Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
2
1-19 of 19 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Sony Service is Bad
11/2/2011

Customer review by GKay11

1.0 stars 11/2/2011 by GKay11
by GKay11

My TV stopped working after 10 months and the warranty repair process is pretty bad. I've waited a month on supposively a part and today I was told it may be another 60 days. I did like the TV but my experience with Sony Service will prevent me from further considering this brand.

Was this review helpful? (36) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GKay11
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/17/2011

Customer review by ButtMom

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by ButtMom
by ButtMom

I especially like the back lite of the LED feature. Having a hard time seeing movies filmed at night, I excepted the fact that I won't be able to see what is happening. But that is not true any more. Now I can see the whole picture even the night scenes. This is AWESOME!

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ButtMom
Napa, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wow. Just Wow.
9/30/2011

Customer review by guyman0421

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by guyman0421
by guyman0421

Absolutely great picture clarity. The 120Hz rate is great and the 1080p makes this AWESOME! Surprisingly lighter than expected. Nice that it is so thin. Great viewing angle from wherever in the room that you are sitting. Very easy to set up - no engineering degree needed! LOL

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guyman0421
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV!!!!
12/7/2011

Customer review by DoubleAgent

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by DoubleAgent
by DoubleAgent

I bought this TV about 2 months ago and have been in lover ever since. The quality of the picture is by far one of the best and offers a range of different apps you can have. There is no built in wifi but there is a Ethernet connection in the back of the TV. The sound is better than most HDTV but still no surround sound quality. However it doesn't sound distorted or very low quality like a lot of other brands. Also doesnt have 3D, it does tho offer it i think. When browsing through the TV settings and apps i saw something about 3D and im pretty sure if you pay for it you can get the software downloaded straight to your TV. All together it has been a very good tv. Havent had any problems and the quality has stayed the same. I would definitely recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DoubleAgent
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
overall best tv made
7/24/2012

Customer review by 11elle

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by 11elle
by 11elle

I brought 2 of the these sony tv s 5 years ago. One for the family room and one for the bed room. They are still as nice and beautiful as the day I brought them. As far as Im concerned, there is only one tv that I will ever buy and that is SONY. Nothing else comes close.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
11elle
Sylvania Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/9/2012

Customer review by Sissie958

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by Sissie958
by Sissie958

We chose this unit because of the size and features. You can connect to the internet, play movies, record movies, play games and much more. The unit is heavy but this makes the unit stable. The HD feature is there i you want to convert. The screen is easy to clean with a dry cloth. We make a lot of home movies and enjoy the instant playback. My family has enjoyed this unit over all the others we have purchased over the years. When we purchased the unit we were offered free shipping and setup which made it even more a great value.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sissie958
W. NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
Presence Sensor run amuck
6/10/2012

Customer review by Skepticism101

2.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Skepticism101
by Skepticism101

I'll make this short. This will be appropriate as the KDL-46EX620's usable life span WITHOUT a serious problem is apparently 6 weeks. At least it was in OUR case. The Presence Sensor is now intermittently operating. Often, though, it shuts TV down even with plenty of activity in the room. Also, it shuts TV completely off, bypassing the dual shutdown which SHOULD be video first followed by the audio. Returning this to point of purchase for refund. Thankfully, it happened early on.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Skepticism101
Central IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Great TV Set!
8/24/2011

Customer review by dbrbjr

5.0 stars 8/24/2011 by dbrbjr
by dbrbjr

We really like tis TV! It has a fabulous picture, both on HD and also on other digital signals. We definitely recommend it! dbrbjr

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dbrbjr
Nueces County, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
No more Sony for me
12/23/2013

