Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1442 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

1442 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

1442 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1040
4 stars
297
3 stars
28
2 stars
32
1 stars
45
1-20 of 1381 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1381 total reviews
1-20 of 1381 reviews
Very impressive technology at any price
1/11/2012

Customer review by RandomReviews

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by RandomReviews
by RandomReviews

OK, so first - don't let the price scare you. If you've owned a hand-held portable vacuum from anyone else in the past, you already know you wasted your money on those ones. Didn't you. We bought it to do our stairs, it does an excellent job of that and still has plenty of power when that job is done. This thing runs even on "max" (sort of a turbo button) for more than 10 minutes on the battery - even running the included brush attachment. Easily enough to take care of most things you'd do with a portable mini-vacuum. It comes with a nice wall-mount/recharge bracket which is easy to mount, and easy to stick the vacuum into for charging. The charger itself does auto-shutoff when the battery is fully charged. It's got the bagless design that the Dyson full sized has, which is awesome to say the least. It has a washable filter. Short story, if you need a portable vacuum and you've got the money, I don't believe you'll find a better piece of hardware and technology at any price. Get one. PS: WalMart.com had the best price around.

Was this review helpful? (20) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RandomReviews
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product but could be better
2/10/2014

Customer review by Mapler

4.0 stars 2/10/2014 by Mapler
by Mapler
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good design! Great product! Gets the job done! It will get a five star rating if it could be recharged standing alone against a wall near a power supply. This product is not designed to stand alone. It is top heavy and the powered multi-head tool is pivoted. Without hanging it up or laying it flat on the floor, it just won't stay put. I live in a small, rented accommodation. There isn't much room to hang things on the wall. To drill holes on the wall to hang things definitely is not a good idea in my situation. Presently, I recharge it laying flat on the floor near a power supply near my bed. That is not convenient. Must I dismantle it every time to recharge it so that I won't accidentally step on it? Dyson! Please improve the design so that this product can stand up by itself without falling.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mapler
Richmond, BC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Started off STRONG but ran out of gas
1/4/2014

Customer review by SeptemberK

2.0 stars 1/4/2014 by SeptemberK
by SeptemberK

I purchased the DC35 in late January 2013. I did not open it until April 2013 (home renovations completed late April). This vacuum was GREAT!!!!!! It worked as promised just as strong as an upright if not better. I was so impressed, I won't lie.. I used it daily for about 2 weeks. I was so happy with it I used it every day even though I didn't need to. I soon purchased an different brand upright because I purchased large area rugs in changing my decor, so I didn't use the Dyson handheld much anymore. I kept it in my bedroom as a sort of personal vacuum. After 7 months, I am sad to report it just didn't keep up the greatness. I used this vacuum once every 2 weeks or so in the last 4 months if that often. In the past month, the vacuum won't stay on for longer than a minute. I am forced to release the trigger and pull it again; I have to pull the trigger several times to vacuum one 8X10 rug. It won't even pick up bits of paper that have found its way to the floor. It barely pulls the dust that accumulates under the area rug. This vacuum was not worth the $300+ I paid. Its not worth the $260 that it is on sale for a year later. My first impression really had me considering buying the more expensive upright, however now I am glad I went with a different brand upright.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 6/23/2014

Hi there, <br /><br />Thank you for your review of DC35. <br /><br />DC35 features the Dyson digital motor which does not lose power over time. As long as the machine is maintained per the user guide and the filter is cleaned regularly, we would not expect the machine to lose any cleaning power. <br /><br />We are also happy to assist with any issues you may be experiencing with your machine. Please feel free to email us askdysonUS@dyson.com and we will be in touch. <br /><br />Best wishes, <br />Joe <br />Dyson Customer Service

SeptemberK
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Waste of money
5/6/2011

Customer review by BMW540

1.0 stars 5/6/2011 by BMW540
by BMW540

I purchased this Dyson DC35 when it first came out for $299.00. I needed a vacuum for quick cleaning and spot pick up. After using the Dyson a few times I have decided to comment on how mad and disappointed I am! I have listed a few of my issues; the battery will only last for a short time, to use you must press the trigger the total time during vacuuming, every time I use it - the battery went dead (only 6 minutes on full power), I checked into a new battery ...$75.00, very noisy, charger is always drawing electricity - not very "Green", 3½ hours to charge back up, exhaust air blows into my face, very poor suction, can't stand the vacuum upright and small dirt capacity. This Dyson is not worth the $299.00, I would not recommend this model ...waste of money!

