Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 160 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

160 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

160 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
60
4 stars
42
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 stars
34
1-20 of 138 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews
Piece of junk....
12/31/2015

Customer review by ReaderOfEyes

1.0 stars 12/31/2015 by ReaderOfEyes
by ReaderOfEyes

Hooked this radio up and everything worked great. Set up features and stored stations I like. Then I turned my ignition switch from ACC to OFF and back to ACC several times to check the unit. Stations stayed in memory, previous memory stayed in memory etc. All was good. The next morning I started my vehicle to run some errands and all was still fine. Came out of the store, started my vehicle.. and the radio didn't work. Memory settings were all gone and it won't pick up a single station now. YES.. my antenna is securely attache to unit. Tried resetting unit several time, but it won't work. CD and USB work fine, but no radio function any more. Waste of time and money. Would not recommend this unit to my worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReaderOfEyes
Would recommend to a friend? No
Okay until radio quit working
2/2/2016

Customer review by Chris

1.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Chris
by Chris

Nice radio after getting it installed - decent sound, good features, easy to set up, controls are decent, though would be nice if clock could be set to stay on. I don't think it's anywhere near 240W since it's not as loud as factory radio in a 93 GMC pickup. After about a month of using it maybe 20 times, the radio quit working. Station presets were all lost, though clock was still set, meaning there was no power interruption. There are a few other reviews here describing this exact same problem. I bought it with the added 1 year warranty and hoped this would allow me to swap it out at the store, but have a feeling I'll have to send it to Boss... it said to go through Boss when I tried to file a claim online with the added warranty company. I gave it a try since it had the exact features I wanted. Walmart has a Pioneer unit with the same features in stock (~$72 vs $50 for this one) so I'll probably get it even if I can't get credit for this one. Amazon reviews also show poor quality for this Boss unit. Spend the extra $25 and get something that has a bet - just saw 15 reviews on Crutchfield (no longer available) with all 4 or 5 stars unlike this one that has about 1/3 five-star and 1/3 one-star - I suspect this is a 2014 discontinued model, only 1 review on Walmart site (I'll review it when I get one).

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not a quality car stereo.
4/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 4/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the Boss 637UA for two reasons. One, it was made by Boss Audio - a good company, and two, it has an AUX input. It was a bargain at the price I paid. This unit is buggy. It tries to read CD's when there is no CD in the player. It takes forever to read disks. It doesn't restart tracks where it left off when you start the car. It has an inconsistent output, as if the power was fading in and out. Although it is advertised as having 65 watts of power, I do not believe it is nearly that powerful. My old stereo is rated at 45 watts and is considerably more powerful. The Boss 637UA has far too many issues to be taken seriously. I had it in the dash for about three days before I ripped it out and re-installed my old Alpine unit. I don't recommend this stereo to anyone who really cares about their listening experience. Bottom line: The price really is too good to be true. Save your money and buy a quality stereo.

Was this review helpful? (19) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Carrboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LOVE IT!!!
9/3/2013

Customer review by Mymisteek

5.0 stars 9/3/2013 by Mymisteek
by Mymisteek
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for the husband for his birthday, I also bought the dash kit, wiring harness, and antenna adapter. I promised him I would put it in for him and I was shocked at how easy it was. It took me longer to take the dash apart and fix the connecting wires together than it did to install it. Because it was so easy, I immediately got the overwhelming sense that it wasn't going to work the way it was described... You know the old saying, if it was easy than it probably isn't right. Too my astonishment, it all worked!!! Easy to set clock, easy to change bass and treble, easy to set stations... He loves it so much, now he wants 2 8"s in the back seat so he can "thump" around town. GREAT radio, price was a little more than I wanted to pay, but in the end, it was all worth it. Sounds great, works great, easy installation. If I had to buy it again, hands down, I would!!!

Was this review helpful? (47) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mymisteek
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good price works well
12/31/2015

Customer review by msladiehawk

5.0 stars 12/31/2015 by msladiehawk
by msladiehawk

Good price and works well

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msladiehawk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK for a BASIC LOW PRICE STEREO
11/1/2013

Customer review by bAnn805

2.0 stars 11/1/2013 by bAnn805
by bAnn805

I wanted a low cost stereo to replace mine that quit working. I only listen to the radio and CD's so I haven't used anything else. The sound quality is acceptable. I chose this one over another because it listed higher wattage per channel. But I don't hear it in the sound quality. What I don't like is the CD player does not start where it left off after power is turned off. You can manually skip to the next or previous track but there is no way to scan forward or back within a track. This is an important feature to me because I listen to books on CD when traveling. Another thing that I really don't like is the illumination. It is blue and very bright. At night it is way too bright for driving. The glare is annoying and shines a blue glow on my face that can be seen by other drivers. I will most likely return this item.

