Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1447 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

1447 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

1447 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1044
4 stars
298
3 stars
28
2 stars
32
1 stars
45
1-20 of 1386 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1386 total reviews
1-20 of 1386 reviews
Love it!
4/12/2012

Customer review by NickyB

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by NickyB
by NickyB

I recently splurged on the dyson dc35. I was hesitant at first considering the price, but after using it, I think it's well worth it. I have mostly wood floors, tile in the kitchen, carpet in the bedrooms and a large shag area rug in my home. This vacuum has no problem going from one surface to another. The suction is powerful from start to finish - it does not lose suction as the battery wears down. I wasn't sure if I would be able to finish my cleaning in the alotted 15 minute battery life. I was able to complete every room in my home (including the bedrooms and rug) with time to spare. The max power setting is useful for the rugs, especially if you have pets. I like that it is cordless and detachable so I can bring it outside to vacuum my car. The only downside is that the trigger doesn't stay depressed - you have to keep your finger on it the entire time you're using it. Once you get used to it though, you barely notice. Overall, I'm a happy camper. That thing is a beast!! :-)

NickyB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
good product
5/9/2014

Customer review by ztierjones

4.0 stars 5/9/2014 by ztierjones
by ztierjones

I purchased the DC35 about a month or so ago and love it. It is light weight and easy to use. When reading the reviews before buying it, I was afraid of the on button that has to be pressed the whole time vacuuming but it is not that hard to hold and it saves battery life if I have to move something I just release the button to shut it off. I have a dog who sheds like crazy and a little boy who is always bringing in dirt and it does a fantastic job of picking it all up. I have noticed the last week or so the button to release the battery, is on the handle and as I'm vacuuming my hand presses it and the battery comes loose which then the vacuum goes off, but I try not to hold the handle too firm so I avoid that problem. I do wish the battery would last just a tad bit longer but it does last long enough to quickly do a 1200 sq ft home unless using the turbo the whole time. I also wish that the attachments where attached to the vacuum somehow. I do love the vacuum it is fantastic.

ztierjones
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Very practical
1/23/2017

Customer review by Martine

5.0 stars 1/23/2017 by Martine
by Martine

Very convenient to quickly clean up small areas and high traffic areas. I have mine set up next to my cat's litter box so I can easily pick up litter that comes off her paws. The machine is easy to clean. I bought mine 6 years ago and still works perfectly

Martine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Very Disappointed
11/27/2014

Customer review by JMarie

1.0 stars 11/27/2014 by JMarie
by JMarie

As an owner of one of the first uprights (DC14), I recommended Dyson to everybody. I believed that the DC35 would be as durable and well-engineered as my old one. Unfortunately, the DC35 is a disappointment on many levels. It does not recharge completely, even after days of being plugged in with the charger green light on. It lasts on MAX for about 2 minutes, and then the light starts blinking. I have to keep engaging the trigger, only to have it work for about 3 or 4 seconds. This happens until it goes completely dead, usually within 4 minutes, even when MAX is not engaged. I have washed the filter, kept the rotating head clear of debris, and empty the cup even when it is only slightly full. After about 5 minutes of this, my hand and fingers are so tired, I go get the DC14 and finish the job. This is just another example of a company becoming successful with a well-built product, and then charging a premium price for shoddy products that fail to live up to the original line.

JMarie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Undrepowered
11/18/2014

Customer review by preston

4.0 stars 11/18/2014 by preston
by preston

Bought this Dyson for our travel trailer because of all the rave reviews about Dyson. Unfortunately we were dissapointed. Wanted a rechargible vacuum that could be strictly for the trailer because of our German Shepard that we take with ys when we travel. Thought we could unplug from wall hanger and quickly pick up shedding and sand for that day. Did not work as expected. Our anticipated job performance fell well short of expectations. Brought rugs out of trailer and layed across picnic table. Had to scrub nad scrub to simply remove the dog hair. Worked much worse than expected. Maybe our goals were too high? Thinking we had just got a bad machine we bought a DC-41 "Animal" for the house. It works wonderfully. If the rechargable worked half as well as the house vacuum you would have converts for life. 1 out of 2 isn't bad, but........... maybe we simply bought an underpowered machine and should have bought the "deluxe" model vs the model on sale at the time we were looking.

preston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Good but with design flaws
11/18/2014