Was this review helpful? (164) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BMW540
Would recommend to a friend? No
Loving it!
8/16/2011

Customer review by lankylady

4.0 stars 8/16/2011 by lankylady
by lankylady

I was concerned about the battery life after reading all th reviews bit I have a dyson for my main vacuum and have been very pleased with it. I bought this as a substitute for my Dustbuster which had stopped working. It has been perfect. With two labs we have endless battles with dog hair. It not only has great suction but I have never had the battery die before I was finished. I use it to quickly go over the hardwood floors in the kitchen, living room and dining room and the battery lasts just fine. It is not a substitute for a full vacuum on carpeting but it cleans my stairs well and does a fine job on the hard floors. It's definitely pricey but it does the job and if it proves to be durable will be worth the additional cost. It also has a smaller brush and gets into places my bigger vacuum won't easily reach including under furniture.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lankylady
Milwaukee WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Repair service is a joke!
3/12/2012

Customer review by Lawaters

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by Lawaters
by Lawaters

Dyson repair service is horrible. They have had our vacuum for over 5 weeks. They keep giving us the run-around, say they will call us back but never call back. We have contacted them 15 times in the last 3 weeks to try and get answers/ our issues resolved. Every single time they tell us it's the repair facilities fault and they will email them. They supposedly finished repairs on it a week ago but we found out Thursday they will not ship to an Air Force Base in the United States. We never have any problems getting anything delivered here, so we insisted they ship it here. Customer service agent said she would email the repair facility and tell them it was okay to ship it. Call back following Monday, they still haven't shipped it. Same story. If I ever get my vacuum back I am returning it and getting another brand. If you are thinking of buying one, if you are military, I highly suggest getting another brand. If you are not military I highly suggest you get another brand. While it may be a great vacuum when it actually works, if you ever have to get it serviced, their repair time turn around is ridiculous and they care nothing about the people who spend $600 for one of their vacuums.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lawaters
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it!
4/12/2012

Customer review by NickyB

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by NickyB
by NickyB

I recently splurged on the dyson dc35. I was hesitant at first considering the price, but after using it, I think it's well worth it. I have mostly wood floors, tile in the kitchen, carpet in the bedrooms and a large shag area rug in my home. This vacuum has no problem going from one surface to another. The suction is powerful from start to finish - it does not lose suction as the battery wears down. I wasn't sure if I would be able to finish my cleaning in the alotted 15 minute battery life. I was able to complete every room in my home (including the bedrooms and rug) with time to spare. The max power setting is useful for the rugs, especially if you have pets. I like that it is cordless and detachable so I can bring it outside to vacuum my car. The only downside is that the trigger doesn't stay depressed - you have to keep your finger on it the entire time you're using it. Once you get used to it though, you barely notice. Overall, I'm a happy camper. That thing is a beast!! :-)

NickyB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
good product
5/9/2014

Customer review by ztierjones

4.0 stars 5/9/2014 by ztierjones
by ztierjones

I purchased the DC35 about a month or so ago and love it. It is light weight and easy to use. When reading the reviews before buying it, I was afraid of the on button that has to be pressed the whole time vacuuming but it is not that hard to hold and it saves battery life if I have to move something I just release the button to shut it off. I have a dog who sheds like crazy and a little boy who is always bringing in dirt and it does a fantastic job of picking it all up. I have noticed the last week or so the button to release the battery, is on the handle and as I'm vacuuming my hand presses it and the battery comes loose which then the vacuum goes off, but I try not to hold the handle too firm so I avoid that problem. I do wish the battery would last just a tad bit longer but it does last long enough to quickly do a 1200 sq ft home unless using the turbo the whole time. I also wish that the attachments where attached to the vacuum somehow. I do love the vacuum it is fantastic.

ztierjones
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Very Disappointed
11/27/2014

Customer review by JMarie

1.0 stars 11/27/2014 by JMarie
by JMarie

As an owner of one of the first uprights (DC14), I recommended Dyson to everybody. I believed that the DC35 would be as durable and well-engineered as my old one. Unfortunately, the DC35 is a disappointment on many levels. It does not recharge completely, even after days of being plugged in with the charger green light on. It lasts on MAX for about 2 minutes, and then the light starts blinking. I have to keep engaging the trigger, only to have it work for about 3 or 4 seconds. This happens until it goes completely dead, usually within 4 minutes, even when MAX is not engaged. I have washed the filter, kept the rotating head clear of debris, and empty the cup even when it is only slightly full. After about 5 minutes of this, my hand and fingers are so tired, I go get the DC14 and finish the job. This is just another example of a company becoming successful with a well-built product, and then charging a premium price for shoddy products that fail to live up to the original line.

