Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 10 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

10 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

10 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
1-9 of 9 total reviews
Would recommend to a friend



Sony could give you more for your money

Customer review by JohnW99

4.0 stars 6/15/2011 by JohnW99
by JohnW99

I was forced into this 60" set since I needed a matte screen. I was going to buy the Vizio 65" for $200 more but the reviews stated it had a glossy screen. (I now have 2 Sony's, 1, 47" Vizio which this 60" set replaced, and 1 Panasonic LCD sets.) I have no complaint about the picture quality but can't comment about the 3D until I spend another $200 for 2 pair of glasses. Sony has cut corners so much that they don't even include any 3D glasses with this $2800 set. (Vizio gives you 4 pair). The owners manual is typical of Sony today and not much. The main owners manual is built into the tv. Now I see why all the magazines rave about the great manual Vizio furnishes. The menu is more complicated to navigate than the Vizio, but you have control over a large number of settings per scene setting. If you wall mount this set, get a mount that will stick out from the wall. Unlike Vizio, Sony did not recess the connections on the back. I had to get a 90 degree HDMI angle plug because a heavy HDMI cable pushed the set away from the wall. We sit 10 to 14 feet from this tv and anything larger might be too big. If you think SD looks bad on an HD set, it sure looks worse on one with a larger screen. A good upconverting DVD player is a must. We use a Sony BluRay unit and you can tell a little difference between a standard DVD versus a BluRay DVD. On the 47" Vizio or the 40" Sony it was hard to tell any difference. This review is not intended to be as negative as it may sound, but if Vizio had built a 60" with a matte screen I would have gone with it in a heart beat. If the 65" Vizio had a matte screen, I would have ordered it but I might be writing about how the screen was too big for the room. I marked that "I would recommend this to a friend" but only because I believe there is nothing else available in a 60" that would be better. I did look at LG and Sharp, read various magazine reviews about them and did not consider either. Also, to hook this set up to the internet requires a hard line ethernet connection or an optional Sony wifi adaptor. Come on Sony, this is not some $799 low end special. Internet ready should mean just that. The wifi should be built in or the adaptor free.

Was this review helpful? (98) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cherokee Village, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Buy at own risk

Customer review by Expatshopper1

1.0 stars 11/1/2011 by Expatshopper1
by Expatshopper1

I purchased this TV less than 13 months ago. The picture and sound went out two days ago. Dealing with Sony is a huge joke. They do not stand behind their product. We spent 3000.00 for a TV that is now basically useless. If you have money to throw away, buy this product, if not I suggest you google Sony and the Bravia product line and see all the complaints. Their products are defective. I wish I had, now I have to buy another TV which is a huge investment for our family. I guarantee it will not be a Sony product.

Was this review helpful? (45) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Sony is the best.

Customer review by Shorty002

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by Shorty002
by Shorty002

Easy to hook up and had all the features I was looking for in a TV. The 1080P HD and 3D is a great upgrade from my previous TV, which was also a Sony. The 3D sports are really nice. I use a lot of Sony and have never been disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (8) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Huntsville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
top tv of all in class

Customer review by seanwest

5.0 stars 6/26/2011 by seanwest
by seanwest

Overall this was the best TV available in its class. I love the "apps" that you can pull up and use like Pandora. The best thing about this TV is the clarity and the smoothness of fast pictures. We had a plasma ambilite by Phillips and it went out. I thought I had the best TV out there but. I was sadly mistaken. Sony buries them all. I love my Sony!

mississippi gulf coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a picture!

Customer review by NYSonyFan

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by NYSonyFan
by NYSonyFan

This is by far the most majestic TV I have ever bought. The picture just leaps off the screen, and I feel like I am right in the middle of all of the action! The Motion Flow makes it seem as if all the shows are filmed live. I have viewed a few 3D shows from Fios Video on Demand, and it was really cool, however the picture was a bit dark. I think I just need to make picture adjustments for that. I have not tried the internet features, or the DLNA yet, but I have just ordered the Internet Wireless Adapter just for that. I intend to stream digital media from my computers and NAS. I definitely recommend this TV, although I know it is not cheap. Best picture by far as compared to Panasonic and Samsung.

New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by sethh

5.0 stars 12/20/2011 by sethh
by sethh

I have not tried the 3D feature on this TV so can't comment on this. Overall the TV is awesome, just what you'd expect from Sony

Would recommend to a friend? Yes

Customer review by granny

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by granny
by granny

I have read the reviews, both good and bad.. I was leary. but got it any way. I'm happy I did I truely love it. The images are so clear that they look like they are in my room even in 2d. I have only two 3d movies and they are of 2 different types, but they look good as well. Yes I would recommend this TV to anyone. and I have a sony home.

Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love it

Customer review by Etrain

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by Etrain
by Etrain

Wife told me we had worst tv of our friends, I was determined to fix. Went to high end store and asked for best 60" tv around 2k and he told me this is one was it. He never showed me the Samsung since he thought and I agreed picture was to fake. So he was right on, great picture. I hung on wall following week and it looks great. Manual was a little light and forced you to go to on screen manual. That was a pain. On screen menus are long and tedious but probably the same as all the rest. Great tv can't go wrong I love it after 4 months and yes I now have the best tv.

Seacoast, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good 2d but 3d does not work

Customer review by harrypottar

2.0 stars 10/30/2011 by harrypottar
by harrypottar

I got this as a replacement for my SXRD 70 inch (best TV ever). The SRXD ended up with the yellow tint flaw so it had to be replaced. This TV is smaller and does not have the picture punch of the SXRD. The 2D picture is nice, motion flow does not work as it makes the picture look false. However where this TV fails is the 3D cross talk. Google EX720 crosstalk and you will find lots of unhappy customers. Basically 3D movies can only be watched for 5 to 10 minutes before you get eye strain. The cross talk is like an out of focus picture caused by the picture shift and glassed not in sync. Stay away from this if your looking for 3D but if your looking for a budget 60 inch 2D it will Serve you well.

Bellingham MA
Would recommend to a friend? No