Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 325 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

325 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

325 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
138
4 stars
107
3 stars
28
2 stars
15
1 stars
37
1-20 of 282 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 282 total reviews
1-20 of 282 reviews
Several Great Features/One Really Bad Feature
5/19/2011

Customer review by AceMcHammer

4.0 stars 5/19/2011 by AceMcHammer
by AceMcHammer

These were so cheap I went ahead and bought two of these for each of my vehicles specifically for the SD card feature. Both of my vehicles have old cassette players and I was basically adapting the old technology of a portable CD player to the even older technology of the cassette player with a cassette adapter in both of my cars. Got tired of the wires hanging out everywhere, running things off the cigarette lighter sockets and the CD player skipping and losing it's place anytime I ran over a big bump. First the bad. And this is a really bad feature. The volume that you have the radio set to does NOT stay in memory. That means if you have the radio volume set to like level 6 when you turn your car off, when you turn your car back on the radio comes back on with the volume at a default level 20 blasting your ears. I tried using the reset button in case I had changed a setting that causes this, but it did not fix it. I tried doing several things like turning the radio off manually with the volume down to see if that would make it stay in memory but no luck. There seems to be no way to change this. Now I have to perform the task of turning the volume down EVERY time I start the car. Very very annoying. I can't believe they made this thing like this. I went from being very happy with this radio to very disgruntled when I realized this radio was going to cause me to do chores. And I know I have it wired right because ALL of my other settings stay in memory. If you think this "feature" will be to annoying, I would advise not to buy this radio. I'm not sure that I can even stand it yet. Now the good, the VERY GOOD. This radio has no CD player. Doesn't need it. That's old technology. After I installed the radio, I put a few songs on a SD card and tried it out. It read the SD card no problem. The card was formatted in fat32 on a WinXP system. No more skipping CDs. Awesome. The instructions don't give any details about how to format the SD card or any other details however. Just a basic function manual. One thing I was worried about was whether or not the radio had a resume feature. I was worried that the radio would go back to the beginning of a playlist every time I turned off the car. I am happy to report that the radio resumes the song you were listening to at the same spot when you turned your car off. No searching back through the songs every time you turn your car off. And you can make folders to separate your music and the radio recognizes the folders and even scrolls the name of the folder that you named it across the display. You can create folders containing the songs of your favorite CDs, name those folders the name of the CDs and chose which folder from the menu that you want to play just like playlists. Just like having a 6 disk CD changer or whatever. Except that you could probably put about 20 CDs on an SD card. The radio even scrolls the name of the folders that you named them across the display. And it also reads the ID3 tags from the MP3 songs which also scrolls the name of song and artist info across the display as the songs are playing. Or you can use a USB flash drive. I like the SD card though because it's flush when inserted and can't be knocked around. And it doesn't attract attention like a flash drive would sticking out from the face of the radio. Inviting someone to reach into your car and snatch it. And, if you have songs on your cell phone, plug your phone into the auxiliary port to play songs off your cell phone or portable MP3 player. I haven't even mentioned the sound quality yet. It has very clear sound quality. And a lot of power. 50 watts per channel. It's louder than I need, and I listen to music pretty loud some times. This radio is the next step up in technology. It has all the great features you need. If it wasn't for that one fluke bad thing about the volume, I'd give this radio 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (208) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AceMcHammer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Not the best
5/31/2011

Customer review by Philanative

2.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Philanative
by Philanative

You can tell that it was built with minimum thought, effort and regard for user satisfaction. However for $50 it's pretty much worth the money. Neither box, nor the site mentions this, but you will get an ERR message when trying to use a memory cars that is over 4GB in size. The USB plug actually loosened up after about a week and the flash drive began to move around, reseting itself when the car goes over a pothole. The "random" button is not actually playing music randomly, it follows a pattern that is very predictable and gets annoying very quickly. The only thing that doesn't give me trouble is AUX port. Good idea for a product, mediocre execution. Rated accordingly.

Was this review helpful? (70) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Philanative
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
so far.. really good! :)
8/30/2011

Customer review by gina137

4.0 stars 8/30/2011 by gina137
by gina137

It's works great, aux, usb.. i haven't tried the sd port yet, but i'm really happy with usb. In other review i read about a problem with radio volume, quote: "The volume that you have the radio set to does NOT stay in memory. That means if you have the radio volume set to like level 6 when you turn your car off, when you turn your car back on the radio comes back on with the volume at a default level 20 blasting your ears." I didn't have this problem at all, so if you're having it, you may consider returning it.. The only problem I foud is that if you have a usb connected and you don't shut the stereo down manually it stays turn on, even if you turn off the car, the usb keeps playing, with no sound, but you can see the songs passing by. over all it works fine.

