Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 156 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

156 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
86
4 stars
42
3 stars
11
2 stars
5
1 stars
12
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 140 total reviews
Great deal on toaster oven
9/7/2011

Customer review by jlitzenb

5.0 stars by jlitzenb

This toast oven is perfect for those quick meals instead of heating up a bigger oven. Great for people who live alone. Does everything a toaster oven should do: Bakes, Broils, Toasts. Very user friendly.

Was this review helpful? (100) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jlitzenb
Hudson, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Mine just quit after THREE months!
6/1/2011

Customer review by Andrewsmomma

2.0 stars by Andrewsmomma

This product was doing what I had expected...heating up my children's chicken nuggets, fries, reheating meals, toasting waffles, toast etc. Then, I noticed the heating element was going off a little too often, which would lengthen cook or toast time. It was less efficient than it was when first purchased. Well, this past week the heating element DIED altogehter...no toasting, no baking...NADA. So, it is back to walmart (if they'll take it back that is!) with this one. Buyer beware..do not buy this product!

Was this review helpful? (146) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Andrewsmomma
Central NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
nice product
6/3/2011

Customer review by rqew

5.0 stars by rqew

had a black & decker before. Love this one. Not to big for my apt. but enough room to toast 4 breads. use this item everyday and never use my stove oven. love the stainless look also. cooks evenly.

Was this review helpful? (84) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
rqew
round top, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Working Good So Far
12/8/2013

Customer review by ZeekMan

4.0 stars by ZeekMan

I bought this model to replace and old white B&D oven that was still working. I wanted one a little bigger, a little newer looking and a little better. This seems to be it. I bought it for the looks, the convection feature and size. The advertized dimensions are correct and it fits nicely on my counter. Baking - I used it to make a slice of frozen pizza and it cook much more evenly than my old one which tended to burn things on the top. This oven also has an adjustable shelf which is nice. My only complaint is that the tray is not the full size of the oven, which limits what you can put on it, but I suspect that is so the convection operates as well with the tray in. Another commenter said they bought a cheap non stick try that fit the space and I'm going to try that. As far as toasting . . .that's what I have a toaster for. Controls - I like having the three. The timer seems to be fairly accurate, but I tend to use the digital timer on my large oven anyway. Bottom Line - No regrets over this oven. We have the same model at work and have not had any issues.

Was this review helpful? (66) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ZeekMan
Mechanicsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good oven, not so great toaster
11/6/2011

Customer review by Niksmom

3.0 stars by Niksmom

I bought this to replace another toaster over of this brand and appearance that I loved, that finally wore out. The oven seems to work very well. The "6 slice" description is hopeful, to say the least, I'd say more like 4, and the oven tray they provide is much smaller than the rack size. But I've cooked rolls, pizza, and a pot pie in it and all cooked evenly and within the time frame expected. My main problem with this toaster oven is the toaster setting. You select how dark you'd like your toast with a dial, and the range from undone to black is approximately an inch. It's nearly impossible to get it set correctly. It's like trying to fine tune a violin with a pipe wrench! It looks very clean and sleek, and doesn't take up much room, so that's good. All in all, a good product, but not if you want it mainly for toasting things.

Was this review helpful? (54) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Niksmom
Salt Lake City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good for the sale's price
12/27/2013

Customer review by fancynance

4.0 stars by fancynance

I like this toaster oven so far. However, if it wasn't on sale then I don't think I would have paid full price for it. There are a couple of reasons that I didn't give it a 5 rating. The first being that I'm not too keen on having to move the dial past 20 and then reversing back to under 20 cooking. The next thing is that I don't like that it doesn't have the rack connected to the door when you open it. I did know ahead of time about that and thought that I would be ok with it but I'm not. The last thing is that when you put the tray underneath the rack to catch anything, when you try to clean the drippings, some of them are imbedded and can't get it off unless you steel wool it. And even then you're not supposed to use that on this type of tray. I did try doing it lightly but it didn't work. So those are the reasons why I only gave it a 4 rating.

Was this review helpful? (51) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fancynance
RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good toaster oven for a good price
4/4/2014

Customer review by sr25c

5.0 stars by sr25c

This is my second purchase of this brand and model. The first lasted over 2 years under heavy daily use of both toaster and oven functions - about what I would expect from an oven of what I would call "medium" quality (i.e. not the least expensive, but certainly not high end either). But it has been dependable and reliable for a reasonable period of time. It does everything I need a toaster oven to do - toasts nicely and bakes everything from cookies and brownies to meatloaf to scalloped potatoes with no problems. It also cleans easily and looks nice on the counter - one of the few models now available in white with no shiny chrome, just a soft brushed stainless trim. This newer unit includes a drip tray that attaches to the rack - a nice feature to catch melted cheese and such. I couldn't find another oven for the price that I liked better this time around so was glad to see that Walmart still carries this model.

Was this review helpful? (58) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sr25c
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Compact and convenient oven
11/22/2013

Customer review by psalm119

4.0 stars by psalm119

I purchased this oven to use for cooking my meals instead of using my oven. I only cook for me so this is very convenient. It saves on my electric bill too. So if you are only cooking for one person this is a great oven to use for that purpose.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
psalm119
Claxton, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great for me
9/30/2013

Customer review by 2sweetntooold

5.0 stars by 2sweetntooold

The larger convection oven I had for four years was getting a little slow and didn't broil very good when I got it anyway, but otherwise was a good oven. I wanted a smaller one and really wanted something that would crisp food better. I always have liked Black & Decker products, so decided to try this small one. So far it works great. You do need to preheat to get the best results for baked food and the browning is uneven, but all the smaller ovens do that. The front doesn't cook quite as fast as the back. Was really shocked at how fast my muffins toast. Burnt a couple of them before I decided it's best to just stand there and watch them. It is really fast! Also, for all those that commented about the bell not ringing. The bell does work and it is really loud and so is the ticking timer. Haven't had the oven long enough to know how long it will last which is why only four stars on durability.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
2sweetntooold
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
returning this tomorrow
9/16/2013

Customer review by filly1977

1.0 stars by filly1977

Bought this on 9/03/13. We have cooked muffins, corn bread, pizza bites and toast. The muffins needed over double the time and the tops came out flat. The muffins in the back left burned while the others still looked uncooked. Rotated the muffin pan and continued baking. Tried it with the corn bread, had to rotate them as the ones in the back left started Browning way before the rest. Again, took over 2x the baking time. Pizza bites, how can it go wrong with them right? Just didn't seem to cook, I finally put it on broil. 2x the baking time then about 4-5 mins on broil. The toast.. the back left started to burn, but all in all, it toasted "ok" after I had to keep flipping AND rotating the toast. I had a cheap t.oven for years and tossed it for this JUNK! I gave it a fair try but I'm NOT happy with it and will be returning it. Also.. We noticed since day one the bottom heat element never lit up. Thought maybe that's how the new ones work, only the broiler coil got red.. but I actually put my hand near the bottom and the only heat I felt was from the top. Talk about quality, broken right out of the box!

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
filly1977
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Versatile at a reasonable price.
5/22/2011

Customer review by deejay1953

3.0 stars by deejay1953

I have only had my new toaster/convection oven for a couple of weeks. However, so far I feel I made a great choice. It toasts bread for sandwiches and recrisps the skin on meats effectively. I'm looking forward to using the convection feature. Ordering online and pick-up in the store saved me the ordeal of standing in the store to make up my mind, was able to do it over a period of time. Will do so again.

Was this review helpful? (60) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
deejay1953
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Best Black & Decker Oven
1/29/2013

Customer review by lynn2boy

5.0 stars by lynn2boy

My husband and I always end up with Black & Decker toaster ovens because they're usually the most affordable. We replaced our last Black & Decker with THIS bigger one. And we love this one more than the last. I don't know about all the toast complaints that I've read about it. These people should know that you have to watch bread that is being toasted in an oven. If you don't want burnt toast and you want to be able to walk away, get a regular TOASTER. In our house we mainly use this for cooking our children frozen chicken nuggets, fries and corn-dogs. If you keep the pan on the TOP RACK it cooks perfectly. And the convection feature makes the heat more even. I found that it makes food cook a little faster too. I bought a KitchenAid 11 x 8" non-stick baking pan (because the one that comes with it never lasts long) and it fits perfectly. We love our new oven...so far.

Was this review helpful? (42) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lynn2boy
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great Oven for Seniors!
8/25/2011

Customer review by AllKat

5.0 stars by AllKat

It's well insulated and my mom lives in NM and has had 100+ degree weather and is extremely pleased with her new oven! She loves her new oven!

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AllKat
Tucumcari, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Kooking n the Keyz
1/21/2012

Customer review by keywestflamingo

5.0 stars by keywestflamingo

Have had mine long enough to use every setting more than once. Works perfect, safe & easy to clean. The temp settings work great. Pre-heating makes all the difference. Nothing un-safe about this product. Just today we did 6 slices of bread for toast. Every slice came out PERFECT. Had 3 in back & 3 in front. All toasted even on both sides. Didn't turn them. Didn't touch them. Set the dials and let this little oven do it's thing. Just love that little fan inside the door. Makes a world of difference in the time it takes for ANYTHING to bake. I use the bake setting with the fan as much as possible. Less electric & less heat in the kitchen. Great product & very good price thanks to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
keywestflamingo
Key West, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Excellent countertop oven and toaster
5/15/2014

Customer review by Leftyjudi

5.0 stars by Leftyjudi

We have been using this convection toaster oven for 6 months and have only positive comments. It toasts and reheats all sizes of bread , rolls, and muffins perfectly. It toasts better with the rack in the upper position, with no turning needed. I have used it to bake cornbread and small cakes successfully. I use it to roast nuts frequently and never have a problem with burning them. The exterior of the oven does not become too hot with baking. My upper cabinets are relatively low, and there is ample clearance. I am using this oven more than my built-in oven to avoid heating the kitchen, since I am cooking for only two people. We like the appearance in our kitchen. Cleaning is very easy. The controls are easy to use. I think this oven is a good value for the price. It is clearly an improvement over our previous non-convection toaster oven.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Leftyjudi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/9/2011

Customer review by cc128

5.0 stars by cc128

It sits on my countertop, does'nt heat up the kitchen at all like regular oven does. I use it at least once or twice a week.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cc128
Broken Arrow, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it
11/3/2013

Customer review by Mamaw69

5.0 stars by Mamaw69

This does everything I need it to do from toasting my bread to baking my desserts. I am so happy I decided to buy this product. One of my better decisions.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mamaw69
Rhome, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Disappointing - And I Work for the Company!
4/12/2012

Customer review by walmartshopdiva

2.0 stars by walmartshopdiva

As an employee of the company that makes this oven, I really wanted to love it. I have nothing but respect for this brand and hate to write a bad review of one of their products. I don't think there has ever been a time in my life going back over several decades that I have not owned a Black and Decker toaster oven and absolutely loved it, so I admit I had high expectations for this product. The main problem is this oven just does not get hot enough. I find that I have to keep everything in it a lot longer to cook it. On top of that everything comes out mushy and not crisp at all. I might as well be using a microwave. The only thing it does well is toast....Go figure. Even the broiler isn't very good. I am going to have to go back to using my 10 year old, well worn Black and Decker toaster oven, which made everything taste golden brown and delicious. I'm definitely calling their customer service about this. Perhaps I got a defective unit, but wow, what a disappointment. I thought the convection properties would make this oven even better than my last one. Oh well.

Was this review helpful? (26) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
walmartshopdiva
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Value, Works Great
12/6/2013

Customer review by NJBoy2

5.0 stars by NJBoy2

I needed a toaster to replace our 25 year old one that finally gave out. I first purchased a conventional toaster, but the toast came out dark on one side and light on the other, so I returned it. I then decided to get this toaster oven in it's place. This unit functions perfectly and looks good on the counter. Besides providing very uniform toasting, it can also be used for cooking and reheating. It's especially good for reheating items like leftover pizza that comes out soggy in a microwave, with this it's hot and crispy like it was just made fresh.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NJBoy2
Fairfax, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worse than most
2/1/2012

Customer review by Retireman

1.0 stars by Retireman

When I first got this oven I couldn't believe how little thought was given to the toaster feature. The difference between dark and light on the dial is so small there's no way you can get it right or even repeat your results, so you have to stand there and watch it the whole time. Now, after 1 month the timer dial has decided not to work at all. You can turn it to "stay on" but even that only works until the oven gets hot then that turns off too. Put all this together with the fact I had to take a Black & Decker coffee pot back that quit after 7 days and I'm done with B&D.

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Retireman
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 140 total reviews