for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ellesee28
ATL, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews