Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1455 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1455 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

1455 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1033
4 stars
294
3 stars
41
2 stars
35
1 stars
52
1-20 of 1395 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1395 total reviews
1-20 of 1395 reviews
Waste of money
5/6/2011

Customer review by BMW540

1.0 stars 5/6/2011 by BMW540
by BMW540

I purchased this Dyson DC35 when it first came out for $299.00. I needed a vacuum for quick cleaning and spot pick up. After using the Dyson a few times I have decided to comment on how mad and disappointed I am! I have listed a few of my issues; the battery will only last for a short time, to use you must press the trigger the total time during vacuuming, every time I use it - the battery went dead (only 6 minutes on full power), I checked into a new battery ...$75.00, very noisy, charger is always drawing electricity - not very "Green", 3½ hours to charge back up, exhaust air blows into my face, very poor suction, can't stand the vacuum upright and small dirt capacity. This Dyson is not worth the $299.00, I would not recommend this model ...waste of money!

Was this review helpful? (162) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BMW540
Would recommend to a friend? No
We're a two Dyson family now!
6/5/2011

Customer review by MsBean780

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by MsBean780
by MsBean780

Love this vacuum!! We have the bigger Dyson and when this one came out, my husband wanted it right away! Works beautifully and has all the suction of it's bigger sibling! The only problem I have is the trigger; it would be so much better if you didn't have to hold it in. Maybe a click and lock trigger.

Was this review helpful? (69) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsBean780
Wyoming MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/27/2011

Customer review by chitown8

4.0 stars 5/27/2011 by chitown8
by chitown8

the only problem is the battery lasts only about 10 minutes on full power b-4 you have to recharge it---beside that it does the job---

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chitown8
swburbs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Started off STRONG but ran out of gas
1/4/2014

Customer review by SeptemberK

2.0 stars 1/4/2014 by SeptemberK
by SeptemberK

I purchased the DC35 in late January 2013. I did not open it until April 2013 (home renovations completed late April). This vacuum was GREAT!!!!!! It worked as promised just as strong as an upright if not better. I was so impressed, I won't lie.. I used it daily for about 2 weeks. I was so happy with it I used it every day even though I didn't need to. I soon purchased an different brand upright because I purchased large area rugs in changing my decor, so I didn't use the Dyson handheld much anymore. I kept it in my bedroom as a sort of personal vacuum. After 7 months, I am sad to report it just didn't keep up the greatness. I used this vacuum once every 2 weeks or so in the last 4 months if that often. In the past month, the vacuum won't stay on for longer than a minute. I am forced to release the trigger and pull it again; I have to pull the trigger several times to vacuum one 8X10 rug. It won't even pick up bits of paper that have found its way to the floor. It barely pulls the dust that accumulates under the area rug. This vacuum was not worth the $300+ I paid. Its not worth the $260 that it is on sale for a year later. My first impression really had me considering buying the more expensive upright, however now I am glad I went with a different brand upright.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from DysonProductExpert - 6/23/2014

Hi there, <br /><br />Thank you for your review of DC35. <br /><br />DC35 features the Dyson digital motor which does not lose power over time. As long as the machine is maintained per the user guide and the filter is cleaned regularly, we would not expect the machine to lose any cleaning power. <br /><br />We are also happy to assist with any issues you may be experiencing with your machine. Please feel free to email us askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch. <br /><br />Best wishes, <br />Joe <br />Dyson Customer Service

SeptemberK
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Incentive to Vacuum right here!
5/4/2011

Customer review by VacuumMan101

5.0 stars 5/4/2011 by VacuumMan101
by VacuumMan101

Ladies, if you are looking for a way to inspire your husband or boyfriend to vacuum the floors without excessive provocation, BUY HIM THIS. Not does this vacuum work extremely well, but it also just plain looks cool--feels like you are vacuuming in the future... I literally have been unable to stop vacuuming my house since I got it--its that much fun to use, and its easy. They are a little expensive, but the attention to detail, smart engineering, and quality of construction are evident. You will not be disappointed and neither will he!

Was this review helpful? (35) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VacuumMan101
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Only picks up the smallest particles of dirt
6/12/2011

Customer review by mtg1974

1.0 stars 6/12/2011 by mtg1974
by mtg1974

It looks cool. It's expensive. As far as I can tell it sounds as if it has a lot of suction. However, I haven't been able to sweep up anything larger than sand. I have to sweep my floors with a broom and dust pan then follow up with the Dyson to get that last little bit. I could have picked up a small sweeper for a fraction of the price that would have served the same purpose.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mtg1974
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great product but could be better
2/10/2014

Customer review by Mapler

4.0 stars 2/10/2014 by Mapler
by Mapler

Good design! Great product! Gets the job done! It will get a five star rating if it could be recharged standing alone against a wall near a power supply. This product is not designed to stand alone. It is top heavy and the powered multi-head tool is pivoted. Without hanging it up or laying it flat on the floor, it just won't stay put. I live in a small, rented accommodation. There isn't much room to hang things on the wall. To drill holes on the wall to hang things definitely is not a good idea in my situation. Presently, I recharge it laying flat on the floor near a power supply near my bed. That is not convenient. Must I dismantle it every time to recharge it so that I won't accidentally step on it? Dyson! Please improve the design so that this product can stand up by itself without falling.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mapler
Richmond, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Loving it!
8/16/2011

