Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 342 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

342 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

342 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
142
4 stars
115
3 stars
30
2 stars
17
1 stars
38
1-20 of 299 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 299 total reviews
1-20 of 299 reviews
No more cassettes OR CDs, powerful, OEM look
7/19/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/19/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I replaced the OEM cassette/radio in MY 1999 Toyota Corolla with this unit. It really brings the car into the 21st century. No cassettes to store, not even CDs. I can store 50 albums (or playlists) on a single postage-sized chip and never need to take the chip out of the unit. Friends can bring their USB jump drive (or SD) to play their music, or just plug in their mp3 player into the AUX jack. I use a micro-SD chip with an SD adapter. The maximum size chip is supposedly 32 Gb. However, another limitation is 999 songs. You will probably hit that limitation with an 8Gb chip before the size limitation. The one thing I can say did not meet my expectations is the radio doesn't keep as consistent of an FM frequency as I would expect (I haven't really listened to AM, but it does work). I am going to confirm that my antenna is completely plugged in, but I'm pretty sure it is. The unit is much more powerful than my OEM unit, so it sounds great (a big improvement) even with the original speakers. In my car, the unit looks like it is OEM, which I love. I don't want one with lots of flashing lights that looks like I installed a video game. The price ($40) simply can't be beat. Lots of wires to hook up. Buy and use an adapter for your car's wire harness. All soldering can be done outside the car. I'm not a fan of crimping wires or using connectors, but it could probably be done.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Piece of Equipment!
5/8/2014

Customer review by RAMUSE1970

5.0 stars 5/8/2014 by RAMUSE1970
by RAMUSE1970
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this radio! It was just like the Dual brand radio that it replaced, with the exception that it has a much better amp built in to it as well as a much larger and detailed display! The Dual was pushing only 1 of my 4 speakers. The Boss is pushing all 4 and they sound great! Can't turn it up all the way cos it is way too loud if I do! and I actually have balance & Fade controls which I was not getting with the Dual radio because it didn't have enough power for them to actually work! If you are looking to make the transition away from CDs to MP3s, this is the way to go! 1 SD card can store most people's entire music collection!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RAMUSE1970
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This is a great low priced radio.
10/22/2013

Customer review by ACPAL456

5.0 stars 10/22/2013 by ACPAL456
by ACPAL456
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I now have three of these, one for my '90 Acura, one for my '94 Explorer, and one as my house stereo (modern radios have somewhat complex controls, like "push for three seconds then release", so I decided it would be easier to learn only one set of instructions). Both of the ones in the cars required minor modifications to the mounts but those were to be expected. I may even put one in my old truck. These radios have a great audio range and better clarity than my ears. The radio signal pickup is better than the old radios. The AUX IN and USB ports work as advertised and allow me to listen to all my old cassettes, CDs, and IPOD. The USB won't read MP4's but I've read that that's almost universal. This may not be the radio for audiophiles or anyone wanting to impress people with how much money they spent but it's a darn good radio for $35. We looked at the $25 radio but it didn't have AM which is needed for getting some traffic reports and emergency alerts.

Was this review helpful? (25) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ACPAL456
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked for about a month - pure junk
9/18/2011

Customer review by RedRider812

1.0 stars 9/18/2011 by RedRider812
by RedRider812

Picked it up site-to-store on 8/5, died tonight 9/17. Conveniently, it lasted a few weeks past the 15 day return policy for electronics. It was working fine until I turned my car off and ran into the grocery store. When I turned the car on to leave, the radio was already dead. The reset button didn't help the problem at all; black screen no lights no sound. At home, I checked the fuses on the +/- and checked for bare wires and similar problems. None whatsoever, I used wire nuts and heat shrink tubing for the install along with a Metra harness adapter. I am actually kind of glad it died because I hated it. Volume reverted back to 20 every time the car key gets turned; what's comical is that it can remember your place in a song but it cant remember your volume setting. User manual and online tech support = worthless. If the company wont give me a full refund it's going in the garbage, along with my 50 bucks. I wouldn't bother exchanging it for another one if my life depended on it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedRider812
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty good
12/20/2013