JMarie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Undrepowered
11/18/2014

Customer review by preston

4.0 stars 11/18/2014 by preston
by preston

Bought this Dyson for our travel trailer because of all the rave reviews about Dyson. Unfortunately we were dissapointed. Wanted a rechargible vacuum that could be strictly for the trailer because of our German Shepard that we take with ys when we travel. Thought we could unplug from wall hanger and quickly pick up shedding and sand for that day. Did not work as expected. Our anticipated job performance fell well short of expectations. Brought rugs out of trailer and layed across picnic table. Had to scrub nad scrub to simply remove the dog hair. Worked much worse than expected. Maybe our goals were too high? Thinking we had just got a bad machine we bought a DC-41 "Animal" for the house. It works wonderfully. If the rechargable worked half as well as the house vacuum you would have converts for life. 1 out of 2 isn't bad, but........... maybe we simply bought an underpowered machine and should have bought the "deluxe" model vs the model on sale at the time we were looking.

preston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
We're a two Dyson family now!
6/5/2011

Customer review by MsBean780

5.0 stars 6/5/2011 by MsBean780
by MsBean780

Love this vacuum!! We have the bigger Dyson and when this one came out, my husband wanted it right away! Works beautifully and has all the suction of it's bigger sibling! The only problem I have is the trigger; it would be so much better if you didn't have to hold it in. Maybe a click and lock trigger.

Was this review helpful? (70) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MsBean780
Wyoming MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good but with design flaws
11/18/2014

Customer review by cyber3d

4.0 stars 11/18/2014 by cyber3d
by cyber3d

The concept is groundbreaking, the design beautiful. What I like about it first. Fantastic design of the rotating brush head. Well engineered too. The fibers work so well on hard surfaces. The quick release debris cover works well. The powerful motor and the cyclonic design are key to the success of this product. But, the problems. We have two of these DC35 vacuums and both have failing charging connectors. They no longer make a connection when you put the DC35 into the dock. You have to jiggle it and try a few times to make it charge. The other problem is the design of the grip. The design is not optimal for comfort over a several minute usage period. That grip should be more ergonomic.The angle is not ideal and the grip should be either given a grip shape or rubberized. It would be nice to have some way to easily remove the stuck debris from the canister when it is dumped. You have to use a stick to dislodge stuck dog hair and dust balls that get stuck between the canister wall and the central core.

cyber3d
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
DC35
9/3/2014

Customer review by binther

5.0 stars 9/3/2014 by binther
by binther

Unfortunately, even though I received my new DC35 on July 29th, I wasn't able to use it properly until today, Sep 3d. The new unit had a problem which needed to be resolved and this took far longer than it should, through no fault of Dyson. They were as customer oriented as they always have been in my experience, and tried their hardest to get this device up and running. Having now used this hand held cordless vacuum, I can only say that there doesn't seem to be anything on the market which works as well. I have previously considered hand held vacuums to be largely a waste of money and had serious reservations on embarking on yet another attempt to find something that actually works. This does. In fact, it works as well as or better than my upright vacuum cleaner, by another manufacturer. My only complaint is that I have to keep squeezing the trigger to make it run, which becomes tiresome after awhile. I would not hesitate to recommend this little hand held, and Dyson products in general, that I have used.