Customer review by cyber3d

4.0 stars 11/18/2014 by cyber3d
by cyber3d

The concept is groundbreaking, the design beautiful. What I like about it first. Fantastic design of the rotating brush head. Well engineered too. The fibers work so well on hard surfaces. The quick release debris cover works well. The powerful motor and the cyclonic design are key to the success of this product. But, the problems. We have two of these DC35 vacuums and both have failing charging connectors. They no longer make a connection when you put the DC35 into the dock. You have to jiggle it and try a few times to make it charge. The other problem is the design of the grip. The design is not optimal for comfort over a several minute usage period. That grip should be more ergonomic.The angle is not ideal and the grip should be either given a grip shape or rubberized. It would be nice to have some way to easily remove the stuck debris from the canister when it is dumped. You have to use a stick to dislodge stuck dog hair and dust balls that get stuck between the canister wall and the central core.

cyber3d
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
DC35
9/3/2014

Customer review by binther

5.0 stars 9/3/2014 by binther
by binther

Unfortunately, even though I received my new DC35 on July 29th, I wasn't able to use it properly until today, Sep 3d. The new unit had a problem which needed to be resolved and this took far longer than it should, through no fault of Dyson. They were as customer oriented as they always have been in my experience, and tried their hardest to get this device up and running. Having now used this hand held cordless vacuum, I can only say that there doesn't seem to be anything on the market which works as well. I have previously considered hand held vacuums to be largely a waste of money and had serious reservations on embarking on yet another attempt to find something that actually works. This does. In fact, it works as well as or better than my upright vacuum cleaner, by another manufacturer. My only complaint is that I have to keep squeezing the trigger to make it run, which becomes tiresome after awhile. I would not hesitate to recommend this little hand held, and Dyson products in general, that I have used.

binther
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow!!
4/26/2012

Customer review by bonbon

5.0 stars 4/26/2012 by bonbon
by bonbon

I've been toying with buying a Dyson because I have a very small apartment with hardwood floors, and didn't want to make the same mistake of buying more vacuum than I needed (i.e., bulky, heavy upright). Along came the DC35 multi-floor, and I'm in love! I can't stop vacuuming... I waited anxiously for it to charge the first time, constantly checking to see if it was ready. And since then, I vacuum every day because it's so easy and effortless and, dare I say, fun! I was about to take my area rugs to be cleaned, but after just one good cleaning with the DC35, I may not have to. Everything is as advertised, but better. I can't believe how well the DC35 works, and I can't wait to try it in my car. I've been telling everyone, and have even offered it to my neighbors to use. I want everybody to have one! If you live in a small space, this is, hands down, the only vacuum you'll ever need. Thank you, Dyson, for making cyclone technology small enough for those who need it.

bonbon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Not a bad little vac
2/26/2015

Customer review by Gopherh3

3.0 stars 2/26/2015 by Gopherh3
by Gopherh3

If you're looking for a machine to do deep cleaning, you're going to have to move up to one of the beefier models. That said, if you want a convenient stick vac that will do light cleaning, this is a good machine. Couple of things: -If you suck up large bits, plan on cleaning out the head. Not enough air flow to suck a dried oak leaf through and the opening is small enough. -Hair will wrap itself around the beater bar. Again, easy enough to remove and clean, but you're going to have to do it if you vacuum up hair (pets) Still, for the price, this is a good machine. I use mine around the house for quick clean ups. But where it's really convenient is in the RV. Small cleaning area and we're generally not dealing with large chunks that get caught up. And being cordless, it doesn't present an electrical load. When I run the RV generator or am plugged into shore power, I charge the vac and it's available whenever I need it. I really like this vac for the price.

Gopherh3
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
The Little Vacuum That Could
7/17/2014

Customer review by bkirks06

5.0 stars 7/17/2014 by bkirks06
by bkirks06

My girlfriend and I live in a 2 bedroom 900 sq. ft. apartment with no pets and this machine is perfect for our needs. the 15 minute battery life is a perfect amount of time to clean our mostly carpeted apartment. I love the trigger feature, since you have to be holding the handle it prevents unnecessary battery drain. No, it wont pick up little pieces of litter or gigantic dust balls. My mom taught me that if it's big enough to see standing up it's big enough to be picked up, don't be lazy people. After use in our little place the dust bin is surprisingly full, so it picks up great. Have used it on our vehicles, hard flooring, curtains, and furniture as well. I see folks complaining about battery life and power, if you have a 4 bedroom 2000 sq ft + house with 2 dogs and a cat this machine wasn't designed for you, there are more powerful plug-in models out there. But if you live in an apartment and don't go months without vacuuming at a time, it's perfect.

bkirks06
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Best rechargeable vacuum ever
4/16/2011

Customer review by Bonnie2

5.0 stars 4/16/2011 by Bonnie2
by Bonnie2

I was looking for a long overdue replacement for my cordless handheld vacuum. I came a cross this through a Dyson product e-mail. Since I have a Dyson corded vac (which is FANTASTIC, by the way) I took a look and WOW! It has everything I would want in a handheld vac. It is light, powerful and easy to use. The best part is the floor attachment so that not as much bending is required. I was skeptical as to the stated time that it runs before charging - I thought it might be too short - but I haven't run out of battery yet. I use it to vacuum my kitchen floor (@12x15), under the table with no bending, then under the stove and refrigerator with the attachments, then back to the floor attachment to finish off the entryway carpet. I still have power to touch up the bathrooms and living room, too. And the charger in ingenious. I love that I can charge it with the floor extension on as that is the one I use most of the time. I would recommend this product to anyone!

Bonnie2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Great!
2/23/2011

Customer review by DC35owner

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by DC35owner
by DC35owner

I have only had this for two days but I love it so far! It is great for everyday cleaning. The maneuverability is fantastic. I have used it to clean the carpeted floors in my boys' bedrooms. It is great at getting around all the toys for a quick cleanup without having to move everything. It even leaves those freshly vacuumed lines in the carpet. I have also used it on my hardwood in the common areas with absolute satisfaction. My floor passed the "bare feet" test after using the Dyson. It is light and so easy to use that I can vacuum while toting my 5 month old baby in the other arm. The trigger can get a bit tiring to use and wouldn't be great for anyone suffering from arthritis, but serves a great purpose of being able to switch on and off quickly and easily. It assembles quickly and easily, the attachments switch quickly and easily, it goes on the charging dock quickly and easily and it stores nicely. The short battery life was a concern for us but it has been more than adequate to get the job done. I love it!

DC35owner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Little Dyson That Could
12/29/2014

Customer review by Mellymoo

5.0 stars 12/29/2014 by Mellymoo
by Mellymoo

I haven't had my Dyson DC35 cordless vacuum long but I love it! I bought it for a single purpose: to clean up around my parrot's cages. Unlike the Electrolux, Dust Buster and Dirt Devil, my Dyson sucks up feathers and food debris from the heavy duty desk chair floor protectors that I keep under the cages and the carpet surrounding the floor protectors. There is nary a particle left on either surface and I haven't even used the MAX power yet. PLUS, I can unhook the Dyson from its power cord and take right off sweeping with no fuss. The vacuum is light and easy to use and I especially like the roller ball that gets around the cage legs so easily. I do have a little trouble with the "on" button that you have to keep holding for the vacuum to work; I have arthritis and sometimes it is hard to keep it depressed for long. But, on the other hand, it is very easy to get started again. I strongly recommend this product to anyone who needs a quick and powerful way to sweep a small area whatever pet or small, messy child you may have.

Mellymoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
DC35
3/4/2013

Customer review by JenniferLane916

5.0 stars 3/4/2013 by JenniferLane916
by JenniferLane916

We purchased the DC35 after replacing our carpets with laminate flooring. I have an old Dyson Animal Upright that I've had for many years, and it still works fine. That's why I went back to Dyson when searching for something lighter to use. I have back problems so needed something lightweight and easy. I've had the DC35 for about a month now and I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! We have 2 cats and a dog (who doesn't shed but does track in leaves, etc). This machine handles everything, and usually when set on low power. I use it on the floors, on rugs I have scattered about, to clean the computer keyboard, blinds, inside window sills, and just about anyplace else you can think of. It's easy on my back and does a great job. I just wish some of the attachments for the larger vacuums would fit it (like the tangle-free turbine or the multi-angle brush). I've stored my large dyson (no way would I sell it or even give it to one of the kids--we may move to a home with carpet some day and it still works like new). If you're considering this, don't hesitate.

JenniferLane916
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Very Handy
7/9/2011

Customer review by JenNoVa

4.0 stars 7/9/2011 by JenNoVa
by JenNoVa

First let me say I will keep mine and I do like it. It is great for all those things you put off like the cobwebs on the ceiling that you always see & are reminded of when you crawl into bed or settle in on the couch; the door to the furnace room, those tiny spaces behind things that are just too much of a hassel with a regular vacum. It was literally a 30 second assembly & I am assembly challenged. Empties fairly easy and the largest attachment swivels upside down which is great for ceiling cobwebs or bugs. The negatives are the short run time (5-15 min depending on power usage) but honestly the weight of it would make it hard (for a non-buff female) to do more than 15 min at a time anyway. So the real problem is the 3 hour recharging time. But again, overall superior to the many other CORDLESS hand vacs I have tried & I am happy to finally get those little annoying chores done that even the bi-weekly maids would dream of touching!

JenNoVa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Machine that can do the job
1/24/2015

Customer review by Sarkie

4.0 stars 1/24/2015 by Sarkie
by Sarkie

I find it satisfying to just pick up a vacuum cleaner and not have to deal with cords and yet does a darn good job. This is the most prominent feature that I like about this vacuum cleaner. I also like the versatility in the sense that I can also use it in my car and not have to change the attachment head when going from a carpeted surface to the hardwood floor and/or the bathroom floors. The quality of the materials and the design and ease of use are far more superior than any other vacuum cleaner I've ever owned, The reason why I rated this a 4 star instead of a 5 star is due to a few minor quirks. The power button or trigger won't stay on. One has to keep holding it, although pretty lightly, your hand can get tired after holding it for more than 5 minutes, especially if one has arthritis. The other issue is the short time of operation. I would strongly suggest that if you have a big house, the operating time would not be sufficient. I find these flaws to be minor of course, as I have been enjoying vacuuming our floor now more than ever.

Sarkie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Dyson DC35 - My first Dyson
1/28/2015

Customer review by FirstTimeDysonBuyer

4.0 stars 1/28/2015 by FirstTimeDysonBuyer
by FirstTimeDysonBuyer

This was my first Dyson purchase and overall I am very pleased with it. The DC35 performs exactly as described. It is simple to use and very easy to clean. I purchased it to keep upstairs for quick clean-ups and loved the idea of it being cordless so it could be used wherever and whenever necessary. Also included is a wall bracket to attach the DC35. I was not sure where I wanted to store it and did not want to permanently install the bracket in case I changed my mind. Fortunately, I am able to store it upright near a wall plug in a small area that keeps it from sliding down without needing to install the wall bracket, however, I would have preferred to have it rest in a Dyson stand instead which would give me the option of storing it wherever I needed to. I love the ease of use and it is very powerful but as others had warned in their reviews before I purchased it, you need to hold your finger on the button for it to run and using it for any length of time does hurt that finger. Overall it does exactly as it claims and I would recommend it.

FirstTimeDysonBuyer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Greatest vacuum ever.
5/23/2011

Customer review by PinkStitches

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by PinkStitches
by PinkStitches

Before buying this vacuum I read a LOT of reviews on this product and read a lot about the vacuum itself. It seemed that a lot of the complaints that I saw most likely came from people not doing their homework before they bought it. I can't say enough good things about this vacuum. Yes it only last for 15 minutes, but I can get a lot done. When I first used it yesterday I was able to my bedroom, living room, hallway, dining room, some dusting, the stairs to the basement, and the high traffic areas a second time. Then it finally died. Everything on the vacuum is easy to clean. It is totally easy to switch out parts. It is light, moves easy on every type of carpet that we have in our house which is three different kinds. And the greatest thing is that the suction is great. We have a dog and you can't tell that we do thanks to this vacuum. It isn't too heavy and if you can, go to a store and actually hold it before you buy it.

PinkStitches
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great Machine
11/24/2016

Customer review by Raquette

4.0 stars 11/24/2016 by Raquette
by Raquette

Very good power, my problem is the trigger does not keep the machine running! Very annoying.... It is a good machine though, I have had it for five years and just bought the new V6. I hope they have fixed the trigger problem!!!!!

Raquette
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
11/23/2011

Customer review by Greer

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by Greer
by Greer

I have been using my new DC35 for about a week now and am very happy with it. I got it to complement and possibly replace my Dyson Animal which is 6 years old. Nothing wrong with the Animal but since we have replaced all of the carpeting in our house for hardwoods, I don't really need the heavy machine. I like the handheld much better as it fits my style of cleaning--twenty minutes at a time is about all the housework I can handle! I have found that I am cleaning much more than I had, finding places that I had neglected for way too long (I'm not a cleanfreak) and overall, keeping my floors much tidier than ever since I got my handheld. I have even done all of the upholstered furniture, the stairways, lampshades, and the tops of the bookcases! So quick and easy, that I actually mopped the floors on the SAME day as I vacuumed, which is a feat in my book! The docking system is ingenious and very easy to mount, it begins to recharge as soon as the vacuum is in it. And finally, the cats don't scatter when I start to vacuum. Overall, I am very satisfied!

Greer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
1-20 of 1386 total reviews
1-20 of 1386 reviews