Customer review by thebigbry

3.0 stars 12/20/2013 by thebigbry
by thebigbry

Over all I think this is an OK stereo for the price. I bought in a bundle with speakers. Kind of wish I would have sprung the extra $30 for a Pioneer or other name brand. But for an entire system plus mounting kit, and wire harness I was still under $100. So can't complain. Pros: good price, way better sound and stereo reception than stock radio, USB, SD and 1/8 input are nice. decent features. Cons: number one complaint The clock does not display. You have to hold the clock button for about 2 seconds to see the time. Then 2 seconds later it's back to showing radio station or song info. cheap plastic feel, have to press buttons hard to get them to work, almost feels like they're going to break by the time they change. USB seems to only work for storage device, does nothing when connected to iPhone, or Android phone. no way to skip folders on SD only option to jump 10 tracks forward or back.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thebigbry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
so far.. really good! :)
8/30/2011

Customer review by gina137

4.0 stars 8/30/2011 by gina137
by gina137

It's works great, aux, usb.. i haven't tried the sd port yet, but i'm really happy with usb. In other review i read about a problem with radio volume, quote: "The volume that you have the radio set to does NOT stay in memory. That means if you have the radio volume set to like level 6 when you turn your car off, when you turn your car back on the radio comes back on with the volume at a default level 20 blasting your ears." I didn't have this problem at all, so if you're having it, you may consider returning it.. The only problem I foud is that if you have a usb connected and you don't shut the stereo down manually it stays turn on, even if you turn off the car, the usb keeps playing, with no sound, but you can see the songs passing by. over all it works fine.

Was this review helpful? (66) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gina137
san ysidro, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent unit for the price
2/4/2016

Customer review by mik689

3.0 stars 2/4/2016 by mik689
by mik689

Easy to install and works fine (so far). The only negative I would mention is that the display is so dim it is barely visible in bright daylight.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mik689
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not the best
5/31/2011

Customer review by Philanative

2.0 stars 5/31/2011 by Philanative
by Philanative

You can tell that it was built with minimum thought, effort and regard for user satisfaction. However for $50 it's pretty much worth the money. Neither box, nor the site mentions this, but you will get an ERR message when trying to use a memory cars that is over 4GB in size. The USB plug actually loosened up after about a week and the flash drive began to move around, reseting itself when the car goes over a pothole. The "random" button is not actually playing music randomly, it follows a pattern that is very predictable and gets annoying very quickly. The only thing that doesn't give me trouble is AUX port. Good idea for a product, mediocre execution. Rated accordingly.

Was this review helpful? (74) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Philanative
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Surprisingly Nice In-Dash
5/19/2011

Customer review by emptywurld

4.0 stars 5/19/2011 by emptywurld
by emptywurld

My opinion only states two real cons. The instruction manual has nothing in it on how to set up the time which made figuring it out a little difficult, and the unit has no detachable face. Though it is not a CD/DVD player, it still looks like one to the wrong person and may be a problem. Other than that I found this stereo to be beyond what i imagined. The fact that it reads SD chips just blows CD's out of the picture altogether. I can put my entire music library on a single chip and never worry about running out of memory or skipping due to vibration. Also the 200 watts of power sounds awesome. If you have an alarm on your car and/or tinted windows i recommend getting this while its cheap and the downfall of CD players bring this to be the expensive player just now.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emptywurld
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value for a no-frills stereo
2/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/23/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've had this stereo for two weeks today it is working perfectly. I have a 40 minute round trip to work and I use the stereo exclusively to listen to my iPod. The connector didn't fit my 98 Ranger but I didn't expect it to due to the age of the truck. The price point was great. I would recommend this stereo if you need a simple, inexpensive stereo.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Wichita, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
F-150
1/15/2016

Customer review by lpd221

4.0 stars 1/15/2016 by lpd221
by lpd221

Works great with my iPhone or sd card. I bought two of these and both have the same problem with the radio stations fading in and out

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lpd221
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
STAY AWAY!
10/14/2011