Was this review helpful? (62) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gina137
san ysidro, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth every penny
8/1/2011

Customer review by 2review1

5.0 stars 8/1/2011 by 2review1
by 2review1

OK SO I read the reviews... I debated... But alas I chose to go ahead and purchase. whats the worst thing that can happen?> I uninstall it and return it! With that said. 50.00 is a great price for this radio. I checked other stores like BB and they don't even sell a radio with an SD card at all! So this feature is still new enough that its not exactly popular yet. It's ahead of its time. JUST WAIT! I wouldn't change it for the world. I am using an 8 gig card (i did note that some one reviewed they used a 4g card and got an error... I got no such error with my 8g sd card. It not even filled yet and I have 2k songs. Do you know how many cds I would have to carry around to get that much music??? Exactly! PLUS I can use the AUX to hook up my Sirius Sat Radio and i am good to go. I have endless amounts of music at my fingertips. the not so good: The clock was a little tricky to set. But wasn't THAT hard to figure out. the clock does not DISPLAY. so if u are used to seeing your clock displayed all the time. Buy a little stick on clock... I do hear a bit of high pitched whining while driving coming thru, but its not enough to bother me so much yet. also I didn't have an issue with it blasting loud when turning the car back on. however you have to push the RANDOM button each time you turn the car back on because it does not save that setting. It will continue with the song you were listening to when you turned off the car, but it wont go back into random mode until you push the button again. and if u WANT to hear the current song, DON'T hit the random button, because it will change immediately! I DID NOT find the random feature predictable at all like someone reviewed. but then again with 2k songs... there are a lot to pick from ! for $50.00 it is indeed a fantastic radio. Sounds great with my factory speakers. (03 ford focus)

Was this review helpful? (39) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2review1
Springfield Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Surprisingly Nice In-Dash
5/19/2011

Customer review by emptywurld

4.0 stars 5/19/2011 by emptywurld
by emptywurld

My opinion only states two real cons. The instruction manual has nothing in it on how to set up the time which made figuring it out a little difficult, and the unit has no detachable face. Though it is not a CD/DVD player, it still looks like one to the wrong person and may be a problem. Other than that I found this stereo to be beyond what i imagined. The fact that it reads SD chips just blows CD's out of the picture altogether. I can put my entire music library on a single chip and never worry about running out of memory or skipping due to vibration. Also the 200 watts of power sounds awesome. If you have an alarm on your car and/or tinted windows i recommend getting this while its cheap and the downfall of CD players bring this to be the expensive player just now.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emptywurld
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a great low priced radio.
10/22/2013

Customer review by ACPAL456

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by ACPAL456
by ACPAL456

I now have three of these, one for my '90 Acura, one for my '94 Explorer, and one as my house stereo (modern radios have somewhat complex controls, like "push for three seconds then release", so I decided it would be easier to learn only one set of instructions). Both of the ones in the cars required minor modifications to the mounts but those were to be expected. I may even put one in my old truck. These radios have a great audio range and better clarity than my ears. The radio signal pickup is better than the old radios. The AUX IN and USB ports work as advertised and allow me to listen to all my old cassettes, CDs, and IPOD. The USB won't read MP4's but I've read that that's almost universal. This may not be the radio for audiophiles or anyone wanting to impress people with how much money they spent but it's a darn good radio for $35. We looked at the $25 radio but it didn't have AM which is needed for getting some traffic reports and emergency alerts.

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ACPAL456
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for a no-frills stereo
2/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/23/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've had this stereo for two weeks today it is working perfectly. I have a 40 minute round trip to work and I use the stereo exclusively to listen to my iPod. The connector didn't fit my 98 Ranger but I didn't expect it to due to the age of the truck. The price point was great. I would recommend this stereo if you need a simple, inexpensive stereo.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome features!
5/23/2011

Customer review by galag

5.0 stars 5/23/2011 by galag
by galag

With USB,memory card and 2.5mm out,this radio has every kind of connection you need for whatever media you prefer.Plus a subwoofer out and really great reception,all for under $50.Can't be beat.I can't set the clock for some reason,but I didn't buy it for telling time.