binther
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow!!
4/26/2012

Customer review by bonbon

5.0 stars 4/26/2012 by bonbon
by bonbon

I've been toying with buying a Dyson because I have a very small apartment with hardwood floors, and didn't want to make the same mistake of buying more vacuum than I needed (i.e., bulky, heavy upright). Along came the DC35 multi-floor, and I'm in love! I can't stop vacuuming... I waited anxiously for it to charge the first time, constantly checking to see if it was ready. And since then, I vacuum every day because it's so easy and effortless and, dare I say, fun! I was about to take my area rugs to be cleaned, but after just one good cleaning with the DC35, I may not have to. Everything is as advertised, but better. I can't believe how well the DC35 works, and I can't wait to try it in my car. I've been telling everyone, and have even offered it to my neighbors to use. I want everybody to have one! If you live in a small space, this is, hands down, the only vacuum you'll ever need. Thank you, Dyson, for making cyclone technology small enough for those who need it.

bonbon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
5/27/2011

Customer review by chitown8

4.0 stars 5/27/2011 by chitown8
by chitown8

the only problem is the battery lasts only about 10 minutes on full power b-4 you have to recharge it---beside that it does the job---

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chitown8
swburbs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a bad little vac
2/26/2015

Customer review by Gopherh3

3.0 stars 2/26/2015 by Gopherh3
by Gopherh3

If you're looking for a machine to do deep cleaning, you're going to have to move up to one of the beefier models. That said, if you want a convenient stick vac that will do light cleaning, this is a good machine. Couple of things: -If you suck up large bits, plan on cleaning out the head. Not enough air flow to suck a dried oak leaf through and the opening is small enough. -Hair will wrap itself around the beater bar. Again, easy enough to remove and clean, but you're going to have to do it if you vacuum up hair (pets) Still, for the price, this is a good machine. I use mine around the house for quick clean ups. But where it's really convenient is in the RV. Small cleaning area and we're generally not dealing with large chunks that get caught up. And being cordless, it doesn't present an electrical load. When I run the RV generator or am plugged into shore power, I charge the vac and it's available whenever I need it. I really like this vac for the price.

Gopherh3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
The Little Vacuum That Could
7/17/2014

Customer review by bkirks06

5.0 stars 7/17/2014 by bkirks06
by bkirks06

My girlfriend and I live in a 2 bedroom 900 sq. ft. apartment with no pets and this machine is perfect for our needs. the 15 minute battery life is a perfect amount of time to clean our mostly carpeted apartment. I love the trigger feature, since you have to be holding the handle it prevents unnecessary battery drain. No, it wont pick up little pieces of litter or gigantic dust balls. My mom taught me that if it's big enough to see standing up it's big enough to be picked up, don't be lazy people. After use in our little place the dust bin is surprisingly full, so it picks up great. Have used it on our vehicles, hard flooring, curtains, and furniture as well. I see folks complaining about battery life and power, if you have a 4 bedroom 2000 sq ft + house with 2 dogs and a cat this machine wasn't designed for you, there are more powerful plug-in models out there. But if you live in an apartment and don't go months without vacuuming at a time, it's perfect.

bkirks06
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
2/19/2012

Customer review by FLC71

1.0 stars 2/19/2012 by FLC71
by FLC71

My biggest problem with this vacuum is that there's no on/off switch. You have to hold in the power switch the entire time you are using it. Also, because of the "felt" strip on the bottom, it does not work well on short-pile carpet/rugs. I am returning this vacuum - it cost too much to keep with these problems.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FLC71
Would recommend to a friend? No
Durable
6/6/2016

Customer review by dbuckner

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by dbuckner
by dbuckner

With a few part replacements this machine keeps on going!!

dbuckner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Best rechargeable vacuum ever
4/16/2011

Customer review by Bonnie2

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by Bonnie2
by Bonnie2

I was looking for a long overdue replacement for my cordless handheld vacuum. I came a cross this through a Dyson product e-mail. Since I have a Dyson corded vac (which is FANTASTIC, by the way) I took a look and WOW! It has everything I would want in a handheld vac. It is light, powerful and easy to use. The best part is the floor attachment so that not as much bending is required. I was skeptical as to the stated time that it runs before charging - I thought it might be too short - but I haven't run out of battery yet. I use it to vacuum my kitchen floor (@12x15), under the table with no bending, then under the stove and refrigerator with the attachments, then back to the floor attachment to finish off the entryway carpet. I still have power to touch up the bathrooms and living room, too. And the charger in ingenious. I love that I can charge it with the floor extension on as that is the one I use most of the time. I would recommend this product to anyone!

Bonnie2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
1-20 of 1381 total reviews
1-20 of 1381 reviews