Customer review by BikerBovine

1.0 stars 10/14/2011 by BikerBovine
by BikerBovine

I purchased one of these a couple of months ago. This past week it went totally dead. I dug out my paperwork to see about getting it covered under the manufacturer's warranty. What I found out was this: - I have to send it to them at my expense! - I also have to include a check or money order in the amount of $20.00 for them to ship it back to me once it has been repaired or replaced! When the radio was working, the things I did like about it were: - Plays AM/FM/SD Card and MP3 player. The things I found that I did not like were: - Display is so dim that it is hard to see in normal daylight. - Volume resets every time the radio is shut off and turned back on. It will NOT stay where you set it. - You can not set the clock as the directions do not tell you how. - BOSS' Customer Service is NON EXISTENT. I e-mailed them to get information on how to set the clock and I never did receive a reply! I know, you get what you pay for. But, when you are unemployed with no source of income, $50.00 IS A LOT OF MONEY! As I stated above in my Review Summary, 'STAY AWAY'! Actually, I would recommend staying away from the BOSS products all together!

Was this review helpful? (16) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BikerBovine
45880
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I had no problems installing this,plays well.
1/10/2014

Customer review by coolradioplayer

4.0 stars 1/10/2014 by coolradioplayer
by coolradioplayer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

A good value for the money especially when there's no AM-FM Stereo Radio in a older car & a more costly radio may attract thieves. It plays FM Stereo very good & the (USB Flash Drive "thumb-drive- storage" - that you can purchase separately to compliment this radio) plays even better. It has a "loud" setting that will satisfy most rock & roll fans sans additionally buying & installing a external amplifier. No "Off" switch is included, just simply turn the volume down to zero (no load) and it turns off fully when you turn the engine off. I enjoy the fact that there's not a CD player to break and I'm enjoying downloading Music I enjoy off my laptop to "USB Flash Drive" and then plugging the "USB Flash Drive" directly into the radio for hours of trouble free music. I feel now that CD's are obsolete, thereof. I am impressed over the small amount of money I spent on this Radio. And I feel that I can recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
coolradioplayer
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Several Great Features/One Really Bad Feature
5/19/2011

Customer review by AceMcHammer

4.0 stars 5/19/2011 by AceMcHammer
by AceMcHammer

These were so cheap I went ahead and bought two of these for each of my vehicles specifically for the SD card feature. Both of my vehicles have old cassette players and I was basically adapting the old technology of a portable CD player to the even older technology of the cassette player with a cassette adapter in both of my cars. Got tired of the wires hanging out everywhere, running things off the cigarette lighter sockets and the CD player skipping and losing it's place anytime I ran over a big bump. First the bad. And this is a really bad feature. The volume that you have the radio set to does NOT stay in memory. That means if you have the radio volume set to like level 6 when you turn your car off, when you turn your car back on the radio comes back on with the volume at a default level 20 blasting your ears. I tried using the reset button in case I had changed a setting that causes this, but it did not fix it. I tried doing several things like turning the radio off manually with the volume down to see if that would make it stay in memory but no luck. There seems to be no way to change this. Now I have to perform the task of turning the volume down EVERY time I start the car. Very very annoying. I can't believe they made this thing like this. I went from being very happy with this radio to very disgruntled when I realized this radio was going to cause me to do chores. And I know I have it wired right because ALL of my other settings stay in memory. If you think this "feature" will be to annoying, I would advise not to buy this radio. I'm not sure that I can even stand it yet. Now the good, the VERY GOOD. This radio has no CD player. Doesn't need it. That's old technology. After I installed the radio, I put a few songs on a SD card and tried it out. It read the SD card no problem. The card was formatted in fat32 on a WinXP system. No more skipping CDs. Awesome. The instructions don't give any details about how to format the SD card or any other details however. Just a basic function manual. One thing I was worried about was whether or not the radio had a resume feature. I was worried that the radio would go back to the beginning of a playlist every time I turned off the car. I am happy to report that the radio resumes the song you were listening to at the same spot when you turned your car off. No searching back through the songs every time you turn your car off. And you can make folders to separate your music and the radio recognizes the folders and even scrolls the name of the folder that you named it across the display. You can create folders containing the songs of your favorite CDs, name those folders the name of the CDs and chose which folder from the menu that you want to play just like playlists. Just like having a 6 disk CD changer or whatever. Except that you could probably put about 20 CDs on an SD card. The radio even scrolls the name of the folders that you named them across the display. And it also reads the ID3 tags from the MP3 songs which also scrolls the name of song and artist info across the display as the songs are playing. Or you can use a USB flash drive. I like the SD card though because it's flush when inserted and can't be knocked around. And it doesn't attract attention like a flash drive would sticking out from the face of the radio. Inviting someone to reach into your car and snatch it. And, if you have songs on your cell phone, plug your phone into the auxiliary port to play songs off your cell phone or portable MP3 player. I haven't even mentioned the sound quality yet. It has very clear sound quality. And a lot of power. 50 watts per channel. It's louder than I need, and I listen to music pretty loud some times. This radio is the next step up in technology. It has all the great features you need. If it wasn't for that one fluke bad thing about the volume, I'd give this radio 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (222) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AceMcHammer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
good stereo for the money
8/10/2012