Customer review by lankylady

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by lankylady
by lankylady

I was concerned about the battery life after reading all th reviews bit I have a dyson for my main vacuum and have been very pleased with it. I bought this as a substitute for my Dustbuster which had stopped working. It has been perfect. With two labs we have endless battles with dog hair. It not only has great suction but I have never had the battery die before I was finished. I use it to quickly go over the hardwood floors in the kitchen, living room and dining room and the battery lasts just fine. It is not a substitute for a full vacuum on carpeting but it cleans my stairs well and does a fine job on the hard floors. It's definitely pricey but it does the job and if it proves to be durable will be worth the additional cost. It also has a smaller brush and gets into places my bigger vacuum won't easily reach including under furniture.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lankylady
Milwaukee WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Repair service is a joke!
3/12/2012

Customer review by Lawaters

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by Lawaters
by Lawaters

Dyson repair service is horrible. They have had our vacuum for over 5 weeks. They keep giving us the run-around, say they will call us back but never call back. We have contacted them 15 times in the last 3 weeks to try and get answers/ our issues resolved. Every single time they tell us it's the repair facilities fault and they will email them. They supposedly finished repairs on it a week ago but we found out Thursday they will not ship to an Air Force Base in the United States. We never have any problems getting anything delivered here, so we insisted they ship it here. Customer service agent said she would email the repair facility and tell them it was okay to ship it. Call back following Monday, they still haven't shipped it. Same story. If I ever get my vacuum back I am returning it and getting another brand. If you are thinking of buying one, if you are military, I highly suggest getting another brand. If you are not military I highly suggest you get another brand. While it may be a great vacuum when it actually works, if you ever have to get it serviced, their repair time turn around is ridiculous and they care nothing about the people who spend $600 for one of their vacuums.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lawaters
Would recommend to a friend? No
1/17/2012

Customer review by OctoberGloryFarms

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by OctoberGloryFarms
by OctoberGloryFarms

This is my second Dyson - I also own The Dyson Animal, which is an upright. My house has wooden floors except the bathrooms that have tile. I should mention that I've got 4 dogs and 3 cats so I'm no stranger to animal hair. I wanted a cordless handheld for those quick pickups when I didn't feel like pulling out The Animal. The Dyson DC35 has been a great additional to my cleaning tools. I've mounted the wall bracket, which also serves as the charger in my utility room so the vacuum is always on charge when not in use. The specs say the charge lasts 15 minutes, but I've never had it run out of power. The bracket also nicely stores the included tools. The DC35 has plenty of power for my needs and I'm often amazed how much dirt and hair the unit picks up. I'm constantly using the unit around the kitty litter boxes, the dog food bowls, and the kitchen floor and around the fireplace. The motorized floor tool works great on the wood floor and the tile, but not as well on the area rugs. However, when it's time to vacuum the rugs I pull out my big gun - The Animal. Do I like the DC35 - yes. Am I glad I bought it - yes. If it disappeared tomorrow would I go buy another one - yes. All in all a great little unit for the job it was designed to do.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OctoberGloryFarms
Dawsonville, GA USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very impressive technology at any price
1/11/2012

Customer review by RandomReviews

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by RandomReviews
by RandomReviews

OK, so first - don't let the price scare you. If you've owned a hand-held portable vacuum from anyone else in the past, you already know you wasted your money on those ones. Didn't you. We bought it to do our stairs, it does an excellent job of that and still has plenty of power when that job is done. This thing runs even on "max" (sort of a turbo button) for more than 10 minutes on the battery - even running the included brush attachment. Easily enough to take care of most things you'd do with a portable mini-vacuum. It comes with a nice wall-mount/recharge bracket which is easy to mount, and easy to stick the vacuum into for charging. The charger itself does auto-shutoff when the battery is fully charged. It's got the bagless design that the Dyson full sized has, which is awesome to say the least. It has a washable filter. Short story, if you need a portable vacuum and you've got the money, I don't believe you'll find a better piece of hardware and technology at any price. Get one. PS: WalMart.com had the best price around.