Was this review helpful? (20) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
galag
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome product!
2/18/2012

Customer review by TheMeatGuyInc

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by TheMeatGuyInc
by TheMeatGuyInc

After reading the reviews on this reciever decided to take chance and bought one. Wow!! Didn,t have any of the problems reported in other reviews. First of all it has great sound, 200 Watts and no distortion cranked up! Display is fine, after 2 weeks. Easy to use and navigates even to nested folders of my USB drive. The problem with clock display/setting is difficult because the manual is not well written. One call to tech support (no hold time) and this issues was resolved. Here's how to set the clock. While in radio mode, press and hold the clock/mode button until the clock display comes up. To set, while the clock is now diplayed press and hold the button again. Adjust the time by rotating the volume knob. Switch between hour/min with the arrow keys. The clock is not the default display in any mode. To see the time simply press and hold the clock button > 2 sec. Cannot believe the value for the price. Considering buying a second unit as an MP3/WMA player for the house. It has RCA out jacks in the back! No more CD's to clean or replace if scratched. No more CD player lens to clean. Just great digital music at an even greater price!

Was this review helpful? (28) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheMeatGuyInc
Savannah, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
STAY AWAY!
10/14/2011

Customer review by BikerBovine

1.0 stars 10/14/2011 by BikerBovine
by BikerBovine

I purchased one of these a couple of months ago. This past week it went totally dead. I dug out my paperwork to see about getting it covered under the manufacturer's warranty. What I found out was this: - I have to send it to them at my expense! - I also have to include a check or money order in the amount of $20.00 for them to ship it back to me once it has been repaired or replaced! When the radio was working, the things I did like about it were: - Plays AM/FM/SD Card and MP3 player. The things I found that I did not like were: - Display is so dim that it is hard to see in normal daylight. - Volume resets every time the radio is shut off and turned back on. It will NOT stay where you set it. - You can not set the clock as the directions do not tell you how. - BOSS' Customer Service is NON EXISTENT. I e-mailed them to get information on how to set the clock and I never did receive a reply! I know, you get what you pay for. But, when you are unemployed with no source of income, $50.00 IS A LOT OF MONEY! As I stated above in my Review Summary, 'STAY AWAY'! Actually, I would recommend staying away from the BOSS products all together!

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikerBovine
45880
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/12/2011

Customer review by AReviewerInCO

4.0 stars 9/12/2011 by AReviewerInCO
by AReviewerInCO

Overall this is a good head unit. The cons in this review are minor, and really don't detract me from liking this unit. PROS: SD Card input! CONS: Clock does not always display and is very hard to figure out how to set. Random does not stay on random after turning the car back on. Volume resets to 20.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AReviewerInCO
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Volume DOES Stay in Memory
10/1/2013

Customer review by Underuberdog

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by Underuberdog
by Underuberdog

My radio does remember my last volume setting so it turns on just where I left it. For what I paid for this radio and four speaker package, I can't believe how nice it sounds. Much better than the factory system in my Camry. FM quality is great, and MP3 playback through the SD card is stellar as it is through the USB input. Audio input through the sub-mini jack is very low gain, which means volume is low for playback unless you have a really strong amplifier on your external player. Another problem with low gain is alternator noise during playback. No noise on SD card or radio. Buy it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Underuberdog
Avon, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Cheap Digital Media Player ...
8/26/2012

Customer review by ModernMaster

4.0 stars 8/26/2012 by ModernMaster
by ModernMaster

OK, here is what I can tell you. This thing is definitely worth the money. Just know that you are not getting an Alpine or a Pioneer or anything like that. It is just an inexpensive digital media player. But for what it is, it is excellent. It will play from an 8GB thumb drive with no problem. It will play from a 8GB SD card with no problem. It will not recognize your iPod from the USB port but, it will play your iPod from the Auxiliary port with no problem. Music Sorting: Using your iPod to control your choices of tunes is the easiest route by far. As best as I can tell, when using a thumb drive or an SD card, the stereo will just see the music as one long list of songs. Even if you have them sorted into folders. It works but, if you have 500 songs on a thumb drive, then the list is 500 songs long ... it makes it hard to find anything. This was just my experience ... if someone else has had better luck with music sorting please comment. I generally drive around to a list of about 50 songs. So, I just put those 50 songs onto an SD card and I'm good. But, if you have hundreds or even thousands of songs that you want to have access to all the time, then an iPod is the only way to go ... you'll never find what you want at any given time with an SD card or a thumb drive. Complaints: I don't have any. Someone had said that the volume returns to a loud level after you turn the key off and then turn it back on. I think the key to that is the yellow wire ... as long as the yellow wire is connected to a source that is always "hot" ... that shouldn't happen ... mine doesn't. The yellow wire keeps the stereo's memory going. Another complaint was the clock ... I didn't even bother with it ... who cares what time it is? Look at your cell phone if you need the time. Power: It says 50watts X 4 ... if it is, it is the weakest 50 x 4 in the world. This stereo is not loud. But, unless you just enjoy having your music blasting at a level that is obnoxious ... it is still loud enough to hear ... even with the windows down at 60 miles per hour. Overall, this is a cheap way to have a purely digital media player. No CD's anymore. You will love it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ModernMaster
Mountain Home, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
boss is boss
5/10/2011