Customer review by leedad06

4.0 stars 8/10/2012 by leedad06
by leedad06
Top 500 contributor

This is a decent stereo considering the price. It sounds decent, though you don't have much control over the sound just bass and treble. It has rca jacks in the back which I hooked up to my sub, but it doesn't have sub out control. I like to turn the bass off my other speakers and put it all on the sub, can't do that with this stereo. It says it has 50 watts per channel, compared to the sony in my other car, it's not as loud. If you don't have to have super loud, super clear sound it works good. On other reviews they had problems with the usb starting from the first song everytime which I did until I changed mp3 player, then it worked correctly. I didn't have the problem of it coming on at 20 volume level like some said, it was just where i left it when I turned it off. I like the sd card which is the only way I use it now. It starts playing quicker and right where I left off. I like the display, it's not obtrusive just continues to scroll through artist, album, title, song number and time playing, buttons are easy to control, because there's not alot to control. really for the money it's a good deal.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leedad06
hurricane, utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Simple
1/6/2016

Customer review by FishermanRocco

5.0 stars 1/6/2016 by FishermanRocco
by FishermanRocco

I wanted a radio that was simple. 1980's simple. I did not want another radio that if I pushed a button on accident, it would change the sound dynamics. This is the simplest radio I could find and it does EXACTLY what I want in a radio.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FishermanRocco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome product!
2/18/2012

Customer review by TheMeatGuyInc

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by TheMeatGuyInc
by TheMeatGuyInc

After reading the reviews on this reciever decided to take chance and bought one. Wow!! Didn,t have any of the problems reported in other reviews. First of all it has great sound, 200 Watts and no distortion cranked up! Display is fine, after 2 weeks. Easy to use and navigates even to nested folders of my USB drive. The problem with clock display/setting is difficult because the manual is not well written. One call to tech support (no hold time) and this issues was resolved. Here's how to set the clock. While in radio mode, press and hold the clock/mode button until the clock display comes up. To set, while the clock is now diplayed press and hold the button again. Adjust the time by rotating the volume knob. Switch between hour/min with the arrow keys. The clock is not the default display in any mode. To see the time simply press and hold the clock button > 2 sec. Cannot believe the value for the price. Considering buying a second unit as an MP3/WMA player for the house. It has RCA out jacks in the back! No more CD's to clean or replace if scratched. No more CD player lens to clean. Just great digital music at an even greater price!

Was this review helpful? (31) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMeatGuyInc
Savannah, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Boss audio 612ua
1/3/2016

Customer review by MS74

5.0 stars 1/3/2016 by MS74
by MS74

Excellent price, easy to install and exactly as described.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MS74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/12/2011

Customer review by AReviewerInCO

4.0 stars 9/12/2011 by AReviewerInCO
by AReviewerInCO

Overall this is a good head unit. The cons in this review are minor, and really don't detract me from liking this unit. PROS: SD Card input! CONS: Clock does not always display and is very hard to figure out how to set. Random does not stay on random after turning the car back on. Volume resets to 20.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AReviewerInCO
CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nothing fancy, but fit the special requirements
12/22/2015

Customer review by gblack1

4.0 stars 12/22/2015 by gblack1
by gblack1

Its not an $800 receiver, but for my old junky Jeep that had nothing but a hole in the dash where the old stereo used to be, it works great! My jeep requires a very shallow receiver to fit correctly. This not having a CD player makes it extremely small leaving plenty of room for installation. There is a lot of value here. If you are considering this and don't need anything fancy, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gblack1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 299 total reviews
1-20 of 299 reviews