Was this review helpful? (47) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bAnn805
Paso Robles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Happy
1/22/2016

Customer review by klvideo

5.0 stars 1/22/2016 by klvideo
by klvideo

Very Happy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
klvideo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good unit !
10/14/2012

Customer review by MrBobs61

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by MrBobs61
by MrBobs61

Finally got a roundtuit and installed this audio unit yesterdy. While the install page was pretty vague, it was a simple install. The wires were color-coded with the universal colors so I cut the existing JVC pigtail of the unit I was replacing and matched to that. I put the metal mounting sleeve on the JVC facia, screwwed it back in place on the dash, pulled the wires thru, and plugged in the radio which worked " right out of the box" . I didn't have to read the directions for tuning much because the tuning functions are highly intuitive. When I did read the instructions I was delighted to find that I could use military time on the clock function

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrBobs61
Candler, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/1/2011

Customer review by 68nblu

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by 68nblu
by 68nblu

This exactly what I wanted to install in the dash of my Ford pickup. It fit perfect, no dash kit needed, and works great. I have used the Ipod hookup and that is cool also. It has plenty of am and fm station presets. CD works good also. It was everything that I wanted at a good $20 to $40 below compairable stereos. I saved enough to buy a new set of 5x7 speakers, Walmat had them instock in the store.

Was this review helpful? (137) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
68nblu
Troy, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
WARNING: No SD port
6/29/2011

Customer review by PaKelley

3.0 stars 6/29/2011 by PaKelley
by PaKelley

First, there is NO SD port as listed in the description of the radio. For the price it is a good replacement radio that plays MP3s both from CDs and A USB stick. I have not tried the Aux input, but I see no reason why it shouldn't work. Both channels play through the front and rear outputs fine and I have no distortion and plenty of volume (using the factory speakers in the vehicle). 2nd Major problem - The manual is about useless - the instructions for setting up the different functions are very limited and what there is is poorly written. Finally, It does sound much better then the OEM radio that it replaced and it plays my MP3s. But again, this should be seen as a OEM replacement and NOT as a high end stereo. Which is what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (53) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PaKelley
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/31/2011

Customer review by B1gdawg

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by B1gdawg
by B1gdawg

Excellent stereo great sound easy hookup

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
B1gdawg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice stereo
12/30/2011

Customer review by steelbelt

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by steelbelt
by steelbelt

Very nice stereo for the price. Very affordable and works well.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
steelbelt
Blackstone, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really nice product
11/8/2011

Customer review by raz177

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by raz177
by raz177

The boss audio 637ua has everything i wanted in a car stereo.It performs well and installiation was a snap.Easily connects to your ipod and amp if you desire.It has more features than some of the more expensive units but, costs much less.You can't beat this deal!

Was this review helpful? (48) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raz177
chicago Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice multi-purpose radio for the price.
10/31/2012

Customer review by 11none11

5.0 stars 10/31/2012 by 11none11
by 11none11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works well, installed easy.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
11none11
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value
12/4/2012

Customer review by Scheuerine

4.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Scheuerine
by Scheuerine
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To those who are saying this radio won't stay tuned, it is because they wired it incorrectly. They mixed up the constant hot, with the ignition hot. (learned that the hard way)...Go to the local library, and get the wiring diagram for your car it will help. After we corrected our mistake it has been a wonderful radio. One complaint is that when you turn the car off, the CD will not pick up where you left off on a song, but starts at the beginning of the track. This will be horrible when listening to Books on CD.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scheuerine
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/13/2012

Customer review by culliganman

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by culliganman
by culliganman

put this in my work truck so i could hook up my satilite radio with it. luv the usb port, no longer have to worry about lost signal.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
culliganman
bakersfield ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great
11/9/2012

Customer review by K74572

4.0 stars 11/9/2012 by K74572
by K74572
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have Had it installed for 2 weeks. So far all works well and very pleased with unit. Does what it says.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
K74572
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Boss Stereo
12/9/2015

Customer review by Susan

5.0 stars 12/9/2015 by Susan
by Susan

This stereo was easy to install and simple to use. It was exactly as advertised and arrived much quicker than expected. I am very pleased.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Susan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nothing too special but does the job
7/28/2012

Customer review by Bikerval

3.0 stars 7/28/2012 by Bikerval
by Bikerval

After ordering a different stereo from WalMart that was defective I decided on this one to replace it. A little annoyed that I had to take out the previous one and start over, but oh well. This Boss system is much easier to read digitally but the buttons only work well on small fingers (they are really close together). So far I've had it in for 3 days and am totally content. Not too flashy but does the job for my car (Toyota Celica)

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bikerval
Lindon, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
awsome ..product
9/19/2013

Customer review by luckyman1959

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by luckyman1959
by luckyman1959

Only thing I don't like is the clock doesn't stay in view you can view clock but only for 10 sec. at a time then reverts back to radio station info

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luckyman1959
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 138 total reviews
1-20 of 138 reviews