Customer review by djjdog

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by djjdog
by djjdog

i bought this and another stereo and i am very happy with them. but much to my suprise this stereo supports SDHC cards.. it sounds great and is easy to navigate!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djjdog
mfd or
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Piece of Equipment!
5/8/2014

Customer review by RAMUSE1970

5.0 stars 5/8/2014 by RAMUSE1970
by RAMUSE1970

I love this radio! It was just like the Dual brand radio that it replaced, with the exception that it has a much better amp built in to it as well as a much larger and detailed display! The Dual was pushing only 1 of my 4 speakers. The Boss is pushing all 4 and they sound great! Can't turn it up all the way cos it is way too loud if I do! and I actually have balance & Fade controls which I was not getting with the Dual radio because it didn't have enough power for them to actually work! If you are looking to make the transition away from CDs to MP3s, this is the way to go! 1 SD card can store most people's entire music collection!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RAMUSE1970
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great quality and easy installation
2/23/2013

Customer review by chr2137929

4.0 stars 2/23/2013 by chr2137929
by chr2137929

great quality for the price I am a 22 yr old female and connected the stero myself to my toyota carolla also a great plus is that there is no need to buy a wire harness/ wire kit for older or new cars it comes with everything you need!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chr2137929
goodyear,az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good
12/20/2013

Customer review by thebigbry

3.0 stars 12/20/2013 by thebigbry
by thebigbry

Over all I think this is an OK stereo for the price. I bought in a bundle with speakers. Kind of wish I would have sprung the extra $30 for a Pioneer or other name brand. But for an entire system plus mounting kit, and wire harness I was still under $100. So can't complain. Pros: good price, way better sound and stereo reception than stock radio, USB, SD and 1/8 input are nice. decent features. Cons: number one complaint The clock does not display. You have to hold the clock button for about 2 seconds to see the time. Then 2 seconds later it's back to showing radio station or song info. cheap plastic feel, have to press buttons hard to get them to work, almost feels like they're going to break by the time they change. USB seems to only work for storage device, does nothing when connected to iPhone, or Android phone. no way to skip folders on SD only option to jump 10 tracks forward or back.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thebigbry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
No more cassettes OR CDs, powerful, OEM look
7/19/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I replaced the OEM cassette/radio in MY 1999 Toyota Corolla with this unit. It really brings the car into the 21st century. No cassettes to store, not even CDs. I can store 50 albums (or playlists) on a single postage-sized chip and never need to take the chip out of the unit. Friends can bring their USB jump drive (or SD) to play their music, or just plug in their mp3 player into the AUX jack. I use a micro-SD chip with an SD adapter. The maximum size chip is supposedly 32 Gb. However, another limitation is 999 songs. You will probably hit that limitation with an 8Gb chip before the size limitation. The one thing I can say did not meet my expectations is the radio doesn't keep as consistent of an FM frequency as I would expect (I haven't really listened to AM, but it does work). I am going to confirm that my antenna is completely plugged in, but I'm pretty sure it is. The unit is much more powerful than my OEM unit, so it sounds great (a big improvement) even with the original speakers. In my car, the unit looks like it is OEM, which I love. I don't want one with lots of flashing lights that looks like I installed a video game. The price ($40) simply can't be beat. Lots of wires to hook up. Buy and use an adapter for your car's wire harness. All soldering can be done outside the car. I'm not a fan of crimping wires or using connectors, but it could probably be done.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Budget Head Unit
1/16/2014

Customer review by Rodent99

5.0 stars 1/16/2014 by Rodent99
by Rodent99

Installed easily in my 95 Jeep Cherokee. Due to its lack of CD player, the mounting depth is very shallow, leaving much room for wiring. I purchased this as a cheap replacement for the factory radio. It produces more power than the original and has highlighted how bad my factory speakers are. I have not had any issues with this item, including the volume memory that was brought up by earlier reviews. My only wish is for a dimmer for the display, as it is pretty bright at night. Overall, great deck for the price (even though it just went up by $10) and has one set of pre-amp outputs if you are building a budget system. Good buy, and site to store availability was way faster than expected.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rodent99
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Unit
9/23/2013

Customer review by VWTRIKER

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by VWTRIKER
by VWTRIKER

Nice Radio, Good Quality for the price. Easy to hook up with all wires marked. Fast shipping to my local store. Everything works well. Tired of dealing with skipping cd's or tangled tapes. It is a lot easier to pop in a memory card or stick with your own music and forget it. Very happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VWTRIKER
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 282 total reviews
1-20 of 282 reviews