Customer review by tutanker

2.0 stars 12/23/2013 by tutanker
by tutanker

I purchased this TV just before 2010, and must say that I'm using it to write this review. My PC is connected through a HDMI port along with a Playstation 3 on another port. You can't beat having multiple HDMI ports. It was a great deal and the picture was awesome right out of the box. Since day one however, the HDMI inputs have been suspect and on my set required periodic rebooting upon loss of signal. The sound quality is ok, but can be bothersome when changing channels from stereo to mono (I guess that's what causes the loud click). However, I was sort of ok with the stuff above, but last year noticed a pinkish line running from bottom to almost top about an inch from the left side of the screen. This has now become a permanent fixture, and at the less than $400.00 price isn't worth dealing with Sony about. I promised myself that I'd write a review on the site I purchased the TV from, and this is it. Better late than never I guess.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tutanker
Merritt Island, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/29/2012

Customer review by FrugalshopperTwo

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by FrugalshopperTwo
by FrugalshopperTwo

Great TV. Packaging could use some handles to make it easier to transport and to get in and out of a vehicle.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrugalshopperTwo
Moore, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
4/8/2011

Customer review by robroy

5.0 stars 4/8/2011 by robroy
by robroy

Good sound great picture and easy setup

robroy
Hamburg,NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Its one of the best TV in market.
6/26/2011

Customer review by akhtar

5.0 stars 6/26/2011 by akhtar
by akhtar

I bought two TV,s from Costco to keep one,instead of keeping Samsung i keep my Sony.

akhtar
Montreal,canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wonderful
9/20/2011

Customer review by Funny

5.0 stars 9/20/2011 by Funny
by Funny

I would recommend this tv to anyone who wants a 46 inch tv. We were looking for a 37 inch when we saw this 46 inch sony bravia on sale at Sears. We got there just in time since there was only two left. This has a great picture, good sound and great features. We haven't set up the wireless yet but I am ready to use all the things this tv offers. Thanks Sony for a great product.

Funny
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Purchase Ever
12/9/2011

Customer review by Sky11408

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by Sky11408
by Sky11408

One word about this tv, SUPERIOR

Sky11408
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent TV
3/14/2012

Customer review by Rimbi

5.0 stars 3/14/2012 by Rimbi
by Rimbi

I love this TV

Rimbi
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV for those that dont need 3D
4/12/2011

Customer review by Zabulon

4.0 stars 4/12/2011 by Zabulon
by Zabulon

I bought this TV a few days ago and am very pleased with ease of use and great picture quality out of the box. The only thing I wish it did have was built in WiFi but i use th Sony S570 on my wireless N network and all is good. Thanks Sony for a great TV!

Zabulon
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great TV
10/21/2011

Customer review by KennA

4.0 stars 10/21/2011 by KennA
by KennA

We bought a 40XBR two years ago to replace our Sony CRT TV -- we are dinosaurs in this age of flat screens. We thought that the 40XBR was great but we wanted a 2nd TV in our guest room. We did some research and decided on the 46EX620 -- a LCD backlit smart TV, a later version of our 40XBR. Our 40XBR is relegated to the guest room and the 46EX620 is our main viewing TV. The factory direct imagery is great. We spent additional monies to have our 40XBR color tuned but this expense was not worth it and did not do this with the 46EX620. 46EX620 imagery is natural, balanced, sharp, clear, and crisp; a real pleasure to view. We congratulate Sony for 10 bit A2Ds and their imagery enhancement software. There are two issues. One is that I can't get my ancient DVD/VCR player to play audio with VCR tapes -- might be time to get rid of my VCR... Second issue is streaming NetFlix. The 46EX620, much like the 40XBR, has a "load" issue with NetFlix where the TV hangs (pauses the stream for a few seconds# and then continues. We thought that Sony would have improved the software in the past two years, i.e. the 40XBR software versus the 46EX621 software. Our LAN connect is provided by Cox cable; we pay a premium for highest speeds #10+ Mbps are measured# yet both TVs have a hang issue. We connect my ASUS G1 laptop to the same LAN switch feeding the 46EX, connect the ASUS to the 46EX via HDMI and Audio port #essentially the ASUS is the controller# and have no problems with hangs #MS Win7, NVIDIA 7700, DVI & audio ports#. We believe that this is a SONY software issue – perhaps not enough buffer memory? We have reported this 2nd issue to SONY. All in all, the SONY 46EX621 LED backlight, smart TV, exceeds my expectation value #$Cost versus Expectation). The SONY 46EX621 is an exceptional value and we rate it at 4.5 stars.