Was this review helpful? (19) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RandomReviews
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
convenient in some cases disappointing in others
1/16/2012

Customer review by RoosterJCogburn

3.0 stars 1/16/2012 by RoosterJCogburn
by RoosterJCogburn

I bought the digital slim to replace my regular vacuum. I have an extra large area rug and the rest of my house is hard wood floor. For most tasks around the house the digital slim is really nice, for carpet the digital slim is far less than adequate. The rollers get caught and/or have a hard time rolling smoothly over carpeting and for that reason the product is not a great alternative to a regular size vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RoosterJCogburn
Omaha, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/19/2012

Customer review by FLC71

1.0 stars 2/19/2012 by FLC71
by FLC71

My biggest problem with this vacuum is that there's no on/off switch. You have to hold in the power switch the entire time you are using it. Also, because of the "felt" strip on the bottom, it does not work well on short-pile carpet/rugs. I am returning this vacuum - it cost too much to keep with these problems.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FLC71
Would recommend to a friend? No
powerful vacuum
6/2/2011

Customer review by Sabulove

4.0 stars 6/2/2011 by Sabulove
by Sabulove

I love this vacuum. My only complaint is a short battery life, but that's in exchange for powerful suction. One battery is good for around the house. Just keep it charged. It's a handy-dandy, lightweight little item.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sabulove
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/2/2011

Customer review by NaturePhotog

5.0 stars 5/2/2011 by NaturePhotog
by NaturePhotog

This product is great for cleaning small and/or tight spaces. We use it to clean our RV and find that the limited time of use is just sufficient. We recommend this product without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NaturePhotog
Espanola, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Not Worth the Money
9/30/2011

Customer review by KVCK

1.0 stars 9/30/2011 by KVCK
by KVCK

You need to hold down the button, in order for it to work. After using it on a small area- my head was all red, and throbbing in pain. Besides that, after 24 hours it didnt work anymore! Completely stopped working.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KVCK
East Brunswick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
surprising little vacuum
2/11/2012

Customer review by Mentaluproar

4.0 stars 2/11/2012 by Mentaluproar
by Mentaluproar

I moved into a new apartment and had less room, enough that even my trusty Dirt Devil Dynamite vacuum was taking up more space than I liked. I heard so many good things about the big Dysons that I thought I would take the risk and buy this little guy. The test: vacuum the room with the dirt devil, then vacuum it again with the dyson. The results: There was dust left and it had no trouble picking it up, even without turning on the max mode. I don't know how well it would perform on regular carpet, as I only have low pile stuff here, but I'm pleased. The vacuum takes up very little space, just hanging on its charger on the wall behind a door, is more versatile than the old one, reaches places the dirt devil couldn't, is cordless, lightweight, and surprisingly effective. It is quiet too. It sounds and almost feels like a toy, and is light enough that you feel no resistance while pushing it around. It calmly does what a vacuum needs to do, and cleaning it out is a snap. No more banging a filthy comb filter against a can, throwing dust everywhere. All the dirt just drops straight into the trashcan. I can empty it indoors! I don't mind the trigger. Once you get used to it, it makes a lot of sense, given the battery has a limited life. Do not underestimate this vacuum. While it may not replace a full sized dyson every time, it handles small places well, and is a pleasure to use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mentaluproar
Akron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Lightweight and great suction
12/1/2011

Customer review by MacDaddy61

4.0 stars 12/1/2011 by MacDaddy61
by MacDaddy61

I read quite a few reviews on this product before my purchase. This product rocks on all aspects of the functionality for a handy vacuum. It gets the edges with the edger better than any product I have had over the years. The walls and ceiling are no problem to get to and I do not have to reach like other products. If you are on the short side though (5'3") or less it may be a problem for you. Since the first couple of times using the Dyson DC35, I have had enough battery life to accomplish the task at hand. I just empty the canister into the waste basket and continue on if it gets full while using. I rarely give any product a 5 star but this one is very close to me changing it to that. One hold back is that sometimes (not always) you have to pull the dirt out of the canister if you get it to full.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MacDaddy61
Rochester Hills, MI.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Returned 2 days later
11/20/2012

Customer review by darkdutchess04

1.0 stars 11/20/2012 by darkdutchess04
by darkdutchess04

I got this thing thinking "Ooohhh, it's Dyson, so it must be great!" It's not. You have to hold the button down the entire time you vacuum with it, and it only lasts like 8 minutes when fully charged. The thing is useless and I returned it 2 days later. I would have returned it sooner but I didn't want to make a special to Walmart just to return this vacuum. I have an Electrolux Ergo Rapido I bought for $100 at Kohls, and it works better than this $300 vacuum. Don't waste your time or money on this vacuum, you'll be happier with whatever you're already using.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
darkdutchess04
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum for spot cleaning
12/22/2011

Customer review by 11cc11

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by 11cc11
by 11cc11

This vacuum works great for small jobs. It is ideal for quick clean-up of both carpet and bare floors (pet fur, pine needles, dust and dirt). It is reasonably light and is easy to maneuver; the dust cup empties easily into the trash can. Significantly more power than an older cordless vacuum that I had that would suction only light weight dust and dirt, quitting after only a few minutes. This one has not yet run out of energy before I finish the job, and it doesn't lose power as it works. It's great for cleaning the kitchen floor. I used to use a broom, but I have trouble bending over to collect dirt in the dust pan. With this vacuum, there is no bending. It's more expensive than I would have liked, but it does the job, so I consider it money well spent.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
11cc11
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 1395 total reviews
1-20 of 1395 reviews