KennA
San Diego, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it for the Most Part
11/29/2011

Customer review by rottiff

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by rottiff
by rottiff

I've had my TV about 6mos. About the only thing I dislike is the Volume. I've had Sony's for over 30yrs as my primary TV. I don't want a 3D TV b/c I'm a touch cross-eyed therefore I'd never be able to see it. I've never even dusted the screen. I did have to call Support the other day b/c my Service Dog is so in Love with the TV that every time a warm-blooded animal comes on the screen she has to go sit in front of the TV to see if they will interact with her. What I didn't realize is she was actually leaving nose prints on the glass (the entire bottom half#. I couldn't find out how to clean the screen on the internet and I know from my laptops, different manufacturers have you use different solution mixtures to clean their screens. I finally got a wonderful woman who took her time to tell me how was 'wash it properly'. I'm sorry the 1st guy just told me 'use a mild soap' in water. I replied "Soap leaves a Residue though". He replied that's all I can tell you. #Yes, this information is NOT in their normal database. They have to go manually look it up.# This wonderful woman told me that if I had tried to clean it as I do my laptop screen I would have removed the coating on this model's glass screen. She told me just to try water only 1st & immediately wipe in down with another soft cloth. The TV also needs to STAY OFF 3'-4' afterwards. She did tell me also that if I had to use soap in the water to use a 'touch of baby shampoo'. Thankfully after wiping the screen down 2x's with only water all the nose prints were removed. Another problem on this TV is you need to set it on Cinema in 'Picture Mode' instead of Auto b/c it has a higher volume capability. I normally have my volume set around 15. This weekend I was watching a 3 Movie Series they were broadcasting back to back, commercial free. I had to turn the volume up all the way to 50. Wish the TVs had 4-speakers like my last 2 Sony's did. No, I do not have a Sound Bar b/c I rarely would use it and the brand I want is over $400 for their base model. Overall it was the best TV I found when I went out looking. Also found out from one of the Salesperson's the reason the other TV Brands look just as good is a 'trick they use'. They turn the brightness down on the Sony's and all the way up on the other floor models to try and make the pictures look as good. Since I worked retail at one time I knew places played 'tricks' like this to make certain things seem better. I was just very happy with my Salesman to actually tell me what places were doing #including his#. Plus I other brand I was looking at on average has a lifespan of no more than 3yrs. That's just sad. To solve the nose print problem, since my TV is just on the stand I just shoved it back as I kept my old Sony Base for a 320 though I had the 420 model. The 320 base has glass doors and the other 2 models had open shelving. Not something I wanted with a very dusty house and Service Puppies running around that I'm training and they are learning to pick up different types of items. My Grandmother's Mice collection is down there and I'd cry if one of those was picked up by a non-soft mouthed puppy. Now Twister can still watch the animals though she still won't down so I can see the TV too, but that's a training thing I need to correct but no more nose prints. It's funny to watch her go from a dead sleep to trying to make friends with the animals on the TV. Another nice thing about his model is if you have a Dir**** DVR you can run an ethernet cord from their DVR unit to the Sony's ethernet plug and it will pick up the Internet with no problem. I had no idea my new TV had so many updates waiting to be downloaded.

rottiff
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Trouble with this one!
1/30/2012

Customer review by Dontbecruel

2.0 stars 1/30/2012 by Dontbecruel
by Dontbecruel

I HAVE HAD SONY TV,S FOR MANY YEARS AND THIS IS THE FIRST TIME EVER-- THERE IS SO MUCH WRONG WITH THIS TV. Since Oct, of 2011, have had sound problems and sinceDec, 2011, Main Board is not right and cannot fix, getting bad picture and sometimes no picture or mid-screen black box. Too bad, Sony I really love, but there is some issues with this one.

Dontbecruel
New Hampshire
Would recommend to a friend? No